Help a Sister Out!

What is ‘winter?’ It was 80 degrees here today!

With weather that hot… a smoothie is required.

I made Kaitlin‘s cake batter smoothie again, and added a microwave bean brownie on top. I stuck to the recipe and the brownie came out fine, as opposed to yesterday. Moral of the story- if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

After work, I made a burrito with refried beans and ricotta cheese. Are you sick of seeing these burritos? Cause I’m not sick of eating them yet 🙂

Pumpkin yogurt for dessert…

and an unpictured apple with peanut butter.

I set out to do some errands with my sister, and we ended up seeing Blue Valentine. I’m pretty sure that that is the best movie I have seen in a long time, and I’m also pretty sure that Ryan Gosling and I are meant to be together.

It was almost 7 when we got home, so I was happy dinner was already made.

I made Emily‘s broccoli cheddar soup last night. I love cooking ahead of time!

No meal is complete without dessert.

Just kidding, I had ice cream instead. Apparently my brother ate my bird and Wheaties for breakfast… with a fork.

Today marks the end of my week long fitness class challenge. Here’s how it went down-

Sunday- cycling

Monday– Body Pump

Tuesday– cycling

Wednesday– yoga

Thursday– cycling

Friday– yoga

Saturday– nothing 😦

Unfortunately, my co-worker needed me to cover her shift this morning, and I didn’t have time to go to any classes. I was pretty bummed that I didn’t make it the entire week, but I have to make the cash moneys! Overall, I’m pleased that I made it 6 out of 7 days.

I’ve discovered that-

  • I love cycling.
  • I lack upper body strength- which is why I want to keep doing Body Pump and yoga
  • I lack flexibility- which is why I want to keep doing yoga
  • I hate working out at night- which might hinder me taking those classes!
  • I didn’t feel up to running or doing speedwork at all

I definitely plan to continue to go to classes when I can, but I want to mix it up and start running outside more. Why?

Because… my sister Kristen wants to run a half marathon! She literally told me five minutes ago, but I plan to pressure her into doing it no matter what 🙂 She’s hesitant to do it, because she doesn’t know if she can train for that distance in a short amount of time (the race is on May 1st.)

The reason she wants to run that particular race is because that would mark the one year anniversary of when she started running. She followed the Couch to 5k plan the day after my half marathon, and ran her first 5k in August!

Can she go from spectator-

to half-marathoner in 12 weeks?

(That’s her at the 5k 🙂 )

I say yes- but she’s still hesitant. So…

Any words of wisdom, advice, or encouragement for my sister? Put a lot of pressure on her, I really want her to do this with me 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Help a Sister Out!

  1. You can do it girl!!! Keep your eye on the goal! 🙂

  2. greekmelie says:

    Oh my! Is that the one I think it is? You can do it! And you are going to have so much fun both at the race and training with your sister! I wish I could do that with mine too. 🙂 And you are going to rock it! You go girl! 🙂

  3. Hannah says:

    If she did 5k, and has your support I’m sure she can! And now I’m off to check out this magical cake batter smoothie…

  4. squigglefloey says:

    Awww is that your parakeet?! haha that’s ADORABLE. makes me miss mine so much! (I had a pair when I was 12 but they passed away)

  5. How perfect, I JUST wrote about train-free racing. http://oual.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/how-to-run-a-race-without-training-mermaid-half-race-recap/

    If she’s looking for ACTUAL advice, I’d suggest not reading this. If she likes to drink beer, stay up late, and eat candy bars for breakfast, she can copy my plan from today’s race perfectly.

  6. AlisonM says:

    Whether Kristen actually runs the half or not, I think it’s awesome that she’s come so far in a year, and that you guys support each other in this stuff!

    If she runs regularly already and has a decent base fitness, then 12 weeks is enough for a get-you-round programme. Look at Hal Higdon’s novice half mara schedule:
    http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/novice.htm
    It’s something like that which I’ll follow if I can run regularly again by the end of this month 🙂

  7. Thanks for the link to tht smoothie it sounds amazing! Good luck to your sister, I’m sure she’ll be able to train in time!

  8. Awesome challenge!! Love all those classes, so that looks like FUN!! 😀

    She can TOTALLY do it!! If she can do a 5k from not running before, which is the biggest step in my opinion, then a half is SO do-able!! I second Alison’s half plan…it’s sposed to be really good 🙂

  9. Lori Lynn says:

    I’m doing my first 5K the end of March, and eventually I’d like to run a half marathon.

  10. Jess says:

    She can do it!!! With the right amount of training time, anything is possible:)

  11. inmytummy says:

    I think that if she can run a 5K, she can do a half in 12 weeks. Hal Higdon’s half marathon novice plan starts with a long run of 4 miles which she should be able to do.

    What’s your bird’s name?

  12. Kat says:

    Girl LA has had some crazy weather lately! I have a game today and I am really hoping it doesnt get too hot! Ick…
    Good luck to you and your sis! Just tell her to believe in herself, we all do! We know she can do it, epsecially with you there to help!! 🙂

  13. You need a rest day anyway so 6 days of workouts is perfect. 12 weeks is plenty of time to find a plan and get going, especially if she’s already got a good base – meaning she runs. There are tons of free half marathon plans out there.

  14. YAY for your sister! i always say to myself “if you think you can or you think you can’t either way you are right” FAV quote right there! your class week sounds awesome!! i def need more flexibility and upper arm strength too!

  15. Katie H. says:

    Of course she can! That is awesome. My half training plan was 8 weeks- she can definitely do it in 12!

  16. Jessica says:

    That is awesome that your sister wants to run the half marathon! I think she can do it, especially with a sister like you to help her along the way. How fun!

  17. yay sisters! I’m a twin too 🙂 I think she can totally do it – just start out slow and don’t get discouraged!

  18. runyogarepeat says:

    Awesome job on your fitness challenge! I love cycling too, and after a few weeks of yoga, you’ll definitely feel more flexible and stronger, especially in your shoulders and legs.

    Volunteer to do long runs with her for support and motivation. Focus on distance and not speed for your first one as well.

  19. carlee says:

    Oh my goodness! You guys look IDENTICAL its crazy!!

    I am so trying those single serving black bean brownies! and I will let you know how it goes! I’ll probably have some tommorow!

    How do you make your burritos? They look really good!

    • Hehe, we are identical 🙂

      I hope you love the brownie! I mix the filling all together for my burritos, then put it in a tortilla, wrap it up, and grill it till it’s nice and brown 🙂

  20. Gina says:

    Omg! You and your sister are identical. Are you two twins?
    Anyways, I think she can do it!

  21. Lisa says:

    That burrito sounds SO good. You always make the best food! And GL to your sister. If she’s done the 5k, she definitely has the potential to do more!

  22. I neeeed 80 degree weather!!!

    For your sis the best advice I ever heard was to run your own race. Don’t mind anyone running around you bc there will always be lots of people behind you and lots of people in front of you!

  23. Errign says:

    You can doooo it (said in the super creepy farmer voice from The Waterboy, obviously)!

    Your eats look super fab & I’m jealous of your ridiculous weather. The end 🙂

  24. Amanda says:

    She can do it!!!! I want to train for a half but my knees are giving me trouble unfortunately. How fun to train with your sister!

  25. Kat says:

    1. Ain’t no shame in going burrito-wild. Those things are addictive 😉

    2. Your sis can totally rock the half-marathon! Training isn’t about understanding how you’ll actually get to the finish line, it’s about completing the process!

  26. Bird on a fork is the cuuuuuuuuuutest! 🙂

  27. She totally can! I actually follow a 12-week plan for half marathon training…

    And, 80 degrees?!?!? I was jumping for joy that we almost hit 50! Fail…

  28. I’m only sick of seeing those burritos because i can’t eat one…

    But that’s amazing for your sister! I’ve never done half marathons or anything so myw ords of wisdom lack the requisite experience, but I’d say go for it! Worst case scenario she has to walk… But she can do it, I’m sure! 🙂

  29. I couldn’t tell you, I’m just starting Couch 2 5k!!!

  30. OHMYGOSH PARAKEET!!!! So flipping cute! And i’m totally not tired of your awesome burrito making skills! =) I love how your crisp em up golden… mmmmm!

  31. Alaina says:

    I’m really lacking in the upper body strength and flexibility as well. It’s in my goals for 2011! Still working on it. 😛

    Is she your twin or just looks a LOT like you? I think a half marathon is a great goal!! I’m sure she’ll do great!

  32. Is that your, er, canary? (not sure what sort of bird it is, eek!) He/she’s so lovely and how cute that it sits on the fork! Love it 🙂

  33. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Hahaha, you’re little birdie on the fork! 😀 Funny!

Leave a Reply

