11 in ’11

I think I started the new year off right šŸ™‚

I set out this morning with the intention of running 10 miles. After taking three days off from working out, my legs were feeling fresh and I wanted to prove to myself I could still run double digits! I ended up running 11 miles. It just felt right, considering it is now 2011!

It’s a little slower than I used to run, but honestly, I’m happy to just finish! The furthest I’ve run since the marathon in October is 6.2 miles, when I did a 10k on Thanksgiving. I was huffing and puffing, and my legs are already sore, but I DID IT!

I didn’t get to bed until past 2 this morning, and I woke up at 6:30 when my sister’s alarm started going off. I slept on and off until about 7:45, which for me, is really late! I got dressed super quickly, but my plans to leave as soon as possible were halted when I couldn’t find my glasses. I guess I took them off and put them on my bed last night, and they ended up falling completely off my bed! I think I need to work on one of my New Year’s goals already…

I didn’t leave until 8:30, which means I didn’t get home until about 10:30. I wasn’t really hungry, so I took a shower right away. By the time I made breakfast, it was 11:30! Practically lunch time, but don’t come between me and my baked oatmeal… breakfast cookie…whatever you want to call it!

I’ve started putting applesauce in this instead of banana, because my bananas are frozen and I need to use up the applesauce. I drizzled chocolate peanut flour on it, naturally. Perfect first breakfast of 2011. I take things like that very seriously!

Technically, the first thing I ingested this year was champagne mixed with chambord at midnight.

My dad and brother are out of town, so we went with my mom to my parent’s friend’s house to celebrate New Year’s Eve. So much for my sugar abstinence- they had dark chocolate peanut M&M’s! In the name of research, I had a few handfuls. They are delicious! I also had a slice of cheese with some crackers, a gingersnap, and a few pounds heaping helpings of grapes. All unpictured because no one except for my sister knows about the blog, and I didn’t want to look weird taking pictures of their food!

I was actually full when we went over there, because I went to a late lunch / early dinner with my mom and sister beforehand. We drove to Rutabegorz, only to discover it was closed! We found a restaurant close by that looked good- Caffe Luca.

I got the margherita pizza and ate half before switching with my sister, who got the three cheese pizza. Yup, I downed the equivalent of a whole pizza. It was thin crust, so it wasn’t that heavy! I prefer thick crust, but both pizzas were good.

My mom got a cappuccino, which I had a sip of. I don’t love coffee, but for not being sweet, it wasn’t too bad. And it’s so pretty!

Just down the street from the restaurant is Bruxie, which we found out just opened. I had looked this place up before, and knew I had to go here. They have sweet and savory waffles, and Lord knows I like my waffles! I convinced my dining companions that a sweet waffle was in order after a savory dinner.

I got a Liege waffle with Nutella on the side. I can’t give up Nutella for good! This picture speaks for itself. How could this not be incredible?! I will be back many, many times.

The rest of the night was spent playing cards, eating, and drinking. I had a tiny drink- blood orange soda mixed with blood orange vodka. It was strong. I drank it early… I was the designated driver! You know you are really a 70 year old when you are the DD for your parents.

I should be taking a nap, but in a few hours, I’m hopping on a train to L.A. and meeting some of my old co-workers for a drink at the Library Bar. Well, they’ll be drinking. I’m not spending 12 bucks on a drink!

How did you spend your New Year’s?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to 11 in ’11

  1. Kat says:

    Looks like a lot of fun! I have always wanted to be able to make my coffee look like that…its never seemed to work.

  2. Great run! Any races planned this year?

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Fantastic run! I’d have been gnawing off my arm if I didn’t get breakfast until 11:30 though šŸ˜›

    And pizza is great running fuel ~ Meaghann from Meals and Miles always eats pizza the night before her races. If I could find a decent vegan pizza place anywhere near me, you’d better believe that I would too.

    Looks like your 2011 is off to a fantastic start šŸ™‚

  4. Oh gosh… that pizza looks fantabulous! I wouldn’t have wanted to switch!

    Happy New Year! ā¤

  5. Just relaxin! I do too much of that!
    I got some homework done, went on a chilly walk and ate a bomb breakfast as well!

  6. Emily says:

    Oh yummm, I just found a coffee place where I live that makes pretty lattes/cappuccinos too šŸ™‚ Great run too! I think distance is such an accomplishment.

    My new year’s was boring, I went to my friends and we were all so tired from working the holidays in retail, we just drank one glass of wine and watched the ball drop. Lame-oosss! haha

  7. bakebooks says:

    Pizzas are meant to be eaten whole. It’s a rule – didn’t you know? šŸ™‚

    Great job on the run – wow! What a way to start the year! šŸ™‚

  8. ahh i love that waffle and that oatmeal cake thing! nutella is amazing!

  9. Awesome job on the run! The longest I’ve run so far is 6 miles…gotta aim for 10 this year šŸ™‚

  10. Katie H. says:

    Awesome way to ring in the new year! Way to go! I love champagne and chambord šŸ™‚ It was the “signature drink” at my engagement party. Delicious!

  11. Looks like a fun New Years! šŸ™‚ And I definitely know the feeling of being your parents DD. It puts a lot of things into perspective. haha šŸ˜‰
    And I spent my New Years on Bourbon Street! šŸ˜€

    And congrats on the 11-miler! I can’t wait for the day I can put in double digits!

  12. Erika says:

    WOW! Congrats on the amazing 11-miler! You run so fast! šŸ™‚

  13. runyogarepeat says:

    Congrats on the 11 miles! My New year’s was pretty low key, just my boyfriend & his roomies & a few friends at an apartment. Fun though!

  14. AlisonM says:

    Hopla on that run! And I agree about that waffle. I miss nutella baaaaad… !

  15. How strange, I was JUST thinking about a microwave breakfast cookie earlier today! haha I used to make them all the time. šŸ˜›

    Glad to see you had a great New Years Eve and day! Congrats on the 11 miles- I can’t wait ’til I can runthat without thinkin twice about it.

  16. I went on a jog today for the first time in months. Felt awesome! I want to do a 10K in July, so I need to be ready. šŸ™‚

  17. That waffle with nutella looks wonderfully delicious! I would just slather the Nutella all over my waffle and lick the place clean, ha!
    We spent NYE at our friends house party, which was alot of fun šŸ™‚
    Great job on the run, I’m envious!
    Thanks for always visiting my blog too šŸ™‚

  18. Kristina says:

    you killed it-10 miles, thata girl! I want that pizza now-yum! Oh and the waffle!

  19. Priyanka says:

    Sounds fun! I celebrated new years with a couple of our friends.

    Happy New Year to you!

  20. Pingback: Go, Speed Racer! | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

