Scratching the Itch- Race Plans

Back to real life today! Well, not really. I don’t start school until next week and I didn’t work out today (still sick!) so my day has pretty much been spent eating and doing absolutely nothing. Uh, actually, a lot of my days are like that. Thank goodness I worked tonight, otherwise I probably wouldn’t even have left my house.

I was in the mood for something different for breakfast this morning. Every day, I see a ton of really creative breakfast ideas on everyone’s blogs that I’ve been meaning to recreate. Unfortunately, I have the world’s worst memory, and I couldn’t remember any of them this morning! So, instead, I made some more chocolate oats. I still have three packets left, and while this stuff isn’t bad, it’s too warm for hot oatmeal!

There is just no way to make that look appetizing… sorry.

Obviously, that tiny bowl wasn’t going to keep me full, so I supplemented with some banana soft serve.

Ah… much better!

For lunch, I used the leftover filling from my eggplant rollatini in a pita. I mixed the filling with some marinara sauce and goat cheese, stuffed it in the pita, and grilled it.

My sister saw me photographing this and said, ‘Good thing it’s on a cute plate, because it looks disgusting.’ Like most of my food, it was ugly… but delicious πŸ™‚

The pita was followed by an apple with peanut butter and the food I can’t live without- pumpkin yogurt. Do you want to see how orange my skin is from all of this pumpkin?

I don’t think I need to tell you which twin I am in this picture. I swear to God I have never used fake tanner in my life, but that’s what it looks like. It’s horrid, really.

My dinner will be leftover black bean stoup. I could use all the vegetables I could get after their disappearance from my diet the past few days πŸ™‚

Since I had so much time on my hands today, I thought I would check out some upcoming races near me. Maybe two rest days in a row is making me antsy, but I am seriously getting the urge to race again. It’s already been over a month since my last race. I don’t care what the distance is- I just want to race again! Okay, that’s not true. There is no way in hell I’m going to be running another marathon any time soon. I’ll be quite happy with a half, thank you very much!

Unfortunately, I am pretty picky about races. There are several factors to consider when I’m choosing a race. The biggest one is obviously money. Races are seriously expensive! I know it’s worth it, but I die a little every time I fork over the money for a race. The second factor is the location of the race. I prefer local races so I don’t have to wake up at 3 in the morning just to get there on time. Races start early enough- the less time I have to spend getting ready for the race, the happier I am. The third factor is distance. I’m sure I can run 13 miles, but I’m not sure I’m ready to race 13 miles. One of my goals this year is to PR in a race, and while I would be happy to knock off even 30 seconds from my previous half marathon time (2:08:53), I really think I have a sub 2 hour half marathon deep inside me. It’s going to take some work, but I think I can do it. Obviously, a lot of training will be required!

I was originally going to do the Surf City half next month, but that wouldn’t leave me enough time to train, and it’s a little too expensive for my liking. Then, I decided I would do the San Diego Rock n Roll half– it’s way more expensive and about two hours away, but I was planning on doing it with my cousin, and it leaves ample time to train. One problem- I’m 75% certain I’m moving at the end of May! So, I think that’s off the list.

So for now, I have three races in mind. I’m going to be doing the Timberwolf 5k at the end of next month. It’s only a few miles away- at my old high school, in fact! It’s a small race, but I think it would be fun to revisit my old stomping grounds. Plus, I would love to see my old cross country coach and brag that even though I was a huge slacker when I was on the team, I ran a marathon with absolutely no coaching πŸ™‚

The second race I’m planning on is the Coaster 10k at the end of March. I was planning on doing this last year, but it was only two weeks before the half marathon I did, and I wanted to make sure I wasn’t burnt out. It’s earlier this year, so it leaves plenty of time to recover. Did I mention it’s at Knotts Berry Farm and you get free pie when you finish? Yeah, I said free pie. If I only do one race this year… it will be this one.

The third race I’m tentatively planning on doing is the OC Half Marathon in May. This is the same half marathon I did last year, and while I had some issues with the course, it’s the perfect place to PR- same course as last year! I think I’ll have enough time to train between now and then, although I don’t even know when I’m going to start. I need to formulate a plan ASAP!

I haven’t signed up for any of these races yet (did I mention I’m poor?) but I’m excited for all of them. In the meantime, I’ll be on the lookout for races between now and the end of May. If my finances are satisfactory, I have my eye on the Denver Rock n Roll in October- I’ll only be an hour away!

How do you decide what race to do? Do you have any races planned for this year? If anyone wants to do the 5k or half marathon with me, let me know! I’m not fast, but it would be fun πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Scratching the Itch- Race Plans

  1. Jessica says:

    I had two rest days and was “itching” to run too! Right now I’m only signed up for a 10k in February. Although I haven’t signed up for it yet (still feeling a little nervous), I’m training for a half marathon in April. I also started looking at other races this weekend, so I might do a 5k next month too πŸ™‚ I’ve only done one race ever (5k) but I really want to race again soon – and beat my first time!

  2. Kat says:

    I feel you on the still sick part!! Ive been sick a week now, and I have to say I am sick of being sick!! I cant wait to be able to BREATHE again!

  3. squigglefloey says:

    Eee, good luck on your racing plans! And so jealous that you’re still on break πŸ˜‰
    What kind of pita bread do you use? I’m trying to find a brand that isn’t too dry, and that tastes decent without being grilled or warmed!

    • The brand is Western Bagel… it’s called ‘the alternative pita bread.’ It’s not whole wheat, which I prefer, but I got it on sale for a dollar so I can’t complain πŸ™‚ They’re actually really good! Not too dry at all.

      • squigglefloey says:

        Omg that brand is the only brand that I don’t think is dry! haha I’ve tried Sara Lee but it tastes so cardbord-ey to me lol

  4. greekmelie says:

    You are right, races are pretty expensive. I am running Surf City next month, but it was my Christmas present from my parents. πŸ™‚ I prefer local races, because driving at 4am is not exactly my favorite, but I am getting pretty burnt out running races in Santa Monica/Venice. It’s kind of boring. I was considering San Diego, but AJ mentioned OC and it seems better, more economical and the course looks flat and beautiful.

  5. Good luck on your races! πŸ™‚

  6. Erica D says:

    Can we make a date to run a Colorado race together? Someday?

  7. divasrun says:

    I LOVE eggplant – thx for the recipe! I have a set list of races I’ve been doing for a few years now. I know I’ll do the Peachtree but I haven’t decided on what others I’m going to do for now. My job is in transit so I may have to decide last minute this year.

  8. Banana soft serve for bfast? WHAAAAT amazing!!!
    I used to sign up for any and every 5k in the area. That way I was used to running on all surfaces and I was slightly obsessed. If I was going to run another half i’d pick a fun one to do:)

  9. Totally with you on the race hesitations this year. I’m on a bit stricter budget this year, so I’ve barely even looked past the one that I’m currently training for. Last year I did like 10 total- will definitely be doing less. Sadness.

    I sort of prefer local, unless someone in the city is running it with me and giving me a place to sleep. πŸ˜‰

    Also, I’m sort of a snot about using chip timers. I don’t like the shot gun starts- weirdly ocd about my final times…

  10. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has turned orange! I ate sooooo many carrots that there for a long time, I was totally orange! :/ haha

    I haven’t planned out any races yet but I do have a few in mind that I’m seriously considering at this point. πŸ™‚ Good luck on all of yours!

  11. Emily says:

    the free pie would be incentive enough for me to do a race πŸ™‚

    and that eggplant, goat cheese panini sounds so good even if it isn’t the prettiest looking thing, hahaha

  12. emily says:

    Races are super expensive! I haven’t had the urge to do one lately…the last one I ran was a half marathon last spring, and I got super dehydrated/heat stroke, so that’s kinda a bad memory for me. πŸ™‚

    • That’s so scary! When I did cross country, we had a meet where it was almost 100 degrees, and a girl on my team got heat stroke, had a seizure, and started screaming about devils. It was horrible!

  13. Sruthi says:

    Good luck with your race plans, you are right , they are really expensive. I am doing a 10 miler in April and have a few more in mind, lets see how does it go.

  14. runyogarepeat says:

    Free pie is a good reason to run a race. Races can get so expensive, and I haven’t signed up for one this year yet. I want to run a half this spring, probably May or June, but I haven’t made any plans yet.

  15. Races are expensive! That’s why we try to choose causes we care about and then run for those. Granted, we’re not past a 5k yet, but it’s a start! πŸ™‚

    • That’s a great idea! My family is actually looking for a 5k that benefits fibrosis. Some will walk, some will run, but it will be great to do it for a great cause- my grandfather died of fibrosis.

  16. paijery says:

    πŸ˜€ All of my food is “ugly but disgusting” too. Good luck with your race plans!!

  17. i actually just thought about doing a half in october.. LAST NIGHT.. total spur of the moment, but ive ALWAYS wanted to do a half and I can defs run.. the longest ive done is like one hour though! sooo.. YIKES im SO SO SO scared!

  18. bakebooks says:

    Oh I didn’t know you were a twin! Yep…reality sucks doesn’t it. Boo to it 😦

    On the other hand I’ve been OD’ing on Pumpkin AND Butternut Squash…so I’m like 20 shades of orange…;)

  19. Kayla says:

    Can’t go wrong with chocolate oats, good luck on your races! I have knee problems and don’t do running! I do bike rides instead!

  20. Jenna says:

    Orange skin is such a funny ‘problem’ to have! =) I’ve heard it was possible, but I’ve never come across anyone who it actually happened to. And by the way, it doesn’t look bad in the picture.
    With regards to your race question, it made me laugh because I am definitely NOT a runner. I tried to be . . . twice. And I should probably give it a real (aka consistent) effort at some point soon. For now, I’m a yoga/pilates girl.

  21. I decide on races based on a lot of the same factors – money, how close they are, etc. But, since I recently realized how many running friends I have, I also now choose based on which I can do with friends. πŸ™‚ Well, I used to choose that way. I don’t get to race anymore!

  22. Money is definitely my biggest race factor! I’d love to do a dualthon (running+biking) but it is SO expensive!

    I’m aiming to do my first half this year- hopefully a sub 1.50! I’m aiming high I know! And I’m sure you’ve got a sub 2.00 in you! πŸ˜€

  23. ~Jessica~ says:

    My planned races are all from March onwards, and I’m already getting antsy while waiting for them. But there aren’t any more locally and I spent all my race money on the Liverpool marathon I ran in December, so I’ll just have to be patient. Not my strongest suit, for certain.

    Can’t wait to read all your amazing recaps of these races: I know you’re going to do so well in them and I think you’re right to stick to distances where you feel you’ll do yourself justice. The half will come in time and you’ll do even better for being mentally and physically prepared for it.

    xxx

  24. Wow, lots of good plans for the future! Keep us updated on progress, etc! Hope you feel better soon!

  25. I don’t have any planned, but I would like to run a few local races this spring!

    Banana soft serve in the morning is one of my favorites….I love feeling like I’m having ice cream for breakfast!

  26. Peggy says:

    Pie at the end of a race? Sounds like the winner to me!

  27. I’m picky about races, too. I refuse to pay more than $25 for a race that doesn’t give a medal! LOL. I like my medals.

  28. Kat says:

    I’m still debating what races I’ll actually register (besides the marathon) for. I’m thinking a 10k in April, a half in May and a half in August to get prepped. Next week, it’s definitely time to bite the bullet. Good luck deciding! At the end of the day, there’s really not a bad choice.

  29. oooh I want to get free pie at the end of the race! I need to check out that race at Knott’s! πŸ™‚ I love Snoopy so I’m all over that.

  30. Sounds like some good stuff on the horizon with your racing! I’m not signing up for any races this year. Only doing ones I can choose to register for the day of. I think my injury has me spooked!

  31. Stacy says:

    I think you definitely have a sub 2 hour half inside of you!! I was trained and ready in just a few months to sub a 215 in my first half marathon two weeks ago in Disney. Then what happens? I get sicker than a dog 2 days before… I had a 5K schedule the day before the half, so i just ran both the best I could. I completed with a 2 hour 39 min time, but with 28,000 runners, i think I’m ok with that!
    So I definitely think you can do it!

  32. Carlyn says:

    AH! How can you be standing out in the SNOW with no jacket on? Too cold for oatmeal? Where I am, it’s 42 degrees out right now! I’m from Texas, so I’m actually INSIDE but bundled up in the heaviest coat I have. I must sound ridiculous to you πŸ˜›

  33. Monica says:

    I need to register for a race ASAP! I have successfully put this off because of my schedule since September and I am craving a race so bad. I need to start looking out for some opportunities!

Leave a Reply

