Feelin’ Groovy

Well, not really. But, I’m happy to report that I think this was indeed a 24 hour bug. I sure am feeling the after effects, though. All of that not eating really wears a girl out! Thanks for your well wishes 🙂

I woke up craving nothing else except pumpkin yogurt and peppermint patties. I’m going to blame Evan for that one- I was two minutes from making them myself, but I thought I should wait until I was feeling better. They’ll have to wait for now 🙂

Instead, I settled on pumpkin yogurt.

I still felt a little sick, but I figured I needed a little energy a few hours later if I was going to take a much needed shower. I saw a peanut butter apple sandwich on Natalie’s blog and thought it sounded good, so I was going to make one with a tortilla. Everything was going well until I ate it and realized I forgot the apple!

It was extra good because I used my cousin’s cashew butter. This stuff is addictive! So much for saving the rest for my mom…

For ‘dinner’, I had a bowl of cereal and a few handfuls of granola.

I say ‘dinner’ because I ate it around 3 to digest before I had to be at work at 5. When you only have two co-workers, getting someone to cover your shift is hard! Which led me to the question… is it right to go to work when you’re sick?

Honestly, if I had someone to cover for me, I wouldn’t have gone in. Even though I’m feeling a little better, I probably could have used the extra few hours of rest, and who knows if I’m contagious or not? Luckily, my co-worker agreed to work for me tomorrow morning, just in case. I only work three hour shifts, so either way, it’s not like I would be out of the house all day, but at least I don’t risk exposing anyone.

When I was feeling sick yesterday, I started to feel bummed that just as I started planning a workout schedule, my plans were thrown out of whack. I definitely don’t feel guilty for taking two days off, though. Actually, I’m pretty positive I’m taking tomorrow off, too. There’s no sense in forcing myself to work out, especially when sitting upright for extended periods of time leaves me lightheaded 🙂

I haven’t read anything about exercising with the stomach flu, because honestly… who would do that?! I have read some great blog posts about exercising with a cold before, though.

Ashley writes about it here, and Caitlin covers it here. The general consensus? If you have a fever, don’t work out! They both mention the ‘above the neck’ rule. If your illness is in your head- sore throat, runny nose, or a headache- light exercise isn’t going to hurt anything. But if your sickness is in your chest- as in having a cough- it’s definitely better to wait it out.

I only had a cold twice last year (that’s got to be a new record for me!) and both of them happened at inopportune times. The first time, I had just started training for a marathon. But rather than freak out about it, I took four days off until I felt better, and I’m pretty positive that had no negative impact on my race 🙂

The second time, I was sick in November, and I was just getting over it when I ran a 10k on Thanksgiving. Thankfully, I was getting better, but I was still hacking up a storm. In retrospect, not the best idea, but hey, I paid for the race! And we all know how cheap I am…

Do you work out when you’re sick? Do you go to work when you’re sick?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Feelin’ Groovy

  1. Priyanka says:

    Lol I just commented on your previous post!

    As a general rule if I think I have a bug that can be contagious to other, I prefer to stay home. If its just over reactive allergies, i maintain general hygiene but make it to work!

  2. I had a stomach flu on my birthday and it sucked! I run outside when I have a cold but very sparingly. I also don’t go to work or school sick. I don’t do my best work sick. That goes for fevers and the worst days of colds. I’m kinda a baby when I’m sick.

  3. I usually wait it out. I don’t want to give it to anyone else. I usually exercise, but I listen to my body and if it says enough, I stop. If you feel up to it, do it.

  4. Sana says:

    I don’t even workout when I am feeling well! LOL But I feel you on the tummy bug. I am dealing with one now and I just struggled to eat a chocolate chip muffin. I don’t even know who I am anymore!

  5. AlisonM says:

    This is a great post! I would do a gentle workout with a cold (above the neck): so steady state cardio. Anything more though suppresses your immune system even more, and will just prolong the illness, or potentially make it worse. I would never work out with anything below the chest, as you risk serious infection doing that. In the main, I think it’s best to leave it until you’re feeling better though–you’ll probably get better quicker with complete rest, and the when you do get back to training, your workouts will be better quality.

    As for going to work when ill, that’s really difficult to call, but if you think there’s the possibility that it’s contagious, then I think for the first 24 hours or so it’s better to play it say. You don’t want to spread a bug or virus around 😦 It is really hard to take the time off though, b/c you feel like you’re letting your co-workers down. So I have no doubt most people would still go in..

    Sorry, that was a bit of a tract! Glad you feel better 🙂

  6. Hannah says:

    Heck, I almost never work out when I’m not sick, so why on earth would I when I am? 😀 😀

    Really hope you continue to feel much better! *hugs*

    After all, I want to see what you do with the peppermint patties…

  7. Jessica says:

    I’m glad you have your appetite back! The pumpkin yogurt looks delicious. Do you buy a certain brand or do you make it yourself?

    Generally when I’m sick, I don’t work out. Sometimes if it’s just a cold I’ll try to do some cardio, but I usually rest through the worst of it.

    Work is a tough one. I certainly don’t want my co-workers at work when they’re sick, so if I think I’m contagious, I definitely stay home (or work from home), but there’s always those times when I’m on the borderline, and if I have important meetings or something that day, I probably will go into work.

    • I make the pumpkin yogurt myself by mixing equal parts pumpkin and vanilla yogurt. I’ve bought already flavored pumpkin yogurt from Target and it’s not very good. A little pumpkin pie spice is always a good addition!

  8. runyogarepeat says:

    Unless it’s just a cold and I feel like myself, I don’t workout out. It usually makes my sickness worse, especially if I’m running outside.

  9. emily says:

    hope you feel better soon!
    and i agree…exercising w/ the flu is probably not the best idea…you need your recovery rest. 🙂

  10. ~Jessica~ says:

    I tend to have a rule whereby I feel if I’m well enough to eat my regular intake then I’m well enough to exercise, but that might come from a slightly disordered perspective. Plus, I’ll usually eat no matter how bad I feel, food poisoning or stomach flu aside (and then what bugs me the most IS the fact that I’m too sick to eat).

    Hope you feel better soon and keep resting up!

  11. I generally tend to stay away from working out when I’m sick just because in my experience, I generally feel worse afterward. I absolutely hate being sidelined (as I have been this week!) but for me personally, I know I’ll feel better quicker. 🙂

  12. greekmelie says:

    I hear you! I have some kind of a cold these days! I like working out if I am feeling well enough, but I do not go to the gym or other crowded places. I know I get really pissed when obviously sick people come to the gym trying to pass their germs to everybody else…

  13. When I am sick I try to do something very light. I’ll go for a walk. I won’t do any intense exercise as I have found for me I end up feeling worse =(

    Feel better!

  14. when I’m sick.. i lay in bed all day and watch re-runs of Friends. its amazing

  15. Lisa says:

    In the past, I’ve tried to work out when I’m sick, but it just doesn’t work. I run out of breath easily and it makes me feel crappy. I’ve learned that it’s better just to take it easy and take a little break. I took half of this week off when I thought I was getting sick and I never actually got too sick! So maybe it worked!

  16. If I’m sick and could be contagious, I can’t go to work since I work with kiddos and kids pick up EVERYTHING. However, it’s very uncommon that being sick keeps me from working out (unless I’m unable to move from bed, haha)

  17. I usually see how I’m feeling…if it’s a not-too-bad cold, then I’ll workout. But if I’m FEELING ill, then I won’t. Simple 🙂 But great topic to bring up!

  18. I’m glad you’re feeling better! P.S. – I just found about six of your comments in my spam…. So, first of all, FYI, and secondly, thank you for all of them! You’re so sweet!

    • Haha, I was feeling such a creeper because your blog was the first one I noticed that my comments weren’t showing up, so I would post something similar a few hours later… which probably looked really weird! Glad you found them, and hope you didn’t think I was stalking you 🙂

  19. haha no I usually don’t workout when I’m sick. I feel like my body is telling me “JUST TAKE A REST!!” lol

  20. Aww, I’m glad you’re feeling better girl! Unless I’m lyin’-on-the-couch, sick-to-my-stomach, I like to get in some form of exercise. If I’m not feeling up to a run, I’ll go for a walk outside with my mom. Otherwise, I try to not push it…telling myself I’ll only get more sick if I continue to push myself when my body’s already desperate for some R&R.

    And I’m cheap, too! If I signed up for a race and I’m not feeling up to it? I’ll do it — maybe I’ll just have to be a little slower. But that’s okay, as long as I finish! 🙂

    • I had been planning on doing a half marathon a few months ago that’s happening tomorrow, and not going to lie, if I had actually signed up, I probably would have still done it but walked the whole thing if I was still sick. No money goes to waste 🙂

  21. itsfoodlove says:

    Pumpkin yogurt? That sounds so good! How do you make it?

  22. Erika says:

    Jeeeeez, it seems like everyone is sick! I hope you feel better soon! 😀

Leave a Reply

