Too Much Time On My Hands

Anyone catch the Styx reference? šŸ™‚

I didn’t really have too much time on my hands today, but I have to say that my time management skills are really improving!

To make it to a fitness class today as part of my challenge, I had another early morning to make it to cycling at 5:45. Remember how I talked about how I don’t like to wash my hair if I can help it? There is just no way I can get away with not washing my hair after cycling. I am a sweaty beast! For that reason, I usually avoid cycling before I have to be somewhere, because it takes me forever to blow dry and straighten my hair. Coupled with the fact that my sister is also getting ready at the same time as I do, and that we share a bathroom and a blow dryer / hair straightener… do you see why I don’t wash my hair in the morning if I can help it?

I came home pouring sweat, and had resigned myself to going to class with wet hair. Miracle of miracles, my sister had already done her hair by the time I got out of the shower, and I had time to do my hair before we left! I realize this sounds really trivial to most people, but you have no idea what my hair looks like when it’s not straightened. You never will, either šŸ™‚ Take my word for it… it is positively beastly.

Not only did I have time to do my hair, I made myself an epic bowl of oatmeal.

IĀ  made myself egg white oatmeal a la Allie, and used almond milk instead of water. I couldn’t tell the difference, but egg whites in oatmeal = genius. I topped it with a Vitatop and honey nut cream cheese. I was feeling pretty smug as I sat down to enjoy it šŸ™‚

Unfortunately, it was six hours before I ate lunch, and I was ready to eat someone anything when I walked in the door after class!

The salad so nice, she made it thrice! Same as yesterday. I may be boring, but it is amazing.

I was daydreaming about cinnamon Cheerios during class (what’s new?) They taste so much like graham crackers, I was envisioning making a graham cracker like crust out of them and making a filling to go inside, like a mini cheesecake.

I blended some Cheerios with applesauce to get it moist, but my food processor is really weak, and it wasn’t working out. I just smooshed the mixture onto the bottom of a bowl and topped it with tofu mousse and called it done. Not quite what I had in mind, but it was still good!

I was still hungry an hour later, so I had an apple with PB flour.

Finally satiated!

After work, I made myself a hummus and egg sandwich, yogurt, and some clementines. I ate them in about 30 seconds. I was starving!

Off to bed I go. I am wiped!

How do you handle getting ready in the mornings when you’re crunched for time? Let’s just say I would rather have sweaty hair than skip a good breakfast… šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Too Much Time On My Hands

  1. Casey says:

    I try to prep as much as I can the night before. That means setting out my coffee mug, bag, and a pre-made breakfast.
    I don’t trust myself to remember ANYTHING in the morning šŸ˜‰

  2. greekmelie says:

    I had the same egg sandwich for dinner too! My mornings are usually less hectic than that because I don’t workout in the mornings and I shower before I go to bed. When I have no time to eat breakfast at home I prepare something to get to school. It works, unless it’s today and I forget my perfectly prepared meals on the kitchen counter!!

  3. squigglefloey says:

    That’s so creative with the cinna cherrios! Good try! They are totally addictive, my roommate bought a whole big box from Costco so I tried some the other day — too good

  4. Hannah says:

    I love your attempt at cheesecake! Hilarious šŸ™‚ (And a bit sad-making for me as we ain’t got no cinnamon cheerios here! Or barely any cinnamon-flavoured cereals, come to think of it…)

  5. Errign says:

    I usually shower at night, so I don’t run into those issues but when I do, I’m all about just toweling off the sweat/baby wiping if that means I can have breakfast. I am a super quick shower and have such low maintenance hair though, so I hardly ever am that short on time that I can’t shower!

  6. Kristina says:

    I HATE getting in the shower any time earlier than 7 am-it’s like a shock to reality! KMS makeover spray works wonders for post workout greasy head;)

  7. Erika says:

    I need to buy Vitatops! I’ve held off for so long because they’re pretty expensive, but I can’t resist anymore! You eat them everyday! šŸ˜‰
    It’s tempting…

  8. i WOULD SO rather have sweaty hair than skip breakfast! i could never skip it and i could never skip a good one!.. ahh you just reminded me how much i miss tofu mousse!

  9. BrittFit says:

    multitasking: coffee and hair or makeup and checking blogs!

  10. Oh girl, I hear ya! If I don’t have time to do my hair, you better believe that it’ll be in a ponytail, bun or braids. Anything to keep it somewhat contained, haha! I usually shower in the afternoon or at night time so I don’t have to deal with being rushed in the morning. šŸ™‚

  11. I try to shower the night before and have all my clothes set out the next day so I just wet my hair, do makeup then dry/style. I do eat breakfast at my office though. I prep my oatmeal the night before then heat it up when I get to work. Have you ever tried the dry shampoo? I know some people love it.

  12. I have not tried egg white in oatmeal. Do you just drop it in the pot at the beginning? I’ve tried cottage cheese in oatmeal and was not a fan.

  13. Jess says:

    I skip makeup and actually doing my hair. Setting out my clothes the night before helps, too!

  14. I agree that I always make time for a good breakfast in the mornings. If I know I am going to be crunched for time, I try to plan ahead and cook something that’s quick. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day! šŸ™‚

  15. AlisonM says:

    I am so with you on breakfast over hair! And makeup. And an outfit that actually matches.. šŸ˜‰

  16. How have you liked getting up that early to workout? Every time I say I am going to do it, that alarm clock gets snoozed really fast! I think it would be nice to get my workout in and out of the way right in the morning but it’s hard! I hardly ever wear makeup, maybe a little tinted moisturizer to hide my ghostly face in the winter but other than that I I like to go natural. Luckily my hair is really thin and can dry and straighten easily or it will air dry with light curls so to make a long story short, breakfast beats all!

  17. Danielle says:

    Whenever I’m pressed for time I just throw my hair into a ponytail while it’s still wet and only straighten my bangs, which takes about a minute. Heck, I do this a lot when I’m not rushing, since my hair gets really static-y with my coat, straightened or not. My breakfast is also usually just a bar of some kind, so it’s really quick.

    I caved and bought VitaTops the other day… You just made them look so good everyday… They’re really delicious!

  18. I completely sympathise about the hair thing. My hair is a volumous frizzy mess if I don’t straighten it in the morning. It’s even worse in hot weather – I’ve just been on a beach holiday and even my straighteners wouldn’t sort it out!

  19. I think I have too little time on my hands šŸ˜¦

  20. runyogarepeat says:

    Uh I agree with you…sleep + breakfast are way more important than showering some mornings. I usually workout in the afternoon/night, so I shower afterwards at night. I gotta get my sleep in!

  21. Mandy says:

    When I had long hair, I could just whip it in a pony tail (do you do that?). But now that I have super short hair, I HAVE to do my hair-no hiding it! But the bonus is it takes about 5 minutes;)

  22. Erica D says:

    I always say, “There’s nothing I dislike more than a rushed breakfast.” That’s why I usually bring my breakfast to class with me!

    When I work out before class, I try to plan my outfit and breakfast while I’m doing cardio or on my walk back to my apartment; that way, I can walk in the door, shower, dress, get breakfast and be out the door really quickly! My hair air-dries alright (not as much as it did last year, for some reason) so I’ve even started giving it a 10 minute blow dry some days. Today, however, I just put some curl stuff in it and tossed it around šŸ™‚

  23. ~Jessica~ says:

    Breakfast>hair any day. Luckily for me my hair is very dry and a mess whether I wash it or not, so it’s not too hard of a decision šŸ˜‰

    xxx

  24. Meesh says:

    I hear ya on the breakfast! I have to eat in the morning or I feel sick. I don’t spend a lot of time on my hair in the morning, it’s usually up in a ponytail anyway. I just can’t be bothered šŸ™‚

  25. Peggy says:

    I wish I had your time management skills!

  26. divasrun says:

    I caught the reference and was singing it as soon as I saw the title. =)

    Is that chocolate brownie in your oatmeal???

  27. Gina says:

    I always have go-to outfits that help me when I’m crunched for time in the morning!

  28. I would definitely skip the good breakfast and grab something on-the-go (like a Clif bar and a banana) than go somewhere after the gym. I feel so gross after the gym – especially spinning!

  29. Lisa says:

    I have the same exact hair issue. I try and wash and then “save” it good enough to last at least one extra day! I think you and I both need to try out dry shampoo. I keep hearing about it, and haven’t tried it, but I guess KMS brand has a good one. I tend to want a more natural one (void of chemicals!)…so who knows what’s actually in it!

  30. Mandiee says:

    I’m going to miss peanut flour SO much! Better stock up while I can :D.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  31. I definitely don’t dry my hair in the mornings when I’m crunched for time. Which is basically every day šŸ™‚ If I’m really crunched, I don’t drink coffee at home and just stop at SBUX on the way to work

  32. Jenny says:

    Good to know I’m not the only one who’s been thinking about cheerios! Lol those oats look divine, I love vitatops šŸ˜€

  33. If I’m in a rush I do an express makeup application and throw my hair in a ponytail.

    So true about spinning! I would have to go straight home to shower after that one, yikes šŸ™‚

  34. emily says:

    I try to take showers the night before if I can…but I’m usually an evening exerciser. I also try to set out my clothes and have everything as packed and ready as I can. šŸ™‚

  35. I’ve never thought of doing peanut flour with an apple! I bet it tastes delicious!

  36. Kat says:

    I’m all about doing as much prep as possible the night before. In terms of breakfasts, I have some in my deck of cards that take longer than others, so portability as well as preparation time both make a big difference.

  37. Monica says:

    Yeah, I could never ever go to spin class and not wash my hair – haha, I am so gross after class. šŸ™‚

    I helped cut time on the getting ready process by getting a short, easy-to-do hairstyle that looks glam with very little effort.

  38. The night before, I prep my clothes, breakfast, etc. Then, in the morning, I try to use what little time I have to my advantage. šŸ™‚

  39. Jessica says:

    I could never skip breakfast in the morning! If I’m rushed for time, I’ll wash my hair but let it air dry curly. I prefer to dry and straighten it, but with some gel, the air-dried curly hair is almost-acceptable when I’m running late.

  40. I try to do as much as I can the night before including showering. I am almost always running late though, so I’ve been known to finish getting ready at work (brushing my teeth and putting on my make-up). I’d rather a few people see me walk into the hospital au naturale than have to skip breakfast…or worse, buy it from the cafeteria! Duh-duh-duuuuuuuuuuh!

  41. Priyanka says:

    I have very oily hair and it is absolutely essential for me to wash them in the morning. To streamline my mornings, I do all the prep in the evening itself.

  42. Pingback: Killer Tofu | What Kate is Cooking

Leave a Reply

