A Look Back and 2011 Goals

I’m still in shock that 2010 will be over in a few hours. It passed by too quickly! Here’s what my year was like…

January

  • I started running on New Year’s Day for the first time since high school. One of the best decisions I made this year 🙂
  • Went to the Pacific Northwest with my mom and sister.

February

  • I went back to school for the first time in a year and a half!
  • I started a vegan diet again.

March

  • I have no recollection of March! Seriously, did I even live through it? No pictures, no memories… what happened?!

April

  • I went to Arizona to be with my grandmother for the first anniversary of my grandfather’s death.

May

  • Ran my first (and so far, only) half marathon! One of the happiest moments of my life.

June

  • Finished the semester, and got straight A’s for the first time since elementary school 🙂
  • Started working at a bookstore.
  • I got a gym pass!
  • Obviously, I took no pictures of anything in this month…

July

  • I started training for my first marathon!
  • I noticed that my binge eating was becoming a real problem.
  • …And I still didn’t take any pictures!

August

  • I ended veganism after over six months to become a vegetarian again.
  • Ran a 5k with my cousin and my sister (her first race!)

  • I went to a family reunion with about 65 relatives. (Norwegian pride!)

  • I turned 21!

September

  • School started again.
  • My marathon training got really intense!

October

  • Ran and finished my first marathon. My happiest and proudest day 🙂

  • Stopped working at the bookstore, and got my old job back at a daycare in the gym. A very good decision!

November

  • I started this blog!
  • I celebrated Thanksgiving with my grandparents and family at home.

  • I ran my first 10k and came in third place in my age group!

December

  • I went to Colorado with a friend to visit another friend and finalize my decision to move there next year.

  • I ran my second 5k and came in first in my age group!

All in all, 2010 was a great year. Not as eventful as 2009, but I did some things I never thought I could do! I’ve been planning my goals for next year. I wanted to make them attainable and not too stringent, so I’ll actually follow through with them. Without further ado…

-Make health my priority. This is really broad, but it includes choosing clean, whole foods, drinking a lot of water (I’m horrible at this), getting a handle on binge eating, and maintaining an exercise routine (see next goal.) I’m not making weight loss a goal- I know that if I go back to my healthy habits, it will happen. When all is said and done, I gained 24 pounds from August to October. If it piled on that quickly, I think I can take it off in the next year 🙂

-Make an exercise plan. I spent January through October training for a half marathon and then a full marathon. With a clear goal and planned workouts, I found I was able to stick to them. When the marathon was over, I really lacked motivation to work out. I’ve devised the following weekly plan:

  • Run outside once a week.
  • Take an exercise class (yoga, spinning, etc.) once a week.
  • Speedwork once a week.
  • Strength training twice a week.

It doesn’t sound like much, but I plan to fill other days with workouts that fit my schedule. As long as I stick to the plan, I’ll have an idea of what I want to accomplish.

-PR in a race. Any race, any length! The chances that I’ll train for, run, and  PR in another marathon are slim, so even if I shave 5 seconds off my 5k, I will be happy 🙂

Work on my organization skills. I used to be extremely disorganized and messy. Over the past two years or so, I’ve really been working on staying organized and tidy. It doesn’t come naturally to me, but when my things are in order, I feel like a whole new person!

Spend more time in the kitchen. Cooking my own meals is healthier and cheaper, and I get a huge sense of satisfaction. My meals were pretty boring and repetitious this year, and I have a ton of recipes bookmarked that I plan on using the upcoming year.

Do one thing that scares me. Running another marathon, moving, skydiving- who knows what the next year holds? I want to do something that surprises me, and that I never thought I would do! My grandfather is serious about going skydiving, so if he gets cleared, I will be third in line, behind my mother 🙂

Continue blogging. I have a bad habit of starting something and not finishing it. I’ve discovered I really, really love blogging, and I want to continue doing it next year.

There you have it! My goals for the next year. I’m feeling optimistic- I love fresh starts! Now I’m off to go to lunch with my sister and mom and ring in the new year at my parent’s friend’s house. Yeah, I’m a real party animal!

What are your goals for next year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to A Look Back and 2011 Goals

  1. Looks like you had a great year and have good goals for the next one! Can’t wait to read your blog and follow you while you pursue them!

  2. greekmelie says:

    These are great goals! Especially the keep blogging one! I really support it! 🙂 Happy new year!!

  3. Emily says:

    I totalllllyyyy need to work on my organizational skills too. I organize myself and then become a disheveled mess within a week, lol! I turned 21 this year too, so I feel like I need to be a real grown up now :-0

    And moving to Colorado sounds amazing! I’ve been wanting to visit Denver so badly because I’ve heard its such a cool city. I hope you keep blogging too 🙂

  4. AlisonM says:

    Lol at March! I think your goals for the coming year are great. Specific, but you are also being flexible about them. That’s got to be the best guarantee for success. And FWIW, I think that the training plan sounds excellent — well balanced and good variety. I think it’s loads to be getting on with.

    Good luck — and happy new year! 🙂

  5. Lisa says:

    Reading all your running accomplishments done in just one year is great! You accomplished so much in such a short time and that’s really something to be proud of!

  6. Congrats on all of your accomplishments! I’m amazed that you started running in January and ran a 1/2 marathon 5 months later. Really impressive!

    Good luck on all of your goals and have a happy New Year’s Day!

  7. Kristina says:

    Thata girl!!! You killed it this year-congrats!!! Looking forward to seeing what’s next for you in 2011!!!!

  8. Kat says:

    Those are great goals for the New Year, lady! I definitely need to spend more time in the kitchen as well. I cook for Marcus and I every night, but we need to bust out of the comfort zone.

  9. emily says:

    Looks like a great year and some fantastic goals for 2011. 🙂
    My main goal for the new year is to embrace positive changes and say yes to amazing adventures.

  10. I’m gogin to try both vegetarianism and veganism. I was wondering how it made you feel?
    This is actually one of my goals to try each for a week! Lol

    • You’ve given me an idea for a future post! In a nutshell, as long as I ate cleanly, I felt great when I was a vegan and same for vegetarianism. I recommend starting with vegetarianism and then trying veganism… it can be hard! I’m looking forward to hearing about it 🙂

  11. ciaotochow says:

    Love your resolutions — they’re really similar to my own! I just started blogging and have found so much joy from it…definitely want to continue that. Also, I want to take risks this year, you know, get outside my comfort zone a little bit while I’m traveling abroad (usually I’m a huge planner so this’ll take some practice ha). And, of course, get in the kitchen more and treat my body how it deserves to be treated!

  12. great recap and goals! i love the ‘do one thing that scares me’ I agree on this one!

  13. Pingback: 11 in ’11 | What Kate is Cooking

  14. Hannah says:

    I’m always a little bt in awe of people who make resolutions and goals for the year… I think I’m too scared of failing to even put such ideas onto paper! Seems like you had a fantastic year (and some non-fantastic moments, but such is life…). Looking forward to reading along in 2011! 🙂

  15. Katie H. says:

    Wow, you had a great year! Congrats on all of your accomplishments!

    I could never everr skydive- I am such a chicken! It would be fun to read about it if you did though 🙂

  16. Great goals! I know you will accomplish everything you set out to do! 🙂

  17. Pingback: Go, Speed Racer! | What Kate is Cooking

  18. Pingback: Just Say No? | What Kate is Cooking

  19. These are great goals! Can’t wait to “watch” you accomplish them all! And mad props for the marathon!

  20. Pingback: Bye, January! | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

