De-Cluttering, and it Feels So Good

How could I have forgotten that I had whole wheat pumpkin cake in the freezer?! This illness must have scrambled my brain.

My appetite is definitely not back to normal, but it’s getting there. Good news- some foods sound appealing. Bad news- every food I ate on Tuesday (before I got sick) sounds horrible. I saw pomegranate seeds and mushrooms in my fridge and my stomach turned. Even squash! What is wrong with me?! I’m hoping it will pass, because no one else will eat them, and we all know I don’t waste food.

Dinner was what I’d like to call a ‘burrito pizza.’

I spread tomato sauce on a whole wheat tortilla and topped it with feta and spinach, rolled it up and ate it like a burrito. My mom always tells me to not eat dairy when I’m sick, but hey, it sounded good! Don’t worry, it tastes better than it looks.

I also had an unpictured bowl of granola. Probably too much food for this weak stomach!

Since I haven’t been doing much eating or exercising (and by much, I mean no exercising πŸ™‚ ) in the past few days, I thought I would talk about one of my other resolutions, which is to work on my organization. Since I consider this blog a healthy living blog, I think this fits in. Why? Because being organized is good for my mental health!

I don’t consider myself an inherently organized person whatsoever. In fact, I used to be seriously disorganized. I wish I had pictures of what my room looked like when I was a kid- there was literally no room to walk anywhere because there was just stuff everywhere on the ground. I still share a room with my sister (yes, I’m 21 πŸ™‚ ) and she is also a former slob. Do you know what you get when you put two slobs together? A room that looks like a tornado went through it.

Thankfully, we have worked with our seriously limited space, and I’m happy to report that for the most part, our room remains pretty spic and span. This is no easy task when you consider that:

  • We have no desk
  • We have no closet
  • We have no dresser
  • Our room is probably the size of normal people’s bathrooms

But somehow, we’ve made it work. In lieu of a closet or dresser (the horrors!) we have beds with shelves built into the bottoms, where we keep our clothes. Let me be the first to tell you that those things are hard to shut if you have too many clothes in them. Guilty! So, my first order of business when I wanted to get more organized was to clean those suckers out. Not only do my drawers shut better now, that’s a lot less stuff I’ll have to lug when I move (maybe in May! AH!)

Don’t worry… some of that is my sister’s πŸ™‚

It feels so good to re-organize my drawers and get rid of so much stuff! Now I just need to take it to Goodwill… it’s taking up serious space in the garage.

I’ve also found a new use for my picnic basket. Storing magazines!

I love this thing, but it takes up a lot of room. Now it multi-tasks!

Along with cleaning out my drawers, I also got rid of a lot of old schoolwork and notebooks and such. I think I’ve made a pretty good start on that resolution so far! That’s one I hope to stick with forever πŸ™‚

Do you consider yourself an organized person? What are your organization tips? I could definitely use some!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to De-Cluttering, and it Feels So Good

  1. I love how you are using a picnic basket to store your magazines!! That is such a great idea! I may just have to steal it from you. πŸ˜‰

  2. i am quite organized! I guess I just plan ahead a lot! I like knowing where things are and where they will be so I just plan where I’m going to put things and keep them there!

  3. ciaotochow says:

    I would say I’m a pretty organized person & I wouldn’t have it any other way πŸ™‚ I used to use old cereal boxes and then cut from the top to the side (on a diagonal) and then wrapped it in cute wrapping paper. Then I stored my old magazines in there. (But I love your idea for magazine storage — so cute!)

  4. Kat says:

    You musst be horribly sick if you forgot about something so yummy!! I am a pretty organized person. I love having a planner, where I literally have my entire life planned. I also have the house pretty well organozed, but my hubby does a great job of trying to UNorganize it!

  5. Mmm…burrito pizza! I’m def not organized-it’s something i’m working on though! I love having things organized and clean but the upkeep isn’t my specialty!

  6. Peggy says:

    Definitely think I’m a semi-organized person. I get in these bursts where I just clean the house, top to bottom, and I feel good. But then some days, I just feel real lazy and want to relax (and blog all day, hehe). It always amazes me that no matter how clean my house looks one day, it’s back to where it originally was withing a matter of 24 hours!

  7. Kat says:

    I’m organized when it suits me. I definitely use the basket for magazines-method as well πŸ™‚

    As for eating when you’re sick, just follow what your body says. There’s a reason you crave certain things and can’t stomach others after that sort of thing. Story of my life right now.

    I hope everything is back to normal for you soon!

  8. My mom says the same thing about not eating dairy when I’m sick too.

    I’m super organized. I’m a bit obsessive compulsive, in fact, haha! Really just having a place for everything and always putting things back where they came from helps a lot. And then frequently getting rid of anything I don’t need, am not wearing, am not using, etc, helps keep clutter to a minimum. πŸ™‚

  9. Jessica says:

    I think the burrito pizza is a great idea! I’ll have to try that sometime, it would be fun to try with different fillings.

    Becoming more organized is also a goal of mine for 2011. I try so hard, but my house is not as organized as I’d like it to be. I totally agree that organization is good for mental health! Like you, when I was a kid, you could not have walked around my room. I like to think I’ve made good progress since that time (happy to report there is plenty of floor space in my bedroom these days!), but I have a ways to go. I like to walk around Ikea – I always find good items to help me organize there. Most recently, I put dividers in our sock/underwear drawers and I got a jewelry stand to help me better organize my jewelry where I can see it (rather than stuffing it in smaller drawers).

    • I just went to Ikea today and found a new bedside stand to help me organize! I LOVE that store, I can (and do) stay for hours. My mom actually bought me some drawer organizers a while ago that I want to use, but my drawers are so organized right now, I don’t want to touch them!

  10. Emily says:

    Um, I can never complain about not having space again after this post, hahaha. I work in a clothing store so my room is clothes galore, but I just recently cleaned out my closet and dresser so my clothes weren’t coming out of all ends of my room lol

    One of my goals this year is to be more organized too! I’ve started using a date planner to keep myself on track and not feel overwhelmed. I also have been forcing myself to put my laundry away and not let it sit around for days and get out of control!

  11. i am such a neat freak/organized person its scary – so i understand the stress of not having places to put things!

    pumpkin cake!? now thats an awesome find.

  12. I consider what I do to be controlled craziness! I like to think I am organized with all my stacks, but really it is just a neat mess. I am glad you are feeling a little better. I hope you are 100% soon!

  13. kbwood says:

    i love your burrito pizza! YUM

  14. Oh gosh, I’m SO unorganized! It takes an intense moment of hyper inspiration to get me to clean up my act!

    I love that adorable picnic basket as magazine storage!!! good idea! =) it needs to be showcased so I’m glad you have given it more function!

  15. I consider myself an organized mess. It’s an eclectic system, but it works for me… πŸ™‚

    And I know how it is with limited space. I also think that may be how I stay as clean as I do- because otherwise things build up waaaaay too fast and before I know it, there’s no where to put anything!

  16. The whole wheat pumpkin cake looks amazing πŸ™‚
    I want to try it ASAP!

  17. ~Jessica~ says:

    Sadly I am horribly disorganized ~ you should see the state of my study…books and *ahem* food crumbs everywhere. I’m being selfish and reading all of the wonderful tips you’ve already been given.

    Dairy actually settles some people’s stomachs ~ my grandad had a stomach ulcur and dairy was about all he could tolerate. Different strokes for different folks. I’d just have whatever your poor tum can tolerate.

    Sending healing thoughts your way

    *hugs*

    • Thanks, Jessica πŸ™‚ Dairy doesn’t upset my stomach, so I don’t mind eating it when I’m sick. I grew up believing it’s bad to consume when you have a cold, but I actually read an article today that dispelled that rumor. Good to know!

  18. Tragically I’m one of the most unorganized people… well, ever. I like to think it’s an organized chaos at least. πŸ˜‰ I’m definitely working on it though! I’ve gotten rid of a lot of stuff since moving out of my parents house and have tried to declutter as much as possible. Maybe one day I’ll be organized…. I hope.

  19. Evan Thomas says:

    I am organized in a very disorganized way. For instance, I didn’t feel like unpacking all my clothes even though I’ll be home for a month and a half, so instead I keep all the clothes I brought home in a pile in a laundry basket. I think it looks messy but it’s so much easier than unpacking and repacking in my mind.

  20. Hannah says:

    Oh gosh, I know exactly what you mean about the mental health part! My room is tiny, too, and it’s so easy to just “put a few things on the floor” and then suddenly it’s chaotic and I can’t step anywhere! Cleaning and organizing feels so good πŸ™‚

  21. Priyanka says:

    Your burrito pizza looks yummy! Decluttering can be so therapeutic, I love the feeling when I get rid of stuff that is not required!

  22. Kayla says:

    Aww, YUM! I’m going to have to *steal* your burrito pizza idea!

  23. emily says:

    hope you continue to mend! when i’m sick, i have weird cravings…like just toast with pb or eggs.

    i am a pretty organized person; messes stress me out. i love planners and schedules (probably) a little too much.

  24. Oh how I wish I was more organized! Props to you for decluttering. I don’t have much clutter but all my clothes manage to end up my floor like a hurricane blasted through Washington and managed to stay idle in my room for 10 minutes straight but the end of the week.

  25. Haha I am SO disorganised, so I have no tips I’m afraid! πŸ˜›

  26. Katie H. says:

    No closet?! What about stuff that can’t get wrinkled? lol. I guess that is what irons are for… I despise ironing!

    On Christmas day I had a huge burst of energy and went through my closet, getting rid of a few bags of stuff. Then I tackled my bookcase and had a big box of books to donate. It feels good to purge all the things! (said a la Allie Brosch of Hyperbole and a Half πŸ˜‰ )

  27. Erika says:

    I am SO disorganized! One of my new years resolutions is to clean my room and keep it clean! πŸ˜‰

  28. I am really organized! I am a clean/neat freak to the max!

  29. GirlonRaw says:

    Oh girl I hope you get better soon. I am in declutter mode too right now and I thought I had limited space, but you sharing what little you had has made me realise how MUCH more space I have and to stop complaining. I have always been disorganised but seeing as I am about to have a baby, something else has taken over and now I am a cleaning nazi. It’s strange!

  30. I am not that organized of a person. Right after the holidays, my husband and I cleaned our house from top to bottom. We organized just about every drawer, cabinet, and closet. We packed up stuff for summer, threw away a lot, and donated a lot to Goodwill as well. One tip that I have for deciding what to throw away or keep is this: if you haven’t used it in the past six months, then chances are you aren’t going to. Get rid of it. Getting rid of clutter feels so good.

  31. jhowells0913 says:

    I am a huge fan of organization, almost obsessively so. It doesn’t feel right when things are cluttered. I go to TJ Maxx and get cute baskets to organize my stuff, which are a lot more attractive than the big plastic ones you get at Target (however, I have a million of these too…)

  32. Pizza burrito sounds yummy!

    It is definitely hard to stay organized in a small space…but totally essential. I once lived in a studio apartment that was 400 square feet, had no closet and no kitchen counter! You get to use your creative thinking skills…like using the picnic basket for mags! What a great idea πŸ™‚

  33. hehe yes I am a neat freak!!!!
    hope you continue to feel better soon x

  34. Pingback: Bye, January! | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

