Better-Than-Turkey Pizza

This Thanksgiving will be my second as a vegetarian. My brief meat-eating period happened to coincide with the holiday last year, but two years ago, I was the only one in my house without turkey on my plate. Don’t get me wrong- I had plenty to eat, mostly in the form of mashed potatoes. But my meal felt incomplete. Women cannot live on potato alone- although for the next few weeks, I probably will be. 10 pound bags of russet potatoes are on sale for 69 cents! But back to Thanksgiving…

My sister (who is also a vegetarian and hates potatoes- I know, sometimes I don’t think we’re actually related) made a tomato basil soup last year as her main course in lieu of turkey. I like soup as much as the next person, but I had bigger plans. I’ll give you a hint- it starts with ‘p’ and ends with ‘izza.’

Not just any pizza would suffice, though. I wanted to make it more autumnal by adding squash, and I couldn’t resist adding dried cranberries- just like the pizza I love at Rutabegorz. In order to make it even more decadent, I was inspired by Ashley at (never home)maker to make a brie-stuffed crust. Twice the cheese? Yes, please!

Without further ado…

Better-Than-Turkey Pizza

For the crust-

  • Any whole wheat pizza dough (regular would work, as well. Ashley has a ton of recipes, but I went the lazy way and used Trader Joe’s uncooked dough)
  • 1/2 cup brie, sliced

I basically followed the method that Ashley shows you here. There was a small hitch in my plans when my bird jumped in the middle of my dough, forcing me to rip out that section and try to get the dough back in one piece again. Lesson learned… don’t let your bird in the kitchen with you!

Here’s what it looked like when I was done assembling the crust…

Once you have the crust together, it’s time for the toppings!

I used-

  • 1/2 a medium butternut squash, peeled, chopped, and seeds removed
  • 1/2 a yellow onion, sliced
  • 1/3 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup goat cheese
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries

Cook the butternut squash until tender. I microwaved it, but it would be even better roasted! While that’s cooking, start caramelizing the onions with a little olive oil. Mine were coming along nicely until my bird distracted me and I forgot to stir them 🙂 When you have everything together, start by covering the bottom of the crust with the tomato sauce.

Next, add the spinach…

Then the goat cheese…

The caramelized (or slightly burnt!) onions…

The butternut squash…

Best for the last… cranberries!

Bake at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes, or until the crust is slightly brown.

Oh…my…gosh.

Who needs turkey when you have this? It is taking every ounce of willpower I have to save this until Thanksgiving. God help any relative that tries to get a slice of this goodness. I will be holding on to it like grim death!

I guess it’s time to go clean my kitchen now. Happy Thanksgiving-eve-eve!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

