Chocolate- Part Of This Balanced Breakfast!

I really outdid myself for breakfast this morning.

I had a craving for bean brownies this morning, but I didn’t really feel like waiting around for them to bake. Microwave to the rescue!

Single Serving Microwave Bean Brownie

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup garbanzo beans
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp plain yogurt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • Sweetener, optional

Directions:

  • Process all ingredients in food processor until smooth.
  • Transfer mixture to microwave safe bowl and microwave for 3 to 4 minutes.

Chocolate for breakfast… hell yes.

My food processor isn’t terrific, so you can see little bits of beans in there. I swear you can’t taste them! It doesn’t bother me, but consider yourself warned if you try to pass these off as real brownies to anyone.

I put my brownie on top of some pumpkin yogurt. Best… breakfast… ever. You can bet your bottom dollar I’ll be having this tomorrow too, and probably every day for the rest of the week πŸ™‚

I had a rotting bag of spinach that I wanted to use up, and I was inspired by Caitlin to make spinach hummus for lunch. Plus, I had just opened up a can of chickpeas. Perfect!

To make the hummus, I just blended the rest of the chickpeas (it was about 3/4 of a cup) with a huge handful of spinach, some cumin and a little water. Since there’s no tahini in it, it’s not technically hummus. It is delicious, though, even if it looks like sludge.

I think the spinach adds a lot of volume to it, because I was planning on eating the whole dip for lunch, but I only ate about a quarter of it. I think will make an awesome salad dressing sometime later this week.

I also made a green smoothie to use up some more spinach. Nothing fancy- just some banana, blueberries, and spinach.

It doesn’t really look any different than the hummus, does it? I’ve discovered that bananas are essential in green smoothies. Take my word on this one- if you leave out, you can taste the spinach- especially if it’s going bad like mine!

I served the hummus with carrots and cherries. I didn’t dip the cherries, although I am not totally opposed to that idea.

My sister think it’s hilarious that I eat so much at one time I can’t carry it all at once.

Looks healthy, right? I promptly ate a Vitatop with the rest of the chocolate pudding right after. Gotta balance the healthy stuff with the store bought crap πŸ™‚

My mom was cringing when she saw me drinking the green smoothie, but my dad actually tried a sip of it. I think he would admit he liked it if he didn’t know what was in it πŸ™‚ Speaking of my parents… I told them about my blog today! I don’t know why I was hesitant before, but they had no idea about it. My mom asked me what I did with all the pictures of food I take, and I told her about it. You know your parents think you’re weird when you take pictures of your food everyday and they don’t even question you about it. So… HIΒ  MOM AND DAD! Don’t worry, I didn’t post our address so no one is going to break into the house or steal my identity πŸ™‚

I debated whether or not to work out today after I had lunch. On one hand, I should have gone early this morning because school starts on Monday, and my morning workouts will become a thing of the past. On the other hand, I thought I deserved a lazy day. One guess what I did? Spoiler alert… my workout was going to Ikea. Much more enjoyable, in my opinion!

I had an apple with peanut flour butter before we left. I don’t want to alarm anyone, but when I was stocking up on peanut flour yesterday, I started talking to the cashier about it. He told me that I was the only person he’s ever seen buying it and he’s scared it’s going to be discontinued! I had to stop myself from fainting in shock and buying out their stock just in case. God, I hope he’s exaggerating! What would I do without it?

I also got my sweat on by standing over a hot stove for dinner. Did I mention that it’s been in the 70’s every day this week? Sorry to rub it in to everyone that’s getting snowed in, but summer has come to California and I don’t think it’s leaving any time soon! Even though it was warm today, I was still in the mood for a hot meal. I saw this recipe in Self yesterday and promptly bought all of the ingredients for it.

Kale, Potato, and Onion Frittata

(Adapted from Self)

Ingredients:

  • 1 yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 2 cups potatoes, diced
  • 2 cups egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp paprika

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Cook the onions in a large skillet over medium heat. I cooked them for as long as possible- I like them slightly caramelized.

  • While the onions are cooking, chop the kale and boil it for three minutes. Drain, squeeze dry, and add to the onions along with the garlic powder. Cook for five minutes.
  • While the onions and kale are cooking, boil the potatoes, drain, and add to the kale and onions.
  • Mix the paprika and eggs together and add to the pan. Let cook for one minute without stirring.
  • Pop the whole pan in the oven for 10 minutes, or until the eggs are set.

Voila!

Don’t be fooled by this serving. The recipe said it serves four, and who am I to argue with that? I didn’t photograph the first slice because it looks so ugly.

So good you’ll take a bite before you take a photo!

It was plenty filling, but I couldn’t stop myself from eating a bowl of cinnamon Cheerios with pumpkin soy milk after. I tried to tell myself it was because I wanted to finish the soy milk before it went bad, but honestly… those cinnamon Cheerios are addicting. They taste just like a cinnamon graham cracker!

What does a balanced meal mean to you? Clearly, I believe in something sweet at every meal. Does the body good!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to Chocolate- Part Of This Balanced Breakfast!

  1. I really need to get a new microwave! Mine’s been dead since Thanksgiving. I miss being able to “pop” in quick single serving desserts like this and speaking of “pop”…ugh, I haven’t had popcorn in forevah!

    A balanced meal to me is grains, dairy, fruit or veggie, nuts/seeds. And I never think there is balance to a plate/bowl unless there is a good variety of color! I am definitely a visual person!

  2. I love how you made the bean brownies in one serving!!! and in the microwave! So convenient!
    I agree — the banana really takes the bite out of the greens. πŸ™‚
    How do you make pumpkin soy milk?
    A balanced meal: carbohydrates, protein, and fat. When they are all in a meal, I am satisfied for longer.

  3. squigglefloey says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about cinna cherrios and saw them at ralphs today too! Unfortunately I still have some honey nut O’s from TJs that need polishing off πŸ˜›

  4. AlisonM says:

    Haha, that’s so funny about your parents! Good luck starting back at school next week — it’s always a shock at first eh πŸ˜‰

  5. You’re too funny — of COURSE your food is photogenic! Your pictures get better and better =)

    I literally snorted when you said you get teased for not being able to carry all your food at once. I have to make two trips up the stairs when I want to eat breakfast in bed on the weekends b/c I can’t carry all the food in one trip. bahaha! love it!

    tty soon love! xoxo

  6. Oh man I HAVE to make those bean brownies!! Please add them to your recipe page so I can come back to them! They look AMAZING! πŸ˜€

    P.S. Thank you for your lovely comment on my sad post! It really made me happy πŸ™‚

  7. ~Jessica~ says:

    I need to try one of those brownies too! Do you think it would work with soya yoghurt?

    And massive congrats on going 21 days without bingeing. I know that’s a huge achievement (I struggle with going 21 hours without doing it!) and you should really treat yourself for it…candlelit bath or a good movie maybe? You’re such a star!

    xxx

  8. Hannah says:

    Single serving bean brownie?! I think I just died and went to heavens. That is *perfect*, because in cooking only for myself, I always end up having to eat entire batches of things in a few days if I want to experiment with something new!

    • Me too! That’s why I don’t do a lot of actual cooking or baking- my meals are mostly just assembled. I love leftovers, but if I cook too much, I feel really obligated to eat everything as soon as possible so it doesn’t spoil. Single serving recipes are my new best friend πŸ™‚

  9. ツ says:

    I like the idea of black bean brownies. Whats the texture of them?

    and I love your blog!

    • They’re surprisingly cake like, which is nice because the last bean brownies I made were fudge like. I think it depends on how long you cook them. I thought three and a half minutes was perfect for the texture, but I have a weak microwave!

  10. Sarah says:

    AHH single serving quick and healthy brownies! IM SO ALL OVER THIS! Im sure you will see these in my oats and or yogurt verrryyy soon πŸ™‚

  11. divasrun says:

    I have seen the bean brownie recipe in a magazine only they used liquified black beans, I believe. Anyway, I love what you can do with leftovers or when you have things that are going bad in order not to waste!
    Great post!

  12. Ok, I’ve gotta find some cinnamon cheerios since you say they are addicting. My store was out of them already.
    I just made a green smoothie for the first time two days ago and I loved it. I may have to use up the rest of my spinach in one today also!
    I’d eat your green “hummus” dip, I am sure it tastes better than it looks!
    I want a microwave bean brownie for breakfast, looks scrumptious!

    I think I may break up some of the Grape-Nut cookies that I made yesterday on top of my oatmeal bowl this morning.
    Have a great day!

  13. Jessica says:

    I think a balanced meal definitely includes something sweet! I saw Caitlin’s spinach hummus and thought it looked sooo good. Now I really need to try it! I’ve never tried peanut flour before – does it taste like peanut butter?

    • Peanut flour isn’t exactly like peanut butter, but I think it’s pretty good. I usually add a bit of pumpkin pie spice, which really makes it yummy. I’ve also added sweetener and salt to it. If you’re used to salted nut butters, I would definitely add a little salt to it.

  14. Me and my portions-I def can’t make it in one trip…well when I use my mixing bowls as my meal carriers I can:) haha. I’ve still yet to make black bean brownies! I’ve been craving eggs all week (random) might have to give into that today!

  15. Kat says:

    Soooo making that brownie for breakfast this morning!! Ive never made one using garbonzos before, but it sounds neat and creative, so I am totally giving it a go!

    • I hope you love it! I would definitely recommend adding sweetener to it. I tried a little bit of the batter this morning before I sweetened it and it wasn’t terrific. A little sweetness makes all the difference!

  16. Meesh says:

    Eeeee! I’m feeling very inspired by the food that you have posted in this entry! Looove the bean brownie idea, must try πŸ™‚ This looks freaking amazing!

  17. runyogarepeat says:

    Your chocolate breakfast looks good! I’ve made my mom green smoothies before and she likes them, but the rest of my family thinks they look gross. A balanced meal to me means a variety of foods – I try to eat some fruit or veggies at every meal, and I get some sweets in for a snack or after lunch or dinner – mostly chocolate!

  18. inmytummy says:

    My parents still dont know about my blog and I’ve had it for almost 3 years. Now it’s just awkward to tell them!

  19. OMG you just totally made this pms girl crave brownies!! At least those are healthy πŸ˜‰

  20. LOVe the bean brownie and single serve is so perfect for me!! NOOOO they cannot discontinue peanut fflour.. go buy all of them out-now!

  21. so jealous of your weather and your brownie! To me, a balanced meal means some produce (f or v) with quality protein, a little fat and some carbs. Pretty simple, though i definitely crave a little something sweet afterwards!

  22. Those brownies for breakfast sound absolutely perfect! And way to go with the homemade hummus without tahini! πŸ™‚

  23. I was just experimenting with beans in desserts yesterday. I made a dessert hummus, was totally afraid that it would taste awful. I’ve always wanted to try bean brownies, and I love your quick easy recipe!

  24. I am not big on the beans but I do love sweets. I will have to try this!!!

  25. I vow to try bean brownies soon. I can’t believe I haven’t yet…but now that they look good and so easy…no more excuses!

    I read about peanut flour so much online…that would be crazy if it was taken off the shelves!

    I am still working on my idea of balance with meals. I tend to balance things over a couple of days rather than inside each meal.

  26. greekmelie says:

    Cherries! I love cherries! I can eat the entire bag in one sitting. I can’t wait for summer for them to be in season. πŸ™‚

  27. thos brownies look . . . well, real πŸ™‚ fabulous breakfast creation!

  28. I love love love cherries!!!!

  29. Hahaha, aren’t dads the best? They always seem to be intrigued on what you are eating or making and they ALWAYS say yes to a bite or a sip πŸ˜‰

    Your breakfast brownies look freaking amazing! I must try these and like the bowl as I go πŸ˜‰

    xxoo

  30. Oh my gosh – genius recipe for the brownies!! I HAVE to try that! They look just like regular brownies πŸ™‚ Also your kale/potato dish looks incredible.

  31. Sana says:

    I am glad you told your parents!!! I often hear my parents discussing my blog posts!

  32. Carlyn says:

    mm that brownie sounds like a great idea! I would probably mix in a couple mini chocolate chips for good measure πŸ˜€ Next time I have extra garbanzo beans I’m SO making this!
    Also, have you heard of spinach black bean brownies? http://recipes.health.com/recipes/10000001989968-triple-chocolate-surprise-brownies I made them a long time ago and they were a hit! (next time you need to use up spinach, totally try it out!)

    Before I started my blog, I told my parents because I knew they would think I was totally weird if I was taking pictures of everything all the time:P My whole family is really supportive and wait for me to have my “photo shoot” before we dig in for dinner. Its great!

  33. Alaina says:

    A brownie in 3 to 4 minutes??? Yes! πŸ™‚

    Balance to me is the simple protein, carbs and veggies. And something sweet.

    I’m getting excited about your warm weather; I hope it means that Vegas will be warm in a few weeks!

  34. Kat says:

    A balanced meal for me means mostly veggies, a protein and basically whatever carb I’m in the mood for. I figure the fruits/veggies part is key and after that, it’s really all relative. You know?

  35. Those brownies look great. I’ve wanted to try bean brownies for some time so I may have to try this

  36. Pingback: Technical Difficulties | What Kate is Cooking

  37. Pingback: im not creative enough to come up with a title. « Banksyface

  38. Hey, I stumbled upon this recipe yesterday and just gave it a try, but it was a complete fail – it actually burned, lol. 😦 The first reason is a bad food processor, which resulted in a NOT smooth mixture, and I also probably microwaved it for too much time.

  39. Monica says:

    Holy crap, cinnamon cheerios and pumpkin soy milk – heaven in the form of dessert? πŸ˜‰

    My idea of a balanced meal has to do with colors and more with how my many colors make up my day eats. The more colors I tackle in my daily eats, the better.

  40. Stefanie says:

    Definitely making that bean brownie–I’ve made black bean brownies before but I’ve never made them with garbanzos! Yum! πŸ™‚

  41. Carlyn says:

    Hey kate! I made you’re microwave brownie and blogged about it-
    http://notthenormalteenagefare.blogspot.com/2011/01/chicken-chickpea-soup-and-more.html
    mine didn’t turn out that well, but I did alter it a bit which could have changed its outcome!

  42. Pingback: Help a Sister Out! | What Kate is Cooking

  43. Pingback: 10 Weeks | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

