Takes the Cake

Happy birthday to my brother- he’s 24 today!

Fun fact about my brother- when we were kids, he convinced me that his markers were toxic and they were capable of killing someone. Naturally we had to test his hypothesis, so we shoved my sister into his room and stacked crates over the door so she couldn’t get out. She survived- so I don’t think they were really toxic 🙂

I made Kaitlin‘s cake batter smoothie for breakfast this morning. I don’t think I can accurately describe how delicious this was, so take my word for it when I say it was amazing.

Lunch was a deconstructed version of this burrito. For some reason it’s fun to rip up the tortilla and eat it out of a bowl.

Part two of lunch-

And part three-

I tried making a microwave bean brownie but it did NOT work. I tried to make some changes- big mistake! I ended up throwing it away. I still feel guilty about wasting food 😦 I still had a serious chocolate craving, so I put some chocolate chips on top.

As usual, I ate a big lunch and was stuffed for yoga at 1! I had work until 11:30 this morning, so this was the only class I could go to. It felt weird to go to yoga in the middle of the day, but it was actually kind of nice. The sleep deprivation from the week is catching up to me, and I almost fell asleep during savasana. The woman next to me actually did! I also did 30 minutes on the elliptical.

For dinner, the whole family went to BJ’s. I was surprised / horrified to see the nutrition info on the menu. That didn’t stop me from eating the entire pizza 🙂

Personal vegetarian pizza- devoured!

I made brownies for dessert. My brother had no requests, so my mom suggested I make Paula Deen’s toffee brownies. I felt guilty making brownies from a box, but when Paula Deen tells you to make brownies out of a mix… you make brownies out of a mix.

Do you have a traditional birthday dessert? My family kind of mixes it up every year.

We’ve made cheesecake… Nothing compares to my dad’s cheesecake (hint, hint, Pops! Get on that!)

We’ve made regular vanilla cakes… (my sister made this for my brother a few years ago)

We’ve made sopapilla cheesecake pie… (two years ago for my mom’s birthday)

Regular brownies… (epic picture of my dad)

But to me, nothing compares to chocolate chip bundt cake.

Which is clearly why I made it for my birthday last year 🙂

What’s your birthday dessert of choice?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Takes the Cake

  1. Kristen says:

    God, the cake I made for Brian’s 21st was hideous. That’s the last time I use those stupid frosting pens…

  2. carlee says:

    Defintitly cheesecake and ice cream! Classic New York Style adnd Vanilla Ice cream!
    However I am a huge fan of vanilla ice cream cake.
    Happy Birthday to your brother Kate!

  3. Hannah says:

    Happy birthday to your brother! And now I have to google sopapilla… I have NO IDEA what that is!

  4. Kristina says:

    Happy Bday to your brother! I used to always have an angel food cake from my grandma….now-vegan cupcakes of course!

  5. happy bday to your brother! ahahah a 1:30 yoga class would throw me off too! wow youvemade some epic desserts over the years!! i would say… a cheesecake?! (vegan though!)

  6. Lori Lynn says:

    Well, a “healthy” option is angel food cake and strawberries, but if I was going for what I “love,” it would be regular old chocolate cake with chocolate frosting!

  7. Happy Birthday Kate’s Bro!!! 🙂

    Last year, I had some banana soft serve for my B-day dessert. This year, I will probably have me some of my Pumpkin Cranberry Nutty Cookies, just in a shape of a Cookie Cake (like those ones the shape of a pizza). 🙂 OR I will make me some of my Chocolate Date VEGAN Cake.

  8. I would be happy if I always got yellow cupcakes. But guess how often I have gotten that? You’re right! Zero! 😉

  9. runyogarepeat says:

    Hah, love that you made your own birthday cake! I’m not a big cake fun, unless the cake is moist and the frosting is amazing, so I usually have to detail the exact cake I want for my birthday.
    Yeah, they passed a law where chain restaurants have to post nutrition facts for their meals. I saw it at Dunkin Donuts recently on all their food, even the 5 cal coffee!

  10. Peggy says:

    I love the “mixing it up” attitude with birthdays!

  11. Lisa says:

    Yum! Dessert is my fave topic 🙂
    Happy birthday to your bro!

    My fave dessert must be cake. With frosting 🙂

  12. Kimberly says:

    happy bday to your bro! All of those cakes look uhhh-maaaazing! The choco chip bundt cake sounds particularly intriguing! My favorite…well, anything, really, is chocolate cake with chocolate frosting, chocolate writing, chocolate sprinkles…ya know, the whole shebang!! naturally. 😀

  13. greekmelie says:

    happy (belated) birthday to your brother! Well, my birthday dessert of choice would be mille-feuille http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mille-feuille. And I totally just found out that it’s the same as napoleon. Oops!! Well, it still tastes amazing! 🙂

  14. Sorry about the microwave bean brownie Fail. I have that happen to me all.the.time! Everything else looks delish though!

  15. mmmm, cake. My birthday favorite would have to be a red velvet cake, preferably from magnolia bakery. But I also love cheesecake. it’s a tough decision, but a great excuse to celebrate a birthday for multiple days… 🙂

  16. Amanda says:

    Cheesecake is definitely my dessert of choice. Or creme brulee! YUM!

  17. AlisonM says:

    (Belated) happy birthday WKIC-Bro!

    We also mix it up in my family. Though if I could make cheesecake like your dad then it might just be that every year! (And I agree — epic picture!)

  18. divasrun says:

    I love yellow cake with chocolate frosting and blue decorative frosting.

  19. I’ve never heard of a cake batter smoothie but it sounds so good!

    My favorite birthday treat would have to be some kind of cake with buttercream frosting. The frosting is very important.

  20. Aww, happy birthday to your brother! My brother and I used to torment our younger sister too! She turned out pretty well so I think it was good for her. 😉

    My favorite birthday dessert would probably be sugar free cheesecake squares… YUM!

  21. Jess says:

    happy birthday to your bro! i am a fan of ice cream on my birthday:)

  22. Errign says:

    In my family, we always have angel food cake filled with ice cream! 🙂

  23. Monica says:

    Fun, I love when people get creative with birthday treats! Looks like you all have some good bakers in the family. 😉

    I like just about anything for birthday treats, but especially love confetti cakes or red velvet. Yum!

  24. Mmm, I really want some pizza now!

    I love ice cream cakes or cheesecake for my birthday, but last year my mom made me a pineapple upside down cake that was pure Heaven!!

  25. Gina says:

    Cake with a doubled recipe of frosting! Because frosting is the best part after all 🙂

  26. Sopapilla cheesecake pie?! Sounds INSANE! 😀

  27. Danielle says:

    Happy birthday to your brother!

    My favorite has to be chocolate raspberry cake. We get it from a nearby Amish market, and it is sooo good!

  28. Sarah says:

    pretty sure im making that smoothie for lunch!!

  29. Carlyn says:

    I found this awesome pumpkin chocolate chip bundt cake recipe that looks great and a little healthier than the usual cake recipe
    http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/glazed_chocolate_pumpkin_bundt_cake.html
    what do you think? I’m really tempted to make it!

Leave a Reply

