Killer Tofu

Let me tell you- if I wasn’t doing this fitness class challenge, I would not have gone to cycling this morning! My bed was feeling really comfy this morning, and I was sad to leave it behind. I’m glad I ended up going, though. I think the instructor was new, so the class was a little funky, but she played Genesis (I have a deep affection for Phil Collins) so it wasn’t all bad 🙂

Everyone’s comments on time management inspired to me to make my breakfast last night, so I had even more time to enjoy it. You know what that means- overnight oats!

I used almond milk, vanilla yogurt, chia seeds, peanut flour butter and dried cherries. I really prefer vanilla yogurt to plain. It makes the oats taste like ice cream!

I also brought tea to school-

And some clementines. I get way too excited when I see the seasonal stickers.

Lunch was delicious, albeit missing veggies-

I had scrambled eggs on a sandwich thin spread with honey nut cream cheese (I’m all out now 😦 ), pumpkin yogurt with a Vitatop (also out of these!) and an apple with dessert hummus (no chocolate- I’m out of cocoa powder!) I think I need to go grocery shopping…

To make the dessert hummus, I just blended chickpeas with agave and pumpkin pie spice. Ultimate lazy recipe… and it tastes so good.

Does anyone remember that song ‘Killer Tofu’ from the show Doug? I didn’t remember until my sister started singing it recently (she has a creepy propensity for lyrics).

I think tofu is a food that everyone thinks they hate until they try it. I tried it for the first time about two years, when I went vegan for the first time. I can still remember the exact dinner I used to eat every single night- grilled tofu on top of spinach, with vegan cheese and two tablespoons of olive oil. Uh, yeah, not very appetizing… but I still loved tofu!

I don’t eat it nearly as much anymore, and lately I’ve been having more chocolate tofu mousse than regular tofu. However, I got a craving for some grilled tofu this afternoon and knew exactly what I was having for dinner.

I don’t normally press my tofu, but I decided to give it a try to see if it cooked faster. There’s a really scientific process behind this tofu press-

Just kidding, I just wrapped it in a paper towel and put some plates on top. I got home from work and took it out, and it was nice and drained.

I also never marinate my tofu, so I mixed maple syrup with pepper (can you say obsessed with maple syrup?!) and coated the tofu before cooking it.

On the side, I had some quinoa mixed with green onions and nutritional yeast and brussels sprouts. It’s no secret I love sweet and savory, and this was delicious!

I also had a bag of popcorn and applesauce, cereal and dried cranberries together. I am still hungry!!

Tofu- love it or hate it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Killer Tofu

  1. Hannah says:

    Anyone who’s anyone is addicted to maple syrup 😉 Good for you for getting to the class!

  2. Erica D says:

    I really need to hop on the VitaTop train. Yours looks delicioussss.

  3. greekmelie says:

    For one reason or another both overnight oats and tofu are two things I could never really like. And I did try! I know the reason about the oats, I just prefer them all warm and nice. The tofu question is still unanswered, but I have yet to try tofu that I like… But I can have the brussel sprouts! I can never have enough of them. I think I am obsessed 🙂

  4. I am not a fan of tofu. I really wish I did like it but the texture throws me off every time.

  5. AlisonM says:

    I can kinda take it or leave it. But it’s a pretty good source of protein, and it’s pretty versatile I guess. I probably eat it about 2-3 times a week to be fair.

    And a thermos flask for coffee — I do that too!

  6. LOVE tofu!! It’s awesome stuff! 😀 I love marinading it in yummy stuff and baking it…yummmo!!

    Your dinner looks DELISH! Quinoa, nooch and brussels?! YES 🙂

  7. LOVE tofu!! it does so much! usuallly i get lazy and dont marinate either! ahha.. love your breakfasttt!! and i so want to take spin!

  8. Monica says:

    Tofu in miso soup – love.

    Tofu in any other form – not necessarily hate….just don’t care for.

    Happy Friday!

  9. I don’t love or hate tofu. I like it usually, but occasionally I think it’s gross. I press mine the same as you, paper towels and plates!

    You totally turned me onto those vitatop muffins. Check my post from yesterday. OMG delicious. Where do you get pumpkin yogurt? That sounds yummy.

  10. Haha! When I saw your title I started singing the song. I LOVED DOUG! 😀

    I love tofu. 🙂

  11. Kristina says:

    I used to eat tofu, when I first switched to vegetarian…but I heard some conflicting health reports on it so i’ve stayed away for a while..

  12. Kat says:

    I put tofu in my smoothie yesterday and that was the first time I had ever tried it. Not sure if I am a fan. I guess cooking it with spices and stuff would probably help, but my smoothie didnt cover the taste well enough. I will use the rest of the package, but I may not buy it again 😦

  13. I always hated tofu because of the texture. I never knew to press it before and then I found out that if you freeze it for 3 days then let it thaw, it releases the water and takes on a whole other texture. That’s probably my fave way to have it unless I have time to press it – and I use bricks!

  14. I have never actually tried tofu. Maybe I should hop on that bandwagon. 😉

  15. I bet the cherries and the peanut butter were awesome together!

  16. Danielle says:

    I’m one of those people who hasn’t really tried tofu and is afraid of it. I’ve tried really awful brownies made with tofu, so I’ve been a bit scared ever since. I think I might have had some in a dish my dining hall made, and if I’m correct, it was pretty tasty, so I should probably give it another try.

  17. I still really need to try tofu. I mean, when I lived in China I had it a couple of times, but it was AWFUL! You see, in China it’s cooked in a certain sauce and they call it “Chou Do Fu” which literally means “Stinky Tofu”… it is SO gross. The smell makes me gag and the taste is just horrific. So far I haven’t been able to get past that enough to try tofu. I need to do it, though… someday… 😉

  18. I tried spin recently as well…oh man…kicks my butt! What a great workout!

    I actually have never tried Tofu! Can you believe it?? However, after seeing what you did with it, I might be on board.

  19. I LOVE tofu! It’s so versatile! I never marinate mine either. I’m such a lazy bum!

    Hooray for overnight oats! Love to make them for mornings that I know will be rushed. I’m already planning for some OOIAJ next week with my TJ’s Valencia PB jar. Yessss!

  20. runyogarepeat says:

    I like it occasionally, if it’s cooked well – maple syrup would make it yummy! I prefer tempeh though, especially the texture. I’m so inspired by your fitness challenge and waking up early to exercise – good for you!

  21. Kayla says:

    I’ve never eaten tofu like that, only in smoothies! It looks good though, I just don’t know if when I prepare it will look that good!

  22. I love tofu! I make tofu scramble, stir fry, faux ricotta…everything. Except sometimes tofu straight up doesn’t agree with me if I eat it plain (like the TJ’s marinated tofu…I was eating just a block of that with my lunch).

  23. I can relate to so much in your post today! I’m actually enjoying dessert hummus with apple slices right now! I also loved the cartoon Doug 🙂 The honey nut cream cheese sounds so good–I’m definitely going to have to try that!

    Have a great weekend 🙂

  24. LOVE TOFU!!! 🙂 How are you liking those chia seeds?

  25. emily says:

    Good for you for getting up and going to cycling this morning!
    I like tofu but don’t eat it too often. Too much soy give me a stomachache!

  26. Hahaha I love the way you press tofu! 🙂

    That dessert hummus recipe sounds so good! (I mean, it could have something to do with the current hummus addiction that I’m battling.) Yum! I’ll have to give it a try!

  27. I don’t really know how to make tofu (and have never tried). I’m not opposed to throwing a little of it in my salad at a salad bar, but don’t ever crave it… Guess it doesn’t excite me? Oh well…

  28. I really like tofu but I’ve only found the silken sort and used it for quiches and puddings so far… I iced some vegan cakes with it for this week and the look on one colleague’s face when I told her what I’d used. She said: “I can’t believe I’ve just eaten tofu – AND on a cake” as if she was talking about grass or something… she did then say she liked it though 🙂

  29. Errign says:

    I’m very meh about tofu – can take it or leave it.

    LOVE that you brought up Doug. Best show. Freakin’ Patti Mayonnaise.

    I have to ask, do you have a old man crush on Phil Collins? If you do, that makes you a manther. 🙂

  30. Jess says:

    Unfortunately, and to be honest- I hate it 😦 I don’t think I’ve had good tofu though, and I haven’t given it a fair chance.

  31. Casey says:

    Love tofu, but I go through spells. Sometimes I’ll tire of it for a few months, but I always come running back.
    I might try your ‘fancy’ method of tofu pressin. I’m thinking a small textbook will make it feel more sophisticated

  32. the title of this post just made my day, i’ll have you know! 😉

    i like tofu, don’t eat it SUPER often and i prefer seitan but I do like it! 🙂

  33. Olivia says:

    I adore maple syrup on tofu!! It gives just the perfect amount of sweetness:) Your lunch looks like it was super yummy too!

  34. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    I have a thermos mug that looks very similar to yours! Love the flower design! 🙂

  35. inmytummy says:

    I love tofu. I think that people that don’t like it just haven’t had it cooked properly. How can people not like it? It doesn’t really taste like anything. That said, I do not like tempeh.

Leave a Reply

