Kate Actually Cooks!

Despite the title of this blog, I haven’t done a whole lot of cooking in the few weeks since I’ve named this blog. A combination of school, work, and laziness prevented me from making a real meal. So, when I had all day after my race yesterday completely free and a stocked kitchen, I knew it was time to do my thing!

I had been eyeing Emily’s Harvest Root Vegetable Pie for a long time. I actually planned on making a pie crust from scratch, which I had never done before, but it was unseasonably humid and HOT yesterday (90 degrees! I hate California…) that I decided to go with store bought. No shame in that! And honestly, the idea of making a pie crust scares the hell out of me. One day, I’ll do it… until then, Pillsbury will suffice 🙂

Other than making my own crust, I pretty much followed the recipe. I didn’t have any veggie stock, so I used white wine to cook the mushrooms.

The original recipe also called for beets, which I can’t stand, so for the roasted vegetable layer, I used a combination of russet potatoes (still working my way through a huge bag), turnips, and carrots. I’ve roasted veggies before, but never with olive oil and salt. Those two ingredients make all the difference. They had plenty of time to cool before I added them to the pie, and I ate so many of them that I actually thought I wasn’t going to have enough for the dish!

I don’t have a steam basket, so I boiled the sweet potatoes until they were soft, drained them, stuck them back in the pot with a little milk and butter, and mashed them the old fashioned way.

I used three huge sweet potatoes, so this was too much for the pie. After I stuck it in the oven, I ate the rest of them, and completely spoiled my appetite! I ended up being so full that I didn’t even eat the pie last night. Now that I know how ridiculously easy mashed sweet potatoes are, I foresee these a lot in my future. Even my sister, professed hater of all potatoes, loved them.

After spending two and a half hours standing in the kitchen chopping, sauteeing, mashing, and washing dishes, I deserved this!

If the weather is unseasonable, my beer can be too! My mom bought this for me sometime in October or November, and I finally got around to drinking it. I rarely drink and I actually don’t care for beer, but stick a pumpkin on the label, and I’ll try it. For being a beer, it was actually pretty good- the aftertaste was just like pumpkin spice. I only had a few sips, though. Beer is still not my thing 🙂

I wish I had a pretty picture to show of the final product, but with the bad lighting in my kitchen, I couldn’t get a good one. It’s not nearly as pretty as Emily’s, but I thought it turned out well 🙂

I resisted all urge to eat it for breakfast and settled on French toast with apples for breakfast.

Just two slices of whole wheat bread dipped in egg whites and pumpkin pie spice and topped with hot apples and maple syrup. Easy and delicious!

After breakfast, I headed to the gym with my sister. I did 30 minutes on the elliptical, 20 minutes on the bike, and 10 minutes on the treadmill. I was planning on doing the treadmill for a little longer, but my legs were feeling a little tight after the bike. I still want to do speedwork sometime this week, though.

After a shower, I was finally ready for the pie!

Other than the fact that I forgot to prebake the crust and it was a little, uh, undercooked, this was AMAZING! It was pretty much all of my favorite veggies in one delicious little pie. I cut it into six pieces, so if no one in my family eats it, I get to enjoy this the rest of the week 🙂

I had the typical pumpkin yogurt after lunch, and had some frozen banana treat with peanut butter about an hour ago. My tummy is telling me it’s dinner time, so I’m going to go explore my options. I’m resisting all urge to have another slice of pie!

What’s the best dish you’ve made recently?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kate Actually Cooks!

  1. Heather R says:

    That pie looks really tasty and interesting!

    The best thing I made lately was the pizza I made tonight, if only because it’s one of the few real dishes I’ve cooked myself in a while. Just getting over being sick, so it’s been a lot of soup and ordering out for me the last couple of weeks.

  2. oh my gosh that dish looks amazing!! I recently made some protein pancakes and have eaten them everyday since hah!

  3. I’ve been wanting to try that veggie pie ever since seeing it on her blog! Looks ah-mazing!

  4. Erika says:

    I love traditional pot pies, but this one looks good too! I would probably sub regular potatoes for sweet potatoes.

Leave a Reply

