Saying Goodbye

I had time to make myself a more involved breakfast this morning, but not the inclination. Applesauce breakfast cookie it was!

I have a feeling this is going to be my standby school breakfast. It’s ready in a few minutes and it keeps me full. What more could I want?

School dragged by, but I’m happy that it’s Thursday and my classes are over for the week! Only 3 hours of work and a speed workout tomorrow stand between me and two days off. Um, other than homework. And let’s be honest- that speedwork session may or may not happen. I’ve worked out every day this week- if I want to take a rest day tomorrow, I’m not going to deny myself πŸ™‚

Lunch was also a repeat of a lunch this week- but soooo good!

I tore up a black bean burger and put it on a bed of spinach with some refried beans. I’m out of plain yogurt, so mustard sufficed for the dressing.

I actually went to Target this morning specifically for vanilla yogurt. I can’t go a day without my pumpkin yogurt! I had granola around, so I used that as a topping instead of Kashi or Fiber One.

My pre-workout snack was an apple with an unbaked bean brownie. At first, I was going to make the cinnamon hummus I made yesterday, but I decided to add cocoa powder. I thought I was making chocolate hummus- until I realized that it is 1/4 tsp baking powder away from being a bean brownie πŸ™‚

I know, I know… it looks even more disgusting than most of the food I post, but I promise you it is as good unbaked as it is baked!

Before work, I got in 60 minutes on the elliptical. I have serious delayed soreness from my run yesterday. I woke up feeling fine but I’ve felt stiff as the day progressed. It felt good to take it easy on the elliptical!

I still had some time before work started, so I headed outside to study. Sorry to keep rubbing in the fact that it’s so warm here! I feel kind of guilty that everyone is getting snowed in. Console yourselves with the fact that you get changing leaves in the autumn πŸ™‚

I pulled out my notebook to study…

…and realized I didn’t have the right textbook with me.

Then I realized I had forgotten my flats and was wearing my running shoes with jeans. Not a good look!

Isn’t that carpet horrible? You know you work in a daycare when the carpet has letters and stars on it.

Speaking of shoes… I am going to admit something that will probably give every runner a heart attack.

I bought these shoes in the end of July. Now, I’ve heard conflicting advice about when to replace running shoes. Every three months, 500 miles, 1,000 miles… I don’t know what to think! Technically, I’m long overdue for a new pair. I did the bulk of marathon training in these shoes, so they have some serious miles on them.

I’ve never been fitted for shoes. I did no research on this pair- I bought them at Sports Authority because I had a coupon, they were on sale, and they were pretty comfortable when I tried them on. I didn’t break them in properly so when I tried to run 12 miles in them, I ended up with a foot injury that prevented me from running for two weeks… but I digress. Overall, I’m happy with them! No injuries after the initial one, which was my fault. Lesson learned… no long runs in new shoes.

Which explains why I have no plans to replace them any time soon. My reasoning? I’m poor, they’re broken in, I run about 10% of what I used to… and did I mention I’m poor?

To me, these shoes are still new. Do you know how old my last running shoes were?

I’ll give you a hint… if I enrolled my shoes in school, they would be getting ready for the fourth grade by now.

Yeah- my shoes were 8 years old when I retired them. I got them when I was 13- right before I started cross country in high school. Now, I consider my ‘running career’ as having started last year because when I did cross country, I maybe ran twice a week. I did my best to get out of every practice, and I didn’t even run in all the meets. It’s a long story, but I HATED running then and did not consider myself a runner at all.

I only did cross country the first two years, and quit after my sophomore year. So, my shoes didn’t have that many miles on them at this point. I kept them around when I exercised sporadically throughout high school, but mostly they remained hidden in the closet.

Finally, when I started exercising again, I dusted off the shoes and took them to the gym. Then, when I started running last year, they were with me every step of the way. They’ve traveled with me to different states, different cities- even to Europe for three weeks!

(That’s in Estonia. My friend and I literally walked 17 miles in Finland the day before in flats… which is why we are wearing comfy shoes here.)

My shoes also carried me across the line of my first half marathon. But when I signed up for a full, I knew it was time to give them up. So, I said goodbye to the old faithfuls and got a new pair. And by saying goodbye, I mean they’re sitting in my garage. I am seriously attached to these things!

How often do you replace your running shoes? Are you as attached to them as me? I have a feeling I’m in the minority here… I get attached to weird things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Saying Goodbye

  1. Kat @ Cupcake Kat says:

    The chocolate humms sounds so cool.
    I can get attached to certain shoes or clothes. Especially if I still really like them! I also tend to keep them even if I don’t wear them and they are old.

  2. Jessica says:

    I don’t think I’m attached to my old running shoes, but I also haven’t thrown my last three pairs away. For some reason, it feels like such a waste to me – and they make good shoes for taking our dog to the dog park, keeping walking shoes at work, and just in general having extra pairs “just in case” I need them. But I might feel more “attachment” if I were to have completed a big goal like a marathon in them πŸ™‚

    After I injured my IT band running in shoes that I had worn forever, I do try to replace my shoes somewhat regularly now (300-500 miles). But at the same time, if you’re not experiencing injuries or new pain from the shoes you currently run in, I would think it’s fine to keep wearing them!

  3. Alaina says:

    I keep all of my old running sneakers. They are great for doing outside work or any kind of housework (like painting). I bought a pair of running sneakers last April and used them for marathon training. I had to replace them 2 weeks before the marathon because I had worn them out! πŸ™‚ I’m still on that pair I bought in September. They haven’t been getting much use in the winter.

  4. The chocolate humms sounds so cool.
    I can get attached to certain shoes or clothes. Especially if I still really like them! I also tend to keep them even if I don’t wear them and they are old.

  5. Hannah says:

    Ahhh, I love your eats! I need to experiment more with my breakfasts (it’s usually just oatbran or a smoothie for me), and have been meaning to make a sweet hummus for ages now!

  6. Erica D says:

    I try to replace my shoes every 6 months or so; I usually can just “feel” when they’re done. I got shin splints a couple years ago from running on old shoes, so I’m not making that mistake again! I currently have a badass pair of purple & grey Nike Shox; I’ll be so sad to retire them, but when I do, they’ll be worked to the bone!

  7. Olivia says:

    I tried eating mustard on a salad at school once, and it did Not, go over well! So many kids were like ewww! Haha oh well; live and learn. Anyways, I have a little feedback on your shoes…
    I run cross country, and my coaches are very intelligent about this type of thing. They recommend we get at least one (if not two) pairs of shoes every season, and for someone who’s not really running a “season” to replace shoes ever 300 miles…350 max.
    If you run on them much longer, the shoes will have lost most all of their support and cushioning, causing you to get pain and especially ankle/shin splints…yikes!!
    Hope this helps!!

  8. I know my running shoes need to be replaced… I’m just trying REALLY hard to make them last until next month so they fit into the budget a little bit better! Ugh…

  9. i replace mine every like 4 years haahh.. i get attached too .. i hate having to break them in!!.. haha i love the unbaked brownie!

  10. Kristina says:

    Love beans on salads:) I keep my running shoes, all of them…it’s redonk. I try to only put around 5-600 miles on them before I get a new pair, for my joints sake! I just purchased a new pair-obnoxious orange!!!

  11. AlisonM says:

    This is a funny post on shoes! I do sometimes feel that runners are a bit precious about tracking mileage on their sneakers and getting fitted and so on, so it’s always good to see someone being a bit more relaxed about it. I think 8 years might be a bit toooo relaxed though! πŸ˜‰

    Take it easy this weekend — you’ve had a busy week with school and workouts!

  12. Lately I’ve been having to replace every other month! No lie. I’m wearing the treads right off. Before that, I tried to follow the 300-500 or 6 month rule. I found that if I waited 6 months, then my feet were hurting, legs hurting, so 4 months seems to be max for me.

  13. Okay I hate to admit this but I’ve had my sneaks since my the end of 2008! That is not good… reallllyy need to get some ones. Guess I’m just being cheap πŸ˜‰

  14. runyogarepeat says:

    I probably need new ones too, but my shoes aren’t causing any injuries or pain or discomfort, so they work for now. After reading Born to Run, I’m really interested in trying out Vibrams or a minimalist shoes. There were tons of interesting studies in the book about how modern running shoes have never been proven to help and may be the cause of so many running injuries.

  15. Hmmm… Chocolate hummus. Sounds delicious πŸ˜‰

    As for running shoes, I have the Reebok Easytone sneakers that my mom bought for me (and I say she bought it because… well, she did pay for it. I just kept nagging and nagging until she took out that credit card and swiped πŸ˜‰ But I digress, lol) since February of last year. I wore them every day in the summer but since it’s now winter with snow and ice everywhere, I don’t want to fall on my butt so I switched to boots for the time being, hehe. But as those sneakers were incredibly expensive (I actually believed the hype about them making my butt look good), I definitely don’t plan on replacing them anytime soon. At least, not until they’re well-worn and so broken in that you can see my socks on the bottom of the soles… Just kidding, but just like you, I’m poor. And we gotta milk the sneakers for all they’re worth πŸ˜‰

    • Haha! I tend to keep all of my shoes until they’re falling apart. I literally had a hole so big in a pair of flats you could see my toe once! For the public’s sake, I replaced them eventually πŸ™‚

  16. Im not very good about changing out my sneakers, but then again I dont do a lot of exercise that involves sneakers!

  17. Chocolate Hummas sounds INCREDIBLE!!! Is it a sweet kind of hummas, or a savory kind of hummas?

  18. Peggy says:

    Yeah, I don’t think you’re weird at all for keeping the shoes! I’m not a crazy avid runner or anything, so I probably only buy a new pair of running shoes every 2 years lol.

  19. Tanvi says:

    Loved reading about you kate..and tearing up a burger over a salad was a super idea :)Chocolate hummus? that sounds fun. I have a pair of Reebok shoes from my college days way back when I purchased them in 2003..My hubby jokes that I should donate them to some museum.

  20. I’m so bad about replacing my running shoes. My current shoes have gone through 3 half marathons… That’s a lot of miles! I’ll probably replace them before my next long training session but until then they’re good for me! Plus the cost is horrible… Poorness doesn’t make it easy to replace running shoes very often.

  21. When I lived in China and we literally walked EVERYWHERE (we didn’t have a car – either we walked or took the bus) we had to get new sneakers every year because we would wear through them putting so many miles on them. Plus they would get so filthy thanks to the pollution and nasty streets. However, since I’ve moved back to the States, I still have the same pair of sneakers from several years ago. But then I don’t walk near as much as I used to and I certainly don’t run like I did in high school. So I can’t really say that this helps much, haha! Sorry about that. I understand the attachment, though!

  22. Hahahaha! Girl, I total feel this post. Before this year I had my runners for almost 7 years I think. The first pink and white Nike Shox that came out 😐

    I now will get a new pair {my goal} every year or two as they are really reasonable at the outlet stores!!

    Sometimes though, the broken in ones are the best, aren’t they?

    xxoo

  23. greekmelie says:

    I have no idea how long I have had my shoes for! But I can always buy new running shoes! This might be the single kind of shopping I love! πŸ™‚

  24. I’m dying to try a pumpkin yogurt mess – I just gotta find a good “pureed pumpkin” recipe since brazilian stores don’t sell the canned type!
    πŸ˜‰

  25. Dude you had me worried with the title!!!! I scrolled to the bottom to make sure you weren’t leaving the blogosphere!!! haha (Don’t worry, then I scrolled back up!)

    I hang on to running shoes waaaay longer than I should!

  26. Yum, chocolate hummus! I love dessert hummus and buy mine from Crazy Camel Dessert Hummus online.
    Running shoes…well I have about 20 pairs of tennis shoes, so I haven’t ever gotten rid of any!

  27. Even though I don’t wear them anymore, I kept all of my old running shoes. I am on my 4th pair. I think my shoes last me about 300 miles.

    The shoes represent accomplishments to me, sure I can throw them away or donate them but they are really worn out that I figured nobody wants them.

  28. I totally get attached to weird things, but not my running shoes… yet. Part of that is that the pairs I’ve been through, even though I’ve been fitted for them, have not ever been an absolutely perfect fit. My current ones are pretty good but they still kind of hurt my feet/are a little tight (the last ones were two sizes too big… lol).

    Otherwise I might be in teh same predicament πŸ˜‰

    I think your food looks delicious! πŸ™‚

  29. oooh I visited Estonia once for a day! It was marvelous! I have a little sidewalk painting I bought so I can always remember it!

    but doll… you totally need new shoes! your poor feet deserve it (but totally save those sneaks forever just because!)

    Happy Friday! ❀

    • I’m happy to say that my old ones are in retirement and my new shoes are treating me well so far πŸ™‚

      Did you take a cruise when you went to Estonia? I was there for only one day too but I loved it!

  30. Oh I am horrible about replacing running shoes…which is probably a problem and explains some of my feet injuries. My current running shoes are almost a year old now.

  31. Errign says:

    Personally, I can feel when my shoes are “done” – I get unusual aches & pains while running. I’ve always heard around 350 miles, fyi πŸ™‚

  32. I’m going to be due for a new pair of running shoes soon. I’m kind of sad because they were the pair that took me across the finish line for my first 1/2 marathon. 😦 I will keep them (and the D-Tag that is still attached) forever! πŸ˜‰

  33. I change my shoes religiously every 400 miles. Keeps the injuries at bay πŸ˜‰

  34. ooh be careful running in old shoes! I think that’s partly why I’m having Achilles problems right now. I replace shoes after about 300 mile, and usually alternate with 2-3 pairs at all times.

  35. BrittFit says:

    love your breakfasttttttt

  36. Kayla says:

    I haven’t replaced my tennis shoes for a year or two now, I bet it’s time! But I hate breaking in new shoes!

  37. How cool – one of my best friends is from Estonia! You don’t find too many people who even know where that country is….much less that have been there and visited IN PERSON!

  38. Jess says:

    wow 8 years! those are some old shoes:)

  39. emily says:

    Rest days are definitely needed and important! I often find that I’m more motivated to work out after a rest day. πŸ™‚

    I try to replace running shoes every 300-500 miles because it’s hard on my knee if I don’t. Sometimes I wait a little longer, especially if I’m not running hardcore or training for anything.

  40. Kat says:

    I replace every 400 miles because I beat those babies into the ground. That being said, I think you know when your shoes are cashed because you can actually FEEL a difference. If you feel that, it’s time. If you don’t, then keep on going. I think the trick is just to stop when you start to notice a problem with your shoes instead of running through ’til injury.

    p.s. I kept my first pair of nice running shoes that I ran my half in and will probably keep my marathon shoes. But that is all.

  41. Heather says:

    Since I’ve started running 2 years ago I’m on my 3rd pair. I’ve heard a lot about the every 500 miles rule.

  42. Pingback: Day 4- Yoga! | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

