Stocking up

Hello!

The Saturday before Thanksgiving could only mean one thing… grocery shopping!

Before we left, I had a dry bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crunch for breakfast. No picture… my camera has decided it will only upload a few pictures to my computer today. I’m all out of almond milk and I’m trying to work my way through a Costco-sized box of this cereal, so it was a pretty boring breakfast.

Grocery shopping is one of my favorite hobbies, and I enjoy it even more when I’m going before a holiday. It just feels so festive! I went with my mom and sister, and we bought a TON of stuff- it hardly fit into the cart. We each guessed how much we thought the total be before we checked out. Any guesses?

Between Albertson’s and Trader Joe’s, we spent almost $350. What?! That does include quite a bit of alcohol for a party my parents are throwing next month, though. My mom said she read that the average family spends $150 on Thanksgiving dinner. Where are they shopping?!

We got home right at lunchtime, and I quickly dove into lunch… leftovers!

I made Mama Pea’s Zucchini Quinoa Lasagna a few nights ago for dinner, and couldn’t resist having it for lunch today. It was HEAVENLY. I pretty much followed the recipe, except I used vanilla yogurt instead of cream cheese. Yes, vanilla. I was going to use plain Greek yogurt, but I was out and thought the quinoa could use a bit of creaminess, so vanilla it was. I couldn’t tell. It was great! I also added goat cheese to the top. I think my love for goat cheese deserves it’s own post, so I’ll get to that later.

My piece fell apart when I was trying to plate it…

I also had a huge bowl of pumpkin yogurt. I normally measure out the ingredients so I can ensure a proper pumpkin-yogurt ratio, but when I looked at the yogurt, I figured it was half a cup. By the time I had dumped it into my bowl, I realized it was actually a cup, so I added an extra serving of pumpkin and topped it all of with Trader Joe’s High Fiber Cereal. Do I regret eating this double serving? No. Yogurt is the highlight of my day, every day. 🙂 No picture… darn camera!

After I ate and (sort of) digested, I went to the gym with a friend. Having someone to talk to on the elliptical makes time fly! We did 60 minutes, but I could have sworn we had just started by the time we were leaving.

I ran a few errands after I dropped her off and when I was on my way back home, the sun had just started to set and the sky looked beautiful. I had grand plans of going for a quick run, but forgot as soon as I got in the door. Considering I have a race in a few days, I need to be running outside more! It’s supposed to rain tomorrow morning, so we’ll see if it happens or not.

Instead of a run, I made myself dinner a little early. A huge and simple green smoothie. I blended half a banana, a cup of frozen mixed berries, and a ton of spinach. I usually buy my spinach from Costco, and since I’m the only one in my house that eats it, green smoothies are a great way to finish off those 4 pound bags if the spinach is a little wilted. Again, no picture… maybe that’s my camera’s way of telling me the lighting is bad or something?

I’m off to eat a huge plate of kabocha squash and catch up on some Law & Order: SVU. That’s my idea of a Saturday night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

