Back to School

New day, new semester!

When it comes to school, I totally believe in the power of positive thinking. If I think the semester is going to suck, it will. Trust me- I thought that last semester, and it wasn’t good. I was excited for the semester last spring, and it was awesome!

So, although I was less than excited when my alarm went off at 6 this morning, I forced myself out of bed and made breakfast.

I made an applesauce breakfast cookie and topped it with a heaping glob of chocolate peanut flour butter. This does a really good job of keeping me full, so it’s the perfect pre-class breakfast.

My first class was math at 8 a.m. Math is definitely my worst subject, but it’s nice to get it out of the way early in the week. I can’t get a good read on my professor. The syllabus is really sassy, but he seems really stern in person. I don’t know what to expect… except a lot of work!

My next class was Critical Thinking at 10:15. Confession- I took this particular class because I met the professor right before my marathon in October! My sister was in his class, and apparently all he talked about was running. She actually took another class with his office mate, who is also a marathoner and ran the same marathon I did (I saw him on the course!) To make a long story short, I talked to him a little bit before the race and told him I would be taking his class. He remembered me, and told the whole class the story of how we met a few months ago. It was so funny! I can tell I’m going to love that class. My sister aced it, so I have a serious reputation to uphold.

I was out of class at 12:20, and I was planning on going to the gym straight after. My sister was in class until 3, and since we share a car, I didn’t want to drive the 20 minutes home and have to go back and pick her up. I had brought my gym bag and even packed a lunch, but I gave it to my sister because she forgot hers. I was pretty hungry after Critical Thinking, so I went home to devour some leftover frittata.

There’s something about going to school that makes me ravenous! I had some pumpkin yogurt right after.

Followed by an apple with peanut flour butter and cherries that went unpictured. Apparently, today is National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day. I had no idea! I guess I celebrated well by having it twice today šŸ™‚

After I picked up my sister, I finally went to the gym. I’m glad I waited. I went to the gym close to my house, which is SO much nicer. It has TVs on some of the machines, it’s huge, and most importantly, it’s CLEAN. I made the mistake of showering at the one near school a few times and I almost had a heart attack when I saw the showers. All I can say is that they are disgusting.

I did 10 minutes on six different machines-the Precor, treadmill (running), a treadmill designed for incline walking (damn near killed me!), Stairmaster, regular elliptical, and the bike. I love breaking up my workout into short sections. It makes it fly by!

Inspiration for dinner hit me when I was almost falling off the incline treadmill.

The ultimate lazy but delicious dinner. I just microwaved a potato, threw some feta on it for the last minute in the microwave, sauteed some brussels sprouts, and topped it with maple syrup. I LOVE sweet and savory dinners!

I think I’m going to go make myself a green smoothie and do some push-ups. Have you seen Lauren‘s push-up challenge? It’s my goal to be able to do 25 in a row. I don’t even think I can do a full one. It’s going to be a lot of work!

Last thing- thanks for all the advice on self-hosting! I’m going to look into a few options that everyone recommended. It probably won’t be a while, but I’m excited to make the switch!

Do you- or did you- look forward to going back to school? When I was a kid, I loved it… at least for the first week šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to Back to School

  1. Kat says:

    I so agree with you about school making me hungry! Must be all the brain cells I’m using!

  2. Kayla says:

    Mmm, the chocolate peanut flour butter has me drooling!

    I looved the first day of school when I was in elementary! Now? haha, not so much!

  3. Aww, I loved school so much. All of high school and all of college and even grad school. Okay, so I did get burnt out in grad school, but I adored every minute of college. I love everything about my life now and really couldn’t be happier, but I will say that I have some great memories from college. Good stuff for sure! šŸ™‚

  4. ummm…. best dinner idea! I’m really excited to try this! I love “green schtuff” on my potatoes so sprouts and feta… omg! match made in heaven!

    xoxo
    jenn

  5. Casey says:

    The first week it the better part. Though I dislike it while I’m in it. It keep the rest of my life so much more organized and I think I’d be lost without having to attend and prepare for all of these classes each week!

  6. inmytummy says:

    I’m confused about self-hosting too. I know the plug ins are cool and stuff, but I often wonder if I have enough readers for it to be worth my while. I’m interested in finding out what you end up doing.

  7. I looked forward to school and loved the first week or two… being all organized. After that, it all went downhill… :p

    There’s something to be said about crosstraining days… mixing it up has started to become much more fun! (I used to DREAD the elliptical- now I only semi-dislike it)

  8. greekmelie says:

    thank you! I was wondering how to round up my dinner of roasted broccoli/cauliflower. Microwaved potato and feta it is! worked perfectly! šŸ™‚

  9. Alaina says:

    I think the only thing I looked forward to about school was the shopping! Both clothes and supplies. šŸ˜€

  10. Jessica says:

    In college, I think I actually did look forward to going back to school – I would get bored over a month long break and would feel ready to start again, but that usually only lasted the first week or so šŸ™‚ Good luck with your classes! It sounds like it will be fun to have a professor who shares similar interests.

  11. Jess says:

    Good job with the positive thinking- it will be great!!

  12. Gina says:

    How do you make your chocolate peanut flour butter?
    I’m dying to know šŸ™‚

  13. AlisonM says:

    Great start to the semester! Though math at 8am on a Monday is a little harsh! Great thoughts on thinking positive though, I should take a leaf out of your (critical thinking) book on that one šŸ˜‰

  14. Bfast looks delish. I always used to get excited for the first wk or so-just to see everyone and it was “syllabus wk”…then, not so much excited!

  15. I look forward to getting back into a schedule. I look forward to seeing my friends, and getting back into routine. Unfortunately, when I don’t have a schedule, I don’t get much done. Therefore, I like to write a list and have a goal to get as much done that is on the list as I can.

    Are your classes about 1 1/2 -2 hours then?

  16. Your breakfast looks awesome! I need to try mixing cocoa into my peanut flour šŸ™‚

  17. I always looked forward to classes and campus when I was in college… I miss it!!

  18. My college experience was very non-traditional so I didn’t just love it or look forward to it. I lived off campus, worked full time, so school was like another job. I didn’t really get terribly involved with campus activities and such. I think math at 8 am would just put me over the edge LOL

  19. Lori Lynn says:

    I did usually look forward to going back. I’m a teacher now, and though I love the breaks, they so spoil me, b/c it makes almost harder to get back into it!

  20. Sruthi says:

    The chocolate peanut butter is so tempting. I loved going back to school and loved grad school too, it was the best time of life.

  21. I loved going back to school, especially college and grad school. It was nice taking classes that I was actually interested in.

  22. I love all the “back to school” supplies….in fact, I STILL love office supplies, in general! So fun to stock up on new post its & paper clips….i’m weird, i know!

  23. Emily says:

    good luck with your semester! I hate math too, getting through Calculus a few semesters ago nearly made me chop my head off, lol šŸ™‚

    I’m looking forward to this semester because its the first semester in a LONG TIME I’m taking classes that I’m actually interested in… it really makes a huge difference when you’re sitting in class and enjoy the subject, haha

    glad the gym is awesome! I’m exploring my school gym for the first time wednesday night with my friend so I hope its nice too šŸ™‚

    • Calculus?! Girl… I’m in algebra! I would probably chop my head off if I took that class!

      I hope your school gym is nice. I wish we had a gym on campus! That’s community college for ya šŸ™‚

  24. Lisa says:

    School actually sounds fun! Once you’re in the “real world” you always wanna go back to school when life was easier : ) I used to LOVE the first day of school…even in college. It’s just exciting!

  25. I always looked forawrd to going back to school…although getting up early and homework got old quickly! ha

  26. ~Jessica~ says:

    I always hated going back to school! But that was because I was bullied at every school I attended. I was horribly bored in the holidays too though, being left alone with only my brain for company. So I was never easy to please in either respect.

    Mmm, cocoa peanut flour is my favourite too…I had some at breakfast this morning šŸ™‚

    xxx

  27. I really didn’t mind school actually. I mean upcoming exams or papers were always on the docket but for the most part, I had a lot of freedom, a lot of downtime/me time, and plenty of time to workout! The real-world…not so much! I’m glad I am over and done with school but there are parts I certainly do miss. Enjoy it while it lasts! šŸ™‚

  28. oo your choco peanut flour looks AWESOME! so does your lazy gals dinner- i didnt know you could microwave a regular potato too- although that makes perfect sense that i say it… sometimes I’m just not on top of the ball- clearly!

  29. I’m a kid at heart. I look forward to it for a week but that’s about it. then I start counting down the days

  30. I’ve loved being back at school so far! You’re right, it does make one more ravenous than normal ; )

    Damn straight about positive thinking!

    And gosh, ONE pushup would be an accomplishment for me!

  31. Woow 100 push-ups?! Madness- I can’t do any full ones I don’t think! šŸ˜›

    I like routines, and seeing friends, so first days of school aren’t bad for me! šŸ˜€

  32. Usually I look forward to going to back to school, but starting this semester has been rough. Yes I am taking a lot of credits, but my mind isn’t at school anymore. I’m not interested or challenged. The only class I like is my online nutrition class, which I’m just taking on the side as a grad school pre-req.

  33. emily says:

    Good luck with the start of the new semester! I believe in positive thinking, too! Our minds are incredibly powerful; we just have to learn to control them. šŸ™‚

    Sounds like you had a busy day and great workout!

  34. gah – you are so right re: the power of positive thinking! I’m usually so good at that too, but this semester (which started this week for me too) I’ve just been so negative about. Good thing it’s not too late to turn things around and change my ‘tude šŸ™‚

  35. Kelsey says:

    im rooting for you to get to ur push up goal, and then annihilate it hehe! the most i ever did was 50, but i was so hopped up on caffeine that it kinda explains why… anyone who can do more than 20 should consider themselves in darn good shape huh!

    xoxo

  36. bakebooks says:

    WISH I were back in school! So glad your loving it – also loving your eats!

  37. Kat says:

    I think it’s so interesting that you broke your workout into six completely different cardio sections!

    I LOVED going back to school. Why? No idea. But every first day was wonderful.

  38. Erika says:

    Oooh, that chocolate peanut flour butterlooks amazing. I keep telling myself I am going to drive to Trader Joes and pick up a container of peanut flour, but I never do it! Ugh! Good luck with school! šŸ™‚

  39. Kimberly says:

    I just started classes this week after a month long break and I am sooo ready to be back! I am sure it will only last a few weeks, but for now I am enjoying it. That breakfast cookie looks yummy! I usually make the bfast cookies from the recipe from The Fitnessista’s blog, but I will have to try this applesauce bfast cookie for sure! Good luck this semester! šŸ™‚

  40. Hmmmm…. peanut flour sounds great!
    Brazilian supermarkets should definitely adopt this one… šŸ™‚

  41. Luckily, I only have scant classes this semester, but when things were worse, I totally had to work out whenever I could. This means: 5 AM, 12 PM, or 7 PM. It was tough!!

  42. Monica says:

    Oh you make me miss school! I love school so much and love that you are constantly being challenged to ask ‘why’. You don’t get that in many other roles in life and it is so fun to just learn different things. I am a sucker for school! Hope your first week back is going great!

Leave a Reply

