Stepping Down

I have peanut flour again! I literally work across a parking lot from Trader Joe’s, and somehow have managed to be out of peanut flour for weeks. I finally went last night and got not one, but two packages. Thank God, I missed it!

You can’t tell, but there is oatmeal under there! I added egg whites to my oatmeal again, a la Allie. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to regular oats! I added half a sliced banana on top and peanut flour mixed with cocoa. I don’t remember whose blog I saw this on, but when I saw it, I knew I had to try it. It was especially delicious with the banana 🙂

I found this mug lurking in the cupboards last night. No one knows where it came from, but after a good washing, it was as good as new.

I thought I would get some more Christmas baking done today. It was raining and I didn’t have a car all day, so it was the perfect time to get it done. I started making Russian tea cakes, and per my mom’s suggestions, quadrupled the recipe. Too bad I ran out of flour after 7 cups! Since I was car-less, they’ll have to wait until tomorrow. I can’t wait to eat these… anything that has 4 cups of butter is going to be good, right?

Since I had the oven on already and nothing to bake, I decided to roast some veggies for lunch. I planned on roasting a huge pan and saving the rest for tomorrow. Operative word being ‘planned.’ The second the pan came out of the oven, I threw out my plans for a salad and ate every last veggie.

A head of broccoli, half of a kabocha, and two little potatoes. Still not done with that huge bag! This was incredibly filling. I guess there are worse things to fill up on than vegetables, right?

Always room for something sweet…

I had my usual vanilla yogurt and fiber cereal (actually from TJ’s, not Fiber One) but instead of pumpkin, I added some apple cranberry pie filling. Best…decision…ever! I wanted pumpkin butter from TJ’s yesterday, but all they had was cranberry apple butter. I was about to get it, when I saw that the pie filling was only a dollar more, and about four times as big. Delicious and chunky 🙂

Today was a rest day- I didn’t go the gym (I didn’t even leave my house!) Rather than go to the gym or go running, I spent a good chunk of time looking up local races. Right after I ran a marathon, I set my sights on beating my half marathon time. I figured that if I could run 26 miles, I could get a pretty bitchin’ half marathon time too, right? However, my plans of speedwork kind of flew out the window when I all but stopped running after the race. I ran a 10k and 5k, but didn’t do speedwork of any kind. I’d love to be able to run a sub 2 hour half marathon, but considering I haven’t run further than 6 miles in over two months, that’s not going to happen any time soon.

The half marathon I originally planned on doing was January 8th, which would have given me plenty of time to train. I started feeling really guilty when I thought about not doing it, mainly because my cousin and uncle were also planning on running it as well. When I last asked them about it, though, my uncle said he couldn’t get the time off work, and my cousin (the one I ran the marathon with) said she hadn’t been running much either. My guilt definitely lessened after that 🙂

But also, I’m not feeling guilty about it because a half marathon is a pretty big undertaking. When I was training for a marathon, I thought 13 miles was no big deal. Now? I can’t run that far, and certainly not at a 9:00 minute mile pace! So, I’ve made the decision to step down. One of my New Year’s resolutions will be to do more speedwork, so in due time, I can smash my PR. There will always be other races, and for now, I’m a little burned out on running. That new PR will come in due time… and in the mean time, I will be looking for half marathons in Southern California. 🙂 Any suggestions?

Have you ever decided a race wasn’t going to work out? Have you ever taken a break from running and come back stronger? Also… any ideas for training plans? I’m bad at following them, but I’ll try 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Stepping Down

  1. Priyanka says:

    the oven roasted veggies look so good!

  2. Don’t feel guilty! There’s no sense in forcing yourself to run esp. when you’re burnt out. You’re right, there will be puh-lenty of races in the future.

  3. AlisonM says:

    Totally agree about the butter!

    I think a lot of people experience running fatigue after something as big as a marathon. In the general scheme of things though a 6 month “break” where you just run 5 and 10ks isn’t going to set you back that much. I bet once your head is back in the game and you start up with the consistent training and speedwork you’ll make gains pretty fast. It’s not like you’ve been sitting on you backside in the meantime: you’re obviously still fit! In the end though you have to remember that we do these things for fun, and if it ain’t feeling like fun, then there’s no reason to try and beat your HM time. Do what makes you excited 🙂

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    I have decided not to try for my Liverpool marathon – it’s too much, too soon.

    You have the rest of your life to get that half PR and it makes no sense to pressure yourself now. You’ll be stronger and healthier in the long run giving yourself sufficient preparation, which is infinitely preferable to jumping back in too soon, underperforming and then beating yourself up about it. Believe me, I know!

    I’d dominate those veggies too – best thing to fill up on IMO!

  5. Good luck with your half marathon!

  6. Erika says:

    Don’t be upset. You made a good decision. If I ever ran a half marathon I’d wanna make sure I was in the best running mindset possible and feeling ready for it! 🙂

  7. I feel ya on the stopping long distance running after a race. I ran a half a month ago and I’ve only run 7 1/2 miles maybe twice since.

    People love the Surf City half in Huntington Beach, its in February. I am planning on running the Rock n’ Roll San Diego Half in early June with a couple of other bloggers. Its supposed to be a good flat course, perfect for busting a PR (my goal too).

    • I was considering both of those, actually! I ran the Surf City 5k in 2008 and it poured the whole time, but it was actually fun! I was just talking about the Rock n’ Roll half last night. It’s freaking EXPENSIVE, but I know someone that did the full and they loved the course. Plus, my cousin lives in San Diego, so it would be fun to do it with her. Maybe I’ll see you there 🙂

  8. Jenna says:

    I love roasted veggies, so I’m not surprised you consumed all of them. =) I was going to roast some carrots and parsnips last night, until I realized we had a ton of leftovers and I had a moral responsibility to consume them before going out of town for Christmas. Sigh. Now I’ve got the craving . . .
    And by the way, what do you use peanut flour for??

    • Hahaha! I also feel a moral responsibility to finish leftovers 🙂

      I mix the peanut flour with water and it creates peanut butter! If you have a TJ’s near you, I highly recommend it. I’ve also seen recipes that substitute some peanut flour for regular flour, to give it a peanut-ty taste. I’m thinking about adding it to cookies 🙂

  9. Last December I signed up for a half marathon in May 2010 and in February was so over running, I stopped training and quit. In April I started feeling guilty and ended up running/walking it which I was proud of at the time but swore I’ll never run again. Many months later, I’m finally back to running (short interval runs) and I’m actually enjoying it. I think training for long distance races really burns you out, so it’s good to take breaks and re-assess if that’s what you still want. Plenty of great workouts out there except for running! 🙂

    • Long distance running definitely gets old after a while! Good for you for doing it, though. Surprisingly, after my half, I was dying to run a full marathon- and the whole time I did, I swore to myself I wouldn’t run again either! I’ve decided I really like the 10k distance. Not too long, not too short!

  10. greekmelie says:

    I am trying for a 2:00 half myself. I am doing my speedwork, but kind of lack on long-distance runs. Well, we’ ll see I guess. I am also running the Surf City in February and the San Diego Rock and Roll. This last one is supposed to be fun! 🙂

    • I’m debating both of those! I really want to do the one in San Diego because I’ve heard so many good things about it. One of my future professors is doing the full Surf City, and apparently he really favors runners, and I’m not above doing it to be a kiss-ass 🙂

  11. biz319 says:

    I love the snowman mug!! Funny no one knows where it came from!

    Sadly, I’ve backed out of a race before – and one that usually has a long waiting list. Its a half marathon in my town and I decided that three months was plenty of time to train – which would have been, had I actually trained!

    I woke up race day, got my race packet and sweatshirt, got back in my car and went home back to bed! 😀

  12. Heather R says:

    Totally! I signed up for the P.F. Chang’s Full Marathon this January, but I quickly came to the realization that I just wouldn’t have the time to train hard for it. So, I dropped down to the half. Someday a full will happen!

    • I was considering doing the half! I have a lot of family in Phoenix, so I thought it would be cool to do it there. Still kind of wishing I had, but I would still be unprepared 🙂 A full will happen for you someday… training is SO TIME CONSUMING!!!

  13. Don’t worry about it! I’m sure when you get back into the swing of things you’ll smash your PR!
    And I’m jealous of you and your peanut flour! WHY are there no TJ’s in the UK??? 😦

  14. Kat says:

    I didn’t know if I was running my 10 mile race until the week of, because even though I could run to train, I was having some crazy hip pain. Talk about nerve-wracking!

    Conversely, I can definitely see the pros to giving your body a couple of months of from major running. You’ll have to keep us posted.

    • That’s actually a good idea to wait to sign up for a race! Both times I’ve been injured, I had already paid for a race and worried I wouldn’t be able to do it. It’s not the fact that I would miss the race I worried about… I was worried about wasting money 🙂

  15. Errign says:

    Don’t feel guilty! No sense in forcing something, especially if you don’t feel as though you are prepared!

  16. Kristina says:

    I took a year break after training for 3 back to back half marathons-it took the full year for me to get the “itch” back. Make sure to give your self flexibility in whatever training plan you decide to do-make it fit your lifestyle:)

  17. Runeatrepeat says:

    I’m totally due for a break, but don’t want to cut out now because I’ve already signed up for 2 races in ’11. Once I’m done I’m definitely taking some rest 🙂

Leave a Reply

