No more teachers, no more books…

School is out! I don’t think I have ever been so happy for a semester to end. I am positive my grades are less than stellar, but I am so happy to have the next six weeks off! I can’t wait to have time to make breakfast every morning, go to the gym and have time to take a shower after (I’m the kind of person who will go to class sweaty…) and read real books, not textbooks.

Breakfast was consumed before dashing out the door to a 7:00 a.m. final. I’m definitely a morning person, but 7:00 is a little early to be in class, even for me!

Typical pumpkin yogurt with some kind of cinnamon granola from Target. Holy god, this stuff is good. My mom buys it and I end up eating all of it. Sorry, Mom!

I was so tempted to come straight home from school at 11:20 and have lunch, but between picking up my sister from school later and going to work at 5:00, I knew I should squeeze in the gym while I could. And I am so glad I did! If I had gone home, I wouldn’t be able to relax because it would be hanging over my head, and I would be majorly crunched for time. So I sucked it up and drove straight there. I can normally stay on the elliptical forever, but I was getting really bored and moved around a lot. After 20 minutes on the elliptical, 20 minutes on the bike, 10 minutes on the Stairmaster, and 10 minutes on the treadmill, I was ready to go.

I usually get home from the gym and sit around in my workout clothes until I’m feeling motivated to take a shower (I know! Disgusting.) But today, I felt so gross that I got right in the shower, put on nice, clean clothes, and started a load of laundry all before lunch. Is it just me, or is there something intensely satisfying about throwing really sweaty clothes in the washer?

Lunch was a little later than usual, but literally took two minutes to make.

I never buy pre-made soup because

  1. I know I can make it better and cheaper
  2. The sodium content is horrendous
  3. I don’t even like soup that much
  4. Did I mention the sodium?

I have a major “thing” about sodium. I retain water like crazy, and despite my best efforts to drink water, if I have too much sodium, I turn into the State Puff Marshmallow Man. So even though I normally don’t like soup that much, when I saw Trader Joe’s Organic Butternut Squash soup, I perked up. Low sodium, too? Hell yeah! I like thick soups with something I can chew on, so I stuffed some spinach in there and crumbled a corn muffin that we had languishing in the freezer. My mom made these a few weeks ago as a trial for Thanksgiving. She thinks she doubled the baking powder accidentally, because the batter was really foamy and they taste really salty. I think they’re great, though. More for me!

Awww, yeah.

Lunch isn’t lunch without something sweet, of course. I used my last frozen banana to make frozen banana treat with real peanut butter. I was so distracted by the soup at TJ’s that I forgot peanut flour! I miss it.

I tossed in a sprinkle handful of chocolate chips after I took this. It was so delicious that my camera ate the picture! Har, har, har.

It also ate the rest of the pictures of my eats. I had a few clementines and handfuls of granola before work. I got off at 8, but I’m always starving when I get off, so I packed my dinner. I mixed cooked bulgur, a little bit of feta, raisins, and a tiny chopped apple together. The cheese totally makes the meal. Feta makes everything betta! (Sorry, I’ll stop 🙂 )

Even though I ate at work, I snacked a little when I got home. And by snacked, I mean that I had a few more handfuls of granola and then ate almost the whole bag of white chocolate peppermint pretzels from Trader Joe’s. I totally had enough willpower to avoid these when I was there, but my mom asked that I pick up a few bags. When I went back to pay for them after I bought my other stuff, the cashier commented that the pretzels were worth a second trip to the store. He was right. They are addicting! Damn Trader Joe’s and their seasonal snacks.

So, a little more snacking than needed, but overall, I’m pleased with how I’ve eaten today. I was getting a little down when I weighed myself this morning because I’m pretty close to my heaviest weight. It’s kind of depressing to think about how hard I worked to lose the weight, and how quickly binge eating caught up to me. But instead of letting it bother me, I’m trying to focus on the good things in my life right now. After all, school is out, and the holiday season is upon us! I need to lighten up and enjoy what’s going on around me 🙂

What are you looking forward to most about the holiday season? I can’t wait to have time every day to bake, finish Christmas shopping, and spend time with my family!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to No more teachers, no more books…

  1. sophia says:

    white chocolate peppermint pretzels ? I would certainly have finished them within an hour…they sound marvelous! I just find anything chocolate-covred addicting.

    I’m not going back home this holiday season but I look forward to the sales….how superficial am I? ;-p

  2. i cant wait to listen to christmas music and chill with my family!

  3. Everything looks so GOOD! I’m really excited to spend time with my family. I was blessed to be in Germany this summer, but I didn’t get to spend nearly enough time with my family at home!

    Enjoy your break!

  4. Sleeping in!! Congrats, 6 weeks off that is awesome!! Your banana freeze looks amazing and you are so right about Take 5’s!

  5. Kayla says:

    Feta makes ANYTHING better! I love feta!

Leave a Reply

