Just Say No?

Everyone’s comments on loving veggies (or not!) were so interesting. I envy all of you veggie lovers! And for everyone like me, no fear- I’m going to keep looking for ways to sneak them into my day! When I see ‘Deceptively Delicious’ on sale again, I’ll buy it this time. πŸ™‚

Breakfast had serious staying power. I love these pancakes even more, if that’s possible. I ate them at 7:45 and they kept me full for 7 hours!

After work, I hopped on the dreadmill to pound out a 30 minute speedwork session. Man, I am so glad I have clear fitness goals for this year, otherwise the gym would NOT have happened today, and I definitely would not have done speedwork! I had to get a ride home from my sister today, so I only worked out to kill time until she picked me up. I’m so glad I did. I never regret workouts… unless I get injured. Thankfully, that hasn’t happened for a while. Knock on wood!

I stayed on the dreadmill for 30 minutes, which is nothing short of a miracle for me. I could only stay on five minutes at a time the last time I did speedwork, so for me, 30 minutes is awesome! I started at 6 mph and I took it up 0.1 mph every minute until I got to 7.5 mph, and then dropped it down every minute until I reached 30 minutes. It sounds confusing, but it’s not πŸ™‚ For some reason, paying attention to every minute that passes actually makes time go by faster for me!

I was sweating bullets and shaking like a leaf when I finished, so I did an easy 15 minutes on the bike followed by an easy 15 on the elliptical. I also sat in the sauna for a few minutes. It felt so good! Unfortunately, I have really pale skin, and being in the sauna turned my skin BRIGHT red. I saw my manager right after I got out and she asked me if I was okay… it’s that bad!

A real lunch never happened today. Shame on me! It got up to almost 80 degrees here today, and all I was craving was ICE CREAM. As soon as we walked in the door, my sister made a beeline for it and finished it off. I considered knocking her unconscious and claiming it for myself, but I let her eat it. Not without whining, of course. You win this time, twin! You hear that? (I know she will be reading this πŸ™‚ )

I settled for the other white bean brownie sans ice cream, followed by an apple with peanut flour butter and a new to me item- pumpkin kefir!

It was on sale, and we all know I love a bargain. I had some with Kashi on top. I like the consistency, but I’m not crazy about the taste. It wasn’t bad, though!

I had some vegetable-black bean-I don’t know what to call it- stoup for dinner. Remember what I said about not eating as many veggies as I should? Lunch was proof positive of this fact. Thankfully, I think I made up for my lack of veggie consumption with dinner.

I topped it with Greek yogurt, eggs, and spinach, which was a bad idea. Ever since I got the stomach flu, I haven’t felt the same way about eggs 😦

Exciting news- I’m going to Las Vegas tomorrow! Most 21 year olds go to drink and gamble, but this 21 year old will be visiting family and staying away from any debauchery. A party animal I am not. I’m a blast, I know!

If you had asked me a few weeks ago, I would have said there’s only one reason to go to Vegas, and that, friends… is for the BUFFETS.

It’s no secret that I love buffets. When you take an extremely cheap girl with a binge eating problem and stick her in front of a buffet, crazy things can happen. And I definitely do not mean that in a good way.

As of January 1st, I have been counting calories again. Rest assured that I have not been obsessively counting or weighing my food, like I did in my pre-blog days. I think this deserves its own post, which it will receive when I get back. But so far, it’s been two weeks and I’ve done pretty well. I guess you can say that this year has been binge-free, and although we’re only 14 days into 2011, that’s something I can be proud of.

However, there are ‘triggers’ that I want to avoid, and one of them are buffets. I wish I could say that I was good at intuitive eating and could approach a buffet like a normal person would. I wish that I could enjoy the good stuff in moderation and fill up on the healthy stuff, but I know myself and my way of eating, and I know that right now, I can’t. This is obviously something I’m working on, but Rome wasn’t built in a day. Putting a binge eater that is desperately trying to stop in front of a buffet is kind of like putting a recovering alcoholic in a bar. Okay, maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but honestly? That’s kind of what it feels like. That alcoholic is not going to limit themselves to one drink, and this binge eater is not going to eat intuitively.

So, I am almost positive I will be staying away from buffets on this trip. I struggled when I was trying to make this decision, until I realized something important.

Life is more than food. This vacation is not going to be better or worse because of what I eat. In ten years, I won’t even remember what I ate! By taking the focus off food, I’m sure to have a much happier vacation anyway. Buffets will always be around, but until then, I feel good about my choices.

It only takes four or five hours to get to Las Vegas, but I’m bringing plenty of food for the car! Is there anything worse than being in the middle of nowhere with no food options?

How do you feel about buffets? Are you good at eating intuitively or do you go so crazy you can’t even breathe or stand up when you’re done? (Maybe that’s just me πŸ™‚ )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Just Say No?

  1. When I approach a buffet, I fill up on a BIG salad, LOTS of veggies, fruit, and then some protein. I just try to focus on the foods that are good for me and it turns out all right. πŸ™‚

  2. Kristen says:

    I am fondly remembering that ice cream while I am stuck at work- next time you will just have to be faster πŸ™‚

  3. greekmelie says:

    Nope, it’s definitely not only you. My current approach is to limit myself to only one plate. Still, I have very good balancing skills (think jenga), so I do feel kind of uncomfortably full after most buffet meals, but nothing like the old days. Baby steps right? πŸ™‚ Good thing I don’t eat at buffets very often…

  4. hahah! I used to do that- where you can’t even breathe! I still do but I make sure its with lots of healthy foods as well! Then by the time I can’t breathe I go to the soft serve station of the buffet and spin myself up ten buckets of soft serve. Then by the time I want to stick a plunger down my throat- that is when I go home to sleep.

    I hope you feel better! I can’t BELIEVE your pancakes stayed with you for so long!

  5. BrittFit says:

    I used to just take ” alittle” of everything at the buffet but then it never really works out Ill end up getting way too excited, eating way too fast, and feeling very very full.

    Now that I’ve mastered the buffet style dining in my college cafeteria… I first take a lap around and see what I really want. Then I always have a salad and the 1 or 2 things that I reallllllly want. They have to a. go together in the meal ( aka all chinese or all italian food) b. be in the right portion sizes

    then I enjoy the meal and IF im hungry I get a smaller plate and get a few more things

  6. ~Jessica~ says:

    Ironically, I am usually fine when eating out, somewhat self-conscious or even undereating. That includes buffets, though I rarely go to them because there’s never anything I can eat anyway.

    I’m a totally different ‘type’ of binge-eater I suppose. Predominantly, I binge eat at home and in secret. That leads me to believe that it’s very much based on needing comfort and security. My binges originate from when I was bullied at school and either too scared to eat all day (most of the bullying was about my weight) or terrified of going near the lunch room or wait in line for lunch. So I’d skip breakfast or just eat an apple/1 slice of toast, go nine or ten hours and then binge on thousands of calories at home. So I came to associate food with safety – never a good thing.

    Huge congrats on 2011 being binge-free – 2 weeks is a huge achievement! Heck, one day is difficult enough for me…

  7. I’ve never struggled with binge eating, so I do fine at buffets. I’ve always hated the feeling of being too full. That being said, I’ve been too compulsive at times about my weight, and I’m thankful that I’ve reached a happy medium of moving more and eating more whole foods.

  8. i can usually handle buffets- the biggest prob is finding foods I;ll eat! oo pumpkin kefir sounds awesome- ive never tried kefir

  9. emily says:

    The dreadmill is really hard for me, too. I will run outside in 9 degree weather before I run inside!

    Do you have a twin sister? I do, too!

  10. Emily says:

    First of all, 80 degrees? ummm its maybe 5 degrees here right now… and that is rounding up. SO COLD.

    I hate buffets for the simple fact I can’t control myself. I never go to them. Especially lunch/dinner foods in particular. I tend to not have as much of an issue with breakfast foods. When I’m on vacation, I try not to focus on food, but sometimes I have to in order to stay in control. I try to not restrict myself, but at the same time I find that I do have to give myself a reality check every so often, because I don’t want to come home and deal with the repercussions.

    Have a great time in Vegas! I will be stuck in freezing cold upstate NY, lol πŸ™‚

    • 5 degrees?! That’s rough! I just wish it would be colder because this is my only chance to wear scarves and long sleeves! One of my friends just moved to upstate NY too and is horrified by how much it snows πŸ™‚

  11. Peggy says:

    Oh I hope you have a great time in Vegas! We’ve always wanted to go and are seriously thinking about it for our summer vacation!

  12. I always to big breakfasts- and yes, they keep me full forever!

    And I’m with ya on the buffet thing- it’s often the most efficient bang for your buck, but it makes me a little nervous given I have little self control when it comes to salt and sweets… :p

  13. Kat says:

    Im pretty good at buffets, just because I dont think half the stuff even looks good. The one thing I will overload on is bread. I LOVE me some bread!! So I always stack my plate with salad and fruit and maybe a soup bowl, but there is ALWAYS some bread that sneaks in πŸ™‚

  14. I love buffets and the variety-but they are dangerous for me! I go through the thought process of “when will I ever get to eat this again” “oh I want to try everything” “oh I paid for it, might as well get my moneys worth” then I end up getting rolled out with a busted zipper on my pants!

  15. Dreadmill? Haha you crack me up, and I totally agree, it is just so boring! I do the same thing, change either the speed or elevation every minute and it really does make the time go faster….I am terrible with buffet’s, I have zero self control. Have fun in Vegas!

  16. Erika says:

    I used to go crazy at buffets and feel terrible afterwards. Now I set a plate limit (2 regular and 1 dessert plate) and stick to it. I also try to take smaller portions of the fatty stuff and bigger portions of the healthier options. Hope that helps and enjoy yourself! πŸ™‚

  17. runyogarepeat says:

    I love that speedwork trick of increasing every minute – it makes staying on the dreadmill go by much faster. 80 degrees out?! Lucky you! As much as I love the snow, somedays I just crave a warm, summer day.

  18. Kat says:

    I completely understand where you’re coming from with buffets…What I do:

    1. Hit the salad bar. I can have a salad with WHATEVER I want on top of it before I do the rest of the line.

    2. Get picky. If something tastes mediocre or off, don’t eat another bite of it. There’s something else out there that tastes WAY better and you’ll be far more satisfied with it. Throwing away food sucks, but feeling shitty is worse.

  19. Dreadmill? Haha! Love it!

    And buffets are a major weakness of mine. I rarely go to them for that very reason. Though we do have a super amazing sushi buffet here, but it’s not as bad since the sushi I eat is the healthy stuff (mayo in sushi is one of the grosses things, ugh!). Anyway, I hear your pain. You will do great and enjoy LV!

  20. I’m so jealous of your 80 degrees…today I think that it hit 30 where I live! πŸ™‚

    At buffets I make a beeline for the salad and fruit section! You will do great! Have a great time in Las Vegas!

  21. Jess says:

    Congrats on the treadmill! I hate it.
    I do OK with buffets, but mainly because I don’t normally love the food all that much. If I did, I don’t think I would do as well πŸ˜‰

  22. paijery says:

    I love buffets!!!! But usually have to stay away because I am a crazy binge eater as well. I always want to try a bit of everything so my plate gets piled SO HIGH!! Luckily I do love veggies so my plate is filled mostly with those and usually a big salad, too. I am such a sucker for pasta salad though haha πŸ˜€

  23. I love that you call it the dreadmill too. :/ I absolutely HATE running on a treadmill but with all of the snow and ice we’ve had, I’ve been practically living on it the past several weeks.

    And omg, 80 degree weather?!?! You have no idea how jealous I am at this very moment. haha.

  24. just wanted to say hi..and your opening linl/line got my attn b/c that’s pretty much the name of my blog πŸ™‚

    i love veggies and my 3 (almost 4) yr old loves veggies, and we dont sneak.

    Sure i may blend veggies into something b/c the recipe will be better with it, red pasta sauce w/ extra kale or chard blended in or extra veggies in soup, but we always serve whole, non-sneaky veggies too. Who’s gonna “sneak” her veggies into her when she gets to college and im not around? Good thing no one will have to..she loves them now.

    But everyone has to do what works. Sneaking is better than none at all, that’s for sure!

    • What’s funny is that I would never sneak veggies to my kids either, but I sneak them to myself πŸ™‚ My parents always made me eat my vegetables when I was younger, but they were never the focal point of the meal. I love that your daughter loves her veggies- I hope my kids are the same way!!

  25. Kat says:

    I love buffets too! I try to be an intuitive eater and I have been getting better at not over eating at buffets. I love trying new foods so my general rule is to try just a small piece of everything and then if I really like something I’ll go back and have a small bit more. Have fun in Vegas!

  26. Your pancakes look awesome! Oh, and you are amazing for killing it with the cardio. Good for you!

    I feel bad that you don’t love vegetables, but I didn’t always either. I don’t know what happened; a switch just flipped in my head and now I love them. πŸ™‚ I have the same game plan as Kathleen when I go to buffets. I fill up on the good-for-me stuff–protein, veggies, fruit, and some good complex carbs if they’re there.

  27. Monica says:

    Good for you for recognizing the boundaries that you need to set! That is no easy process at all, and especially limiting something that seems to be a staple of Vegas.

    I use to like buffets for the money aspect, but with my current eating style I really can’t visit one.

  28. I have recently become aware of a binge eating problem in my life. I’m not exactly sure what seems to trigger it, but I know if I am faced with a buffet or a big holiday dinner spread, the more choices there are, the harder it is for me. I try to stay away from buffets if at all possible, because I just can’t seem to find the self control/intuition to stop once I’m full. It’s so good to know that I’m not alone on this. I was totally starting to think I was crazy!

Leave a Reply

