A Great Workout…

…can be in your living room!

Before I got a gym pass in June, I never really worked out at home that often. If I didn’t feel like running, I didn’t think I had any other options. I lifted weights a few times, but I would get so distracted by the TV or the computer, it never really went that well.

After my run yesterday morning, I didn’t feel like going to the gym to get in a weight lifting session. (Waste of gas!) So instead, I brought the gym to me.

I created the following workout using 5 pound weights. I actually think I could have used heavier ones, but these are the heaviest we have.

The workout:

  • 20 bicep curls
  • 20 tricep kickbacks
  • 20 overhead presses
  • 40 side bends
  • 20 side arm lifts
  • 20 crunches
  • 10 modified push-ups
  • 10 leg lifts
  • Plus two that I don’t know the name of 🙂

I did this set five times. I was pleasantly surprised that I could do 10 modified push-ups at a time! I didn’t try to do a regular one, but that will be my goal next time. I have very little upper body strength, so I have to start small!

I actually enjoyed doing this. It took me the entire length of a Jersey Shore episode. Even though I was losing brain cells, I was building muscle 🙂 I also stuck my dinner in the oven before I started, so it was cooked and cooled when I was done. Score!

In other news… I think I should change the name of my blog from ‘What Kate is Cooking’ to ‘This Food Looks Horrible, But It Tastes Awesome.’ See what I mean?

Exhibit A: Breakfast.

I made chocolate oats (I only have one packet left, thank God), let them cool, smooshed them into a pancake shape, and topped them with ricotta.

Second breakfast:

Apple with peanut butter. This isn’t particularly offensive to look at, actually. Those oats have no staying power- this was necessary!

Exhibit B:

Egg whites cooked with spinach, green onions, chickpeas, and tomato sauce. This is definitely one of those ‘use what’s in your fridge’ meals. It was good!

After lunch:

Pumpkin kefir with Kashi Go Lean. I’m actually kind of sad this is almost gone. I won’t be able to get it until the fall!

Exhibit C:

Sorry for the horrible picture. I was pretty much starving to death and almost inhaled this before I remembered to snap a photo. In a moment of weakness, I bought instant pudding at Target today. It was crazy cheap, so I couldn’t resist! I did limit myself to one portion, though, which is a first for me. I used to eat the whole box at a time when I was younger! I was craving it after seeing it on Pursuit of Healthfulness 🙂 I added pumpkin and a new to me treat: a chocolate Vitatop. I’ve seen them on so many blogs, I had to see what they were about. They’re tiny- no wonder they’re only 100 calories! But they were pretty good, albeit ridiculously expensive. I can make something cheaper 🙂

Exhibit D is the black bean stoup that is sitting in my tummy. My poor stoup is really unphotogenic, and I didn’t want to embarrass it, so no photo 🙂

Thanks for all of your comments on fast and easy meals! I’m definitely keeping all of them in mind when I start school next week. If you haven’t read the comments yet, you should- there are a lot of great ideas!

The reason I’m so hungry today is because I went to spinning this morning! It was an 8 o’clock class, which I think is the perfect time to start. I think this was one of the hardest classes I’ve ever taken. About half the class left before it was over, so I think that speaks volumes about the difficulty!

Do you work out at home, or do you stick to the gym? I liked lifting weights at home- no creepy men, and I didn’t have to figure out how to work any machines! Win-win!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to A Great Workout…

  1. Runeatrepeat says:

    Neither. I run outside 🙂

  2. greekmelie says:

    I like the gym. It has more weights and machines and all you can need. I have used my world’s smallest home gym to work out when I couldn’t use the gym, but I can’t say it stuck…

  3. kat says:

    I don’t have a gym membership, so I’ve always used my home as the gym. I love my hand weights so much, but sometimes I wish I had all the machines at a gym!

  4. AlisonM says:

    I occasionally work out at home, and you’re right — doing some kind of circuit session like this can be really great! Plus you get to do it in front of decent tv (haha! ) 😉 I actually have an adjustable dumbbell set that a friend bought me as a present. You could definitely go heavier than 5lbs for a lot of those exercises, so if you find home workouts are something you’re doing more often, it’s definitely worth the investment. And nice work on the pushups! 🙂

  5. divasrun says:

    Love your pics. Food does not always look appetizing, but that is ok! =)
    I was thinking if you added the peanut butter to the chocolate oats it would stick to your ribs for longer. And who doesn’t like Reese’s? =)
    As a certified personal trainer, I can tell you that you do not have to go to the gym to get a great workout. You can use your own bodyweight and get a FABULOUS and effective workout.

  6. Hannah says:

    I don’t work out at home or the gym… complete weak-bum lazines FTW! 😉

    Love the look of the chocolate oats, by the by!

  7. i like to workout at home AND at the gym! yum combo with the pudding, pumpkin and vita top.. i always wondered how big they were or how filling they were seeinga s theyre only 100 cal!

  8. I’m definitely a gym person–I take a lot of classes at my college and generally see my aerobics/boot camp/yoga instructor at LEAST once, if not twice a day during the week. That being said, since I’ve been hit with the yoga bug hard this semester, I’ve started doing that at home during my spare time. 🙂

  9. wow half the people left your spin class before it was over? that’s crazy! Props to you for sticking with it 🙂 I usually get out of my apartment to work out, usually outside to run, but sometimes to the gym to XT or my yoga studio.

    Also, exhibit B looks delicious to me!

  10. I’m a gym worker-outer but in a pinch i’ll work out at home….your exhibit B-could I have that please? thanks!

  11. I feel like I get the best exercise at the gym, but I do work out at home when there’s no way I can get myself out the door. Exercise TV and Yogadownloads.com both have great workouts.

    Chocolate pudding sounds good right now!

  12. I prefer running outside, but sometimes I have to go to the campus gym to use the treadmill. Right now I can get away with lifting weights in my apartment but soon I’m going to need heavier weights so I’ll have to go to the gym to do that too.

  13. emily says:

    Great job getting a home workout in! I agree..it’s really hard to get all bundled up and drive to the gym in the winter. I try to run outside as much as possible because I just hate treadmills. I also try to mix it up by taking classes like zumba at the gym…makes my workouts interesting. 🙂

  14. food looks good 🙂 I usually go to the gym but lately I have had no motivation so videos have been working for me !

  15. I also get insanely hungry on days I spin! It’s rough trying to moderate calories on those days for sure.

  16. I love working out at home. I always feel like people are staring at me at the gym.

  17. Peggy says:

    I definitely like working out at home more than the gym (which I usually only avidly go to in the winter because its too cold to run outside!)

  18. We love working out at our gym. But some days like today the kids don’t feel good and we will do our best to get motovatied and work out here. Yesterday I had a great time people watching at the Gym, http://ashandlewplus2.com/2011/01/20/oh-the-gym/
    People crack me up
    Ashlee

  19. Heather says:

    I actually prefer working out at my house. Like you said, no creep guys! But I can’t have the tv on…I’m too ADD for that!

    I LOVE pumpkin kefir! I was so sad when I used the last of my bottle.

    I swear some of the best tasting dishes look like total roadkill! Especially egg scrambles! I made one for breakfast the other day and tried to get a good picture…after about 20 takes, I gave up!

  20. Gina says:

    When I’m in Florida I run at home on my treadmill, but when I’m in NYC nothing beats running outside 🙂

  21. When I lived at an apartment that had a gym on site, I worked out there and at home. But now that we moved into a house and have a treadmill and weights in one of our spare rooms… well, the gym is in our house, haha. So I work out at home. 🙂

  22. runyogarepeat says:

    I go to the gym for cardio machines, but I like lifting weights at home where I can’t make a fool out of myself. I have 5 and 10 lb dumbbells for that reason.

  23. I need to remember that little workout, next time I don’t feel like dragging my butt to the gym!!! haha. I LOVE Vitatops, but I do get sad that they’re gone after so few bites 😦 haha. That egg and chickpea dish looks really good! Great way to get in some protein!

  24. Sruthi says:

    When the weather doesn’t allow me to run outside, then I strength train at home and go to the gym for cardio.

  25. Ha! You writing style is funny:) I totally feel your pain on those cheapo puddings. They get me every time.

  26. Food looks great!

    I need to follow your example and workout at home sometimes. I have such a mental block on that even though I have everything I need to do it!

  27. Jess says:

    I’m about to do my own living room workout. So much better than going outside!

  28. I usually run outside, but now and again I’ll hit the gym!

    And spinning is awesome isn’t it?! SO hard, but so good! 😀

  29. Despite the not-so-photogenic nature of your food today, it still looks absolutely delicious to me! Especially the lunch-time egg white + chickpea combo (and the chocolate oats look good, too!).

    When it comes to exercise, I’m definitely a workout DVD junkie 🙂 I love circuit training, so my DVDs let me get in cardio and strength in one shot–don’t know what I’d do without my Jillian Michaels and Jackie Warner DVDs!

    Hope you have a great weekend 🙂

  30. Errign says:

    I usually go to the gym, because I’m too lazy at home 😀

  31. I refuse to pay for a gym membership, so I workout at home pretty often. 🙂 I find that I actually do more when Im at home than I used to do at the gym anyhow. Plus, its more acceptable to swear and whine when Im doing something hard if Im at home.

  32. Kat says:

    1. I either run on the treadmill in our basement/do exercise vids or run outside.

    2. I swear to God, over 50% of my meals just look like a hot mess. Thank you for photo documenting the madness!

  33. Casey says:

    I like having the option of all of the different weights, med balls and equipment at the gym. Plus its free for students, including classes 😉
    But when the weathers nice I love getting my workouts done in the park or on a hike!

  34. I usually workout at the gym, but if not, I either workout at home to a video, or go for a walk with my mom — it gives us a chance to talk. 🙂

  35. Monica says:

    I appreciate at-home workouts, but for some reason find it really hard to get into the at-home workout mindset. We are currently looking at getting a spin bike for home though and I am hoping that that helps me on days where I can’t make it to the gym.

    Vita-tops are super delicious, but I agree that those little suckers are so overpriced!

Leave a Reply

