Hello, February!

I almost got the date right today on a paper! I wrote January 1st instead of February 1st. It’s better than a date that doesn’t exist four Septembers ago, right?

I think I was tired from getting up at 5 for the second morning in a row. I was at the gym by 5:30, and did a 20 minute speedwork session followed by the Stairmaster and elliptical to make it an even hour. I get so sweaty when I run, a hair wash was essential. I had to go to school with wet, bushy hair- not cute- but it’s less offensive than sweat πŸ™‚

I made overnight oats again this morning, and added some dried cherries on top. So full of goodness! I ate this in my car as usual, and the girl sitting in the car next to me was probably horrified when she saw me try to lick the Tupperware. Yeah… it’s that good.

Lunch was another form of oats. I was craving an applesauce breakfast cookie, but was in the mood for something savory (surprisingly!) Thus, a savory lunch cookie was born.

I’m not going to post the exact recipe, because even though it was tasty, the texture was a little funky. It didn’t bother me, but it needs a little tweaking. I’m not picky about things like that, but it’s not something I would try to serve to anyone else πŸ™‚

Anyway, I used cottage cheese instead of applesauce, added dried onion and red pepper, and topped it with black beans. Sounds weird, but it was good!

Usual snacks-

Pumpkin yogurt with a Vitatop. I used Greek yogurt, but I needed a little sweetness, so I added maple syrup.

Apple with peanut flour butter-

Cherries and strawberries-

And two clementines.

Fruit is so filling! Probably explains why I didn’t eat until 9, and all I had was a bowl of cereal. Just one of those nights…

Anyway, since it’s the first day of a new month, I thought I would share my February goals! In addition to my New Year’s goals, I’ve made some month long ones.

  • Cook for my family one night a week. They let me live here for free, so it’s the least I can do for them, right?
  • Drink 64 oz of water a day. I am getting really, really bad at this, and I blame it on the fact that I have the world’s smallest bladder. Just ask anyone I’ve traveled with. When I’m at school or work, I don’t want to drink too much, and even when I’m at home, I just don’t. Must hydrate better!
  • Take care of moving-related things. I have a lot to do before I move- mostly getting transfer and finance related things squared away. Ugh, that means I have to be responsible!
  • Spend money more wisely. I’m really cheap, but I haven’t been as judicious with my money as I used to be. I’m certainly not a spend thrift, but paying attention to little purchases can really save me some money. Plus- I have something in mind I want to save for πŸ™‚ Other than moving out, of course.
  • Do ab work three times a week. I don’t do ab work- ever. I know it’s important, but I neglect it!

There you have it! Nothing mind blowing, just some things I’d like to pay more attention to this month- and hopefully permanently!

What are your February goals?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Hello, February!

  1. That’s awesome! Mine is to lose two pounds and learn to eat intuitively!
    Maybe you should start with trying to drink 48 oz of water and then bump it up. Honestly depeding on your size and excersise 64 might be a lot for you to handle. I probably drink about 56 oz but I’ve worked my way up there! It also helps me to make it with ice! Ice water is So So refreshing!

    Anyhow, your morning oats looked amazing! I lick my plate and bowls of food everyday!
    Let her think your weird. We all know SHE is the one missing out! πŸ˜‰

    • That’s a good idea- but I always feel really thirsty, even when I drink 64 oz of water! When I work out, I can get really sweaty, so I usually need at least that.

      I’m glad I’m not the only plate licker πŸ™‚

  2. Strawberries and cherries are two of my faves!

    My continuing goal is to spend money more wisely! This month I’m continuing with this and still trying to cut my grocery bill down!

  3. Savory oats is an interesting concept! I have a small bladder too, but I’m used to getting up and going every hour or two because of all the water I drink – it’s not so bad, just a little annoying πŸ™‚

    Big goal for February is to submit my dietetic internship application…due in 15 days, ahh!

  4. ahh your savory cookie is such a cute idea!! even though it didnt turn out perfect.. the idea is awesome!!… great goals i lovehow you want to cook for ur parents more and do ab work!! i LOVE ab work!

  5. I love that you want to cook for your family. That’s great. I need to save more money in February…..

  6. Love all the fruit-yum…makes me feel like summer (then I look outside!).
    I’m hoping to focus on clean eating and new recipes!

  7. Your goals sound great and I love how attainable they are! You will do so well! πŸ™‚

  8. Kat says:

    I totally just wrote about how I have the tiniest bladder and how I am trying to increase my water intake lol
    P.S. they are discontinuing peanut flour accordung to sources. Not sure if its tru,e but I have read about it!

  9. Kayla says:

    I’m going to try to cook for my family, too! I always tend to make my own meals because nobody ever likes what I eat/make!

  10. runyogarepeat says:

    The water one is great. I carry around my water bottle with me everywhere, as long as there’s a bathroom close by. Drinking lots of water everyday makes me feel so energized.

  11. I want to establish more time management in my life. πŸ™‚

  12. Lisa says:

    I love dried cherries…I really need to add them to more things!
    My main feb goal is to de-sugar (or at least reduce sugar) my life.

  13. I need to be better about ab work as well. I do the dvds that include it, but never focus soley on it. WHich is silly bc my tummy is what I’m always complaining about!

  14. I spy chia seeds- yum! My goal for February (and the rest of the year) is to plan for my upcoming wedding in October. Just taking it one day at a time. whew!

  15. Sara says:

    You licked the Tupperware! You rock.

    My goals for February are not very defined. Basically, I just want to feel on top of everything and not so behind.

    Thanks for being my friend on FoodBuzz. Glad I found you!

  16. Jessica says:

    I had to go back and re-write the date for the 1st too.

    I am blog hopping today and thought I would stop by your blog.

    Please stop by and follow either or both of my blogs as well:

    Jessicas Lil Corner is where I blog about life and family at http://jessicaslilcorner.blogspot.com

    So Stylilized is where I am currently offering FREE custom blog designs at http://sostylilized.blogspot.com

    I hope to see you at either or both of my blogs and welcome you to follow both!!

    Have a great Wednesday!! :0)

  17. Erica D says:

    Go you for doing 5 am workouts at all! That’s so impressive. My 7 am’s have got nothing on you! My resolution is to get most of my work done in the afternoon so I can get to sleep at a decent hour (9:30? 10?) and to survive my 21st birthday!!

  18. Sruthi says:

    I need to work on my abs as well. Losing inches around my waist is proving to be very difficult.

  19. emily says:

    You’re way ahead of me; I’m still writing 2010 on things…ugghhh!
    Looks like you have some great February goals, too. πŸ™‚

  20. I haven’t been able to get overnight oats to work for me yet. They taste really slimy and gross. I wish I could get them to where I was licking the tupperware!!!

  21. Erika says:

    Great goals! One of my main goals is to stop procrastinating! I am tired of doing homework/projects at the last minute. πŸ˜•

  22. AlisonM says:

    I am seriously in awe of your ability to get up that early! I think I’m doing well if I get up at 6:30!

  23. Stephanie says:

    My goal for February is to eat intuitively and hopefully set a new 3 mile record for myself on the 12th!

  24. Peggy says:

    These definitely sound like some great goals for February! I think my main goal is to finish the 5k I’m doing on the 26th without stopping to walk!

  25. Thank goodness yoga is so core centered, otherwise I wouldn’t be getting any ab work done either πŸ™‚

  26. Errign says:

    My February goals are to keep working on my NY resolutions, but also to go to every fitness class offered at school at least once.

  27. Ideally I’d do ab work and stop procrastinating. but that may or may not be actually happening any time soon πŸ˜‰

    I love the idea of a savory breakfast cookie… do post the recipe once you’ve tweaked it! πŸ™‚ I’m not picky either πŸ˜‰ haha

  28. Olivia says:

    I definitely always lick the bowl of good foods…especially oats! I’m obsessed with overnight oats right now too, as you can probably tell; I haven’t even posted half the pictures on my blog of them!! Ooh you just reminded me to pick up some cherries-I miss them!

  29. Hannah says:

    All these mentions of Vitatops make me think that I’d honestly spend $100 of shipping for a dozen of the corn ones right now…

  30. inmytummy says:

    I always lick the tupperware too. Haha.

  31. Katie H. says:

    Awesome job on getting the early morning workouts in! Woohoo! I have overnight oats in my head now. Hmm, breakfast tomorrow!

    I had a February goal of taking 28 hot yoga classes in 28 days. That may change though and I might just be getting more miles in. We’ll see!

  32. You sure were in the mood for oats! I haven’t had oatmeal in forrrrrever. I’m also mad jealous of all that delicious looking fruit! I bought a watermelon the other day because I was longing for something other than bananas/oranges/apples/grapes – and it was TOTALLY disappointing. Tasted like nothingness! So sad. Won’t you get here soon summer?!

  33. Kat says:

    I’m definitely with you on the ab work – it’s so easy to sleep in/push it aside/do anything else because it doesn’t really require the same time commitment, you know? I can’t wait to see what you do for that – I could always use some new inspiration!

  34. Alaina says:

    I definitely want to be better with my finances this month. And I have a 5k in March that I would like to start training for.

    Packing is a must for me too since we move out of our place at the end of the month! πŸ™‚

  35. I love dried cherries! And I’m always eating breakfast in the car too. My February goal should seriously be to wake up without five zillion snooze buttons and actually have time to sit down at the table and eat breakfast.

  36. Drink more water…like you read my mind! I’ve got a ton of studying to do, so another goal is to cut back on social media (rather than running or time with my partner) to achieve this professional goal!

  37. Pingback: Stop the Presses! | What Kate is Cooking

  38. Jessica says:

    Those are great goals! I need to drink more water too. What is peanut flour butter? I’ve seen it on a few blogs now, but I couldn’t find it at the grocery store.

  39. Pingback: Fridays Are For Pizza | What Kate is Cooking

  40. Pingback: Bye, February! | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

