Fast and Easy

…that’s what she said. I know, I have the maturity level of a twelve year old boy.

Fast and easy run? Pretty fast (for me), not easy! I left my Garmin at home, so I don’t know how fast I was going, but I’d say I averaged between a 9:00-10:00 minute pace the whole time. I did five miles and was spent at the end. I thought my cough was gone, but it came back on my run. Figures.

Fast and easy breakfast? Yup! Repeat of yesterday’s. No pictures, it doesn’t look any different 🙂

Fast and easy lunch?

I just mashed chickpeas, mushrooms, goat cheese, spinach, and dried cranberries together and stuck it in a toasted pita. It sounds random, but I swear it works.

Fast and easy snack? Typical.

Unpictured second snack- A pint of ice cream that was smuggled via my purse into the dollar theater. I saw The Social Network and loved it. Actually, it’s now two dollars for admission- which is still a great deal 🙂

Quick and easy dinner? Awww yeah.

I had the day off work, so I COULD have cooked an elaborate dinner, gone grocery shopping, or used one of the hundreds of recipes I have bookmarked. Instead, I opted to make something fast using ingredients I had on hand.

Why-Am-I-Even-Writing-A-Recipe-For-These Stuffed Bell Peppers

Ingredients:

  • 1 bell pepper, sliced in half, cored and seeded
  • 1/2 cup refried beans
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1 tbsp scallions, chopped
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast

Directions:

  • Throw it all in a bowl and mix it up.
  • Stuff it in the pepper.
  • Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.
  • Yeah… I told you it didn’t need a recipe!

I had a serious craving for these that was finally satisfied. The last time I tried to make these, I stuck them in the oven, went upstairs to take a shower, came back downstairs… and my oven wasn’t working. I microwaved them, which is SO not the same. The oven-baked version is way better!

What is your favorite fast and easy meal? I need all the ideas I can get. Two words… night classes. UGH!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to Fast and Easy

  1. Casey says:

    mmkay, so that pita so will be on my lunch rotation soon

  2. My favorite easy meal was made for me today by my boyfriend Pete, Egg sandwich with tomatoes and hummus (roasted red pepper hummus) very quick, very easy and very delicious! Great post!

  3. Meesh says:

    Thank you so much for your kind comment on my post yesterday, it means a lot.
    I adore stuffed peppers! I usually stuff them with rice or something similar, I’ve never tried refried beans!
    I find that if I’m not 100% healthy and I go for a run, my cough/cold nearly ALWAYS comes back. So I’m careful not to run when sick. Of course, that could just be me, I seem to have no immune system at all 😛

  4. Some days…I’m all about the fast and easy (actually, most days!).
    I think my easiest go-to meal is a wrap…I just throw whatever I have into a wrap and drizzle something in there with it. Sometimes it turns out great!

  5. Hi Kate! My absolute fastest easiest tastiest go-to meal is this: two slices ezekial toast or one ezekial bun toasted with a schmear of hummus on each side then piled high with any or all of the following: sliced tomato, sliced cucumber, and alfalfa sprouts. SO yummy and so fast and so satisfying. Even better if I’ve got some leftover soup in my fridge to go along with it!

  6. Love stuffed red peppers-that was part of my grocery list for W (the ingredients)-can’t wait to make these this week-never tried the refried beans in it!
    Don’t you wish all runs could be fast and easy?!

  7. inmytummy says:

    I love stuffed peppers. I need to make them more often. My favorite fast and easy meal is to make a pizza on a tortilla. I do that a lot when I’m pressed for time.

  8. AHH love stuffed peppers!! my go-to meal is roasted veg and cottage cheese!

  9. bahahaha your opening made me laugh first thing in the morning 🙂 My fast and easy meal is soup!

  10. Fast and easy is seriously the way to go. I rely on my crockpot to save dinner all the time.

  11. Sruthi says:

    Soup and bread is my fast and easy meal.

  12. I wish I could give you advice on a fast and easy meal but…… I’m a horrible cook and my idea of fast and easy is a turkey sandwich on whole grain bread. In other words–boring. haha.
    I have two night classes this semester as well and generally have sorority events or intramurals after so I struggle with finding something quick and easy (and healthy) to eat also!

  13. Emily says:

    Fast and easy meals? Hmm, I have two that I have been doing frequently: soup or a “grilled” sandwich. I’ve been making homemade soup on the weekends so I have it in the freezer during the week and can just defrost it when I don’t have time to cook. I also love making “grilled” sandwiches in a stove top pan. My latest favorite combination is a slice of fresh mozzarella, roasted red peppers, tomatoes, basil, and if I have any leftover turkey or chicken adding it into the mix. I just put a tsp. of olive oil in the pan to make it slightly crispy and voila! Quick and easy meal 🙂 The sandwich combinations are endless and I seem to never get sick of them.

  14. I love oatmeal! It’s so fast and versatile. 🙂

  15. Waffles and omelets are my fast go to meals! They are fun, quick and easy! I used to take ice cream in to movies too! Feels so good to be bad that way!

  16. Ugh – night classes are no fun! That pepper looks good though! I like to bake or grill some chicken at the beginning of the week & if there’s a day where I can’t stand to make something or I just literally don’t have the time, I throw together something super easy: grilled chicken salad, or wrap, or pita, or maybe I”ll sautee some veggies & re-heat the chicken just eat it as stir-fry. I could go on…..options with chicken are limitless : )

  17. I still really wanna see The Social Network! I need it to hurry up and come out on DVD so I can get it on Netflix! 😉

  18. paijery says:

    I am totally in love with peanut butter, hummus and pickle sandwiches. For real. They are soooooooo good!!

  19. Jenna says:

    Mmmm, those are some good-lookin’ stuffed peppers. And I love apples and PB as a snack–it’s one of my favorites (along with popcorn, cheese, and apples, which on special occasions we got to have for dinner growing up).

  20. Evan Thomas says:

    I love fast and easy sometimes. Like today when I got home from a run and had nothing to cook, so I ate breakfast for lunch. Fast and easy.

  21. I hear ya on the night classes! I usually make a big batch of something and take it with me to classes and/or work during the week. Favorites are veggies with quinoa – sweet potatoes, cauliflower, bell peppers, greens, etc. and some goat cheese. Super easy and good when eaten cold.

  22. Lisa says:

    Your lunch looks SO good! You always have the best food!

    My quick easy meals are pretty boring but they work when I’m tired…cereal, tuna sandwich, oatmeal with brown sugar on top, or pasta salad if I have a little more energy. Tonight is a pasta salad night!

  23. bakebooks says:

    Way to go on your run! That’s incredible!

    I tell you why you wrote out that recipe…for ME! Thanks so much – I’ve never tried Stuffed Peppers and know they’re “easy” but recipes I’ve seen make it all complicated – yours isn’t 🙂

    LOVED The Social Network…I want to see it again…

    Thank you so much for still coming and commenting on my blog! I don’t always have time to comment (especially at work) but I always read – and I appreciate your reading and support 🙂

  24. runyogarepeat says:

    Stuffed peppers are so good! My fast & easy meals are egg & cheese sandwiches or big throw-everything-in salads.

  25. Pitas are awesome for just that- quick meals!

    I’ve perfected a sweet veggie scramble in under 10 minutes to put in a pita/wrap. Or just mushrooms and feta… or broccoli and cheese… so many different options!

    Also, that’s why I keep salad stuff around. It’s easy to throw one together and just go!

  26. My favorite fast meal is pasta. You can add whatever veggies you want to it and it doesn’t take that much time at all.

  27. Peggy says:

    Everything in that pita sounds wonderful and I have no doubt that it’s nothing but delicious! Hope you can manage to keep that cough away soon!

  28. Those stuffed peppers sound awesome – first recipe I’ve seen without meat or rice, I love it!

    Fast food = soup out of a can. And amy’s burritos. And apples and peanut butter sandwiches. No need to dirty a plate!

  29. OliePants says:

    Okay the lunch looks delicious and really easy to assemble. I have been trying to pick up my lunches and planning them and I have all the ingredients for this!

  30. AlisonM says:

    For fast and easy I love batch cooking things like chilli and bean burgers and then freezing them.

    Nice run!

  31. thanks for saying hi today 🙂

    and love your fast eats!

    night class. god, i hated those. i could never stay awake. lol

  32. TWSS was the first thing that popped into my head when I read that title. LOL.

    Yes, I am very immature 😉

  33. Errign says:

    I’ve never made stuffed peppers, so I’m glad you shared. 🙂 Easiest meals for me while i night classes (love hate relationship – love that they’re once a week, hate that they’re 2.5 hours – but I always end up in one or two a semester) – leftovers from previous meals, pb& j with fruit and string cheese, a luna bar & a smoothie with added protein (ala peanut butter or powder). The ultimate easy meal for me is to hit up the local thai restaurant for an order of mixed veggies, an order of brown rice, and an order of peanut sauce – mix & feast!

  34. A great fast and easy meal is frozen Morningstar Farms burgers. Love those things on a sandwich thin spread with a Laughing Cow cheese wedge!

  35. My fav fast and easy meal is frozen organic pizza OR veggie kabobs on the grill! ❤

    LOVE stuffed peppers! ❤

  36. Lori Lynn says:

    I tagged you in a Stylish Blog Award. See my blog for details.

  37. Hannah says:

    The filling for that pita sounds fantastic! I love pairing goats cheese with something sweet (like dried cranberries). Adding chickpeas too is brilliant!

  38. Yummy on the pita filling and the peppers! I never remember to stuff bell peppers but love to do stuffed poblano peppers.

  39. I teach high school seniors and juniors and “that’s what she said” jokes are super prevalent in my world! Love your lunch…looks fantastic!

  40. Kat says:

    There’s nothing like a run to drag up all of the residual crap that’s in your lungs after you’ve been sick 😦 I’d have to say my favorite fast and easy meal would either be a quesadilla loaded with veggies or if you can let it sit while you get to work, an egg bake.

  41. That stuffed pepper looks divine!!!! I would totally eat that for dinner. Yummy!

  42. sophia says:

    night classes suck, which is why I go out of my way to avoid them. Sometimes they’re unavoidable, though.

    My fast and easy meal (tee hee) is just bread and butter. 🙂

  43. BrittFit says:

    I’ve been FOREVER looking for a good stuffed pepper recipe! I LOVE IT!

  44. Thanks for saying checking out my blog last night. Love your recipe for bell peppers. I would never think to put refried beans in bell peppers, but you made it look really yummy. I will definitely have to try that recipe this week!

  45. Jessica says:

    Nice job on the run! I loved the Social Network – and I am super jealous that you have a movie theater that charges just $2. The bell peppers look delicious. One of my favorite fast & easy meals is a Hungry Girl recipe – soy ground crumbles mixed with taco seasoning (and any veggies you want to add), which you heat up in the microwave, and then dump on a tortilla with Laughing Cow cheese. One of my favorite week night meals!

  46. Pingback: A Great Workout… | What Kate is Cooking

  47. Heather says:

    Cottage cheese, chickpeas, and ranch seasoning…then I add whatever veggies I’m in the mood for: tomatoes, zucchini, carrots, peppers. So tasty!

  48. Monica says:

    A smoothie for sure, but I am sure you know that from their frequent appearance on my blog. 😉

Leave a Reply

