Blogger Meet-Up!

I went to my first blogger meet-up today!

I met Katherine, Kaitlin, and Monica in Runyon Canyon for a hike this morning. It was so crazy to meet these girls! I feel like I already knew them just from reading their blogs 🙂

I left my camera in the car, so I have no pictures, but the hike was really pretty. I probably would have been really tired if I went by myself, but I was so caught up in conversation that the hike flew by and I didn’t even notice how long we had hiked for! I pretty much never exercise with anybody, so it was especially nice to have people to talk to. I really enjoyed meeting these ladies! If you haven’t read their blogs- do it now!

I’d say the day was a success- I got to meet new people AND I drove to L.A. by myself with no major freak-outs! For the record, GPS on phones are not to be trusted. Mine told me to make a U-turn on the freeway and directed me to a dead-end street and told me it was the entrance to the canyon. I am thankful I arrived in one piece.

I never ate a proper lunch, so my sister and I went to Rutabegorz for dinner. Will I ever get sick of this place? Probably not.

I was craving warm, cheesy foods. What’s new? I think cheese and I have made peace. It’s not that it hurts my stomach- I just get a weird feeling after I eat it. I get the same feeling when I ride my bike outside. Uh, no one ever accused me of being normal.

We started out with the 40 cent dip- red pepper and corn relish.

Roasted red peppers, yellow corn, onion, mayo, cheese, cilantro, and spicy spices. It was good, but it was no pumpkin hummus 🙂

I also got a cheese quesadilla…

and a cup of vegetarian chili. The chili was really good- it had soy protein chunks or something in it. Hearty and delicious 🙂

I never really get dessert in restaurants, because it’s so expensive and I have ice cream at home. But, the waitress forgot about us and felt so guilty she offered us a free dessert! We went with the brownie sundae.

I had no idea it would be this big- and you know we finished it! I totally handled that whipped cream. It was glorious. Would you believe me if I told you that I was not even full after this meal and just had a snack? Because it’s the truth.

Speaking of sisters, Kristen would like to thank you for your encouragement regarding her half marathon plans! She is still nervous, but I’m pretty sure she’s going to do it. For anyone that asked- we are indeed twins. Identical, in fact!

I’m off to bed and maybe do a bit of stretching. Just cause I didn’t notice those hills during the hike didn’t mean my glutes didn’t. I’m already starting to feel sore!

Have you ever been to a blogger meet-up?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Blogger Meet-Up!

  1. I haven’t been to blogger meet up yet, but I would love to!! I need to go to runyon!! it’s right by my house!

  2. I want to go on a blogger meet up so bad! Its okay, I sometimes come home from buffets after eating a ton…but hunger calls when you have a tummy!!

  3. AlisonM says:

    Uh, u-turns on the freeway!? No no no! Cool that you got to go to your first meetup too. And that brownie looks redonk!

    Good luck Kristen!

  4. that meet up sound so fun!! i have never been to one but defs want to! omg that sundae is actually TO DIE FOR… and wow!! i didnt kno you were twins ahah.. i mean u defs look a like i just didnt even think!

  5. Kristina says:

    I have yet to go on a blogger meet up! Glad you had a great time!!!!

  6. inmytummy says:

    I’ve been to quite a few blogger meet ups. I think there’s at least 10 of us in Atlanta, if not more. Four of us have started going to yoga together. I’ve also met up with a few DC girls when I’ve been there to visit my family.

    Glad you had fun!

  7. How fun! That dip sounds great. So glad you got to meet up with them and had a great time. I’ve gotten to meet a few blogger friends. I have some more I MUST meet though.

  8. Kat says:

    I LOVE runyun canyon!! The trail is challenging, but also beautiful. The only problem is parking! haha

  9. Glad you had such a fun weekend! I was super nervous at my first blogger meet up but they are really fun and of course the food is always amazing 🙂

  10. I am a new blogger so no meet-ups yet. But there are tons of food bloggers in D.C. so I am looking forward to meeting some of them!

  11. ~Jessica~ says:

    I’ve had a couple of blogger meet-ups and really enjoyed them, though I must say I’m jealous of your hiking experience. I’d love to meet up with a lot of the fellow runners whose blogs I read and admire but most of us live quite far apart or our schedules tend to clash.

    Can’t wait to hear more about you and your sister’s half training 🙂

    xxx

  12. Allison says:

    Ive never been to a blogger meet up but it’s definitely something I would do. I am pretty new to blogging so we will see where it takes me!

  13. Awwwe, how fun!!! I’ve been to one blogger meetup and have another one planned soon!

  14. greekmelie says:

    I’ve never been to a blogger meetup, but you look like you had so much fun! And yesterday was the perfect weather for a hike! 🙂

  15. This food looks great. Sounds like you had a fun time at the blogger meetup. If you get a chance stop by my blog I am having an all natural products giveaway!

  16. Alaina says:

    I haven’t been to a local blogger meet up. There are so many fun bloggers in Boston too! I can’t wait for one. 🙂

  17. I would love to do a blogger meet up but they are never in my area! Sounds fun! A hike is a great idea!

  18. Emily says:

    I love blogger meet-ups! I’ve been to a few because one of the girls who lives in my area has arranged for a cookie exchange and some dinners for the local bloggers. We actually just went to an awesome restaurant this past weekend 🙂

  19. I am so jealous! First that you got to go for a hike outside (I am in Chicago and it is dammmmn cold, no hiking or fresh air for me!) and second, because I have never done a blogger meet up! It is so crazy how reading people’s blogs regularly makes you feel like you know them! I guess that is the age we live in!

  20. I love blogger meet ups 🙂

  21. runyogarepeat says:

    There’s no other bloggers in my state (that I know of)! I need to travel to a big race to meet tons of bloggers & run.

  22. What a fun day – blogger meet-ups are the best! I’m seriously jealous of your hike. Seeing nature’s beauty is something I miss in the dregs of winter!

  23. How cool is that! I’ve never done a blogger meet up, but I think it would be a lot of fun! Glad you had such a great time, girl!

  24. Jenny says:

    Omg that brownie sundae looks insane! And how fun meeting other bloggers, I’d love to do that 😀

  25. It was so much fun meeting you yesterday, Kate! I’ll post with pics soon. 🙂 Sorry for the delay!

  26. hooray for blogger meet-ups! I heart them 🙂

  27. Happy Vday, Kate!
    I love blogger meet ups… but I’ve only been to two.

    P.S. That other comment was from me, under a “test” name (I’m having issues with my comments going to spam. Please delete it hehe.)

  28. I haven’t been to a bogger meet-up yet, but I’m working on one. 🙂

    Hiking is so much fun, especially when you get to go with your friends! I’m glad that you enjoyed your hike/blogger meet up!

    Hehe, at least you got that AMAZING dessert. 🙂

  29. Priyanka says:

    Blogger meet up, that is really cool. I have never had the chance to meet any fellow blogger!

  30. Kat says:

    I’ve only done one meet-up but am hoping to do a few more in the next few months. VERY cool that you got to run with those ladies 🙂

    p.s. I was ready to inhale that 40 cent Dip through the screen. Unreal.

  31. Gina says:

    I’m dying to have a blogger meet-up! I need to work on one but my schedule is always ridiculously busy!

  32. I’m glad that you had a great time! I enjoy the meetups- and have even found great friends from them! Happy Monday, my dear! 🙂

  33. Jessica says:

    The blogger meet up sounds like fun! I’ve never met other bloggers before. I think I’d be a little shy, but it would also be fun – I feel like you get to know people through writing, it would be nice to meet other bloggers in person sometime.

  34. Hannah says:

    I’ve met (in person, too) some of my closest friends through blogging 🙂 Well done you for that brownie! Oh, and don’t worry, I ALWAYS end up eating more after a restaurant meal. I can’t sleep without a late-night snack, no matter how much I ate when out!

  35. Sounds like you had a great time at your first blogger meet-up! I’ve only been to one blogger meet up myself and it was a blast! Can’t wait to do it again!

    I am totally loving that cheesy dip! Yum! And free dessert? Heck yeah!

  36. Monica says:

    It was wonderful to meet you! Let us know when you are ready for a meet-up in your neck of the woods! 😉

Leave a Reply

