Walk It Out

Since I had chocolate for dinner last night, it only made sense that I had vegetables for breakfast, right?

I was up early again (what’s new?) and decided to eat breakfast after spinning. Good move and bad move. I made it to class on time, but I was starving to death by the time I got home! It was a good class, though- really hard, but in a good way. I also lifted some weights before. I totally neglected strength training last week!

I was glad I waited for breakfast when I got home, though. I had time to make these beauties!

Carrot Cake Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 2 dates, chopped
  • 1/4 cup shredded carrots

Directions:

  • As with all my recipes… throw it in a bowl and mix it up!

They were a lot prettier than most pancakes I’ve made… if you ignored the two burned ones. I topped them with ricotta and maple syrup. Delectable!

After breakfast, I got in my second workout of the day- Costco. I’m telling you, dodging clueless, meandering shoppers and pushing a heavy cart counts as cardio AND strength training. I also sprinted across the street to Whole Foods to check if the new Chobanis were in stock- no luck!

After shopping, I made myself a salad to use up the leftover lentils from Friday’s dinner. I also had some refried beans and Greek yogurt on top. I finally found a Costco that has Greek yogurt AND tofu- score!

You know what else this Costco has? Vitatops! I know I said I wouldn’t buy them again, but they’re cheaper in bulk, obviously. I couldn’t resist. I’d like to call this picture ‘I don’t even care how this turns out because I’m about to eat some chocolate.’

Uh, yeah. Clearly, I was still hungry! And also a little depressed that I have NO pumpkin left! I thought I had a can, but it’s nowhere to be seen. Saddest of sad days.

I had grand plans to walk to the library, but it started raining! I guess karma paid me back for rubbing our warm weather in everyone’s face last week. We ended up driving and getting some homework done. By the time I was ready to leave, the rain had stopped, so I decided to walk to the Korean market to get some kabocha, about two miles away. Guess what came back halfway into my walk? Yeah… the rain.

I was looking like a hot mess when I got to the store, but all I cared about was getting my squash! After a drizzly walk home, I snacked on an apple with peanut flour butter and some strawberries. I know strawberries are out of season- but look how beautiful these ones are!

Dinner was completely inspired by Heather, who was inspired to make a roasted eggplant panini from Tina.

I didn’t quite follow the instructions- I used a whole wheat tortilla (I’m not a huge fan of regular bread), feta cheese, spinach, and a few slices of roasted eggplant and used my mom’s stovetop panini maker to press it to perfection.

I also sliced up half a kabocha and roasted it along the eggplant. Kabocha, my dear friend… it’s been too long since we’ve enjoyed each other’s company.

No meal is complete without dessert!

I made some chocolate tofu mousse and topped it with Kashi. Yes, in case you’re wondering- I AM uncomfortably full 🙂

Even though I got rained on during my walk, I really enjoy walking places rather than driving- but I don’t do it nearly enough. And by nearly enough, I mean hardly ever. I used to walk more often, but that was probably because I didn’t have my license until I was 18! I’m not going to have a car when I move to Colorado, so I should probably get used to walking or biking when I can.

I think I sense a new goal for February!

What’s your preferred method of transportation? In my ideal world, I would be able to apparate. I don’t mind taking a car as long as someone else is driving. I may or may not have hit a few stationary objects in my time 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to Walk It Out

  1. I had carrot cake pancakes for the first time this weekend and was in love! I would like to say I’ll try this recipe but for some reason as much as I love pancakes I ruin them every time I make them. Or they juts don’t taste as good when I’m the one who makes them? I’ll make my boyfriend make them for me=)

  2. I’d love to walk! but everything is so far away from me (I like in the middle of freaking nowhere!)

    How are vitatops? I have never tried one!

  3. I love being able to walk places! We live in a very walkable neighborhood but b/c i am always sooooo busy, and dont have time to walk to do my errands, i drive. But technically, i ‘could’ walk!

  4. greekmelie says:

    About the kabocha. Roast it? Just like that? Skin an all? Note to self: I should totally bookmark the recipes I find interesting because this thing has been in my fridge for almost a week now and I had no idea what to do with it. I just hope the knife can handle it…

  5. Deidre says:

    the pancakes sound delicious!

    Some instant travel would be REALLY handy for me. le sigh.

    I love public transport. just riding trains is a fun time.

  6. If my location is fairly close and it’s a nice day, I LOVE to walk places. But if not, I love driving. But I would rather fly some place than take a long road trip.

  7. Runeatrepeat says:

    Yeah for pancakes on Sunday!

  8. Oooh chocolate tofu mousse sounds divine!

    I love walking places, I really dislike driving. I’m from NYC originally, so it’s just in my blood. Plus, like you, I didn’t get my license until I was 18 and then rarely drove. I suck at driving.

  9. Alaina says:

    Right now I drive into the city but I’m so excited to be moving to a town that will be on the subway line. I’d much rather not have to worry about my car! 😉

  10. Carrot Cake anything tastes so good! I also love kabocha and could eat pounds of that stuff.
    To answer the question you left on my blog: a great thing about silicon pans is that they are incredibly easy to clean. Unlike metal pans, the batter doesn’t stick to the sides. I barely had to scrub mine at all!

  11. Heather says:

    I love being able to walk or ride my bike places. And I hear you on Costco being a workout in itself, made a trip there myself today!

  12. I prefer walking if the distance is reasonable. Like, I can walk to Kohls, Ross, Target, etc from my house — they are like less than a mile away. 🙂

    Costco is a workout!! 🙂

  13. Hannah says:

    Okay, THOSE are pancakes I can get behind. Except I never have eggs in my house, and using just egg whites is way too expensive… I wonder if a flax egg would work?

  14. edenseats says:

    I see a lot of people on those “segway” thingys and it kind of creeps me out (like I’m too lazy to ride a scooter???). I actually love the Subway. I lived in NY and I think its the fastest and cheapest way to get around. Even Mike Bloomberg (the mayor of NYC whose is a bazillionaire) rides the subway! I’d walk, but I’m lazy 😉

  15. i LOVEeee your pancakes!! that looks like a great recipe with lots of volume :D… hmm i with i could teleport!

  16. AlisonM says:

    The roasted kabocha looks amazing 🙂

    I would love to be able to cycle everywhere, but in a big city it can be a bit scary, slash a bit too far sometimes (hell 3hr round trip bike ride to a friends house). I don’t mind public transport that much though, not when it works, at least..

  17. ~Jessica~ says:

    Walking and cycling everywhere all the way for me. Unless it’s a huge distance, in which case I’ll take the train, or terrible (as in blizzard) weather, then I have to rely on lifts in the car, which I hate.

    Cars are one of my pet hates: bad for the environment, and they make life difficult for runners/cyclists. If cars didn’t exist, I honestly think there wouldn’t be such a problem with society’s weight because they not only make it easier to be sedentary but also they prevent many people from running/cycling via the fear of being run over! And without cars, the councils would have more money to grit pavements so people could run when it’s icy…can you tell I’m biased and annoyed that I had to resort to the dreadmill this morning due to ice 😉

    xxx

  18. Your eggplant combo sounds so good too! And I love walking…but it can’t really be a mode of transportation for me sadly. Kind of hard when everywhere isn’t within walking distance and having kiddos. I’m actually jealous of people who live places where they can walk to a lot of things.

  19. inmytummy says:

    I like walking but unfortunately, I live in the suburbs and can’t really walk anywhere. I like those Vitatops too.

  20. I LOVE chocolate tofu mousse–It’s one of my favorite sweet treats 🙂 And I’m also crazy about carrot cake pancakes–a perfect sweet treat/veggie-heavy breakfast. Looks like a day of wonderful eating!

    Have a great Monday 🙂

  21. Love the idea of the carrot pancakes. My pancakes never turn out pretty. Of course, I don’t make them often so I’m always out of practice 😉

  22. In my ideal world, I would drive and no one else would be on the road. And cops with radar wouldn’t exist 😉

  23. Kristina says:

    Carrot cake pancakes?! Genius!!! I want to try!!!!!

  24. Emily says:

    mmm, eggplant panini sounds sooooo good for lunch today. you may have inspired me to leave my house before noon, haha

    I drive everywhere. I live 15 minutes from anything convenient, and walking anywhere (except maybe across the main road from my house during the summer where there is a soft serve stand hahaha) is kind of out of the question. When I drive into Albany I have way more walking options because its a city, but in general I have to drive. I don’t use buses or anything because they really aren’t convenient for my purposes, but when I lived in NYC I took the subway and walked everywhere!

  25. I’ve never even heard of kabocha. :-/ I love walking and would walk everywhere, except for two things… the creepy wandering men and the fact that I can only walk to 7-11 and Exxon from my house. Lame!

  26. biz319 says:

    That’s one of the things I miss about working in Chicago. Unless there was too much snow on the ground, I would ride my bike to the train station (2 miles each way) because I was a single Mom back then and didn’t want to waste the $3 parking every day! Then my office was a mile walk from the train station.

    Now I work 11 minutes away, and I live in the “sticks” so I hardly walk at all, but would if I could!

  27. oatsandspice says:

    I am making those carrot cakes pancakes ASAP 🙂 YUM!

    Your blog it so cute! I can’t wait to read more… I just started blogging about two month ago – it is SO addicting 🙂 Check out my page if you get a chance: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  28. I’m a walker/public transit girl, and have been for the past 6 years that I’ve lived in the city. My boyfriend and I just got a car with a parking spot, so we use it for some longer trips or loading up at the grocery store. But, generally, I prefer to move by foot!

  29. Hello carrot cake pancakes…I think I am in love……….

    Your eats make me drool over here before my lunch. Eeekkk

    xxoo

  30. Hehe… I love that you had chocolate for dinner! 🙂

  31. I prefer walking any day of the week!! I try not to drive aside from my commute to work bc I hate it so much!!!!

  32. runyogarepeat says:

    Haha, love the Harry Potter joke there! I love being able to walk around my college/city, and there are a ton of free (with student ID) buses. I like having a car to drive far distances like to a ski resort or home, but when I’m at school, I walk or talk the bus. In the spring, I hope to bring my bike up to school though!

  33. Monica says:

    I love biking to commute. 🙂

  34. divasrun says:

    RUNNING, walking, or biking. Skipping is also acceptable. =)

  35. I love your reverse logic! That’s how my mind works too 🙂
    And I agree; if I could have a super-power, it would definitely be apparating/teleporting… just think, I’m going out tonight – to Melbourne!
    Soooo jealous of the peanut flour though; gutted we can’t get it here… 😦

  36. Olivia says:

    That looks like such a great recipe! I’ll have to try it soon! I LOVVVVVEEE that costco has Fage greek yogurt and chocolate vitatops!! Two of my most favorite things in the whole world at the moment:) Glad you found one by you that carries the goodstuff:)

  37. Kimberly says:

    Yuuuum, those pancakes look goooood! I will have to try them!

    I prefer to drive. I think it is mainly because I like to be in control.

    And what are these vitatops? I love anything chocolate 🙂

  38. Kat says:

    In a perfect world, we would have excellent public transportation and I’d be able to take a train/metro EVERYWHERE. Mais, non.

    Even though we live in suburbia, we only live ~1/4 mile away from a grocery store, so we can walk there in the summer if we need to grab something we missed.

  39. ROLLER BLADING! we have walking paths everywhere, so it’s fairly easy to do. you just gotta watch out for the hills.

    chocolate tofu mousse? sounds interesting. i actually really want to make it!

  40. Errign says:

    I am also on a mad hunt for new Chobs flavors! And I regularly look like a hot mess for the sake of food, exercise, etc.

    • Haha, I used to work out right before class and not have time to take a shower, so I would go to class in my disgusting workout clothes, still sweating. I can only imagine what everyone thought of me 🙂

  41. Those pancakes look delicious. I love carrot cake!

  42. Since I LOVE carrot cake I am 99% positive I would love those pancakes! Must recreate soon!

  43. Awesome day of eats! Beautiful pancakes and I’m lovin’ that dinner! Hard to believe I went almost 26 years having never tasted a kabocha!

    I love to walk, but unfortunately I live in a town where it is basically impossible to get anywhere on foot! Boo!

    Those strawberries look perfect! How’d they taste? I’ve really been craving them lately, but I’m afraid I’ll pay good money for little strawberry shaped “water pockets”!

  44. Pingback: Thou Shalt Not Fear Pancakes | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

