Stop the Presses!

I interrupt this blog post before it begins to announce that (apparently) peanut flour has been discontinued! I have plans on cashing a paycheck and stocking up as soon as possible. If you are going to any Trader Joe’s within a 50 mile radius of me… I apologize in advance. Just kidding… but seriously πŸ™‚

I got an extra hour of sleep this morning by skipping the gym! I thought it would be a good idea to go in between classes this afternoon… not really.

My eats were pretty repetitive today. Breakfast quinoa-

Eggplant panini-

Pumpkin yogurt with a Vitatop- (doesn’t travel well!)

I also snacked on a ton of fruit and an apple with peanut flour butter later in the day.

I packed up all of my food, including dinner, to take to school with me. I have class on Wednesday nights, and I planned to work out in between dropping my sister off and going to class again (it’s a different campus.) Long story short- I ended up dropping the night class, thank God. I can take it next semester in Colorado, so I don’t have to worry about it transferring. Thank God!

A day of eats:

I ended up working out at 5 p.m. instead of 5 a.m. You know what the difference is between the two? All of the machines are taken! Ugh.

I came home to a rare sight- my sister making dinner! She and my mom were making stuffed peppers, and I wasn’t about to turn down a meal.

Remember when I said that I was going to cook for my family once a week? With my suddenly free night, I was going to cook for them, but they beat me to it!

A poblano pepper stuffed with black beans and veggie meat mixed with taco seasoning. I actually think I prefer poblanos to bell peppers for stuffing. This was so good! Food always tastes better when you don’t make it yourself, right? I asked my sister to plate it and photograph it for me too, but she wasn’t interested. Baby steps…

I missed the ‘vegan’ episode of Oprah yesterday, but I’ve read a few posts about it, and from the sound of things, she’s really pushing fake meat products, which has some people up in arms. My take? I don’t think fake meat products are especially delicious or should be the cornerstone of a healthy vegan diet, but once in a while, they can be pretty good!

Do you ever eat fake meat? I don’t particularly like most fake meat products, and they’re pretty expensive, but I do love Morningstar crumbles occasionally!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Stop the Presses!

  1. Alaina says:

    I like Morning Star “sausages”.

    Seriously, no peanut flour??? Just when I was starting to get into it! I think I need to stock up! πŸ™‚

  2. Gina says:

    Such sad news about the peanut flour! Clear the shelves like I did! πŸ™‚

  3. greekmelie says:

    You are totally right about the gym machines in the evenings! I hate that too!

    I don’t like fake meats. I have only tried them at restaurants and they never lived up to the expectations. I’ll take actual veggies and beans any time! The thing is, the reason I don’t eat meat is because I am not particularly fond of it and I don’t crave it. So, I figure, why try to imitate something I don’t even like in the first place?

  4. Casey says:

    I love fake meat! (well some fake meat)
    My favorites are tempeh and meatless balls.
    And I’m fuh-reaking out about the peanut flour. Is there anywhere else to get it besides TJ’s?

    • There’s a similar product that I’ve never tried called PB2 that’s sold online. I don’t know if it’s meant to be used for baking, like peanut flour is, but it’s basically powdered peanut butter.

  5. squigglefloey says:

    Aw that’s so sweet that you’re planning to cook for your fam πŸ™‚ Is your sis moving with you to CO? Too bad you won’t be in Cali anymore 😦 booo

  6. I am a fan of the Morningstar soy crumbles!! I don’t eat much fake meat otherwise though.

  7. edenseats says:

    Yes, its true that PF is being discontinued. But in all honesty, I never used it much. I like the “fatty peanut butter” and the peanut flour feels like a fake prada to me. If you want, I can buy to lots of bags because all the TJs near my house are fully stocked!

  8. i eat them a little! not everyday though as they aren’t too great for you!.. SO SAD about TJS peanut flour.. WHAT WILL WE DO!!!

  9. ~Jessica~ says:

    I don’t really eat fake meat myself as I’m a bit creeped out by the taste and texture of meat anyway, so wouldn’t want to replicate it!

    With the chickpea brownie, it wasn’t your recipe or concept that was wrong, it was my execution of it! I shouldn’t have used stevia and should have gone with agave instead πŸ™‚

    xxx

  10. Hannah says:

    Bwahaha! Soon you shall be like me in my wasteland of peanut-butter-bereftness! πŸ˜‰

  11. I do not like fake meat products and I also watched that oprah. She pushed ALOT of fake meat products instead of sharing wonderful recipes that contain unprocessed foods! I did not approve of that either but I’m not gonna be up and arms about it, although I did not feel it was a true portrayal of how the best way to eat vegan can be!

    • What I think is weird is that when she did her 3 week vegan experiment, she really focused on eating whole foods! I’m surprised she didn’t show that perspective. I still want to watch it!

  12. oh no! that’s terrible. if only there were more people out there like us that buy it regularly.

    I don’t really eat fake meat, and I didn’t see the Oprah episode but suspect it would have royally pissed me off. πŸ™‚

  13. I love stuffed poblanos. YUM. I have tried to do away with the faux meats. There are still a few I like to enjoy like Quorn products. I do keep Boca Burgers on hand for times when I need something FAST or need to take something with me to a gathering. For the most part, I make my own veggie burgers and even seitan.

  14. In general, if I want meat… I eat meat. However, I have had some of the meat substitutes and I don’t hate them. I certainly like the calorie difference. However, I’m not so much a fan of the price difference.

  15. I do like the Morningstar Farms crumbles too! I eat veggie burgers too. I have never tried tofu though I want to!

  16. Kristina says:

    I eat sunshine burgers-i’ve bought fake meat but it creeps me out sometimes.
    I have wanted to try a poblano pepper!!! I’ve had it in things but never stuffed!

  17. Kayla says:

    I am seriously so impressed that you eat so healthy on the go! Packing healthy in tupperware and planning ahead.. That is amazing and awesome, good job!

  18. I love the Boca chik’n burgers. πŸ™‚ Especially the spicy ones. πŸ™‚

    I just saw those Vitatops on Tuesday when I went to Target. They looked SO good! I love how they have a ton of fiber in them too. πŸ™‚

  19. Kat says:

    RIP peanut flour. Looks like the blogworld is going to need a new obsession!!

  20. Emily says:

    Peanut flour is being discontinued everywhere? Hmm… I never use it so I guess I shouldn’t start now, lol.

    I think fake meat is not as terrible as everyone makes it out to be. I think that certain vegetarians/vegans who have been living that lifestyle for years need to keep in mind that for most people to stop eating meat, its a huge transition. Some people eat meat at almost every meal, I think that “fake” meats are a way to introduce people how to cut real meat out of their diets. That being said, I think that a lot of them are overly processed and probably not much better in general for a person than real meat (with the except of certain veggie burgers) and should not be used as a staple in a vegetarian or vegan diet.

    I didn’t watch the Oprah episode either, but from other bloggers on twitter, I think the best point it got across was that we need to be conscious of the food in our body. I think it really did help to raise awareness. I might try to catch it at some point because I really love Michael Pollan. I think he’s really smart and his approach to food is so balanced.

    Okay, I’m off to eat some bacon πŸ˜‰
    hahaha just kidding πŸ˜€

    • I totally agree with you! I read a book called ‘Real Food’ that advocates eating organic, grass fed meat instead of fake meat. Her reasoning was that non-industrial meat isn’t bad for us- it’s the way industrial meat is processed, raised, and slaughtered that’s bad. Of course, a lot of people don’t agree with that from an ethical stand point, but I see her reasoning to avoid processed foods.

      I’ve read two of Michael Pollan’s books, so I would have liked to see him on there. I just can’t stand Oprah!

  21. runyogarepeat says:

    I didn’t watch it, but she should have shown unprocessed vegan foods. Maybe people thought that viewers wanted the quick and easy way to go vegan aka buy these fake meat products.

    I usually don’t eat fake meat products, only veggie burger type things. I’ve tried a few of them, and I just don’t like them that much.

    • I think she figured that Americans are so used to processed foods that they wouldn’t mind fake meat products. I guess from an ethical standpoint, it’s preferable- but I’m sure she was implying they’re healthier, which they’re not necessarily.

  22. I eat Morningstar Chikin Patties at work for lunch sometimes…and I have to admit…i LOVE the Morningstar veggie corn dogs! I used to eat them for my “healthy junk food” nights.

  23. I used to eat morning star all the time and consequently got sick of them after a while 😦 My true belief (and I hope I don’t offend anyone by saying this) is that humans are meant to be carnivores. While I don’t necessarily agree with the treatment of animals and the bi-products and chemicals that are put in our food nowadays, I think the protein and other nutritional benefits from meat is good for our bodies. Hopefully someday soon they can solve the problems with how meat is produced and packaged but for now, as long as you don’t consider “meat” as in a McDonalds Hamburger, I don’t see anything really wrong with it….

    • I’m torn on that- in some ways, I think it is possible for meat to be humanely raised, and I have no problem with other people eating meat. But, at this point in my life, eating meat just doesn’t feel right. Especially the kind of meat that you mentioned, which a lot of Americans eat. Interesting perspective!

  24. Sruthi says:

    I don’t believe in substituting fake food for real food. I do not eat anything fake.

  25. Lisa says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever had fake meat before—unless veggie burgers or lentil burgers count! The only thing I had a problem with regarding all the fake meat is that for people who have no knowledge about veganism…they may have ended up thinking it’s all about the fake meat. But…I thought the show was pretty PC and didn’t do anything that could totally make any one group furious. More exposure to eating more veg is good!

  26. Danielle says:

    I don’t know if I’ve ever eaten fake meat. It kind of scares me, actually. I’m not a vegetarian, so I just eat the real thing.
    Also, reading your blog has made me really want to try VitaTops. I’m not sure when I’m going to, but I’m betting that sometime soon I’m going to cave and buy some.

  27. AlisonM says:

    I eat fake meat sometimes. I really don’t get the hoo ha about it. I don’t base my entire diet around it, but sometimes it’s a quick and easy source of protein. And it’s useful when eating with non-veggies.

    Also, lol at food that doesn’t travel well — I eat a lot of that!

  28. Hey Kate! This is random, but what part of SoCal do you live in? We should arrange for you to hang out with some of us in LA! Shoot me an email – kaitlinwithhoney at gmail dot com.

  29. OliePants says:

    I don’t mind fake meat – like you said once in a while b/c it can be delicious – but I don’t think that being vegan or veggie means you spend all your time replacing meat. I think the best way to think about being vegan or vegetarian is to just enjoy the whole fruits, veggies and grains, instead of just planning on how to get the meat taste/effect.

  30. Olivia says:

    I eat wayy to much fake meat! I’m so new to this whole vegetarian thing so I find myself relying very heavily on soy products which is probably not so good! I’m trying to cut it down to 2 things a day though…still workin’ on it:) I seriously need to try a quinoa bowl, yours look so delicious everytime! and that eggplant panini-holy yum! (ps you and me are both lovin’ the vitatops lately! they’re so good!)

  31. Peggy says:

    I need to search for this peanut flour! I’m sure it’s just right in front of me in the Whole Food bulk bins!

  32. bakebooks says:

    You are so FREAKING popular ! Too many comments πŸ™‚ I have no TJ’s so never tried peanut flour – now I guess I won’t miss it? πŸ˜‰

    What’s the “white” on your breakfast mixture?

    Yeah, the Oprah episode was a bit of a let-down. I’m NOT veg or vegan either!! Haha – I do eat processed foods – I am NOT perfect or even close! – but I was dissapointed that was what they were showing. Then people are still stocking up on stuff with like 50 ingredients you can’t pronounce.

    I used to buy the Tofurkey a lot and still do on occasion, but mostly I’ve cut back on this stuff because I can’t afford it any longer.

    • It’s ricotta cheese- sooo delicious! I actually used to really like Tofurkey. When I became a vegan for the first time, I was used to eating turkey sandwiches, so Tofurkey helped ease the transition. It sounds very unappealing lately!

  33. inmytummy says:

    I think I’m the only one in the blogger world that wasn’t obsessed with pb flour or PB2.

    I like Morningstar Farms brand stuff for the most part and some other veggie burgers. I also like Trader Joe’s soysage.

  34. Pingback: Eating Like a Native | What Kate is Cooking

  35. Heather R says:

    I eat fake meat products, but I really only eat Morningstar Farms brand. I like those best!

  36. to people who have asked if there are other places to obtain peanut flour…
    http://www.localharvest.org/peanut-flour-C14227?r=fr

    slash, if you google it you’ll find other providers πŸ™‚ fear not, the addiction can continue! haha. but do we have serious confirmation that it’s being discontinued? upsetting… tho i admittedly haven’t had a whole lot of it haha. there’s tonnnns at my tjs, so i might have to stock up, but i dunno…

    ❀
    n

    • THANK YOU!!! Whew, I can rest easy knowing it’s available elsewhere πŸ™‚ Emily from Daily Garnish emailed TJ’s and they confirmed it was discontinued. Apparently, though, if there’s enough complaints, they may keep it! Unlikely… but worth a try πŸ™‚

  37. divasrun says:

    MMM, stuffed peppers!!! Those look YUM!

  38. I totally ordered a four pack of the TJ’s PB flour off Amazon as soon as I heard the news… I love that stuff! 😦

  39. Jessica says:

    I do eat fake meats, quite a bit. I only became a vegetarian in the past year, and I didn’t give it up because I didn’t like the taste or texture – I actually love both, so fake meat is a good substitute for me. When my husband eats a real burger, I’m perfectly happy with my MorningStar black bean burgers. And if I’m wanting comfort food like chicken pot pie, I can make tofu pot pie and feel just as satisfied.

  40. Besides a phase with Boca Burgers that I went through a couple of years ago (and now cannot even stand the site of them), I just tried meatless products for the first time last year. I LOVE tempeh and firm tofu, but I try not to eat it more than once or twice a week. I’m not a vegetarian, but I really don’t eat a lot of meat. I don’t chose the “fake meat” to try to substitute something in my diet, I eat it because I like the taste! I think people need to stop and think about something before they start buying stock in “meatless” products…they are just as processed as some of the non-vegan/vegetarian foods that Americans eat!

Leave a Reply

