Make Room For Santa 5k Recap

Who said running a 5k was easy?! Not going to lie, I thought choosing a shorter distance would be easier than a 10k, which I ran for the first time two weeks ago. Not so much. 5ks are hard!

The race didn’t start until 9 a.m., but I hadn’t registered yet. I wanted to get there as early as possible in case the race sold out, so I was up at 5:30 this morning. The race was held at a shopping center near my house (that I actually used to work at!) so it didn’t take too long at all. Actually, it was kind of nice to be awake that early. We saw a pretty sunrise on the way over πŸ™‚

I was registered by 6:30, so I had two and a half hours to kill. My sister and I went to the only place that was open that early- Panera! Good pre-race fuel. Actually, it was probably a little much, but damn, it was good!

I got a gingerbread bagel with hazelnut cream cheese. The cream cheese was more expensive than the bagel! Totally worth it, though. It was delicious! My mom met us at the restaurant and we hung out until the race started. I liked having a later race. It was actually kind of relaxing! The 10k started at 7, so a lot of the finishers came to Panera after they raced. There were a ton of people dressed up like elves and Santa! So cute. I actually went to Target last night to get reindeer antlers, but was distracted by these…

Only two dollars! I have a really big head, so the antlers wouldn’t have stayed on anyway. πŸ™‚

Before I knew it, it was time to line up, and then we were off! Because my goal wasΒ  25 minutes, I wanted to keep all my mile times around 8 minutes. I started off too fast as usual, and my first mile clocked in at 7:44. For me, that is too fast! From the beginning, my lungs were burning and I was gasping for breath. I slowed it down the second mile. At this point, not only was I feeling really winded, my legs felt shaky. I don’t know what caused it, but I think it’s my lack of running and most importantly, speed work, that was making me feel funny.

Despite not feeling my best, I really enjoyed the race. It was cool to be running in such a familiar spot! The thing I like best about smaller races is that everyone has such a good attitude. Everyone was dressed up, cheering for each other, and not taking it too seriously. Totally different from the beginning of a marathon, if you ask me!

Around mile 2.5, I started feeling like my legs were going to give out from beneath me. I kept telling myself I only had half of a mile left. Speeding up wasn’t an option, so I did my best to maintain between an 8:00-8:30 mile pace. Before I knew it, I was coming up to the finish!

I crossed the finish line in 25:34. I was a little disappointed at first, but then I thought about the circumstances of the race. Considering I have run a handful of times in the past two months and done no speedwork, that’s not too bad of a time! The more I think about it, the happier I am about it. I know I can’t PR every time. 34 seconds above my goal? I’ll take it!

For being a small race, they sure had a lot of food! I grabbed half a banana, a granola bar, a water, a Hansen’s soda (so refreshing!) and TWO SLICES OF PIZZA. I ate the banana and drank some water, but I felt really full all of a sudden. I gave the pizza to my mom and sister, who insisted they couldn’t eat pizza so early in the morning. I went to go see if I could get a race T-shirt (they were out) and when I came back the pizza was mysteriously eaten πŸ™‚

We stuck around the finish line long enough to see a group of Marines finish. They carried an American flag and chanted the whole time. My mom was in heaven. Who doesn’t love a man in uniform? Too bad they weren’t wearing them!

Next year, I will be an elf.

It’s always good to see a cheering twin at the finish line, even if she won’t hug you because you’re sweaty πŸ™‚ (I don’t know why I look so much taller than her)

My mom and sister went home shortly after. I wanted to stick around to see the awards handed out, and since we were in a shopping center, I wanted to finish my Christmas shopping! I stuck around where I thought the awards were being handed out for an hour. I must have been in the wrong spot, because it never happened! When I started walking back to my car, I saw people with medals around their neck. No idea where they got them! Everyone except the top three age division finishers got an ornament instead of a medal.

The race wasn’t chip timed, but they took the bottom of our bibs from us when we finished, and they had computerized race results. Because there was no timing chip, the time it took us to get to the starting line counted against us. So, my official time is 25:51. I don’t even care because I came in first place in my age division! OOO-RAH!

You know you’re running a small race when I place in the top three πŸ™‚ Regardless, I’m quite pleased! So, just like the last race I ran, I didn’t get a medal for placing! I’m going to email the race officials (like last time…) and ask if I still get a medal (like last time…) Hopefully they can mail it to me (like last time!)

So, overall, I had a good race. Today made me realize that speedwork is desperately needed in my life! If I can come within a minute of my PR with almost no training, I’m positive that I can beat it if I train.

Thanks for all the well wishes on my post yesterday! Your comments were much appreciated, and every time I felt like collapsing on the pavement and gasping for air, I thought about them πŸ™‚

What is the most fun you’ve ever had at a race? I loved the fact that so many people were dressed up for this one! It makes me want to do a Halloween race next year…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Make Room For Santa 5k Recap

  1. Jess says:

    Love your socks! And your time is awesome, congrats!

  2. good job! i love 5k’s.. im jealous!

  3. squigglefloey says:

    Omg, first place in your age division?! AMAZING! Congrats girlie!! πŸ™‚

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    Yay! I’m so happy for you πŸ˜€

    We seem to struggle with a lot of similar things, and it’s been amazing to read back through your blog posts.

    Thanks a million for your comment to me: I’m really not that fast and I’m injured half the time…I’d rather be slower and less injury-prone! And I’ve never placed anywhere (closed I’ve got was fourth…grr) so you should be super-proud of yourself!

    Most fun I’ve ever had at a race was actually at a marathon…it was my first and there was a fantastic atmosphere, with a band drummers and a beautiful setting in the hills/mountains of the Lake District, which I think is the most beautiful part of the UK. It was a smaller race though, and I agree with you that the atmosphere is so much nicer than at the huge, commercial races.

    Congratulations!

    xxx

  5. FIRST PLACE sending you the biggest hug my dear. ur amazing!!

  6. runyogarepeat says:

    Awesome job, you were still really close to your goal! I ran a cross country race in high school where all the teams dressed up. It was a relay and each person only ran 1.5 miles, so it was short and fun!

  7. Well done! AND you placed first in your division! That’s amazing πŸ™‚

  8. Congratulations on the run! That is great! I need to get one of those bagels…that sounds too good to miss.

  9. What an awesome race!! You were a speed demon! Congrats!! Loved the socks. I have never done a race where everyone dresses up, but now I really want too.

  10. Oh and any race that has pancakes after is my favorite.

  11. Kat says:

    Lady, that was definitely a great time!

    I know that I don’t love 5Ks as much because by the time that I get to the finish line, I’ve only just gotten going. That being said, my favorite one was definitely my first πŸ™‚

  12. Lisa says:

    Congrats on your win with your age group! That’s great! Those races are so fun to watch (and be in) with all the costumes. I ‘m more of a warm weather runner, but I give kudos to anyone who can handle the cold!

  13. I thankfully never have to worry about the cold πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Timberwolf 5k Recap | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

