Technical Difficulties

Even though it’s my last day to sleep in before school starts tomorrow, I was up around 6:45 despite only getting six hours of sleep. I decided to go to the gym before breakfast so I wouldn’t have it hanging over my head all day. I’m so glad I did! I did 30 minutes on the elliptical, 20 minutes on the Stairmaster, and 10 minutes on the elliptical. I meant to do speedwork, but I just wasn’t feeling the whole running thing today.

I wanted my workout to be over with as soon as possible so I could get home to THIS.

I made the single serving bean brownie and served it with pumpkin yogurt- a total repeat of yesterday’s breakfast, but it was exactly what I wanted.

By the way, if you make these, I think sweetener is definitely necessary. I tried making it without it and when I tasted the batter, I wasn’t impressed. Sugar, agave, honey, maple syrup, or Splenda would work. I used a packet of Splenda and it was perfect. I know, I know- I’m going to get cancer.

Lunch involved more beans- refried beans and a black bean burger with plain yogurt, on top of (fresh!) spinach.

I’m all out of Jell-o pudding (boo!) so I whipped up a tofu mousse.

Nothing but half a block of silken tofu, cocoa powder, and a little water to smooth things out. Topped with my last Vitatop. These were on sale at Target today, but I didn’t get another pack. Plus, they were only 30 cents cheaper. I resisted 🙂

I did get a running T-shirt for five bucks, though. Score! There’s something about new workout clothes that make me almost EXCITED to work out. 5 bucks for a shirt or 4 dollars for muffin tops? The choice was clear, friends.

After an afternoon of shopping, I fixed myself a little snack.

Apples, peanut flour butter, and cherries. My cherries are almost gone!

I snacked away on this plate while working on my blog a little. I really disliked my header and my background, but I hadn’t gotten around to fixing them until today. I’m still not one hundred percent happy with them, but it’s a start.

It’s actually really ironic that I have a blog, because I am probably the most technologically challenged person you will ever meet. It took me over three hours just to put together a new header!

Speaking of technology…

1. I got a Twitter account! I actually have had a personal one for a while. I signed up a few years ago when my favorite CNN anchor, Rick Sanchez, started putting people’s tweets at the bottom of the screen during his hour. For the record, he put two of my tweets on the screen and he responded to one of my questions. I had a dream we were engaged one night and told him about it, and he put it on TV! I actually screamed out loud. I also asked him how tall he was, and he responded that he was “5’10 and shrinking.” Yes, I have a minor obsession with him. I still haven’t forgiven CNN for firing him… but anyway.

You can follow me here! My name is ‘kateiscooking.’ I’ve found a lot of blogger’s twitters, but for some reason I can’t search for anyone, so I know there are a lot of people I haven’t followed yet. Come find me!

2. I also discovered Google Reader and Google calendars… my newest obsession. I’m actually having a panic attack because my Google Reader is down! How did I just discover this?! I pretty much always have my Google Reader open so if I comment 10 seconds after you publish your post, don’t be alarmed 🙂

3. I updated my recipes page!

I tore myself away from the computer for a minute to heat up some leftover kale, onion, and potato frittata.

Now I’m working on my next project- finding out how to self host my blog. I am absolutely clueless about this. I’m scared that I’m going to lose everything!

I have a to do list a mile long to get ready for class tomorrow. I don’t want this break to be over!

Does anyone have any advice for self-hosting a blog?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Technical Difficulties

  1. Alaina says:

    I just bought mine on Bluehost. I would recommend them.

    I’m following you now on Twitter! I’m @jogconcierge. 🙂

  2. No self hosting for me yet! eep! Best of luck! so super excited you’re taking the next step soon! ❤ and a little jealous 😉

    Your tofu mousse/pudding looks delish! and Those cherries look awesome. I should pick some up at the store soon! yum! ❤

    xoxo
    jenn

  3. I’ve been wanting to try the bean brownies for a while. As breakfast they sound especially fantastic!

  4. Do you prefer peanut flour over peanut butter?

    • I wouldn’t say I prefer it, but I do love it. It’s certainly not exactly like regular PB, but I like it because I can make it salty, sweet, or add other flavors to it. I also love the fact that a serving size is 1/4 of a cup 🙂

  5. I have a whole post on my blog about self-hosting! It wasn’t a cake walk, but I definitely love having more freedom over my page. Maybe it will help? http://bit.ly/dNPQbU

  6. Megan says:

    Love your eats! Good luck with the self hosting. I use lunarpages.

  7. Casey says:

    I just got a twitter too out of peer pressure from friends. I have to say I am now converted!

  8. greekmelie says:

    I thinking I am the last person on earth to not have a tweeter account. I’ve been thinking about it for a while but I don’t know… Should I or should I not? And what could I possibly have to tweet about?

  9. Hannah says:

    I miss Vitatops! Boo!

    I’m with Bluehost, but sometimes I don’t know if it was worth it. I’m absolutely HOPELESS at technology so I don’t know how to do anything with it. I can’t even figure out how to put my twitter link on the sidebar! *sob*

    And I still need to make that brownie…

  10. Erika says:

    Congrats on the Twitter account. I think I may have already followed you, but I’m not sure. I love Twitter! 🙂

  11. I just started following you 🙂 When I discovered Google Reader and calendar, my whole life changed. Hehe. I love cherries – do yours taste good this time of year? I’m always wary of buying them when they’re not in season.

    • Thanks 🙂 For not being in season, they taste AWESOME! I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad cherry. Unfortunately, I never buy strawberries out of season because they taste bad in the winter 😦

  12. Oh those brownies are fantastic. What a fun and quick recipe. Wonder if you could make them peanut butter brownies….I love making tofu pudding. So stinking easy and protein packed (even better).

  13. Following you! Welcome to Twitter 🙂

  14. One of my good friends hosts my blog-so i’m not sure what the whole thing entails…doing it myself would prob end up in a solid failure!

    I just “followed” you on Twitter!

  15. Google reader is totally amazing! I love all the google gadgets (igoogle, google voice, google calendar, i could go on….)
    And a running shirt for 5 bucks!? Score!

  16. I followed you on twitter!

    The cherries you have look so good. I haven’t had cherries in FOREVER! I miss them.

  17. AlisonM says:

    You are way ahead of me in the technology game, I don’t even have a personal Twitter account! I also find Google Reader really scary. I should probably get my act together..

    Hope school was ok today 😀

  18. yay!! i will follow you NOW!!!. yummy brownies- i have got to try them!

  19. OMG your fritatta looks better than mine!! haha

  20. Erica D says:

    Just added you! I never use mine, so maybe you’ll be a positive influence on me? Hehe. I can’t wait to hear about your first day of classes; mine’s going well so far!

  21. Errign says:

    I tried it out & didn’t love it, so I just kept my blog at wordpress & bought the custom css upgrade to edit the layouts. 🙂 Much more my style. 🙂

    It is very easy to transfer your blog though, I used bluehost when I tried it. 🙂

  22. runyogarepeat says:

    I’m technically challenged too when it comes to websites & internet stuff, but I am taking a computer class where we learn some html code, so that should be interesting. I am recently obsessed with google calendar too – I love color coding everything! Yay for joining my push-up challenge!

  23. I use a friend from college now… Mike @ seanrenee.com
    (Tell him you heard from me for special pricing for my blogger friends)
    But I started out w/ Prophoto template and Godaddy and it was FRUSTRATING but so worth it! 🙂
    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!

  24. Wow! Congrats on the great workout this a.m. I tried to get my tired butt out of bed at 6:45 to hit the treadmill and hit snooze instead 😐

    I use Hostgator, cheap, amazing service and so easy! I have a whack of self administered sites. Traffic really increases when you get on a wordpress.org platform!!

    xxoo

  25. I love your new header and background! It really POPS! I totally forgot that you could customize the background color! I just changed mine too!

    I loved this: “5 bucks for a shirt or 4 dollars for muffin tops? The choice was clear, friends.” Haha! Like a “muffin top”!! Although, if I had to put a price on a muffin top, I’d say they were more than 4 bucks! 😉

    I just discovered Google Reader a few weeks ago. It makes life sooooo much easier! All I know about self hosting is that there is an annual fee. I think you can find more info on the wordpress homepage. Good luck!

  26. Olivia says:

    I just found your blog on kissmybroccoli, and I have to say I’m so impressed! I’m new to the bloggie world, well new in the sense that I just created a blog, but I’ve been a silent reader for years! I’m so looking forward to connecting to all my favorite bloggers and you might just be becoming one of them;)

  27. Kat says:

    Lady, I’m loving this turquoise color 🙂 It’s so nice and light.

    AND, I think it’s hysterical that your tweets ended up on CNN!

  28. Pingback: Back to School | What Kate is Cooking

  29. I’m following you now! 🙂

    And I LOVE my Google Reader!

  30. Pingback: Up and At ‘Em | What Kate is Cooking

  31. Monica says:

    Workout clothes over muffin tops – very nicely done! I love the taste of those Vita Tops, but I just don’t get the price tag associated with them.

    I went through Bluehost as well for self-hosting and am such a dud at blog design that I actually paid someone to overhaul mine which is going live the first weekend of February. Can’t wait to see a branded site because I hate the way mine looks now. I love yours! And know that it is always a work in progress. 😉

  32. I have a friend who is helping me with the self-hosting switch. I will be hosting here

    http://helpfuladvisor.duoservers.com/

    and my friend will be my tech support. They guarantee 99.9% up-time, and they are a tiny bit cheaper than Bluehost! 🙂

    Good luck on your endeavor, girl!

  33. Oh, and your tofu mousse sounds deeeeeelicious! 😀

Leave a Reply

