Chocolate For Dinner

Today’s been a fairly busy Saturday- for me, at least!

I was up early to go to spinning at 8, but I spent too long enjoying my breakfast. The class was full- boo! I did 30 minutes on the elliptical and 30 minutes on the treadmill instead.

At least breakfast was good. Perfect pre-workout food!

I made Carrie‘s chocolate protein cake again and used it as a topping for pumpkin yogurt. Bad news- I only have ONE can of pumpkin left! I need to get to the grocery store as soon as possible!

After the gym, I raced home, jumped in the shower, and headed to a cooking demo at my favorite vegan restaurant! I’m planning a whole post about this, so no pictures yet πŸ™‚

We didn’t have time to eat at the restaurant, so I came home and made myself a quick lunch.

I filled a whole wheat tortilla with spinach and ricotta cheese, and had an apple with peanut flour butter on the side.

I also had banana soft serve with the other half of the peanut flour butter. I’ve been forgetting I have so many frozen bananas!

Lunch was quick, because right after, I went with my mom and sister to see one of my favorite musicals- HAIR! If you haven’t seen the play or watched the movie, I highly recommend it. The stage version is way different, but I loved it just as much as the movie. This was a Christmas present from my parents, and it was so fun! I don’t see plays as often as I would like to. I’m a sucker for musicals!

I couldn’t decide what I wanted for dinner tonight. It was one of those nights where I was hungry, but not so much that I actually felt like gathering the energy to find something to make. After sitting around for a while debating what to make, I saw a block of tofu in my fridge that was being neglected. I used to eat tofu every day, but when my Costco stopped carrying it, I stopped buying it. I gave in and bought a few blocks at Albertson’s a week or so ago, and I need to use them!

So crispy and delicious. I never press my tofu, but I’ve found if I just leave it alone and let it cook long enough it gets nice and crispy!

To go with the tofu, I got inspiration from myΒ  bookmarked recipes in the form of Emily‘s chocolate quinoa. I actually didn’t really follow the recipe, but I added a teaspoon of cocoa powder and a little chili powder to the quinoa.

I also tried my hand at making peanut sauce. No recipe- I just mixed a little peanut flour with a tiny bit of soy sauce and water. Simple, but good!

Most random flavor combinations ever, but it totally worked! Chocolate and peanut butter for dinner- I’ll eat to that!

Two questions:

What’s a flavor combination that you never thought would work but you ended up loving?

And…

What’s your favorite musical? I’m torn between Hair and West Side Story. I know all the words to both movies!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Chocolate For Dinner

  1. Looks like you had a yummy day. My favorite musical is Cats. I also really like Wicked

  2. Hannah says:

    At least you have canned pumpkin in your country! Doesn’t exist in Australia 😦

    Answers: nutritional yeast mixed with nut butter! So weird but so good.

    And musicals are one of my most FAVOURITEREST THINGS EVER. At the moment, my top pick would be Assassins. Love Sondheim! (I used to listen to Hair so much as a kid that I wrecked the CD!)

  3. One of my favorite musicals is The Phantom of the Opera and, hehe, The Swan Princess. πŸ™‚

  4. I didn’t think I would like nut butter on my sweet potato, but after I tried it the first time, it’s hard to have one without it now!

    I don’t really have a FAVORITE musical (still looking) but I really like Fiddler on the Roof and Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.

  5. Heather says:

    Dinner looks fantastic for not having the energy to get it together, good job! My random combo is cottage cheese with sunflower butter and strawberry jam mixed in.

    And my favorite musical is Rent, love it!

  6. ooh! I need to remember to freeze a bunch of bananas so I can make banana soft serve this week. I love it so much!

  7. wow awesome flavor combo!! and yay for the protein cake!!! gah you needa get some pumpkin ASAP!!!..
    the most interesting combo for me that i had was cottage cheese and almond butter and cinnamon… never would have put cot cheese with sweet!
    the best musical i saw was Billy Elliot!

  8. ~Jessica~ says:

    I tried that cocoa quinoa recipe when it was first posted and I must have done something wrong, because I wasn’t keen on it at all! It seemed really bitter to me…but if you’re adding in peanut sauce then it must ‘lift’ the flavours a little.

    I love peanut flour paste with everything, savoury or sweet: jam, tofu, broccoli…broccoli with peanut sauce, nut. yeast and ketchup is my strange flavour combo I think.

    Favourite musical = Phantom of the Opera. Has me in tears every time and adore the epic sweeps of gothic emotion.

    xxx

  9. Yummy food! πŸ˜€

    Oh West Side Story is DEFO one of my faves!! But there are so many great ones I don’t know where to begin!

  10. Sβ˜€S says:

    Wow what a flavor combo!! Good one. I need to get my hands on some TJ peanut flour – they don’t have it up in Toronto D: I am rolling in pumpkin, though. Blogger swap? hehehehe.
    Musicals, oh boy. I love Chicago, Wicked, Cats and Hairspray. I REALLY want to see the Lion King too.

  11. Interesting flavor combos. I’ve never used cocoa in savory dishes, but have seen recipes of course.

  12. Hmmmm….give me about a year to think about my favorite musical. πŸ˜‰

    No seriously, I have favorite musicals from different time periods. For “older” musicals, I love Kiss Me, Kate and Anything Goes (clearly, I love Cole Porter ;)). For “newer” musicals I love Mary Poppins, Million Dollar Quartet, and The Phantom of the Opera. For show’s I’ve BEEN in, my favorites are: Little Women, Ragtime, Chess, and A…My Name Is Alice.

    Clearly a musical theatre major. πŸ˜‰

  13. Erika says:

    One combination that I thought would never work was the combination of apples, bacon, and peanut butter. Turns out it’s delicious! πŸ™‚
    That peanut flour soy sauce combo sounds good…I’ll keep that in mind since I now have peanut flour! πŸ˜€

  14. BrittFit says:

    My favorite musical is HAIR I saw it on broadway.. the lyrics and meaning behind the songs are so uplifting…ITS GREAT! plus I got to dance on stage and I got a tour of backstage afterwards πŸ™‚

  15. AlisonM says:

    West Side Story all the way for me. Although I’m a big fan of Porgy and Bess too.

    I must get on this protein bar bandwagon–I’m always so jealous when I see them on blogs!

  16. chocolate quinoa? Amazingly genius. I like peanut butter and greek yogurt mixed together, although that’s not too strange a combination. Right now I’m also digging sweet potato fries with ketchup….I guess I’m just not that adventurous πŸ™‚

    I love Rent!

  17. Cocoa in my vegan chili! Yum!

    West Side Story, Les Mis–both near and dear to my heart!

  18. My favorite musical is The Phantom of the Opera!
    My favorite odd food combination, or at least my husband thinks so, is black beans and sweet potatoes.
    I also love my tofu extra crispy, and have always pressed it for hours. I may try your way of just cooking it longer. It sure would save me some time.

  19. ooooh apples and peanut butter are my fav, albeit random, combination! Or celery and pb!

  20. OH! You just reminded me that I have frozen bananas….I may be eating some banana soft serve this evening!

  21. sophia says:

    I recently reviewed Hair for my school newspaper. I liked it, but didn’t love it. My favorite so far is still Chicago, though I am still hoping to see Wicked some day! πŸ™‚

  22. Kat says:

    Picking a favorite musical is SO hard. So I think my answer is one musical I’ve seen before but would LOVE to see again is Once Upon a Mattress!

  23. chocolate quinoa?!!?!? Ohmygosh that is fascinating! I can’t imagine the taste but choc and pb? You can’t go wrong with that combo!

  24. My favorite musical is Wicked!! So good!!

  25. Cait says:

    My favorite musical is RENT πŸ™‚ I love this blog! It’s so great with wonderful of ideas!!

  26. YUM! I would love some chocolate for dinner πŸ™‚ I’m not a huge musical person, but I can definitely appreciate them! I loved the Lion King and Wicked.

  27. I never thought I would like cinnamon on a sweet potato or marshmallows on a sweet potato. I am not one to mix my sweet and savory. But I like it!

    Musical? Hmm…Does Wicked count?

  28. I was really weird about trying out peanut butter in savory dishes at first. But I really enjoyed making peanut sauce (and plan to do it again, soon!). There is also such a thing as pb salad dressing. Sounds funny, but I highly recommend it!

  29. banana soft serve totally rocks my face! When I discovered it – it was like a love story played out! Cue the music & birds…. : )

  30. Your breakfast looks fantastic! I go through pumpkin so quick. I think I’m buying it every week at the grocery to keep myself more than stocked πŸ™‚

  31. Pingback: Walk It Out | What Kate is Cooking

  32. Avocado and banana with almond butter – definitely! πŸ˜€

    I loved Phantom of the Opera but I really wanted to go see Shrek! The Musical, hehehe. Guess I’m just a kid at heart. But I also want to see Hairspray as well; I felt like the on-screen movie version didn’t really do the musical justice, although I do love Amanda Bynes and Zac Efron πŸ˜‰

  33. Lisa says:

    Mmmmm….pumpkin. I need to get more too!

    Food looks yummy πŸ™‚

    I have to think about the musical thing…I don’t know if I have a favorite! I should work on that…

  34. Jess says:

    I love Wicked:)

  35. Monica says:

    That sucks about spin class!

    Favorite surprise flavor combo, brussel sprouts and BBQ sauce.

    Favorite musical, Moulin Rouge!

Leave a Reply

