Something Old, Something New

Same old breakfast…

(Applesauce breakfast cookie with honey nut cream cheese)

Same old lunch:

Tabbouleh, yogurt with a Vitatop, tons of fruit, apple with peanut flour butter (I forgot my camera at home!)

Same old dinner:

Squash, beans, ricotta, taco seasoning… same as yesterday πŸ™‚

Something new…

(Source)

Body Pump!

I did it- I faced my fears and went! I was super intimidated, but I ended up enjoying the class. Pros and cons:

Pros:

  • I actually did strength training for more than 10 minutes at a time
  • I liked both of the instructors
  • I had plenty of time to get set up before the class started
  • The instructors explained everything as we went along
  • I feel like I got a great workout
  • I didn’t die!

Cons:

  • Not enough core work
  • My knees hurt when I do squats or lunges
  • No hot instructor πŸ˜‰

All in all, I really enjoyed the class! It was really hard, but I used pretty light weights so I didn’t get TOO burnt out. I knew that starting small would help me in the end- by the time we were almost done, those ‘light’ weights were killing me!

I still prefer cycling, but I think I’ll always like cardio over strength training. This was a great way to get in some weights, though. I was pushed way harder than I could ever push myself! I really want to do this once a week. The class is at 5:30 pm, and I don’t like working out in the evenings, but it’s just not possible to take a morning class because of school. Who knows? This may become a new habit!

Have you ever taken Body Pump before?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to Something Old, Something New

  1. Heather says:

    Never taken body pump myself, but I need to start some sort of strength training. Maybe I’ll look into it and see if there is a class in my area!

  2. No, I’ve never done Body Pump before. At the gym we go to (Spectrum), I think they offer it, but I’ve never taken the chance to try it. I need to though. It sounds like so much fun! πŸ™‚

  3. Hannah says:

    I think we all know about my relationship to exercise. So far this year, I’ve been on three 20m runs. WOOT!

    Also, I’m a big fan of tried-n-true meals. Bring on the known deliciousness!

  4. kat says:

    I want to take bodypump so bad!! I need to join a gym!

  5. Gina says:

    Dying to try BodyPump! I don’t belong to a gym though because I have a free gym at my school. Hopefully I’ll get to try one soon though πŸ™‚

  6. Kayla says:

    That’s awesome, so glad to hear it was a good experience! I’ve never taken any classes at my gym! But I know I’d really push myself in a class setting than if I just do it by myself!

  7. Ive never taken a body pump class. It sounds pretty intense though . . . Im glad you enjoyed it. I am however, really disappointed by the lack of a hot instructor. Isnt that the best part?

  8. paijery says:

    I have been to body pump once…no hot instructor either 😦
    I need motivation to get back to class!!!

  9. I have not taken body pump, but I’d like to give it a try someday!

  10. Erica D says:

    That’s exciting! I think I tried BodyPump with my mom when I was in junior high and was majorly freaked out; I had never even strength trained before! However, I’d like to give it another go sometime.

  11. I have never tried “body pump” before but I think I did something equivalent to it in Aerobics this year!

  12. AlisonM says:

    No hot instructor!? You make me laugh πŸ˜‰

    You know that squats, lunges and military presses will all work your core? It might not feel like it too much at the time, but compound exercises like that are some of the best. Way more functional than sit ups πŸ™‚

  13. Not having a hot instructor is a GOOD thing- they won’t see you get all sweaty and stuff! πŸ˜›

    I LOVE BodyPump!! I go twice a week, and have been for a few months. The results are AMAZING! I still prefer running too, but I love Pump as well! πŸ˜€

  14. I’m the same way with the same foods daily-i’m really hoping for blogging to take me out of the rut, but it’s not…haha.
    I’ve heard the same complaints about body pump! They offer the class at another gym but i’ve never tried it…

  15. At least you tried it!!! Looks like it was mostly a “pro” list so that’s good. I’ve not tried this type of class. If squats hurt your knees – I suggest a patellar strap. It saved my left knee.

  16. Peggy says:

    A girl on my volleyball team teaches Body Pump and is always trying to get me to go to her class. But I’ve definitely been intimidated because I have very little to no upper body strength. I think I may give it a try though… you’ve convinced me =)

  17. I’ve never taken body pump – it sounds a little scary, but I’d definitely like a good workout! I don’t like working out in the evenings either, but love doing Bikram yoga at night, for some reason.

  18. runyogarepeat says:

    I’ve always heard great things about Body Pump, but it kinda scares me strength training for an hour! I need to find a class near me and try it out, I wish my gym at school offered it. Good review on it – it makes me a little less scared!

  19. SO jealous! i cnt wait to try classes at a gym! ahahah looks like the pros out weight the cons but the no hot instructor one.. holds some weight!

  20. So glad you had a good experience at body pump! Sorry there wasn’t any eye candy, haha!

  21. I used to be all about the cardio but trust me, incorporate weights several times a week and the results speak for themselves! I promise your cardio work outs will improve the more strength you do!

  22. Jenny says:

    Love those meals! And I’m the total opposite. I love love love strength training way more than cardio πŸ˜›

  23. I’ve never gotten into strength training with weights. I feel most comfortable when using my own body weight.

    Good luck with Body Pump!! Too bad about no hottie instructor πŸ™‚

  24. emily says:

    Good for you for going to body pump! I always think it’s a little intimidating to go to a class by myself. My knees also hurt sometimes when I tried it, and also, my elbows?! I also would much rather do cardio than weight train. πŸ™‚

  25. Tracey says:

    I’ve never taken Body Pump before but it is something I would like to try in the future. It looks like a great workout!

  26. I have never tried Body Pump, but I have heard great things about it. I need to see if there is a class near me. I would love to try it!

  27. I’ve never taken body pump before but would love to try it out sometime! I really enjoy strength training and the format of the class sounds fun.

    Hope you can fit it in and maybe end up liking it more after a few more times.

  28. Olivia says:

    I loved your pros and cons! Sorry about the non-hot instructor, that’s always a negative:( hehe but I’ve been looking into body pump classes for awhile now so I loved hearing your thoughts!

  29. Runeatrepeat says:

    Where do you take Body Pump? My lame gym doesn’t have it.

  30. I like something new and something old in my meals… keeps things (yummy) and familiar. πŸ˜‰

    Body pump- I have taken it- and liked it- although now, I need heavier weights and slightly less cardio. I think it’s a fantastic place to get familiar with weights though.

  31. Euniece says:

    oh body pump sounds like something i should try! i have the weakest arms!

  32. I’ve never have taken a body pump class—I want to! But I’m a little hesitant…it doesn’t sound so bad though πŸ™‚

    Maybe I’ll give it a shot one of these days…

  33. Awesome that you tried body pump!! I love trying new workouts!!

  34. Errign says:

    I’ve never taken body pump but I liked the didn’t die bit. πŸ™‚

  35. So glad you enjoyed your first Body Pump class πŸ™‚ I’ve never taken a body pump class, but I LOVE strength training! Unfortunately they don’t offer it here, so I’ve got to do my strength stuff solo.

    Hope you’re having a great week so far!

  36. Kimberly says:

    Congrats on tackling a new class!! Glad to hear you had a pretty good time…and didn’t die, of course πŸ˜› silly girl.

    I have taken body pump class in the past. Like you, I prefer cardio though. I went to the class a few times before bugging out and hitting up the class before it which was more high energy & adrenaline pumping, plus more moving around. But, it is a good way to get your strength training in, so I stay stick with it! πŸ™‚

  37. I have never taken body pump before, but I am pretty sure I would like it. I love that the con was no hot instructor…I guess you need something nice to look at to motivate you! That is awesome!

  38. I’ve never taken it, but have always thought it sounded like a good class!

  39. I definitely love the reasons you liked it. All I need for strength is to have someone keep me going and I’ll be able to actually deal with the free weights…

    Bummer on no hot instructor. Because that would totally help, too… :p

  40. Kat says:

    I’ve never tried body pump, but lady let me tell you, I have totally had eating-repeat days like yours. It’s a lifestyle. But when you find something good, why switch-it-up, right?

  41. Amanda says:

    My gym doesn’t have body pump. I really, really want to take it! How exciting!

  42. The one I work at doesn’t have it, but the one I pay for does thankfully!

  43. Monica says:

    No, but I have always wanted to try it! I just need to find a gym in my area that offers it. πŸ™‚

  44. I’m with you…I like strength training, but I love cardio! Plus, my body responds better/faster to cardio! Glad you enjoyed your class and didn’t die! That’s ALWAYS a plus! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

