Soup and Self-Fulfilling Prophecies

I had a friend in elementary / middle school that had a serious case of OCD. When kids teased her about it and she told her mother, her mom told her not to listen to them. She seemed to think that OCD was not a classifiable disorder, but a self-fulfilling prophecy. In her opinion, she thought that if my friend believed she had OCD, she really would have it.

Ever since I can remember, my grandfather has called me “pumpkin.” Well, not just me. All of his granddaughters, although I’m pretty sure I’m the only one that likes it. I never really gave it much thought until last year, when I noticed an orange tint on my hands and face. It got worse and worse, until I realized…

I’m turning into a pumpkin!

Unfortunately, pictures do not do my condition justice. A side by side comparison of my sister and I is the surest way to detect my orange glow, but since my camera tends to turn everything orange anyway, it’s hard to tell. After researching Vitamin A toxicity, I’m pretty sure I have nothing to be worried about…

Which is why I made butternut squash soup today 🙂

But, first things first. My breakfast was decidedly UN-pumpkiny…

I loved the banana breakfast cookie that I made on Tuesday so much that I had to have it again today. No raisins this time, though… I’m fresh out!

I didn’t eat breakfast until 10:30 this morning… about three hours later than I normally do. I was in such a sugar hangover from last night’s cookie sampling that I couldn’t even fathom eating. Waking up the morning after a sugar binge feels quite like a regular hangover. I was headachey, dehydrated, and I seriously regretted my choices last night. At least eating too much sugar doesn’t make me do stupid things like the OTHER activity that leads to hangovers 🙂

I went to the gym before lunch. I was planning on doing speedwork on the treadmill, but I was still pretty full from breakfast, so I settled on running for 15 minutes, alternating my speed anywhere from 6-7 miles an hour. I followed that with 30 minutes on the elliptical and 15 minutes on the StairMaster. The StairMaster KILLS me! I turned it on the ‘calorie burn’ workout and it was going so fast that I was practically laying on top of the machine to catch my breath after. Hurts so good!

Lunch combined my favorite elements. Sweet and savory!

I took some of the whole wheat pumpkin cake I made a few days ago, split a slice in half, and topped it with spinach, goat cheese, and craisins. Take my word for it. YUM!

And because I’m trying to lay off the Vitamin A and all, I had pumpkin ice cream instead of yogurt. It’s not going to turn me orange if it’s not real pumpkin, right?!

Sometime between all of this, I got to making soup. I’m pleased to say that I totally winged it and I thought it came out pretty good for it being my third time making soup!

Butternut Squash Potato Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 butternut squash, seeded and cut in half
  • 3 small russet potatoes, chopped (about 400 grams)
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • Salt to taste

Instructions:

  • Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Take the cut squash and place it, cut side down, in a dish filled with about one inch of water. Roast for one hour, until most of the water is evaporated and the skin is turning brown.

  • In the mean time, throw your celery and onions into a soup pot or Dutch oven over medium heat. You can use either olive oil or butter to sautee them, but I just used nonstick spray and they turned out fine. Cook until the vegetables are soft, and then throw in the garlic and cook for another few minutes, just until you can smell the garlic.

  • While the vegetables are sauteeing, boil your potatoes until they’re soft and falling apart.
  • When the squash is done, let it cool slightly before scooping out all the flesh and throwing it in with the celery and onions. I normally eat the squash skin, but in soup, it’s better to leave them out!
  • When the potatoes are done, dump them, along with the cooking water, into the pot.
  • Using an immersion blender, blend the soup to your desired thickness.

Try not to eat the whole pot if you don’t want to turn orange!

Is Vitamin A toxicity a valid concern for any freaks like me? I refuse to stop eating pumpkin! I don’t mind looking like I have a bad fake tan as long as I can get my pumpkin fix 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Soup and Self-Fulfilling Prophecies

  1. squigglefloey says:

    Haha what a cute story! My dad used to call me pumpkin when I was little too 🙂 I had a round cheeky face (luckily, I wasn’t orange) 😛

  2. Priyanka says:

    The butternut potato soup looks so good!

    Nice blog!

  3. I’ve been told by my husband that I will probably turn orange with all the pumpkin I’ve been eating. It really should be a year round thing. I love it!

  4. Kat says:

    Ive never had butternut squash soup, but yours looks so good!! I went through a streak of eating pumpkin in SOME form everyday. I agree that it can be pretty addiciting. Especially since it is so good to bake with!!

  5. love the story! that soup looks incredible! My husband is from San Clamente:) Where are you in Cali?

  6. oh that soup looks so lovely! i think I’m going to make me some soup for tomorrow!

  7. runyogarepeat says:

    Don’t worry about Vitamin A toxicity! Unless you take vitamin A supplements or eat lots of foods with vita A (meats especially liver meats), you probably won’t get it. Beta-carotene in veggies like carrots & squash is converted to vitamin A in the body, but you can’t overdose on beta-carotene. If you eat TONS of carrots, you may get the orange tint, but that’s the worst that will happen.

Leave a Reply

