Happy Birthday, Mom!

40 something years ago today, my mom was born!

I could go on for days about how awesome my mom is. She is sassy, hilarious, selfless, and raised three horrid children. I aspire to be like her in every way!

Fun facts about my mom:

  • She was born in London and grew up in Virginia, Canada, the Philippines, and moved to California when she was 12.
  • She and my dad met in high school and have been married for over 27 years.
  • My sister and I are convinced she has a secret degree in some scientific field because she knows the most random things about weather patterns, dinosaurs, and other facts no one else knows. Try watching Jeopardy with her… it’s impressive! (She hates when we point this out :) )
  • She is an amazing hostess and everyone loves coming over for the holidays because her skills rival Martha Stewart’s.
  • She is one of six kids and as the youngest girl, this makes her Cindy Brady if you compare her siblings to the Brady Bunch.
  • She had a feeling she was pregnant with twins  before she found out she really was. Doesn’t she make a cute pregnant woman? I hope I look like that when I’m pregnant!

Happy birthday, Mom! I love you!!!

I went to the store early this morning with my sister to get my mom flowers and picked up a box of pre-made chocolate oatmeal for only a dollar. However, when I got home, I saw Cynthia had made Katie’s breakfast pizzert. All of a sudden, oatmeal didn’t sound as appealing :)

This is my second time making a pizzert and I love it! I used kept it simple and added blueberries in the batter and topped it with ricotta cheese. Oh, and I ate the whole thing :) Two servings? Maybe for normal people!

Maybe I’m getting accustomed to eating a lot of protein for breakfast, because about an hour later, I had an apple and peanut butter to tide me over til lunch. Next time I make a pizzert, I’m going to add nut butter on top to make it more satiating :)

Lunch was my favorite quesadilla combination- feta, dried cranberries, and spinach on a whole wheat tortilla.

I never want to bust out the grill, but I’m so glad I did. I swear it makes a huge difference!

Pumpkin yogurt was consumed as usual, but instead of Fiber One, I added some Kashi Go Lean (on sale!) I never thought I would say it, but I think I’m getting sick of Fiber One! Does that ever happen to you? I think it’s because I ate it the same day I got sick :(

I just baked my mom’s birthday dessert and I’m off to go write up a card for her! I’m a horrible daughter and I just ordered her gift online today. In my defense, I made it and it took forever!

Is there a woman in your life you look up to?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Happy Birthday, Mom!

  1. Aw, happy birthday to your mom!! :)
    I love my mom too. Yay for mommies!

  2. Kat says:

    I completely idolize my mother. The older I get, the wiser she seems. And, like your mom, she knows weird science facts out of nowhere. Maybe it’s like some sort of weird Mom Black Magic.

  3. Your mom is SO gorgeous! Happy birthday Kate’s mom :)

  4. Kat says:

    Happy birthday mom! :) I would say the woman I look up to is my sister. She has been through SO much and she is SO strong. I just cant believe all the things shes accomplished!

  5. I am so with ya about loving mom, she is my best friend and I have looked up to her my whole life. I love your healthy version of the quesadilla – might have to do that for lunch tomorrow :)

  6. Priyanka says:

    Aww this is such a cute post! Happy birthday to your mom!

    I know you have already got the stylish blogger award, just wanted to let you know that I tagged you too!

  7. Happy Birthday Kate’s Mom!

    I look up to my mom. She is my role model and my example. I am so grateful for her! :) I love my mama!

  8. Jessica says:

    Your mom looks so young! Happy birthday to her! That’s sweet that she and your dad met in high school. I love stories like that! I look up to my mom too :)

  9. Monica says:

    What a sweet post! And totally ok that you ordered the gift online today, it just extends the birthday celebration. ;)

    My in-laws are both one of 6 siblings and I love family gatherings because of all the family that is always around. Makes things so much fun!

    • Doesn’t it? I have so many cousins on my mom’s side. We had a family reunion in August and the amount of people was just insane! I only have two cousins on my dad’s side, so our gatherings with them are definitely more tame.

  10. Heather R says:

    Happy Birthday to your Mom!

    I definitely look up to my Mama too, we’re BFFs and I don’t know what I’d do without her!

  11. Your quesidilla/ wrap looks awesome!
    Happy Birthday Mom!! She looks so amazing and vibrant!

  12. Happy bday to your mom-she’s gorgeous!!!!
    I’m soooo close to my mom and look up to her all the time (and am finally old and not bratty enough to admit it!)

  13. bakebooks says:

    I love add oatmeal or cereal like Kashi to my yogurt messes – but gobs of syrup and blueberries are also mandatory…and almond butter…and jam…oops – i suck :(

    Let me know if you haven’t heard from the CSN girl about your gift certificate! I’ll contact her again if needed. And Happy B-Day to your Ma!

  14. Happy Birthday to your Mom! she looks fab
    and YES add nut butter to the pizzert- you will not regret it!

  15. Erika says:

    Happy Belated Birthday to your Mom! She sounds like a wonderful lady! :-)

  16. Your mom sounds amazing! And she is so beautiful! Happy birthday to her! :)

  17. Aw, your mom looks and sounds totally awesome! What a nice tribute for you to write about her.

    Quesadillas are so yummy!

    I feel the same way about my mom—it’s crazy awesome how she is my best friend now (but she still sometimes gives me money, which is awesome too).

  18. Sruthi says:

    Awww, Happy Birthday to your mom! She looks so young and pretty.

  19. Peggy says:

    Happy Birthday to your mom! I definitely wouldn’t believe she is older than 35, so there’s no way she’s 40+ I want to know her secret for looking so great!

  20. Happy birthday to your mama bear! It sounds like she’s had a crazy awesome life so far!

  21. emily says:

    happy bday to your mom!

    your pizzert looks good, too! and i would totally add nut butter. :)

  22. Hannah says:

    Happy birthday to your mum! My mum is one of my bestest friends ever – I definitely look up to her :) And I also definitely need to try the pizzert…

  23. Erica D says:

    I love love love my mom. I’m totally okay about turning into her! In fact, she eats Fiber One at the base of her other cereal every morning without fail. But I just like to eat a load of one kind, like the shredded remains at the bottom of the frosted mini wheats box!

  24. Pingback: Deeeeeenied | What Kate is Cooking

  25. Evan Thomas says:

    Happy birthday to your mom!

    The brownie and ice cream in your recent post was painful to look at at 9:30am. Is it too early to start digging through the freezer?

Leave a Reply

