The Gift of Safety

Breakfast was inspired copied from Allie:

When I saw her breakfast yesterday, I knew that’s what I wanted this morning. I made my oatmeal with egg whites for the first time, and all I can say is YUM! Not only were they incredibly creamy, the taste was incredible. And these are instant oats, too. Not typically the creamiest oats in the world.

The combination of cold yogurt and pumpkin with the hot oats was also delightful. Filling, too. This breakfast is a keeper!

I went to the gym after breakfast and did 30 minutes on the elliptical and 30 minutes on the Stairmaster. I debated doing weights, but I just wanted to get home… mainly because halfway through my workout, I thought of what I was going to have for lunch.

Credit for this kabocha squash also goes to Allie. A while ago, she mentioned that she was buying kabochas for 79 cents a pound, which made me insanely jealous. I’m paying 2 dollars a pound here! Considering I eat half the squash at a time (sometimes more… like, the whole thing in one sitting) that’s not exactly cheap. She responded to my comment, telling me to look at an Asian grocery store. Guess how much they are there? 3 pounds for one dollar! As someone who consumes more squash a week than most people do in their lives and is extremely cheap, I was thrilled. I may have smiled greedily and loaded my arms with the squash. I bought three for $2.63!!! That’s half of what I was paying for one. Anyway…

Holy carbohydrates! This is what happens when your fridge is stocked with baked goods and very little real food. I chopped up a potato, threw in some leftover caramelized onions from God knows when, and topped it with cheese. I thought I saw a tube of goat cheese in the fridge, but I was mistaken. Instead, I had to settle for disgusting low fat cheddar that hardly melted. Not all cheese is created equal… This was insanely filling, and probably something that would be good to eat the night before a long run. The only running I plan on doing tomorrow is to my kitchen and back, so I’ll have a huge surplus of energy 🙂

I finished off my pumpkin ice cream after lunch. There’s always room for dessert, even if your lunch weighed as much as a newborn. I was still full when I got home from work at 8, but that didn’t stop me from digging into a container of mashed yams and having yogurt with literally dozens of mini cookies on top. I’m planning on writing a post about how I’m doing with intuitive eating, but let this be a sign I am still learning 🙂

I thought I would introduce you to my new running partner…

Meet an early gift from my parents… Mr. Pepper Spray!

My mom is… shall we say… very concerned for her daughter’s safety. Before I went to Europe for the first time, she made us take a self defense class. Every time I go for a run, she wants to know what route I’m going on, so if I don’t come home, she knows where I’ll be. Don’t get me wrong- I think these are good ideas. But when she insisted we carry pepper spray with us, I thought it was a little excessive…

…and then three packs of pepper spray arrived on our doorstep, one for every female in the house. Each kit comes with a standard spray, a keychain size, and one for the visor in your car. My mom excitedly showed me how they work, insistent that I put one on my keys right before run, in case (God forbid) I was attacked.

Considering I live in a city that’s consistently ranked as one of the safest cities in the U.S., I thought this was a little excessive. After all, don’t millions of people go for runs everyday and come home perfectly fine? Keep in mind, I am a very, very, paranoid person. I check my backseat when I get in my car in case someone is hiding there. I never answer the door when I’m  home alone. I never run at night, or in secluded locations.

But then I remembered all the times I have heard of people being attacked when they’re running. Just this year, a 17 year old girl was raped and murdered in broad daylight when she was jogging just an hour south of my house. Just thinking about that was enough to make me take my mom’s concerns a little more seriously.

Will I ever need it? I sincerely hope not. But just in case, you better believe I’ll have that sucker in my hand when I’m running by myself. Sure, people probably think I look crazy, carrying my keys with a huge container of pepper spray on it. Just don’t sneak up on me- I’m not afraid to use it!

What do you think of carrying pepper spray? Excessive? Not enough? Paranoid? Justified?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The Gift of Safety

  1. I think it is SO SO SO smart….good for you!!! One reason I do a lot of my runs on the treadmill is cause I am get so scared! your eats look amazing as usual!

  2. squigglefloey says:

    Goodness, good idea from your mother. Glad that you’re playing it safe girlie 🙂
    And there’s definitely always room for dessert!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    I don’t think it’s excessive at all to carry pepper spray, even in a relatively safe area. It’s far better to be prepared.

    I can easily eat a whole kabocha squash too, so you’re not alone there 😉

  4. Isn’t that trio fab?! So glad you tried it. Also, hooray for finding kabocha squash for super cheap. 3lb. for a $1 is a steal. Asian grocery stores have great deals….just not on organic stuff haha.

    I’ve never owned pepper spray. Kinda scared I’ll spray it by accident (I know that’s silly).

  5. Natalie O says:

    I can’t believe I’ve never heard of kabocha squash, looks GOOOD!

  6. Haha. Your key chain is so funny! My brother just got me the exact same thing for Christmas!

  7. You are justified in carrying it girl! Ya never know when it will come in to good use. It’s gotta make you feel just a wee bit safer right?

    I hope you have a delicious Christmas!

  8. greekmelie says:

    I am really jealous of your breakfast. I cannot find pumpkin anywhere anymore 😦
    About the pepper spray, at the end of the day it’s better safe than sorry, right? But I kind of agree with Allie, I am almost sure that I would somehow be able to spray it by accident and in my own face no less…

  9. Wow! Pepper spray! I’ve never run with it and the area I run in is pretty safe and I’ve never encountered something that had been dangerous but I think it depends where and when your running.

  10. runyogarepeat says:

    It’s a smart idea. For our family’s yankee exchange gift swap last year, I ended up with BRIGHT pink pepper spray and my mom was really happy for me.

  11. Kristina says:

    My parents got me pepper spray the day I started driving-and continuously ask me if I still own it! You never know and better to be safe than sorry!
    I just found your blog and love it, I too am I on squash kick!

  12. Kat says:

    Its ALWAYS better to be safe. I mean, we live in LA. I dont feel very safe sometimes. There are sketchy people here. And this may seem weird, but I have so always wanted to pepper spray someone….

  13. Kat says:

    Way to find the discount squash, lady!

    I am a little paranoid about running and getting injured or kidnapped. To the point where I wondered if there was a chip I could put in my sports bras or if it would be worth it to buy a disposable cell phone that I could tuck into my top or something.

    • I’m pretty bad about carrying my cell phone with me when I run. One time, I fell when I was running and didn’t have my phone with me, so I had to limp home. You would think I would have learned my lesson…

  14. hahah well its never bad to be overprepared!

  15. AlisonM says:

    I sometimes feel paranoid regarding precautions I take. Whenever I go out after dark for example I tell my roommates where I’m going and when I’ll be back. I feel like a bit of an idiot for doing it, but then you here or cases like that 17 year old girl’s and think about the alternative, and it seems more than sensible to do what you can to ensure your safety. This is an interesting topic actually, as I bet a lot of runners don’t actually take due precautions, or get lax over time (as I have done)

    • I think it’s definitely a good thing to tell people where you’re going. At least one person always knows where I’m headed and approximately how long I’ll be away. It used to annoy me to explain my routes to someone, but better safe than sorry!

  16. Errign says:

    I think being prepared is smart. Carrying pepper spray is not something I personally would do right now, where I live, but I think if I was somewhere unfamiliar, I would certainly consider it!

Leave a Reply

