Eggplant Rollatini

Lisa at Thrive Style gave me a Stylish Blogger Award! Thanks, Lisa 🙂

Here’s how it works…

There are 4 duties to perform to accept this award:

1.  Make a post + Link back to the person who awarded you this award.
2.  Share 7 things about yourself.
3.  Award 15 recently discovered great bloggers
4.  Contact these bloggers and tell them they’ve won!

Seven Things About Me (I know I did a similar post, but I’m sure I can think of seven other things 🙂 )

  1. Yesterday was the first time in my life that I’ve put together a piece of furniture (okay, my mom helped a little!) and I consider this a huge accomplishment because I’ve never thought I could follow the directions! Yes, I have issues.
  2. I want to switch my major to history so I could study a really random piece of history and become the preeminent scholar on that subject so whenever the subject came up anyone in the history world would turn to me for my extensive knowledge of the subject. I would totally be that random historian that knows everything about something everyone learns but forgets 🙂
  3. It’s my dream to sing ‘I Got You, Babe’ in karaoke with my sister, but every time I beg her to, she refuses! I can’t imagine why…
  4. I am a total homebody and prefer staying in over going out any time. My idea of ‘going out and getting wild’ is going to a movie that starts after 7 pm. I’m an early bird!
  5. I’m really hoping that I have daughters instead of sons when I have kids mainly so I can dress them up. Just kidding, but… seriously.
  6. I can’t believe I’ve run a marathon but sometimes I’m too lazy to get up and find the remote for the TV.
  7. I consider myself shy, but not quiet. The two are not mutually exclusive 🙂

Thanks again, Lisa!

The 15 bloggers I tag are:

Anna at Ciao to Chow

Peggy at My FIANCE! Likes It, So It Must Be Good

Katherine at Left Coast Contessa

Kaitlin at Kaitlin With Honey

Monica at Yellow Brick Beauty

Errign at Errign’s Adventures

Monica at Run, Eat, Repeat

Sarah at See Sarah Graduate

Jessica at Almost Over Now

Sophia at Burp and Slurp

Emily at Finding a New Life Through Food

Rachel at This Italian Family

Paige at Running Around Normal

Lauren at Run, Yoga, Repeat

Erica at Gratitouille

I’ve been dying to cook recently. I feel like whenever the mood strikes, I’m either at work, not at home, or sick (only recently- boo!) Since I knew I wasn’t going to have time to cook tonight, I decided to make myself a special lunch. I pretty much never spend more than 10 minutes preparing lunch, so it felt weird to turn on my oven in the middle of the day, but I’d say it was worth it. 🙂

I’ve been wanting to make eggplant parmesan recently (I’ve actually never made it before!) so at the store last night, I picked up an eggplant and some ricotta cheese. However, even before I started looking for recipes, I saw a picture on the website of a vegan restaurant I used to go to all the time. One of their new specials is eggplant rollatini, which I’ve never even heard of! But it looked cute (yes, I think food can look cute 🙂 ) so I decided to wing it.

Eggplant Rollatini

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 large eggplant, sliced into long slices
  • 1/4 cup mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup eggplant, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons basil, chopped
  • Salt and pepper (optional)
  • 1/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 2 tablespoons goat cheese

Instructions:

  • Spray a large pan with cooking spray and lay eggplant strips across and heat over low heat.

  • While the eggplant is cooking, toss the mushrooms, chopped eggplant, and basil in a bowl.

  • Add ricotta and mix.

  • When the eggplant is browned, remove from heat and lay on a plate or cutting board.

  • Take a loaf pan and spread half the tomato sauce on the bottom.

  • Divide the ricotta mixture between the three slices of eggplant and spread it evenly on each slice.

  • Starting from one end, begin rolling the eggplant into a roll (do you like my scientific terms?)

  • Put each eggplant roll-up seam side down in the loaf pan.

  • Spread the rest of the tomato sauce on top of the eggplant.

  • Top with cheese and bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

YUM!

For not even having heard of this dish before I started making it, I thought it turned out really well!

What was the last dish you improvised in the kitchen that turned out well?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Eggplant Rollatini

  1. bakebooks says:

    That’s a great recipe! I’ve always wanted to try eggplant parmesan but I haven’t had good success with eggplant…I don’t know, it still always seems to come out “smushy” or something to me. Meh, I’ll take my noodles 🙂

    P.S Tagged you for the same award! Hah. Oh well 🙂

  2. Your rollatini looks delicious!
    Have you ever tried to make lasagna with eggplant?

  3. kat says:

    I’m a total homebody as well. I would so much rather be inside 🙂 that eggplant dish looks amazing! I could def eat that all by myself lol

  4. LOVE that it’s like a rollup… I may or may not like certain foods because they’re more fun to play with…

  5. Erika says:

    I barely ever eat eggplant, but that rotini looks so good! Of course, ricotta makes everything taste better as well. 😉

  6. Kat says:

    Those rollatini look great! There’s just something about cooking yourself a proper lunch. Probably because that’s the meal we’re most likely to rush?

  7. I love eggplant rollatini! And this is a great list of bloggers to check out, some new and some favorites!

  8. Zoe says:

    Eggplant dish is always my fav.

    This is my 1st time visiting your blog thru Peggy’s. I’m happy to follow yours for your delicious food ideas. Hope to hear from you in the future 😀

  9. Emily says:

    aghhh! that list sounds so similar to something I would write its scary, lol. I just recently changed my major to history after killing myself as a bio major for almost 2 years and realizing it wasn’t worth being miserable when I just want to go to culinary school anyway. I love history!

    Those eggplant rollatini look A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

    Awww, thanks for tagging me! I will have to write a post soon, I haven’t been on a very good blogging schedule the past two weeks :-\

  10. Priyanka says:

    The rollatini looks delicious. I am bookmarking it!

  11. aww, thank you so much! 🙂

    and the eggplant rollatini looks amazing! and easy! perhaps something even I could make with my limited cooking ability! haha

  12. Jessica says:

    I’m impressed you were able to improvise the eggplant dish! I’ve also never made eggplant parmesan, but it’s on my “list” – it’s become one of my favorite restaurant foods, so I’d really like to try making it at home. And I totally agree that food can look cute 🙂

  13. Congrats! And yum!!! haha…I love eggplant and am always lazy and just buy the roll-ups….I really need to make them:)

  14. Ooooh, yummy – I’m gonna have to adapt that recipe to omit the dairy, but I bet it will still be oh so good. I like your #7 – I, too, fall into the shy but not quiet category.

  15. runyogarepeat says:

    Thank you! I’ll do the stylish blog award when I get back from vacation.

  16. ~Jessica~ says:

    Thanks so much for tagging me! I’m so happy to be included amongst such great other bloggers and immensely flattered that you’d think me worthy of the award. Hopefully I’ll get a post up tonight or tomorrow (my thesis is currently kicking my behind!)

    Those roll-ups are so beautifully presented ~ sadly I am useless in the kitchen so don’t have any similarly innovative recipes to share, but I did really enjoy reading about your seven facts. I particularly agree with number 7! That definitely applies to me.

    xxx

  17. I love this dish!! How cute are the little rollatini’s? ha I will have to put this on my grocery list for my meals in the next few weeks! awesome!

  18. greekmelie says:

    I love eggplants. I am just too lazy to do the actual rolling part… I just grill them in slices 🙂

  19. Um, whoa, delicious!! I have a love/hate relationship with eggplant: sometimes I think it’s amazing, and other times I can’t stand the stuff. Your recipe looks incredible though.

  20. Thanks, girl! And that looks super tasty!

  21. oooh this is one tasty dish indeed!

  22. Peggy says:

    Those eggplant rollatinis look awesome! I’m sure they were super tasty too! And thanks so much for the award!

  23. That looks so good. I have never tried eggplant before and you make it look appetizing. 🙂

  24. Heather R says:

    Looks so delicious! My friend made Eggplant Rollatini not long ago, and it was fantastic. Hers looked very similar to yours, I wonder if it was the same recipe she used.

  25. Errign says:

    Thanks for tagging me 🙂

    I LOVE eggplant rollatini. So good. Your quesadilla sounds delicious too! I made some chicken chili earlier this week that was sort of improvised, and kind became a spicy-ish chicken soup. 🙂

  26. Pingback: I’m Stylin’ « This Italian Family

  27. Heather says:

    Wow girlie this looks AWESOME!! My mouth is totally watering! I am always improvising in the kitchen! I love “surprising” myself with tasty dishes!

  28. I need these. now =)

    bookmarked!

  29. Pingback: Bye, January! | What Kate is Cooking

  30. Pingback: Good Mail Day | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

