Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I like Valentine’s Day regardless of whether I’m single or not. Having a date can be fun, but being single means making cupcakes for my family!

I’m saving my candy consumption for the next few days, when all the chocolate goes on sale. Yes, I am that cheap.

I tried to include a little bit of pink or red in all of my meals today.

I had PB&J cream of wheat for breakfast. I kept seeing PB&J oats on Carrie‘s blog and knew it would make a great topping for cream of wheat, and it did!

My second class was cancelled, so I headed home early with the intention of baking. It didn’t happen- there was a repairman in our kitchen all day. Boo! I also had to eat all of my lunch upstairs.

Cold broccoli soup (it’s actually good cold!)

Pumpkin yogurt with a graham cracker on top-

And an unpictured apple with PB.

I had to drop my brother off in the afternoon, so I took advantage of the fact that I was already out and drove to a new running route.

Look at these views!

I covered five miles in 48:16 (9:39 pace, whoop whoop!) I was especially pleased because the hills were ridiculous. There are no hills on my normal running routes, so I was dying a little.

More Valentine’s colored food!

Dinner was my attempt at potato pancakes. For not following a recipe, they sure tasted good, but the presentation left something to be desired.

I meant to make red velvet cupcakes, but we had no red food coloring or cream cheese, so I settled for vanilla cupcakes.

With a few red sprinkles for a festive touch 🙂

My parents gave me a new muffin tin for Valentine’s Day! It has removable pink silicon holders. I think I am in love.

I ate so much frosting I wasn’t even in the mood for a cupcake- but that didn’t stop me from having ice cream!

What’s your favorite Valentine’s Day memory? I think it’s a toss up between eating Snicker’s hearts the size of my head in elementary school and the first flowers I got from a boy. He called my best friend to see what my favorite flower was and surprised me with them 🙂 Ah, to be 16 again…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Valentine’s Day!

  1. I love to eat frozen strawberries too! My dad gets me the big bag of frozen strawberries from Costco and I am the happiest girl alive! 😀

    I love your idea to top cream of wheat with jam! SO SMART! 🙂

  2. Hannah says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day! I don’t really have any particular memory, as it’s not as much of a big deal over here and I’ve never been in a relationship during it… Ah well! 🙂

  3. Casey says:

    I loved the little fun size treats with Valentines Day notes you would give out to your class. Though I don’t think parents enjoyed the sugar high later on ;).
    So agreed about post-Valentines-Day sale. If you don’t have a honey, why not save some money on all the leftover goodies?

  4. This sounds so nerdy, but my favorite Valentine’s memory is the year my parents (they celebrated every holiday imaginable, even the made-up ones) got me a real grown up dictionary and thesaurus and inscribed them “There aren’t words enough to say how much we love you.” Sure I look everything up online now, but nothing beats thumbing through a real dictionary or thesaurus. Also, my parents are super cute.

  5. squigglefloey says:

    Yay for cream of wheat! I never see them on blogs and have an affinity for them because my mom used to make me cream of wheat with honey and brown sugar everyday when I was younger 🙂 It’s definitely a comfort food for me!

  6. AlisonM says:

    That is a great pace on hills, go you! And those cupcakes look lovely. Why can’t I decorate cakes that delicately!? 😦

  7. what an awesome surprise…flowers! too bad it didnt happen this year, too 😦

    the red velvet cupcakes look amazing!

  8. YUMmy cupcakes!! and ISNT pb&j SUCH a good combo on ANYTHING! i had it again on my oats today!!!
    my fav V-day memory was waking up in Austria with a big package of chocolate from my family while we were there skiing!

  9. Love all the comfort bowl food-I looooove eating out of a bowl…and those cupcakes-yes please!

  10. Love the sound of that muffin tin. I need reusable muffin holder thingies.

  11. Awww! That is adorable about the flowers! 😉 I’ve always been single on Valentine’s Day so no cute boy related stories. But I loved (well, I still love Valentine’s Day) in elementary school when we would distribute cards and I would eat all of the candy in one sitting. :/

  12. Sarah says:

    Can u believe this is the FIRST valentines day i didnt have a single “conversation heart” they are my FAVORITE valentines day candy! booo Im sure its on sale now so i can go out and OD on my favorite candy too 😉

    Yogurt with graham crackers looks yummyyyy

  13. Peggy says:

    Those cupcakes look awesome! I think every new Valentine’s Day surely becomes my favorite!

  14. Amanda says:

    Silicone cupcake liners are THE best!

    Congrats on the awesome run!

  15. Aww looks like a great Valentine’s Day! 🙂

  16. Jenny says:

    It’s so cute that your parents gave you a muffin tin lol And those cupcakes look festively delicious!

  17. runyogarepeat says:

    I loved elementary school cause of all the candy and cute cards we received – I always gave out the Disney princess ones.
    This year was one of the best Valentine’s I had – sushi, red wine, & flowers!

  18. Alaina says:

    Hmm..probably the time my boyfriend (now-husband) took me up to his dorm room and he had red paper cut out hearts all over the room, some strawberries and chocolate ready for dipping and bottles of Smirnoff Ice (which was my fave at the time). There was piano music playing from his computer and flowers on his desk. It was the best evening. 🙂

  19. PB&J oats are the best! Looks like you had a tasty day! I can’t say that one specific thing sticks out in my mind for valentine’s food. Red velvet definitely sounds like a good one!

  20. Your cupcakes look perfect!! 🙂

  21. oh, delicious cupcakes! My Valentine’s memories are all pretty “meh”, but maybe someday that will change 🙂

  22. mmm cupcakes. You know how I feel about cupcakes 🙂 perfect for Vday.

  23. Jess says:

    I think my favorite memory is getting flowers from my “boyfriend” in high school. It was funny!

  24. I am getting hungry for cupcakes!

    My fav memory is prob from 2nd grade, when a boy that had a crush on me decorated a box with puffy paint and filled it with tootsie rolls for me. I hate tootsie rolls, but it was the thought that counts, hehe.

  25. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Adding a little pink or red to all your dishes – that’s such a lovely idea! 😀

    And repairmen *really* suck! 😯 I had them in my last apartment all the time when the heating was down and it was getting winter gradually … I got nothing done!

    The view is lovely, so fresh and clean! And lots of mouthwatering food pics! 😀

  26. LOVE your food, specially the cupcakes!! Hope you’ve sent me one! 😛

  27. Kimberly says:

    Those cupcakes look gooood. Send them my way, I’ll help ya put a few of those bad boys away! 😀 My fave v-day memory was 2 years ago when my fiancee and I had our first date — well, it was the 13th, but whatev. ❤

  28. Lisa says:

    Ooh, strawberries! I’ve been having all kinds of weird food cravings being pregnant and over the weekend I decided I LOVE strawberries! I’ve probably eaten 50 since Saturday : )

    Hmmm…my fave V Day memory. I always loved our little parties in elementary school with treats, games, and exchanging Valentine’s with the class. Of course, you had to be extra careful what you gave the boys because you didn’t want them to think you liked them!

  29. That happens to me whenever I make cupcakes or cake. SO MUCH frosting gets consumed. Actually, that happens every time I make cookies, too… but I like cookie dough better than I like cookies anyway!

  30. Kat says:

    I kind of feel like Red Velvet cupcakes are over-hyped sometimes. As long as your cupcakes were fab, that’s all that matters, really.

    AND, I totally don’t blame you for waiting for the sale candy. Some of those bags are ridiculously priced for what they have in them.

  31. you’re too cute with implementing red/pink into all your meals : ) i’ve never done cream of wheat…should i do it? will it be better than my favorite breakfast ever…super hot steel-cut oats?

    my favorite V-day memory came in the 5th grade when my secret crush showed up on my doorstep with a thorny rose and a fake gold necklace. for an 11 year old, that was a pretty BIG deal ; ) hope you had a great day, kate!

  32. Monica says:

    My Dad always use to get my flowers before I moved away from college, it was such a special treat to always get flowers from him and made me care less about whether or not I was in a relationship. 🙂

  33. Priyanka says:

    Those cupcakes look so good. I want to buy silicon bake-ware so badly, some day!

  34. Your cupcakes look beautiful! And man, I haven’t had potato pancakes in forever! Mmm!

    Favorite V-Day memory: Junior year in HS, my boyfriend at the time went all out and decked out my desk in homeroom with a stuffed animal and balloons and then hid flowers and a nice piece of jewelry in my locker with the sweetest hand-written note!

Leave a Reply

