The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Does anyone remember this book?

I was reading this to a kid at work this morning, and the whole time I was thinking… this sounds like me! In case anyone doesn’t remember it, the caterpillar starts out eating a piece of fruit every day, but it doesn’t fill him up. He eats more and more fruit, but he’s still hungry. So on the weekend, he eats everything in sight, and then he has a stomachache. Sound familiar?

I firmly believe that every children’s story can be applicable to my life, and this one is no exception. Despite my best intentions to stop counting calories and eat sensibly to lose weight, I feel like I’m fighting a losing battle. I still haven’t broken free of the ‘I screwed up today so I might as well eat everything in sight’ mentality. Today started off well enough with a green smoothie.

I was inspired by a smoothie that I got from the Jamba Juice at the Denver airport on Sunday to add granola and bananas to my breakfast. It was good!

I was still a little hungry after this, so my hand went back into the granola. After a while, I just dumped the rest of the granola (about 3 servings!) into my cup and finished it off before going to work.

When I got home from work, I made myself the typical pumpkin yogurt, and used up the rest of the cinnamon granola (probably about 2-3 servings.) I had a repeat of yesterday’s lunch, and then, still not feeling satisfied, I had an apple with peanut butter.

Normally, that would be more than enough to fill me up, but a voice in my head was still encouraging me to eat. Before I knew it, I was reaching in the fridge to have a slice of an apple tart my parents made last week when they took a cooking class. Now, I’m in a food coma, and seriously regretting my decisions.

I know intuitive eating is going to be hard. Amber from The Girl with the Red Hair just mentioned recently that she has been doing it, and she’s never felt better. Monica from Run, Eat, Repeat has a whole section about it on her blog. Despite reading these, I still feel like my eating is out of control. Coupled with being in a serious exercise rut and skipping my workout today, I’m not feeling the greatest.

I don’t mean to sound all doom and gloom, but I’m hoping that putting all of this out there will help me focus on being healthy again. I’ve come to realize that I do well when I set goals for myself. When I’m working towards something specific, I tend to stay on track, be it eating healthy, exercising, or school work. So, I’m setting a few December goals for myself (it’s never too late!) As follows, I am aiming to-

  • Drink 64 ounces of water a day. Remember how I mentioned that I retain water? If I drink any less than this, I’m a mess. Nothing makes me feel worse than being dehydrated!
  • Get moving five times a week. I don’t want to camp out the elliptical for those times, either- I want to shake up my workout routine. I want to get back into spinning, yoga, running longer distances, strength training, and speed work. I don’t want to be too stringent with this one, because if I miss a workout, I’ll feel like the whole plan is a waste. So, rather than following a specific plan, I want to incorporate whatever I can into my day and make sure I have lots of variety.
  • Cook three times a week. This includes incorporating more veggies in my diet- I’ve been seriously lacking! I eat a lot of spinach, but that’s really been it lately. I have so many recipes bookmarked that I’m dying to make, and now that I have time, I really want to get on that!
  • Not let a bad choice turn into a bad day. It’s the Christmas season, and I plan on baking a lot to reflect that. 🙂 I want to let myself eat treats within reason. Two cookies does not have to turn into the whole pan!

Nothing too mind blowing, but I think writing them out and posting them will help me stay on track. I plan to check in once a while to see how I’m doing with them and stay accountable.

I’m going to go pack myself dinner and then I’m off to babysit for the rest of the night. Gotta make that money!

Have you set any goals for yourself lately? They can be about anything! It’s never too late to set them 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Very Hungry Caterpillar

  1. Don’t worry- we all have days when we overeat! I know I do! But as long as you keep active and don’t have them too often, it all evens out, so don’t worry about it too much! 🙂
    I’m actually building up a list of goals to set as my New Years Resolutions, so currently no December goals! I’ll have a ton of them in a few weeks though!

  2. Jess says:

    First step is not being hard on yourself!! Everyone goes through these days:)

  3. this happens to all of us! oh well.. its just one of those days! I made some goals as well:
    my goals:
try new healthy recipes (for dinner and lunch- oh and snacks!)
bake/make a new to-go snack every week
keep motivated to workout during the cold
try something new every day

  4. My immediate goal is to make it through finals week alive! During break, I want to mix up my workouts a bit and get more green in my diet. Oh, if only I could have a green monster!

  5. runyogarepeat says:

    My goals are to drink more tea and mix up my exercise routine by trying spinning and other new fitness classes. Your goals are great – I love the one about not letting a bad choice turn into a bad day.

  6. Kat says:

    I’m just horrible at intuitive eating. I always feel like I end up stuffing my face instead of doing something healthy-ish.

    That being said, there are days where I’m just voraciously hungry and I need to learn to be okay with that. I think what’s so hard in our culture (and all of the over-processing and whatnot) is that when you’re starting to intuitively eat, it’s really hard to understand what your body is ACTUALLY saying versus what you think it might be saying.

Leave a Reply

