Day 4- Yoga!

My challenge is going well so far! Today I went to a class I hadn’t been to in forever- yoga!

I really like yoga, but I’ve never gotten into it. I stopped going when I was training for the marathon last year because I was so sore all the time. I know that could have helped it, but I could hardly walk most of the time, so I really neglected it.

I finally busted out my mat and got my butt to the gym for an 8 p.m. class. I wish it were earlier, but oh well.

I wore these yoga socks that I got in my stocking at Christmas. They look funny, but they really prevented me from slipping! Bonus- they hid my black toenail. No one should have to look at that!

Perfect if your feet sweat a lot. Not going to lie… mine totally do.

I really liked the class and the instructor, but I think yoga is so hard! I lack two important things- flexibility and upper body strength. Do you want to hear something sad? I can’t even touch my toes! How are the mighty fallen… I need to start stretching 🙂

Back up to this morning- I made whole wheat pancakes for breakfast!

I doubled the wheat bran and egg whites to make them a little bigger, and topped them with honey nut cream cheese (obsessed) and maple syrup. They were the perfect fuel for an 8 a.m. math test… ugh!

Lunch was tabbouleh on top of some hummus my sister made.

I also had an apple… and them came home and had another!

I had the second with chocolate hummus. Apples just aren’t apples if you can’t dip them in something 🙂

I caved and bought two little cans of pumpkin. I’ve missed it terribly!

That is my idea of comfort food. Pumpkin yogurt is the best!

Potatoes are also a good comfort food! After reading Matt‘s post about roasted potatoes today, I had a serious craving for them. Actually, I always do, but it was especially serious today! I rubbed a potato, some squash, half a turnip (no idea why I bought that, but it was good!) and some carrots with pumpkin pie spice and roasted them at 425 for 30 minutes.

Topped with more maple syrup. Glory, glory, hallelujah!

Dessert was grapes… too many grapes. I’m still full! Now, it’s off to bed I go. I have a 5:45 a.m. spinning class to get to tomorrow. I think I can, I think I can…

Have you ever taken a yoga class?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Day 4- Yoga!

  1. Sana says:

    best part about yoga for be is being barefoot! I just lurveee it!

  2. Pumpkin pie roasted veggies?? Sign me up! I’ve taken one yoga class, but it was a super easy/relaxation sort of thing. I want to try doing more yoga, but I have the worst balance in the world! I tried to do a “dancer’s pose” the other day and could only hold it for 19 seconds! How lame am I?! Have fun in your spin class tomorrow with Mr. Hottie!!

  3. I couldn’t touch my toes before I started yoga… I can now! And I used those same sticky socks sometimes! 🙂

  4. Runeatrepeat says:

    I’ve seen those sock and wondered if they were any good. They’re cute, but I live being barefoot for yoga 🙂

  5. AlisonM says:

    I totally agree with you that apples need to be dipped in something! And no, I’m not really a yoga person. I guess I’ve just never really found a good class. It is something that I really know I should give a proper go though..

  6. Priyanka says:

    Never ever taken a yoga class, but really love it! Its like massage for my soul!

  7. i can never gt into yoga either!! GRRr.. when i got to a class i feel like the inflexible idiot and then at home i just get into positions and can only do 15 min at a time!. SUCh good food and now YOU’ve got me cravin potatoes!

  8. Danielle says:

    I love yoga, but all the classes at my gym are right when I have class. I’m a total beginner, but it’s so much fun!

    Those vegetables & potatoes look delicious! I always crave potatoes, but usually in the mashed form.

  9. Kristina says:

    I love yoga-but I neglect it all the time:( It doesn’t fit in my schedule-except for 1 day so I try to make it to that class but i’m desperate to find a GOOD yoga instructor!

  10. I think I need to find those kinds of socks… but for my hands. They are always slipping in class!

  11. emily says:

    Those are some cool sock! I didn’t even know that they made those. 🙂
    Yoga is hard at first, but the great thing is that you can develop strength and flexibility over time..hang in there!

  12. Kat says:

    I totally need those socks. In the summer my apartment is a SAUNA. I literally cant do yoga if I tried. I just slide all over my mat. Hence why I dont do hot yoga! lol

  13. GirlonRaw says:

    Ahhh those yoga socks are so cute. So tell me, I tried looking for your chocolate hummus recipe with the link, but couldn’t. Looks like pure genius to me!

  14. runyogarepeat says:

    I love my yoga time. It definitely is hard, but working at your level is the best. It’s so good to stretch out (and still work – strength!) after a running/spinning day.

  15. greekmelie says:

    I am really bad at yoga so I tend to avoid it. But I know it could be good for me and my poor legs which need stretching so badly… Can we please refrain from comments about how you cannot walk during marathon training? Pretty please? I am freaked out already! 🙂

  16. I have never taken a yoga class, but I would love to, if I join a gym. My campus gym does not offer yoga classes…. or maybe I should just look into yoga studios in town.

  17. I have toe socks! They aren’t actually yoga socks, but they’re cute and make me happy. *grins*

    I went to one yoga class. It was fun, but I didn’t feel like I was really getting the calorie burn that I wanted so I switched back to speed-walking at the time. 🙂 I really should try it again sometime. I sooo need to work on my flexibility!

  18. Those socks are so cute, I totally want them!

  19. ~Jessica~ says:

    Yes, I have taken a yoga class but it’s hard to find any that are challenging enough in my part of the UK. I’m useless at headstand and crow but love the other poses and general flow of ashtanga in particular.

    Yoga is great for runners as I’m sure you know anyway ~ it’ll be great for avoiding injuries for you 🙂

    xxx

  20. Im too scared to go to a yoga class. I do it in the comfort of my living room where no one can see me (or hear me when I swear because something is too hard).

  21. Allison says:

    My goal was to go to yoga on a consistent basis and I have bee one time. Sometimes I feel it and sometimes I don’t. I always feel great after but tend to get bored in class. I need tom work on that!

  22. More the reason you should go back to another yoga class! You will be so amazed how flexible and strong your will get if you take classes regularly. I have never been in better shape than when I was going several days a week (and I have done everything, half marathon, spinning, personal training, you name it!). I took hot yoga (I forget the proper yogi name for it) but it was in a heated room up to like 102 degrees! It sounds terrible (and it was the first time) but once my body got used to the heat, I fell in love! My skin was so healthy, my body was in great shape, and I was so strong! They can be a little intimidating but I encourage you to stick with it, who knows, you might just become a yogi like I did 🙂

  23. Did you only rub those veggies in pumpkin pie spice, or did you also use EVOO? I’ve actually never roasted vegetables without an oil, so I’m curious.

  24. I have never heard of yoga socks before???

  25. I almost bought a pair of those yoga socks, but opted for a towel instead. I hate how it bunches and I have to try and fix it with my toes while I’m in down dog, so maybe I’ll give the socks a try afterall…

    (yes that means I’m in the sweaty feet club with you)

  26. Your Pumpkin Yogurt sounds really good! How much pumpkin and yogurt did you use?

  27. Hannah says:

    I’m hoping to start yoga this year – I’m having really bad RSI issues, and think building my core strength might help. For the moment, though, I’ll just follow you in adding maple syrup to lotsa things 😉

  28. Peggy says:

    i do yoga all the time at home, but I don’t think i could ever do it in a class (i’ll save myself the embarrassment!) =)

  29. Erika says:

    I love yoga, but have never gone to an actual class. I love doing them on the Wii Fit Plus or in my room to wake myself up in the morning. 🙂

  30. Love those yoga socks! They are awesome!

  31. I had a snack almost identical to your pumpkin yogurt! So delicious. Pumpkin never gets old : )

  32. I LOVE yoga! Hot yoga is my favorite, but not bikram. I love all kinds of yoga practice, though!

  33. inmytummy says:

    I started doing more yoga this year but I am still very much a newbie.

  34. Emily says:

    I love, love, loveeee yoga! It is definitely a challenge for me because I’m a beginner and not flexible at all, lol. Likely I’ve found some local classes with really accommodating instructors. I always feel so relaxed and balanced after I leave a one hour class and it makes me feel so good 🙂

  35. Jessica says:

    I can’t touch my toes either! I’ve tried yoga before, but I’m not flexible at all. I like it, but I always feel like I’m the worse student in the class. My favorite yoga classes have been hot yoga.

  36. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Those socks are so cute with all their little toes! 😀

  37. Gina says:

    Those socks are sooo cute! For some reason yoga always sounds so boring to me, but when I go I always feel great 🙂

Leave a Reply

