Spin First, Bake Later

I did the impossible today. I went to a 5:45 a.m. cycling class! I’ve been wanting to get back into spinning for a while, but it was hard for me to go during school. I prefer to exercise in the mornings, because I hate the idea of missing a workout hanging over my head. My sister, fellow early bird, was counting on me getting up early to get her in the gym (since I work there, I can bring two guests with me each time I go), so the fact that someone’s workout was dependent on me helped me get out of bed!

At 5:00 a.m., I reached for my phone to turn off my alarm, and I saw a text message from my coworker, asking if I could work at 8:30 for her this morning. I was about two seconds from not going to the gym and text messaging her back to say no, but then I realized that I was already up, I had time to still work out, and I could use the extra money!

So off to spin it was. I hadn’t taken a class since August, since I injured my foot during marathon training and went to spin every day for a week because I was terrified I would lose my endurance. (Maybe that’s why I hadn’t been in so long- I was burned out!) I thought not going for so long was going to kill me, but it wasn’t too bad. I wasn’t really a fan of the instructor, but I’ve had worse. I think a good cycling class really depends on the instructor- I have a hard time pushing myself if the teacher is lackluster. I’m still glad I went, though!

I had enough time to go home, shower, blow dry and straighten my hair (which takes FOREVER! I would be ready in five minutes otherwise) and make breakfast. I am so glad I checked Ashley‘s blog this morning. She was the inspiration for my breakfast 🙂

Helloooo there, banana breakfast oatmeal cookie! This recipe immediately caught my eye, but I was hesitant to make it because I didn’t think it would be filling enough. Not only was it super filling, it was one of the most delicious breakfasts I’ve had in a while! The banana taste wasn’t overpowering, but it was absolutely crucial. I’ve never put banana in my oatmeal before, but I will from now on. It was perfect! I left out the walnuts and topped my cookie with peanut butter and raisins.

I finished the bag of raisins this afternoon. I’ve had this since FEBRUARY. I’m a fiend for dried fruit, but I’m pretty much the only one in my house that eats it. Since I buy it from Costco, it always takes me a while to go through it.

Good thing I still have a jumbo container of dates, craisins, and dried plums to snack on 🙂

Lunch was a leftover slice of harvest root vegetable pie, plus another half a slice. Followed by pumpkin yogurt (as usual) and an apple later on.

Since I had five hours between shifts (I went back to work at 5 tonight) I thought I would do a little baking. Can you believe there are only 11 days until Christmas and I haven’t baked anything Christmasy yet?! Travesty. I thought of what I had on hand, and gingerbread came to mind. I made a whole wheat gingerbread using a mix last month, but I wanted to make it from scratch. My plan was thwarted when I realized I had no ginger.

I was planning on using pumpkin in the gingerbread, so pumpkin cake it was!

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup applesauce
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup agave
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp flax seed mixed with 6 tbsp water)
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray a 9 x 9 pan with nonstick spray. Mix together the whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice, and salt; set aside.

  • In a separate bowl, mix together the applesauce and pumpkin. Add the maple syrup, agave, banana and vanilla and stir until combined. Add the flaxseed mixture and mix well.

  • Add the wet ingredients to the flour mixture and stir until combined. Pour into pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.

The cake is really dense and not too sweet- perfect to eat for breakfast. Enjoy!

Have you started holiday baking yet? I am determined to make my family’s favorite holiday cookies tomorrow- anise cookies! It pretty much takes all day, so no one wants to do it except me 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Spin First, Bake Later

  1. Toni says:

    These look amazing! I will have to try it – thank you for sharing! 🙂

  2. That cake looks wonderful. I haven’t done too much baking yet, though I did make snickerdoodles last week. This weekend, I am going to change that and make some type of Christmas cookie.

  3. this cake sounds so healthy and tasty! I;m so exited to try this 🙂

  4. I would LOVE to take a spin class! They don’t offer any at my gym unfortunately! :/ And mad props for getting up that early! I’ve always wanted to be an early morning exerciser but alas, I’m not. I prefer to do my workouts in the evenings. Or mid-day depending on my schedule. 🙂

  5. Yay for early morning spin. It is so hard to get up but once you get moving I love morning workouts. Your breakfast looks amazing…you are a healthy eating inspiration to me!! I started holiday baking two months ago…oops!

  6. Talita says:

    Yummm! What a yummy cake! Love healthy and delicious combined!

  7. Jess says:

    good job getting up that early! i prefer to workout in the mornings, too.
    and i haven’t started baking since i’m still at school- i don’t have much time this year:(

  8. Kat says:

    I only work out in the morning when it’s a necessity, so way to hop out of bed and hop-to, lady!

    I don’t have a lot of baking to do but I will be making a double-batch of Mama Pea’s sugar cookie dough balls to bring to some girlfriends this weekend 🙂 I hope the anise cookies turn out just the way you’d like them to!

  9. runyogarepeat says:

    I really want to try spinning! I’ll probably try some a class during the free week at the beginning of next semester. Way to go getting up early! I’m a morning person too, but 5:45 is wayyy too early for me.

  10. sophia says:

    Wow, spinning at 5-ish in the morning…thats dedication! I sometimes try to wake up early in the morning to get in a short run, but I never am able to do that.

    I started baking sugar cookies today! 😀

  11. Brenna says:

    I have a confession. I have never taken a spin class because I’ve been too afraid. AHH! How do you like it, Kate?

  12. Pingback: De-Cluttering, and it Feels So Good | What Kate is Cooking

  13. bakebooks says:

    This recipe looks great and adaptable! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

