Colorado- Day One

Home again, home again, jiggidy jig!

Colorado was amazing. I got to see one of my best friends, explore the city I’m moving to next year, and eat amazing food!

Friday morning had me waking up at 4:45 a.m. I actually got my packing done on Thursday night, despite my procrastination, so I was ready to go! Breakfast was eaten on the plane, with the company of Abe.

I brought the pumpkin bean bars I had made the day before and an apple. The bars were smushed beyond recognition, but they are even better the day after! I was so sleep deprived after an early wake-up and several days of little sleep that I actually got real coffee. I’m normally really sensitive to caffeine, so when I drink coffee and it doesn’t affect me, I know I’m really tired!

We had reserved a rental car online a few weeks ago, and when we went to pick it up, we were told our reservation didn’t exist. After trying a different company and being turned away after we had taken the shuttle out to pick up the car, we had to head back to the airport, reserve a car with a different company, go back to the lot, and finally pick up a car! Needless to say, with an hour drive ahead of us to Fort Collins, we missed an appointment we had with a counselor at CSU to talk about transferring. 😦

I ate the apple from breakfast and leftover corn pancakes on the drive to Fort Collins. Also smushed, but also good!

Because we missed our appointment, we had more time to explore Old Town. I forgot how much I loved it! I didn’t really photograph anything other than my food because my camera takes such bad pictures, so most of the photos of the city are on my friend’s camera. If you haven’t been there, picture Main Street in Disneyland. Fort Collins was the inspiration for it!

After researching places to eat there, I had come across Butter Cream Cupcakery, which said on its website that if you become a fan of them on Facebook, you get a free cupcake! Those are my two favorite words, especially together 🙂

The bakery is tiny and adorable. And by tiny, I mean they don’t have a kitchen! According to the girl behind the counter, they bake all the cupcakes at another location in the city and bring them over to the tiny store in Old Town. They had a small, but good, selection. In addition to a few ‘every day’ flavors, they have a special each day. I was bummed to see that pumpkin was only available on Mondays! Seeing that they had red velvet eased the pain a little 🙂

Mine was on the left, and my friend chose the vanilla on the left. We both agreed that they were by far the best cupcakes we have ever eaten!

After enjoying our cupcakes, we explored Old Town some more. A little place called Happy Lucky’s Tea House caught our eye, and we went inside to check it out. They have a huge wall of tea, and you pick out what flavor you’d like and tell one of the employees. They bring it out to you in a little teapot and cup! I was in love.

I chose peppermint. They had a few samples out that I tried before I decided, and I almost got a chocolate tea! It was a tough choice, but peppermint tea is so refreshing.

Cheers!

We checked into the hotel with the intention of taking a nap before going to dinner. I wasn’t tired by the time we got to the hotel, so I bundled up and walked about a mile and a half to Whole Foods. I was absolutely hell-bent on finding the granola bars I’ve had from Boston and Portland. They didn’t have the granola bars, but no matter. I always enjoy exploring a new Whole Foods!

Our hotel was really close to Old Town, so we walked to dinner. Another one of our friends at home had called and suggested a few places for dinner, one of them being DP Dough. I automatically perked up, remembering Ashley’s post about recreating their calzones a few days ago. How could anyone resist?! It was practically outside of our hotel, but when we went inside, we decided we wanted to go to a place with a little more ambience. I do look forward to going there for a casual meal when I live there, though 🙂

We were pretty much starving at this point, so when I saw HuHot,  we knew that’s where we were going. Another one of my favorite words is “Mongolian buffet,” so this place was obviously a winner. I went here when I was in Fort Collins last year and have not stopped thinking about it! Rather than having a bunch of premade food, you pick up a bowl and fill it up with anything you want. They have a ton of meat, tofu (!!!) vegetables of all kinds, noodles, and something like 30 different sauces. You pile anything you want in the bowl and then hand it to someone that cooks it on the spot for you.

Oh my lord!

Horrible picture, but I got noodles, black beans, tofu, peas, zucchini, potatoes, mushrooms, spinach, crispy things (no idea what they’re called!) and garlic broth. Cooked to perfection. Yes, I went back for another plate! I actually wasn’t too full, even after two plates, but I refrained from round three. I didn’t want to slip into a food coma! I did have a few bites of my friend’s mini brownie for dessert, though 🙂

We also got fortune cookies, and we thought the fortunes were quite fitting!

My friend’s- crazy because we were going to see another friend that lives in Fort Collins the next day. They hadn’t seen each other in two years! Weird, right?

Mine-

Does this mean that I am going to do well in my race on Sunday? 🙂

This post is getting pretty long, so I will save the rest of the trip for later. I’ve got some serious studying to do before I go to work!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Colorado- Day One

  1. Glad you had such an amazing time in CO 🙂
    And yes – i think it means you’re going to do awesome in the race!!

  2. squigglefloey says:

    sounds like a delightful trip! whenever i bring stuff to campus, it generally ends up smooshed as well haha
    are you thinking of moving to Colorado?

  3. Kat says:

    I had no idea that Fort Collins was the model for Main Street, USA! That must have been a little bit surreal, really.

    It’s good to see I’m not the only person who travels with snacks galore. It helps me to keep my schedule and know what I’m putting in my body 🙂

    • Apparently another model for Maun Street was Marceline, Missouri. It looks even more like Disneyland than Fort Collins!

      I love to pack food but I didn’t pack nearly enough and restaurant food got the best of me. At least it was delicious 🙂

  4. hahaha what ARE those crispy noodle things called?? Crispy Noodles? They’re tasty whatever they are 😉

  5. ahha i think it is a sign!! you will do great! the fortune says!!

  6. Sounds like such a fun trip! Those little cup cakes are adorable! For free too? Always a bonus 🙂

  7. cbrady3 says:

    Those cupcakes look awesome! I recently had the best cupcake of MY life — reeses from a place in STL called Jilly’s!

  8. Aundra says:

    This is my first visit to your blog…found you through HTP. The book you’re reading on the plane is by someone I know! Josh used to be the Director of the Literary House at the school I attended (and now where I work): Washington College. Small world! Hope you enjoy the book…

Leave a Reply

