Taking It Easy

I felt like a normal person this morning! I woke up without an alarm (at 7… felt so good), got ready, put on real clothes, and made breakfast. It was so nice to sit down to a real breakfast without rushing to the gym or school! I love rest days 🙂

Simple Whole Wheat Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Directions:

  • Mix, mix, mix and cook! Couldn’t get any easier.

Lunch was packed into Tupperware and tucked into my purse to smuggle in the movies. I saw True Grit with my sister, which I really didn’t care for 😦 I brought vanilla yogurt with a Vitatop, two clementines, and roasted a head of broccoli and put it on top of my tabbouleh.

Tabbouleh

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup bulgur, dry
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 bunch parsley, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 cup scallions
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Prepare the bulgur by cooking it with 2 cups of water. Let simmer until water is absorbed, then let it sit for 15 minutes.
  • When bulgur has cooled, add to a large bowl. Add zucchini and green onions, and stir until combined. Add lemon juice, olive oil, and salt and pepper and stir again. Refrigerate until ready to use. (It gets better overnight!)

I went to the library after the movie and spent an obscene amount of time doing math homework. I walked the mile home to get my legs moving a little, and came home starving!

Snackage:

Dinner was delightful.

I mixed my leftover kabocha squash, black beans, ricotta cheese, and taco seasoning together, put it in a whole wheat tortilla, and grilled it to perfection. Let it be noted that this is the first time I’ve made a burrito that actually stayed together while I ate it!

I gave my sister a bite and she begged me to make it for dinner tomorrow night, so there’s a good chance you’ll be seeing this again 🙂

Dessert was ice cream eaten while watching Jeopardy. Really… does it get better than that?

I was feeling a little antsy from my lack of movement today, so I did some weights and ab work (yay!) while watching TV. I used to feel really guilty taking rest days, but I’m trying to not let if affect me anymore. Since I worked out 6 days this week, rather than feeling justified in taking a day off, I felt a little guilty this morning for not making it a straight week. My workouts aren’t exactly super intense every day, so I didn’t really feel like I needed a rest day, which may be why I was feeling guilty. It did feel nice to not have anywhere to go this morning, though!

Do you get rest day guilt? How do you overcome it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Taking It Easy

  1. Nice burrito girl!!! Delectably delicious!

  2. Yeah, I sometimes feel guilty, but it’s more of a when I don’t workout, I don’t feel like my real self. It’s like exercise brings something out of me. I love it. But I get what you mean. I just remind myself that not only does my body want to move, but it also requires rest and relaxation too. 🙂

  3. Kat says:

    I slept in till 7 as well and it was glorious!! I almost never get to sleep in that late. I totally have issues with exercise guilt. I take 1 rest day a week, and on that day I go to bed excited for my workout the next day lol I just cant wait to work my muscles again!

  4. tabbouleh sounds awesome!! ihave been wanting to try bulgur! yeah i feel weird on rest days but i take 2 a week and to be honest.. i say to myself.. ‘you need this so you can perform BETTER tomorrow’

  5. AlisonM says:

    Way to get some strength work in! I definitely get rest day guilt, but this weekend I’ve sat on my butt the whole time and actually feel pretty good for it. I think sometimes we don’t actually realise how much we need to rest until we stop for a while.

  6. Hannah says:

    Um, seeing as I never exercise, I’d have to say I cope pretty well with avoiding rest day guilt 😉 Love the look of those pancakes! I wonder if oatbran would work instead of wheatbran?

  7. Euniece says:

    yum whole wheat pancakes my fav!!! Sometimes I do regret rest day guilt, but usually if I just study a little more than usual that day then it feels all balanaced out 🙂

  8. Jessica says:

    I typically only workout 4 days a week, which means I have 3 rest days built into my schedule. I only feel guilty if I take extra rest days. I’ve found that when I take rest days, my training days are much better – I don’t feel sore or tired and I’m able to get better quality runs in than when I try to run too many days in a row. If I feel antsy on my rest days, I will walk or do other strength training exercises.

    I used to work out 5-6 days a week, so I did feel a little guilty at first when I started only running 4 days a week. But I got over it by realizing how much better i am able to perform when I actually take more rest days.

    • If I were running every day, I would definitely take more rest days! Running is so physically exhausting- you need them 🙂 I took plenty of rest days when I was training for a marathon. (Maybe too many…)

  9. Olivia says:

    I love relaxing weekend mornings! Your pancakes look super yummy:)

  10. Kat says:

    I make Fridays my rest day (because that’s when I switch from evening weekday running to weekend morning running) so I skip the guilt and enjoy the extra time with friends. You know, make up for all of the happy hour I miss out on during the week 😉

  11. inmytummy says:

    I normally do 2 rest days a week and feel great about that. I do feel guilty, however, if I do 3 rest days. But sometimes it happens.

  12. I do not get rest day guilt. Your body needs rest just as much as it needs activity. I love days when I have nothing that has to be done:)

  13. Kristina says:

    Sunday is usually my rest day, but I took one earlier in the wk, but i’m def struggling to get myself going! I love waking up with no plans to over exert myself, haha! I get guilt, but then I think of it rationally and in the end it will benefit you!

  14. As a mommy of two little boys, I rarely get anything like a rest day. But when I do, I savour every single moment. Absolutely no guilt whatsoever!!!!!

  15. I have a lot of guilt over resting! Because for me rest stems to more rest…like this weekend. I’m on week two of a cold or something and it is really holding me back.

  16. Erika says:

    Glad you had a great rest day! That wrap looks delicious! 🙂

  17. Jenny says:

    Those pancakes look amazing! And I feel the same when I’m not being so productive but it’s nice to have a day to yourself and just relax.

  18. Gina says:

    My weeks are usually super crazy, so I never feel guilty about a lazy weekend 🙂

  19. I definitely feel guilty taking rest days – convincing myself that my body needs the rest, even if it feels ok, etc. sometimes helps. It’s so tough though, I know! You deserved a nice, relaxing day 🙂

  20. runyogarepeat says:

    Sometimes I do, but my body needs a break, and I always feel better after it. I’ve been having intense workouts lately with lots of spin classes & weights & yoga, so my rest day this week felt so nice.

  21. Sana says:

    No guilt here! I enjoy anytime I get to be a bum. Aka today. Sweats and my hair in a bun!

  22. Always good to give yourself a break, even just for mental rest! I usually give myself 1-2 rest days a week. Since my work schedule can get a bit hectic and I never know if I’m going to have an easy vs super hard day, I just play it by ear what day(s) I rest on. I never really feel guilty about it, because I know that I need it (even if it is to just maintain my sanity!).

    That burrito sounds delish! I am so making that with some of my kabocha stash!

  23. greekmelie says:

    Haha! I wake up at 7am and that’s an early morning! 🙂 I never feel guilty for rest days, especially the ones that are in program. I feel like I deserver them! Now, things are different if the rest days are more than the workouts…

  24. I love my rest days until the end of the day…I’m trying to lose a few lbs before my birthday and, even though logically rest days are important, I always feel that’s a day wasted. I try to take rest days on Fridays – I need it by the end of the work week (since I exercise in the mornings) and also because I can get a longer workout in on the weekends.

  25. I love that you started this post off by saying that you feel like a normal person. 😉 A day of rest is so good! And it can be hard to enjoy a day of rest without any guilt, but it’s so important to have that time. I always know my body will feel better so it’s important to me to have that time. 🙂

  26. Pingback: Something Old, Something New | What Kate is Cooking

  27. Pingback: Day 4- Yoga! | What Kate is Cooking

  28. Pingback: Takes the Cake | What Kate is Cooking

  29. Pingback: Worth It? | What Kate is Cooking

  30. Pingback: Thou Shalt Not Fear Pancakes | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

