Everything in Moderation

My second day of intuitive eating / not counting calories went pretty well today. A few mindless nibbles here and there, but hey, it’s not going to be perfect, is it? I thought it would be a lot scarier, but I’m enjoying the freedom that comes with not counting. I do think I ate more today than I needed to / would normally, but I keep reminding myself I’m not going to gain 10 pounds overnight. (Although, I retain water so much that I have seen a 10 pound gain on the scale, literally overnight. But that’s a different post…)

I just had enough time before school to make oatmeal. Although I want to stop measuring my food, I think measuring oats are necessary to get the perfect ratio of liquids and oats 🙂

I topped my oats with a scoop of peanut flour and a few chopped up dates, plus a few more that ended up in my mouth. Dried fruit is usually a trigger food for me if I don’t measure it, but I’m proud to say I didn’t eat half the container this morning!

Lunch was a repeat of yesterday’s wrap. We’re out of cranberry sauce (sad day) so I threw on some dried cranberries that my sister picked off the pizza I made for Thanksgiving. Yes, in addition to not liking pumpkin, my sister does not like dried fruit. If I didn’t have the DNA results to prove it, I would not believe she was my identical twin.

Feta, cranberries, and the rest of the leftover sweet potatoes. My mom toasted pecans and added them to serve on Thanksgiving. I ate so many pecans out of the pan that the first container of leftovers didn’t have any in them! The container I ate today did, and they were a great addition to the wrap. I used to HATE nuts. In fact, the idea of nuts, especially in desserts, was offensive to me. I have totally turned a corner in my taste for nuts. I never knew I liked pecans until I tried them on Thursday!

The wrap was followed by pumpkin yogurt, naturally.

I forgot we have real pumpkin pie at home… it’s in the veggie drawer in the fridge (don’t ask.) So when a craving struck, I made Allie’s two minute pumpkin pie. I didn’t measure the ingredients- I just used up the pumpkin I had in some Tupperware. Something tells me this is at least double the serving… that is a salad bowl. 🙂

My god this is good! I couldn’t wait for it to cool down, so I didn’t. I took a huge bite, burned the hell out of my throat, gulped some water, and ate the rest of it as fast as I could. I don’t really care for pie crust to begin with, so this is the perfect dessert for me!

I was wayyyy too full after this. It’s not that I’m even THAT hungry when I get home from school- I know it’s because I subconsciously figure that because I haven’t eaten in four hours or so, I need food right away. So as a result, lunch has been becoming my biggest meal for the day. I’d like to get back to eating a normal sized lunch and eating a midafternoon snack, like I used to.

So no snack today- I was stuffed! I did go to the gym to do 60 minutes on the elliptical. I think my motivation to run outside has dwindled since I started school. I’m hoping that when it ends in two weeks I will resume my morning runs. 🙂

Leftovers were Emily’s Indian lentils with spinach. I actually made this about two months ago, and froze a serving for a night when I wouldn’t feel like cooking. I’m so glad I did! Since I’m usually the only one that eats my cooking creations, I tend to end up eating the same thing for a week at a time. I want to start freezing my meals so I can have more of a rotation.

I forgot to add spinach when I made this the first time, so when I was reheating it, I added as much spinach as the bowl would hold. I swear there is a bowl under there!

I topped the final product with pepperjack cheese. Do I even need to describe how delicious this was? Cheese makes everything better, but I’m sure everyone knows that.

Overall, I’m pleased with how today went. Other than a few mindless mouthfuls of mashed potatoes when I was deciding what to make for dinner, I paid attention to what I put in my mouth. 2 days in a row without binging or counting calories? That’s got to be a record for me!

Another reason I hope to move away from counting calories is to have the freedom to cook more. Before, my meals were ‘assembled’, rather than ‘prepared.’ It was just too hard to make something like soup and divide it into equal servings and figure out the nutrition information. I want to start cooking healthy meals and trust myself to eat a decent portion size. I can’t wait until school ends so I have more time to spend in the kitchen!

My bird won’t get off my keyboard, so I think it’s time I wrapped this post up. Until tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everything in Moderation

  1. squigglefloey says:

    My cat sometimes won’t get off my keyboard when I’m at home, haha. Animals…
    Anyway, yes I’m from the OC and am going to UCI right now! Nice to meet other people around the area!
    Congrats on continuing with the intuitive eating. When I come back from a few hours on campus I’m generally pretty hungry and running around the apt throwing together something to eat. Even more so now because the colder temps pump up my appetite. It’s been really windy these days!

Leave a Reply

