Happy Anniversary to Me!

Uh, where did November go? Or October or September, for that matter?

I live for September 1st every year. To me, that’s when the holiday season begins. For the next four months, my house is decorated for either autumn or Christmas, I can indulge in seasonal treats, the weather cools off as much as it can in California… it’s a glorious time. So when I thought about the fact that there is only one month left of my favorite time of year, I felt a little sad, until I reminded myself that this time of year wouldn’t be as special if it didn’t come only once a year šŸ™‚

So, yes, it’s December, and while most people are experiencing snow and drinking tea to stay warm, I am drinking smoothies at 7 in the morning. I will probably regret saying this when I move to someplace with snow, but I wish it was cold!

Note to self- the blender does not fit into cup holders, and should probably be made on mornings I have time to drink it at home, and not in my car šŸ™‚

Normally, this wouldn’t keep me full for that long due to the lack of protein and fat. But, since I ate so late last night (I was munching on kabocha past 10…) I woke up feeling pretty full and with kind of a tummy ache.

Not like it stopped me from eating kabocha for lunch!

If pumpkin yogurt every day is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

I found some random bran cereal to top it with later. I like crunch with my yogurt!

Unpictured snacks throughout the day included an apple with peanut flour butter and a bowl of pecans, dates, and chocolate chips. Such a good combination. Try it!

I was really full after my last snack, so I didn’t worry when I went to the gym with my dad at the time I normally eat dinner. He didn’t want to stay too long, so I only ended up doing 1 mile on the treadmill and 20 minutes on the elliptical. When we were leaving, I started feeling guilty that I had only done half an hour of cardio. I usually try to do an hour when I’m at the gym- I figure that if I drive there, I might as well get in a good workout. But then I remembered (never home)maker’s post about no workout being too short. When I first read it in January, I had just started running, and I remember thinking, “2 miles is still a good workout!” And it is. But after training for a marathon, my perception of a “good workout” is really skewed. After all, something IS better than nothing. Also, since I knew we weren’t going to stay that long, I ran a little faster on the treadmill and I cranked up the incline on the elliptical, and worked up a pretty good sweat! I get so bored on the treadmill that I normally hardly break a sweat. So, I am not feeling too bad about a short workout. šŸ™‚

I wasn’t all that hungry when I got home, but when I saw my dad break into the leftover mashed potatoes, I had to have some, too. Also, I finally roasted the sugar pumpkin that has been sitting on my counter for two weeks, and what better vessel for mashed potatoes than a pumpkin? Topped with spinach and feta cheese, this combines four of my favorite foods.

Pumpkins and Christmas towels. I refuse to let go of pumpkin season!

I do feel like I’ve been eating more since I stopped counting calories. I glanced in the mirror today and swear I’ve gained weight in my face (that’s always the first place!) I’m trying to reassure myself that it’s not possible it happened that quickly, but I was still getting down on myself. I started feeling horribly guilty about not tracking everything I ate and was kicking myself for eating too much today. I calmed down a little and feel better now. Hopefully these feelings will pass in time, when I get used to not counting.

Anyway, today marks my one year anniversary of vegetarianism! The first time I became a vegetarian for an extended period of time was actually in May of 2008, and I lasted seven months. Actually, I was a pescetarian. I went back to eating meat for a few months, and then I became a vegan for three months, ate meat for three months, and this day last year, I committed to being fully vegetarian. I plan to talk more about this in a separate post, but I can honestly say that I love being a vegetarian and have no plans to eat meat in the near future. I’m not saying that I’ll never eat meat again, but it appeals very little to me. I thought it was the hardest thing in the world when I gave up meat for the first time, but on a daily basis, it doesn’t seem like a struggle at all. Being vegan, on the other hand, always felt hard because there is dairy in EVERYTHING! I think I’ve found a happy balance between being a carnivore and a vegan šŸ™‚

Are you, or have you ever been, a vegetarian or vegan? Are you like me and have flip flopped between the two?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy Anniversary to Me!

  1. I am loving your blog! I totally understand how marathon training messes with your perspective of a good work-out. 30 minutes is way more than most americans get but yet after a marathon you feel like it is nothing! But don’t believe it….30 minutes is AWESOME!! Your dinner looks amazing. Happy one year. I have never tried being vegan or a vegetarian.

  2. Thank you! I’m hoping that 30 minutes will feel normal soon šŸ™‚ I love your blog and I hope one day to be half as fast as you… you are insane!!!

  3. You are way too nice. I have never tried Chipotle, but I am going to have to now since you crave it all of the time:)

  4. Kabocha! I’ve yet to try a kabocha squash. Can’t find em!
    I say that’s a good workout:) My cardio was only a half hour yesterday too šŸ˜‰

  5. Rachel says:

    I’m vegan, have been for three years and will be for the rest of my life! I was a vegetarian for four years before going vegan. I also gave up red meat and pork at the age of 13, but that was mostly because of some story I saw about people dying from E. coli. I am vegan for the animals first, the environment second, and my health third. There are plenty of ways to eat healthfully, but only ONE that also jives with my ethics!

    • Major props for being vegan for so long! I think it’s a great choice. I remember my mom telling me about people getting E. Coli from Jack in the Box when I was young, so I never ate there until I was 15… and I got food poisoning! There are a lot of reasons I will never eat there again, and that is the main one!

  6. Kat says:

    Congratulations lady!

    I don’t know that I could ever completely eliminate meat, but a year is a HUGE deal!

Leave a Reply

