No Scrubs

Considering I now have four huge containers of egg whites and four jars of applesauce, it’s clear what I’m going to be having for breakfast for the next few months.

No complaints here, though. If I’m going to have the same thing frequently, I’m glad it’s this! I don’t really intend to have this every day… but I am going to have to come up with an idea of how to use the applesauce and eggs fast!

I’ve been tweaking Ashley’s recipe a bit to use applesauce instead of bananas. Here’s how I make it:

Applesauce Breakfast Cookie

(adapted from Ashley’s recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 5 tbsp oats (I use instant)
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • Sweetener of choice (I’ve used maple syrup, agave syrup, and Sweet and Low- I know, it’s horrible, but I had it around)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 2 tbsp egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

Directions:

  • Mix all the ingredients together and microwave for 2- 2 1/2 minutes. Simple as that!

I topped mine with the rest of the apple cranberry pie filling I bought from TJ’s. It was great on this! I also ate some cherries. Why are these so expensive? I’m already halfway through the container 😦

I worked out after work this morning. Nothing fancy- 50 minutes on the elliptical and 10 minutes on the Stairmaster. I was planning on doing 30 on each, but my hip and leg painΒ  has been replaced with pain in my knee. There’s always something…

I was flipping through an old issue of Rachael Ray’s magazine last night and saw this recipe.Β  Even though her meals are easy to prepare, I used what I had on hand and went the super easy route by just sauteeing mushrooms and spinach and tossing them on top of mashed kabocha. It wasn’t really anything like hers, but it was simple, easy to prepare, and nothing but veggies. My kind of lunch!

I ate the skin separately. It’s the best part!

Spinach and mushrooms shrink so much when they’re cooked, it’s crazy!

I’ve got a little confession to make- I rarely wash my fruit, and only wash my veggies about 75% of the time. Even though my mom is well aware of this, she was still shocked when she saw me popping cherries in my mouth this morning without a rinse. She immediately reminded me of all of the horrible diseases I could contract and all of the people that could have touched those cherries.

I know I should wash all of my produce, but honestly, I’m lazy, and what I don’t know won’t kill me… right? I did what any good daughter would do and ignored my mom (sorry, Ma) and continued to eat those cherries. Not five hours later, I was reading the December issue of Self when I came across an article about someone that got e. Coli from spinach. YIKES! It would have been truly instant karma if I had fallen off the elliptical and began throwing up blood, but I’m glad to say the unwashed cherries I ate this morning have caused no ill effects.

That being said, I’m going to start making an effort to wash all of my produce from now. I normally buy pre-washed spinach from Costco, but yesterday, all I could find was unwashed. I took a few minutes today to pull out the trusty salad spinner and wash some spinach to store in the fridge.

Wheeeee!

I’m sure you’ve all heard of the dirty dozen, but if you haven’t, it’s a list of the twelve fruits and vegetables with the highest pesticide residue. Since my budget doesn’t permit me to buy organic most of the time, I’m not only at risk for things like e. Coli, but I’m potentially exposing myself to pesticides, which can lead to other health problems. No more laziness- I have to start washing my produce!

So fresh, so clean.

Do you always wash your produce, even if you buy organic? I think I’m going to start washing my produce as soon as it comes home and storing it in Tupperware. If it’s clean and ready, I’ll eat it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to No Scrubs

  1. We have a salad spinner like that! Although, I typically buy organic lettuce that is already washed like three times,, so I get lazy and don’t do it myself!

    I know what you mean! I love the skin to sweet potatos myself! I think its weird when people take the skin off vegetables!

  2. Erica D says:

    My mom taught me to wash all of my produce, though I must confess that I hardly ever wash my spinach because I buy it organic and pre-washed! It’s one of my favorite foods, so I really should start! That article definitely freaked me out when I read it.

  3. i sometimes wash…. i get really impatient! its terrible :S

  4. I’m not great about washing my produce. I do buy some organic spinach that has been washed several times (the brand is Organic Girl and it’s great). I need to be better about that stuff though.

  5. Errign says:

    I never do, unless it’s visibly dirty. I know it’s gross, but it hasn’t killed me yet!

  6. I often do when cooking for other people. When it’s just me? Um… shhhh…

    I figure if there’s a wee bit of dirt, it’ll just make my immune system that much stronger… right?

  7. Peggy says:

    Honestly, I’ve found myself in a rush sometimes, and not washed the produce, but it’s very rarely, I think. Especially when we were part of a CSA last summer/spring and we knew where everything was coming from and what was done to it, a lot of the stuff we didn’t have to wash.

  8. I love reading this and the comments ’cause it makes me feel so much better about myself. πŸ˜‰ I too am awful about washing fruit/veggies – especially if it says “prewashed” on it. I think it’s simply because in China we had to wash EVERYTHING before we could eat it because they don’t have the FDA regulating things like in the States. I used to hate that part of coming home from grocery shopping so I think that’s why I rarely do it now. I mean, I peel my carrots and definitely wash potatoes and I give my lettuce a good rinse… that’s a good start, right? Haha, I too will probably end up with e coli… definitely need to be better about this.

  9. I feel kind of guilty about it (and my grandmother yells at me) but I don’t always wash my produce. That’s definitely something we should all be more aware of!

  10. I absolutely LOOOVVVEEE My new salad spinner! I never knew that lettuce held on to that much water. no more soggy salads πŸ™‚

  11. runyogarepeat says:

    I am guilty of this too, but I’m trying to be better. I just read somewhere that rinsing produce with water or vinegar and scrubbing really helped reduce pesticide residues and bacteria. Here’s the article: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/05/health/05real.html?_r=1&ref=health

    • Wow, that’s a really interesting article- thanks for posting it! I noticed that a family I used to babysit for had a fruit and veggie wash, but I don’t know what the ingredients are. The smell of vinegar is enough to make me sick, but if it will prevent me from actually getting sick, it’s worth a shot πŸ™‚

  12. I always wash my fruit and veggies! I just think of all those other people touching the produce they want and it keeps me motivated to wash! haha

    • I bought an apple and strawberries from a not so clean market once and I saw so many employees handling the fruit, it made me sick! Since I was going to be out all day, I went to a bathroom as soon as I could to wash my apple. That’s the one time I’ve really been concerned!

  13. I TRY to wash my produce. Sometimes though I just rub it on my jeans ; )

  14. ciaotochow says:

    I am so bad with washing produce — I definitely read that very same article in Self and flipped out. But I flipped out for like an hour and then I went back to my no-washing habits. Ahh — I probably should start washing my food. You have inspired me πŸ™‚ P.S. I feel ya on the high-priced fruit. $5 for a carton of strawberries? NOT OKAY! Oh summer, where are thou? haha.

  15. My favorite part of the sweet potato is definitely the skins — whenever my family has sweetpotatoes, I get everyone else’s peels too!! YUM!!

    • Haha, I love it! That sounds like something I would do. I made my sister mashed sweet potatoes once and I left the skins on, because I thought it would give the dish a nice, chunky texture, but she didn’t like it 😦 That’s fine- I ate them πŸ™‚

  16. Erika says:

    I have to admit, sometimes I’ll get lazy and forget to wash my produce. I really try to wash it all the time though! πŸ™‚

  17. Kat says:

    I used to never wash my produce, until my sister found a slug in her salad!! She called and told me and I almost threw up…oh gosh I am totally scared for life. Now I always wash rinse and repeat! lol

  18. I wash my spinach especially if it’s organic! Then it might have bugs in it…or so I think, haha
    That spinner is major though!

  19. Heather R says:

    LOL, I’m a little OCD, so I have to wash all of my produce! The only thing I don’t wash is the Organic Girl spinach I get because the package says triple washed…but even not washing that gives me heartburn.

  20. Way to get creative with it-applesauce-that is great!!!!
    Call me dirty but I don’t wash my spinach-is that gross??? Ok maybe I need to start!

    • I buy huge bagged spinach from Costco that doesn’t seem dirty, so I don’t usually wash it- but I’ve bought non-bagged spinach from regular stores that was filthy. If I can’t see it, it’s not there, right? πŸ™‚

  21. Jessica says:

    I almost always wash my produce, but usually not until I’m getting ready to use it – I’ve had issues with food going bad because I rinse it and then put it in the fridge (especially with berries). It’s not even that I’m so worried about getting sick, but it’s just a habit at this point. I don’t wash pre-washed spinach though.

  22. Pingback: Deeeeeenied | What Kate is Cooking

  23. Pingback: Back to School | What Kate is Cooking

  24. Pingback: Saying Goodbye | What Kate is Cooking

  25. Jenny says:

    Reading your post reminded me of when I was heating up a sweet potato today I totally forgot to wash it!!! I mean who does that?! By the time I noticed it had a minute to go 😦 I just tried to scrap off the skin and hope for the best lol

  26. Pingback: Something Old, Something New | What Kate is Cooking

  27. Pingback: Night Prowler | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

