Enough is Enough

I think I’m finally coming down from the sugar high I experienced on Christmas! That doesn’t mean I’m not still wanting chocolate, though.

I made an oatmeal breakfast cookie a la Ashley and topped it with peanut flour mixed with cocoa powder. I never measure out the water when I’m making peanut butter out of peanut flour, so the consistency is always different. Something about it was especially creamy today- like frosting!

My parents bought a new camera yesterday, and I was a little too excited to see there was a setting specifically for photographing food! The picture of my oatmeal came out horribly, though. Bad lighting! Just to prove that it can take good pictures, here’s a picture that my mom took when we took my grandmother to lunch in Laguna Beach yesterday.

As much as I avoid the beach and want to live someplace with four seasons, I can’t deny that a tiny part of me will miss this when I’m in Colorado!

My sister and I went to the gym after breakfast. I lifted weights for the first time in months on Sunday, and I’m still sore! I also took four days off around Christmas, so my legs were still kind of sore from Sunday’s workout too. I did 20 minutes on the elliptical, 20 minutes on the StairMaster, and 20 minutes on the treadmill. Yesterday I tried running on the treadmill and got so bored I could only do it for five minutes, so 20 minutes felt like a big deal. I’m pretty sure I was sweating butter, though. I think I’m still full from Christmas 🙂

Lunch was a whole wheat wrap with hummus, cotija cheese, and spinach. I’m not really a fan of these tortillas, but it was the only thing that sounded good.

Instead of pumpkin yogurt, I had vanilla with some apple cranberry pie filling on top. I have to have a little sugar!

For a snack, I had Fiber One with pumpkin soy milk. It has a lot of sugar in it, but I couldn’t resist it, especially because it was on clearance! Does that mean it’s expired? I’m too scared to look. No idea where the picture went!

I’m sure I’m not the only one who went a little overboard with the holiday treats and is actually craving real food! I’m certainly not doing a detox, but now that I don’t have an excuse to eat nothing but sweets all day, I am trying to pay more attention to both portion sizes and just what exactly I’m eating.

I’ve noticed a pretty significant difference in myself over the past week or so. My skin is broken out, I’m retaining water more than usual, I have less energy, and my pants are more than a little too tight. There are certainly ways to enjoy holiday treats in moderation, but all my good judgment goes out the window after my sixth cookie, and my body is paying the toll!

So I’m putting an end to the sweets consumption for a while. Not to punish myself, but after eating so much, I don’t think I can look at another cookie again! When I eat too much of any food, I go through a brief period when that’s all I crave, and then I eat so much of it I get sick of it. It happened with hummus- today was the first time I’ve had hummus for a while. I used to eat it every… single… day.

After eating vegetables for the first time in about a week yesterday, I’m feeling better already! It doesn’t hurt that my sleep schedule is getting back to normal, too. I love to go to bed early and wake up early. My idea of sleeping in is 7:30- I couldn’t sleep longer if I tried! No matter how late I go to bed, I just can’t wake up any later. I need at least 7 hours to function, so I’m glad that’s getting sorted out.

Do you believe in post-holiday detoxes? By the time I am actually in the mood for leftovers, they’ll be all gone! Food never lasts long when my brother is around…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Enough is Enough

  1. Katie H. says:

    Hi! 😀

    I definitely had way more cookies than I normally would this holiday season- gotta love cookie exchanges! I am more of a savory person so it was weird to have my body start craving sugar after having a few cookies here and there. I am starting to feel back to normal though, thankfully!

  2. I definitely agree with detoxes, or at least something pretty close. My pants are also feeling a little tight, so I am feeling the need to add lots more healthy foods back into my diet.

  3. runyogarepeat says:

    I detox with lots of veggies & exercise & water. I can’t give up sugar completely because I have tons of Christmas chocolate!

  4. Erica D says:

    When I was living in Jordan, there were days where hummous was served at every. single. meal. That definitely lost its appeal, quickly.

    The only girl from my school who went with me to Jordan is actually from Laguna Beach! She misses it, but admits she loves Colorado 🙂 I’m sure you will too!

  5. Hannah says:

    Oh gosh, I wish I got sick of sweets! Admittedly, I can get tired of cookies, but my chocolate appetite is insatiable. I do crave veggies more than usual after the Xmas period though 😛 So envious of the peanut flour!

  6. Priyanka says:

    Coming back to veggie and fruits is my idea of detox, nothing else works for me! I love hummus, I can incorporate it into all my meals!

  7. AlisonM says:

    I definitely wouldn’t detox, but like you I am hitting the veggies hard now! And soup. And smoothies. Basically anything that is not sugary, rich, and has some nutrient value. And man does it taste good.. 🙂

    Excited to see you lifted weights btw — I don’t see all that much of that around, a great addition! I was also a bit sluggish when I hit up the gym again, but I figure we’ll shake that off — along with all the excess water! — over the course of this week.

  8. Erika says:

    I don’t believe in post-holiday detoxes. I mean, I’ll try to eat healthier after the holidays (more fruits and veggies) but I’ll never “detox.” No. 😛

  9. I def. feel like a little health food cleanse is in order after the holidays but I wean myself slowly. I keep one sweet treat around that I can snack on each night but normally I just WANT healthy foods like fruit and veggies! I’m already feeling better!

  10. I am just like you, can’t sleep in past 7 or 730 no matter what time I fall asleep at night. It’s that darn internal alarm clock that I can’t shut off!

    I am not detoxing per se, just trying to get myself back on track!

  11. i don’t exactly believe in a detox – more of just less treats/refined grains and more whole grains, fiber, fruits and veggies. Like you thought my face is breaking out like crazy! I don’t like it!

  12. Natalie O says:

    I feel the SAME way! I now have a huge zit in the middle of my forehead, and I’m lazy, AND my fav jeans give me a slight muffin top….Gotta go back to eating healthy (after new years eve, hehe)

  13. Kristina says:

    I too am trying to resist any sugar! I’ve put the last of our cookies on a plate for my fiances guests tonight in hopes they will eat them all!!! My “detox” is getting back to my normal every day foods but I try to increase my green juices/smoothies/wheat grass and raw foods in hopes of helping out my digestion!!!!

Leave a Reply

