Vijftien

Happy Saturday!

I keep forgetting to put my memory card in my camera, so I don’t have any pictures of my meals today. Too bad- my breakfast was actually kind of pretty! It involved pears… always a good thing.

I took the idea from Run, Yoga, Repeat to write 15 random things about myself.  So, without further ado…

1. I decided to start this blog after reading a post on someone’s blog where they talked about how they like to go to grocery stores, even if they don’t buy anything. It made me realize that there are other people out there like me 🙂

2. One of my best friends in elementary school was Japanese, and taught me how to (sort of) speak and write the language. I forgot most of it when she moved back to Japan, and I have a ton of letters we wrote back and forth in Japanese that I can’t understand anymore! I also tried to learn Dutch when I was a teenager, but that didn’t really work out. (The title of this post is ‘fifteen’ in Dutch.)

3. I very rarely drink. I don’t like most alcohol, and I do stupid things when I drink too much, like sing karaoke at family reunions and look way too enthusiastic about it.

4.  I’m terrified of lightning, getting electrocuted, hippopotamuses, and Elijah Wood. (ESPECIALLY Elijah Wood.) All of these fears were born from nightmares I’ve had. You haven’t experienced fear until you’ve woken up from a nightmare where a hippo is biting your neck…

5. Although I’d like to kill her half the time, my twin sister is my best friend and other half. She’s moving to Portland next year and I’m going to Colorado, but everyone has their doubts that we are actually going to move apart. I guess we’ll see in a few months 🙂

6. Until I started eating healthier last year, I could go weeks without eating a vegetable. Months, even. I’m trying to get better about eating a variety of veggies- I eat spinach faithfully, though!

7. One of my goals in life is to travel to every continent and every state. I’ve been to three continents (Europe, Australia, and North America) and 20 states. When I went to Colorado last year, my friend and I commandeered my friend’s car when she was at work and drove through Wyoming to get to Nebraska, just to say we had been there 🙂

8. When I was in Rome, I was about ten feet away from the Pope and we made eye contact! I didn’t have my camera, but my friend snapped this picture of him as he was departing in his Popemobile. He also blessed everyone during the service we attended. As a baptized (although very UNpracticing Catholic) I was very happy 🙂

9. I’m really fascinated with serial killers. I know it sounds really weird, but I think it’s so interesting to read about them! I’m really squeamish, so I don’t like to actually hear about the gore or anything, but the psychology behind them is intriguing to me. It really creeps my parents out, especially because my friend bought me the ‘Encyclopedia of Serial Killers’ for Christmas a few years ago…

10. I’m technically an English major, but sometimes consider changing to child development, history, or psychology. Leaning towards history, although I have no idea what I’d do with it!

11. A few months ago, I stuck a cutting board in the oven because I thought it was a pizza stone. It melted all over and totally ruined one of our oven racks, and my dad spent all morning cutting it out. (I helped, I promise!) He cringes every time I get near the oven 🙂

12. I live for September 1st ever year. Even though California has no real autumn to speak of, it’s the day I start baking pumpkin treats, drink pumpkin beer, and decorate my house for fall. I might be a little obsessed…

13. Yogurt is a major food group in my diet and eating certain yogurts is really nostalgic for me. I don’t care how much high fructose corn syrup it has… the best yogurt will always be Yoplait Thick and Creamy Strawberry. It reminds me of being a kid! Until I branched out and started eating other yogurts, I thought every yogurt had a custardy texture. Man, was I disgusted the first time I ate ‘real’ yogurt. I love it now, though 🙂

14.  I think my parents are the cutest, sassiest people are I know, and I aspire to have a marriage like theirs when I’m older. They’ve been married for 27 years and raised three kids… no easy feat if you knew us when we were teenagers!

15. I jumped down a flight of stairs when I was 14 and landed so hard I am positive I cracked a rib. I never went to the doctor (I used to be a real hypochondriac, and everyone thought I was exaggerating) but I could hardly move for two days and now, when I move a certain way, I feel a pop where I hurt myself. I don’t know if there’s a way to tell what really happened, but even after 8 years, I still think I did!

What are some random facts about you? I can’t be the only one who is terrified of Elijah Wood, right?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Vijftien

  1. Emily says:

    I’m totally the queen of going to grocery stores (especially Whole Foods or the Co-Op where I live) and never buying anything. I just love to look at food and food labels and get excited that one day I won’t have a budget and can just buy whatever I want 🙂

    Random fact about me? Umm, my fear is the car wash. I have been terrified of it since I was little for absolutely no reason. I make other people drive my car through it, hahaa

    • It’s my favorite hobby! 🙂

      I was kind of scared of car washes when I was younger too! Now, I’m just scared of driving in them. I never know how far to pull up! I rarely go in them… my car is always dirty!

  2. Priyanka says:

    I love grocery stores but the problem is I end up buying stuff.

    Random fact: I have a fear of getting down the stairs, I feel I’ll trip over and break my front two teeth.

  3. Jess says:

    Haha I liked the “although I’d like to kill her half the time…”- I know what you mean!

  4. Erica says:

    I’m trying to break the hypochondriac in me. It is so hard though because I work in an Elementary school so I am constantly worried that I am getting sick.

  5. Erica D says:

    I have a big phobia of having paper in my mouth. No idea what it stems from, but cigarettes are definitely out of the question if only for that reason.

    Where in FoCo will be you studying at? I go to college in Colorado Springs!

    • I’m going to go to Front Range for a semester and hopefully transfer to Colorado State! That’s awesome that you are in Colorado too. For some reason, I can’t comment on your blog, but I am loving it!!

  6. one very random thing about me.. I have a fear ketchup.. i cant look at large amounts of it (one time i saw a big bowl of ketchup and nearly had a panic attack) and it cannot touch me! If ketchup touches me.. I FREAK

  7. ~Jessica~ says:

    I share numbers three, nine and fourteen 🙂 (well, just the lightning one, though I agree that Mr.Wood is rather creepy!)

  8. I totally agree with the grocery store thing! Although I almost always end up buying something anyway! 😛

  9. Lisa says:

    Your fear of Elijah Wood is hilarious! And speaking of strange fears, I have a fear of letting my feet touch the bottom of pools and lakes. I don’t know why, but I can’t do it!

  10. LOVE this post!
    And now that you mention it, Elijah Wood is pretty scary……. :/ haha

  11. Kat says:

    I kind of love #11. I feel like we’ve all been there.

    As for random facts about me…I hate crowded parking lots. I’m always afraid someone is going to bash into the back of my car.

  12. You’ll definitely get a fall next year when you move out of California! It’s also so cool that you have a twin (does everyone say that?). My mom’s a twin, so I’m more likely to have twins!

  13. Errign says:

    I also love to travel and I have a morbid fascination with Jack the Ripper lol.

    I also enjoy pumpkin things, but I do not share your fear of Elijah! I am also not a HUGE drinker, but I do like to order fun cocktails that are unique when I’m out to dinner, I love to drink Irish Cider & gin & tonics, mostly though.

    • I’m so glad I’m not the only one who has morbid fascinations 🙂 I tried Hornsby’s apple cider a few months ago and I loved it! The only alcohol I like is the kind that doesn’t taste like it.

  14. Erika says:

    I love learning more about the people behind the blogs I read. I might copy you and do this on my blog as well! 🙂

  15. AlisonM says:

    Hey Kate — I came to you through Jess at Almost Over Now. And what a great time to do it — now I know all this random stuff about you! I loved the picture of you singing karaoke, and the fact that you threw high fructose corn syrup the proverbial finger. It’s always refreshing to read healthy living blogs that ‘fess up the down and dirty too 😉

    Have to say though, I’m a bit confuddled by the fear of Elijah Wood. He’s so… small and cute! 😀

    Look forward to reading more.
    Alison

Leave a Reply

