Fridays Are For Pizza

Thank God it’s Friday!

Simple breakfast-

Kashi, almond milk, bananas, and peanut butter. This was my first time eating cereal with fruit and nut butter, and it kept me full so much longer than a plain bowl of cereal. I have six containers of almond milk to get through, so I have a feeling I’m going to be eating a lot of cereal. πŸ™‚

I was going to take a rest day today, but since my sister needed the car, she dropped me off at work and I ran home. This is only possible due to the fact that I can get away with wearing running clothes to my job! It’s just over 3 miles, and I was actually going to run a bit longer, but I really wanted lunch instead.

I scrambled some egg whites and stuffed them in a pita with spinach.

Tofu mousse was consumed in lieu of yogurt (I’m out!)

As well as an apple with peanut butter. I need to start using my peanut flour more sparingly until I stock up!

Since I had the night off, I thought it would be a perfect night to cook for my family- one of my February goals. I emailed everyone to see what they wanted, and pizza was the consensus.

I googled some recipes, and came across Bobby Flay’s grilled shrimp and cilantro pesto pizza. I decided to go the Sandra Lee route and make it ‘semi-homemade.’ πŸ™‚ Note- This is probably the only non-vegetarian recipe you will see on here!

Shrimp and Pesto Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1 pizza crust (I used store bought, but homemade would be even better!)
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/3-1/2 cup pesto
  • 3/4 cup frozen, pre-cooked shrimp
  • 1 cup feta cheese
  • Olive oil, as needed
  • Toppings as desired (I used black olives)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

  • Brush the pizza crust with olive oil and spread parmesan cheese on top. Bake for 5-6 minutes. Remove from oven.

  • While the crust is cooking, coat shrimp with olive oil. Heat a skillet and sautee the shrimp until browned.
  • Top the pizza crust with pesto…

Olives…

Shrimp…

And feta.

  • Put back in the oven and bake for 10-12 minutes. Broil until golden.

Verdict? The family loved it πŸ™‚

The reason I decided to make a non-vegetarian pizza was because I knew I wouldn’t be eating it. I feel really weird after eating cheese lately, and I am sadly going to cut it out of my diet for a week or so and see if that makes me feel better. So sad!

Instead, I had some tabbouleh (recipe soon!) with tofu and kabocha, as well as some grapes and carrots.

Since I couldn’t have one of my favorite foods, I consoled myself with ice cream. πŸ™‚

Who handles the cooking in your house? Do you cook for your family?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

88 Responses to Fridays Are For Pizza

  1. Fridays definitely are for pizza! We had it for dinner tonight too! πŸ™‚

  2. Carlyn says:

    I usually cook about half the week and my mom cooks the other half. It really just depends if there’s a recipe I really want to try out or not! Those grapes look so big and delicious πŸ˜€ I wish I could make shrimp dishes but unfortunately my mom is severely allergic to shell fish….*sigh*

  3. Yummy! Do you think this would work on a whole wheat tortilla?

  4. I handle the cookin round here!
    I LOVE pizza! I had some a few days ago myself!

    I still need to try the cereal with nut butter. I always have it in my oatmeal!

    Oh, just send the almond milk over here! Its my favvvv. However, you could use them in green smoothies! They are excellent in Green Smoothies!

  5. that is an absolutely beautiful pizza… props to you!

  6. Why on Earth do you have 6 things of almond milk?? And I thought I was a food hoarder! πŸ˜‰

    Nice pizza pie! Such a great combination of ingredients! I just made a cilantro pesto the other day. First time ever trying it…definitely better than regular pesto in my opinion. I like basil, but I don’t want to feel like I’m eating an entire plant!

    So sad about your tummy! At least kabocha was there to the rescue! Can’t wait for the recipe!

  7. AlisonM says:

    Your first time eating cereal with fruit and nut butter? Where have you been!? It’s the best thing ever!! πŸ™‚

    Really great pizza. I had a rough day wavering close to the edge yesterday with veganism. A friend’s banoffee pie REALLY tempted me, so I’m glad I didn’t read this post till this morning — it might have sent me over the edge!

  8. i LOVE to cook for my family! but they aren’t vegan so they aint such big fans of my food! ahah i try to show them how vegan food can be good though!
    that is such a perfect distance that your work is 3 miles! a nice run!

  9. ~Jessica~ says:

    I’m a bit of a stroppy madam and won’t cook meat or fish, so I don’t tend to cook for my family because we eat so differently. And they view most of my food as ‘weird’.

    Until my Mum’s health deteriorated, she was kind enough to cook most things for me as I am a disaster in the kitchen, but now the duties are delegated more evenly.

    Can’t wait for that recipe ~ dinner looks great.

    And I tried your tofu mousse ~ LOVED it! I bought six more packets of silken tofu purely for that purpose…

    xxx

  10. divasrun says:

    I cook if they come to my house sometimes, but I have a small place and so I don’t have much room to eat anywhere if my parents come over. I let them have the bar and I will eat at the coffee table or kitchen counter so I can face them.
    All this looks SO good! Now I’m debating what to have for breakfast! Pizza leftovers sound good – unfortunately, I don’t have any!

  11. Ice cream is always best for consoling! I definitely do the cooking in my house, though my husband should cook more often, he’s really good at it. πŸ™‚

  12. We had pizza for dinner last night too! Yours looks amazing! I’m usually the person who cooks at our house, but my husband does help if I need it and he is the person who grills!

  13. Alaina says:

    Fridays were always pizza day when I was growing up. My mom was always the one that cooked; it was rare that I saw my dad cook.

    Now, my husband and I cook together. I love doing that. πŸ™‚

  14. Emily says:

    Oh yumm, I love pizza and I love pesto. I think I could just eat pesto with a spoon sometimes πŸ™‚ I wish I loved cilantro, but its just a little too strong for me. I don’t mind if its garnishing something, but sometimes its too overpowering if there is too much of it on a dish. Basil on the other hand is my favorite thing EVER. My parents had pizza last night, but I ended up going out to this awesome restaurant with a friend that had fried brie (instead of fried mozzarella). Umm, SO GOOD!!!!!!!

    I cook frequently in my house. Both my parents can cook, but I enjoy it the most and they like when I cook πŸ™‚

  15. I’ve never made a pesto pizza! They’re sooo delicious though πŸ™‚

  16. Monica says:

    What a nice treat for your family! I wish my brothers cooked for me! πŸ˜‰

    I cook for my husband, but he is sometimes in charge of breakfast.

  17. I am all about Pizza Fridays. We make ours vegan using Daiya. You might also do a hummus “cheese” too?

    • I love Daiya, but I don’t buy it anymore cause it’s so freaking expensive! Thanks for the idea about the hummus ‘cheese.’ My cousin made a pizza once using hummus and tomato sauce (no cheese) and it was AMAZING! I wish I had thought of that!

  18. Jenny says:

    I like what you did with your cereal. I haven’t had cereal in a long time just because within like 2 hours I’m starving 😦 That pizza looks delicious! I’m planning on making one for Valentines Day with the bf since we are staying in. And I thought I was the only crazy one who mixes ice cream with cereal πŸ˜‰

  19. Kristina says:

    I usually cook for myself but W cooks once in a while and I LOVE it

  20. bakebooks says:

    I’ve had pizza twice this week πŸ™‚ Cheese makes me feel funny too – but everything does and I love it too much…judging by the vast amounts I go through…

    You could always try a cheese-less pizza for yourself! As long as there’s dough, LOTS of sauce and veggies – it’s all good right? πŸ™‚

    Is that Fiber 1 in your ice cream? Looks good!

  21. Lisa says:

    I waaaaant that pizza!!! I love pesto and shrimp. Why do I never make that?!
    In my house, there are only two of us, so we eat together sometimes and sometimes not. My counterpart is pretty picky, so he often makes what we eat together!

  22. Tofu mousse?! Recipe PLEASE!! (:

  23. Sigh… I think everyone had a pizza friday and I feel like I really missed out! I’ve had way too many sweet things recently… need… savory… now…

  24. you’re right – Friday’s are for pizza. that looks delicious. I’m a family of one, so I do all the cooking. And according to me, it’s all delicious πŸ™‚

  25. Jessica says:

    It’s nice of you to cook for your family! Since becoming a vegetarian, I haven’t cooked with meat at all. I know it might be kind of selfish, but I try to make delicious vegetarian meals for the non-vegetarians I cook for.

    My family is just me and my husband for now, and I usually handle the cooking. Every now and then my husband will grill some meat for himself, but otherwise, if I’m not cooking, we order out. I really like to cook though, so I don’t mind πŸ™‚

    • I don’t think I would cook with meat, but shrimp didn’t really bother me. Not only am I clueless as to how to cook meat, I would just feel weird! My family doesn’t reall eat that much meat anyway, so I don’t think they mind.

  26. runyogarepeat says:

    My family loves when I’m home on breaks because I cook for them! They eat most of it (my little sister is a little hesitant with some of my foods), but they definitely love all the baked goods I make!

    • My family enjoys my baked goods, as long as they don’t have banana, beans, spinach, or anything weird in it… which is pretty much everything, so I appease them by making them ordinary treats πŸ™‚

  27. Amanda says:

    I love bananas and pb in my cereal or with yogurt. The healthy fats definitely keep me fuller longer.

    I do a lot of the cooking in our house but Andy always helps, which is so nice!

  28. Kat says:

    I’m definitely the cook in our house – Marcus will chop anything but onions, I do all of the measuring/heating elements.

    Sandra Lee’s Semi-Homemade kills me – every episode her kitchen looks totally different and it’s like…wtf?

  29. We’re doing pizza tonight. Can’t wait! And I usually do the cooking, but my husband will do it when I can’t. It’s fairly even most of the time.

  30. Gina says:

    I always put fruit in my cereal, but I’ve never tried nut butter! Sounds so delicious, can’t wait to try it!

    I ❀ pizza nights! There's nothing more comforting.

  31. I do the majority of the cooking in my house, but it is just my husband and I. Once in a while he cooks for me, but he does NOT clean up!
    The pizza with feta looks yummy, glad your family liked it!

  32. The pizza reminds me of a BBQ Shrimp pizza I made last year. Shrimp is so good on pizza and I bet it was great with the pesto base!

  33. Peggy says:

    Glad your family loved the pizza! It looks really great! Andy and I take turns cooking (I cook a week, and he cooks the next). It’s a system I think works well for us!

  34. Your family are very lucky to have an awesome cook like you around! πŸ˜€

    Haha I totally console myself with my fave foods too! Great minds think alike and all that! πŸ˜›

  35. Errign says:

    I do most of the cooking because I like to cook and I’m usually hungry first haha. My dad would eat pasta every night or cheese & crackers, because he’s lazy. He’s actually a super good cook!

  36. Fridays are for BURGERS πŸ˜‰

  37. paijery says:

    That’s so cute that you cook for your family!
    My boyfriend and I eat pretty differently so we usually just cook for ourselves but when I go home to my parent’s house we all usually cook together πŸ˜€
    Can’t wait for the recipe!

  38. Olivia says:

    I love Peanut butter in cereal!!! I agree that fruit and nut butters make cold cereal way more filling; otherwise I could seriously eat the whole box and not be full! It’s so funny you mentioned you have 6 things of almond milk to use up because I too have 6-exactly 6, cartons to use too! only one of them is chocolate though, which bums me out because I officially love the chocolate flavor!

  39. sophia says:

    Ah, every day should be pizza day!

    I’m sad too that you can’t do cheese….have you tried raw cheese? I heard it’s a bit more digestible?

    • I’ve never had raw cheese before. It’s not that I can’t digest cheese- it doesn’t even really hurt my tummy. It just makes my whole body feel weird- kind of the same feeling I get when I ride my bike outside. Haha, I know- I’m weird!

  40. My family is me, my husband, and our two kids. It’s tough because most nights we can’t all eat together. My husband gets home from work after my son has eaten. My husband used to cook for us around 8:30, and I’d make chicken nuggets or something for my son. Now I’m trying to feed him better (new year’s resolution!), so I cook for everyone. I usually eat with my son, and my husband eats when he gets home. I love weekends when we all get to eat together! Tonight I made us maple salmon and couldn’t believe my 4 year old liked it!

  41. We’re breakfast twins! I definitely rocked the Kashi + Almond milk all week (only I didn’t top with a banana…definitely need to add that this week). I’m also looking forward to the taboulleh recipe–I never get tired of that stuff!

    I love getting creative with pizza recipes, too–cilantro pesto sounds like a fantastic twist on the usual.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend πŸ™‚

  42. I’m obsessed with shrimp and pesto together! such a fun and tasty combo =) I finally found local caught shrimp in my town and i’ve been obsessed with it! ❀

  43. I found I could eat goat cheese when I couldn’t tolerate cow’s milk dairy, but I’ve been weaning that out now too. It was definitely hard in the beginning, and still is sometimes, but one of my vows in 2011 is to honor my body’s allergies and sensitivities. I try to focus on the better health aspect more than what I’m missing out on, if that helps any! xo

  44. Sarah says:

    mmmm cereallllll! I used to put nut butter in mine but i was adding so much cereal that my stomach was exploding so i cut back πŸ˜‰
    I cook for myself everyday and when i see my family i usually do end up cooking at least one more for them because they never eat the way i do and they find it new and interesting! HA πŸ™‚
    They are pretty big on repetition and eat a lot of meat based meals. Although my dad does eat cereal for dinner a lot ( i guess i know where i get it from!)

Leave a Reply

