Up and At ‘Em

Now that school is back in session, I can’t just go to the gym whenever I feel like it. Even though my first class didn’t start until 10:15 this morning, I was still on campus at 8 to drop my sister off. I had several options to squeeze in a workout this morning-

  • Go to the tiny, dirty gym a few miles away from schoolΒ  before my class and contract a disease from the showers
  • Wait until I got home around 1:45 and go to the nice gym near my house, but feel rushed in between eating and getting ready for work at 5
  • Go to the gym that I work at after I get off at 8, but not get home until past 9 and starve to death
  • Go to the gym as early as humanly possible

Guess which option I chose?

I decided to suck it up and set my alarm for 5:15 and hope to be at the gym by 5:30. Although I was less than enthusiastic about waking up that early, I figured it’s only 45 minutes later than I would have woken up anyway. I also fell asleep at 9:30 last night, so I almost got a full 8 hours of sleep!

Heading out the door in my gym clothes was giving me serious marathon training flashbacks. I was seriously thanking myself that I was about to go to a nice, safe gym rather than run for 3 hours in the dark by myself. As God is my witness… I will NEVER run in the dark again! Pepper spray or not… it’s never going to happen.

The gym was ridiculously busy for 5:30. It was twice as busy as it was when I went at 3:30 in the afternoon yesterday! I managed to grab an elliptical with a TV on it and did 60 minutes on it. I debated lifting some weights, but I didn’t want to push my luck with the time, so I headed home.

Having the sun just rise and being done with your workout? Priceless.

I’ve got a confession- on days where I don’t run and I just do the elliptical, I don’t wash my hair. I swear I do not get that sweaty! If you saw my hair, you would understand. It takes me well over an hour to blow dry it and straighten it. It’s not just curly, it’s a beast. I save SO much time this way…

…time that is best used making pancakes.

I made protein packed PB pancakes for breakfast. Instead of cottage cheese or yogurt, I used applesauce. Gotta use up that jar before it goes bad. Have you ever tasted moldy applesauce? Warning- if it’s pink, don’t eat it. Don’t ask me how I know that.

These pancakes did a good job of keeping me full, but I didn’t get home until almost 2, and I was ready to eat anything I could get my hands on.

I created a monster plate- whole wheat tortilla with refried beans and leftover roasted broccoli, the rest of the roasted broccoli, cherries, and an apple with peanut flour butter. Can you believe I was still hungry after this?

Pumpkin yogurt to the rescue! No picture… but a few hours later, I made myself a microwave bean brownie and topped it with tofu pudding. (It looks purple. I need a new camera)

Hunger satiated!

More than a little satiated, actually. I have a tendency to feel really full a few hours after I eat, so the verdict is still out on dinner. I’m stuffed!

Okay, now I’m REALLY going to go do some push-ups. I never got around to it last night. These arms aren’t going to strengthen themselves!

When do you prefer to work out? Do you like to get it done first thing in the morning or do you wait until after school or work? I’m an early bird, so I would rather get up early then wait until night. Although a few more days of this and I might feel differently…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

88 Responses to Up and At ‘Em

  1. I’d much rather work out first thing, I like to check it right off the list! I used to get up at 5 to get to the gym by 530-6am, but this winter has been rough, i’ve become a night time worker-outer! (i’ll revert back asap though!)

  2. That monster plate is looking amazing right about now… I could eat the entire thing in 5 minutes. guaranteed! =) Thats awesome that the pancakes kept you full for so long! my belly growls sooooo easily! I’ll have to try them sometime!

  3. Alaina says:

    It’s usually easier for me to get my workouts done in the morning. But I have just had no motivation lately! I need to get my butt in gear. πŸ™‚

  4. Wow that’s an early morning!
    I’ll do my workout in the morning if I don’t have any other time but I typically like doing it sometime in the early afternoon
    Those pancakes looks super good

  5. Jessica says:

    I have curly hair that I straighten too! It takes forever – lately I’ve been letting it stay curly some days, but like you, I’ll avoid washing it every day when possible. I used to plan my workouts around when I wanted to wash my hair. Now with the training plan, I don’t have as much flexibility, but I totally understand not washing it when it’s not absolutely necessary!

    On weekends I prefer to get my workouts done in the morning and have the rest of the day to myself. But during the week I just can’t get myself up early enough, so I go after work.

  6. greekmelie says:

    I really want to work out in the mornings, but I just cannot. I managed to do it for something like 2 weeks last semester and then something broke again. Good thing that my experiments take 2 hours to run, so I go in the middle of the day. But I really want to try this morning thing again… πŸ™‚

  7. It seems as though thst at our gym the people come in waves — for my gym, usually right at 8am (right after many have dropped off kids at school). 5:30 is quite early for many people to get up.

  8. Erica D says:

    I’m off to a good start on the early workouts! And I’m totally with you on the lack of hair-washing; you KNOW when you can get away with it, and when you can’t. Today was one of those days for me! I just put it into a ponytail and slapped a headband on it; thank goodness my hair is pretty short!

    My class is at 9:30 so I have it pretty good for time. Glad to hear your first day was a success!

  9. Casey says:

    I love working out first thing in the morning to get my energy up, but find I have more productive workouts around 5pm.
    I don’t know if I have your willpower to do a 5am workout though!

  10. Heather R says:

    Great job on getting to the gym so early! I so wish I was a morning person because on the days I actually get my butt out of bed and workout in the AM I feel great. I’m just so sleepy in the mornings, I usually can’t manage it. So, I opt for working out right after work.

  11. AlisonM says:

    I am seriously impressed you got up that early! Nice going girl!! Also, I think it’s better to not wash your hair if you can get away with it. I sometimes have to wash mine twice a day if I go to the gym late, and that can’t be good for it..

  12. Savvy says:

    On the times when I do push myself to work out early in the morning I’m so happy with life and so satisfied, but it can be so hard to drag myself out of bed!! My wednesdays sound a lot like the day you’re describing; I can get up at five and work out, hurry home at 12 and work out but with a turnaround of 3:00 which’d make me rush or, lastly, come home and work out at 8 on a ravenous stomach. Decisions, decisions…

  13. Hannah says:

    Oh gosh, I can’t help laughing when I read this! I never go to bed before midnight and am rarely asleep before 1am, so the idea of getting up at 5:30 actually makes me shudder. But then again, I don’t exercise… πŸ˜€

    Love the pancakes; off to find the recipe!

  14. I’m an early bird too, and I love morning runs and workouts. They are probably the most important part of my day – whenever I take a rest day or can’t run in the a.m., I turn into a crankypants brat. Also, delicious pancakes trump washing hair every time!

  15. i want to get into early workouts.. but i have a question: how do you workout without breakfast???

  16. I love working out in the early morning, but it’s been really hard for me to get out of bed that early lately. But now I’ve been going during my lunchtime, and it’s good so I don’t have an excuse to go out for lunch πŸ™‚

  17. Good for you getting up and to the gym! That’s awesome! And those pancakes look awesome!

  18. Kudos to you for getting that workout done early. I would love to get mine done early all the time, but it so rarely happens. If I didn’t have to be at work at 7, it might be more doable. So, most of my workouts are done 30 mins at lunch then 30 mins after work or all after work.

  19. Oh girl, that is SO early in the morning! I don’t like getting up before the sun (I get up at 6:15), I can’t wait until spring is here and the sun rises before me! πŸ™‚

    Anyway, good for you for getting up and getting your workout in! Way to be!! πŸ™‚

    And no judgement here… I have a naturally curly head and I definitely don’t wash my hair every day because it takes foooorever to straighten it. So if I work out and don’t sweat, I definitely don’t wash my hair. πŸ˜‰ So I hear ya!

  20. Sruthi says:

    I am so proud of you for getting up so early and working out. In summers I prefer working out in the morning, but in winters I just cant do it that early. So in winters I go to the gym directly from work.

  21. Errign says:

    When I like to work out depends on my schedule for the day – if I know I am going to be really busy, I try to get it out of the way early, or get a friend to come with me later, since I don’t cancel plans. If I have a more open day, I’m way more likely to get over to the gym. πŸ˜€

  22. I prefer to work out in the middle of the day. I work at a health club so I can pretty much work out whenever I want as long as it doesn’t interfere with my clients!

  23. ~Jessica~ says:

    I want to eat your lunch and snack all in one go! I have to make the brownies and tofu pudding! I keep making the excuse that I don’t have time but they look SO delicious. I must, must MAKE the time, darn it.

    Definitely a morning person when it comes to working out: the longer I wait, the more depressed I get. I need those endorphins as soon as possible!

    xxx

  24. I have better energy in the a.m. to work out, but I hate getting up early! Plus I like getting the workout over with πŸ˜‰

    Mmmm nothing beats pancakes in the morning!

    xxoo

  25. Did you make your pumpkin yogurt or buy it?

    • I make it by mixing half a cup of pumpkin with half a cup of vanilla yogurt and adding a little pumpkin pie spice πŸ™‚ I’ve bought it from Target before but I wouldn’t recommend it- it’s kind of sour.

  26. Sounds like my kinda morning πŸ˜‰

  27. Erika says:

    I love working out in the mornings, but don’t do it during the week because then I’d have to sacrifice my sleep, so I work out after school. (Low on sleep = grumpy Erika!) On the weekends I work out in the morning though! πŸ˜€

  28. I am not physically capable of getting up early to workout. I know that sounds like an excuse, but even on the weekends when I sleep in until 8ish, I struggle just to walk the dog around the block. Im in awe of everyone that can get up early and workout. It is NOT easy!

  29. runyogarepeat says:

    I prefer the afternoon or night, but sometimes, I fit in a morning workout. I always feel accomplished after morning workouts. I’m doing my day 2 of pushups today too, and I’ll do another post on the challenge. Good luck on yours!

  30. Jess says:

    I like working out in the morning, but I wouldn’t make it at 5:15…my early morning is more like 9!

  31. Peggy says:

    I’m more of a later nighter! I just can’t bring myself to get out of bed earlier than I have to =)

  32. I prefer to workout in the mornings but my school schedule usually doesn’t allow it. I love love LOVE my Saturday morning long runs. πŸ˜€ I look forward to them all week!

  33. I love the feeling of it being early and you’ve already got your exercise in – you can feel smug all day πŸ™‚
    And I like your style; pancake-making beats hair-washing every day of the week!

  34. I am up at 5 to work out every day! I wouldn’t have it any other way πŸ˜‰

  35. Good for you for getting your workout done so early. I do prefer to get my workouts out of the way early in the morning . . . one less thing on my to-do list. But sometimes a girl just needs her sleep. πŸ™‚

  36. wow. good going, girl. i was into going to the gym at that time for a while, too. i just can’t this month for some reason. grr! πŸ™‚ keep at it!

  37. Meesh says:

    So proud of you for getting up early to go to the gym. I’m a total morning person, the kind that people want to punch for being so chipper. I’d workout before work if I could, but I have to bus to my gym and the buses don’t run that early here!

  38. Kat says:

    Im getting up at 530 friday to workout early. Im super excited about it too since friday is usually my day off from exercise, but the opportunity came up to workout! BTW I totally made that bean brownie. FAB!! Im making one again to go along with my banana soft serve πŸ™‚

  39. Welcome to the wonderful world of morning workouts. πŸ™‚ It really is a good way to wake yourself up before work (or school)!

  40. Kat says:

    On the weekends, I definitely crave early-morning runs. During the week, I work out most of my stress after I get home.

  41. I totally prefer to knock the workout first thing in the morning. But, I find that if I’m doing classes (like zumba, yoga, etc.), I prefer those to be in the evening. Weird, huh?

  42. Monica says:

    Great work! Early morning workouts are never easy, but I so agree that heading home as the sun is rising makes you feel so ahead of everyone else for the day. πŸ˜‰

  43. “Having the sun just rise and being done with your workout? Priceless.”–yes!

    and i have to do my workouts in the a.m. or they get lost in the shuffle of the day. just posted about that jazz. i am not naturally a morning person, but i have trained myself!

  44. My perfect workout time is 5pm. I do like the sense of accomplishment with a finished workout in the wee hours of the morning, but sometimes I feel like I don’t get my heart rate up enough in the morning…halfway through my workout, I’m STILL yawning (even while doing jumping jacks!!)

    Loved this: “Go to the tiny, dirty gym a few miles away from school before my class and contract a disease from the showers” Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

