Worth It?

I am nursing a little bit of a frosting hangover this morning. Isn’t it amazing how eating too much sugar can make you feel horrible? I feel like I eat a lot of sugar every day, so I didn’t think a little frosting would kill me, but… ugh!

That being said, I was not feeling the gym at 5 this morning. I promptly turned my alarm off and went back to sleep for another hour and a half. It was glorious.

It had been almost a week since I had pancakes, so I knew something had to be done about that.

I made whole wheat pancakes with ricotta and maple syrup. I totally forgot the baking powder and they still turned out well.

Lunch was a lentil and ricotta wrap with a little taco seasoning thrown in. It totally masked the flavor of the lentils, which was a good thing- because they were totally expired 😦

Instead of pumpkin yogurt, I had a new to me flavor- black cherry Chobani! I can’t find the new flavors anywhere, but this was on sale and I wanted to give it a try. So creamy and sweet. I loved it!

I’m all out of apples- the horror!- so in order to meet my peanut butter quotient for the day, I made chocolate tofu mousse for a snack and topped it with peanut flour butter.

Out of the same glass- I’m classy like that.

Dinner was the last of my soup and more ice cream. I think I need some new food ideas. I forgot I had squash in the back of my car! (What, you don’t? It’s totally normal) I have a good dinner planned for tomorrow 🙂

I totally forgot to mention that I signed up for a 5k this Saturday! I signed up last night with hours to spare before the price increased. I saved 5 bucks- totally a big deal to me 🙂 I’m really excited about the race because it’s at my old high school, and it’s only a few miles away. I really want to walk or ride my bike there on the morning of the race. When else will I be able to do that?!

One thing I don’t love about races- the money. Holy god, races are expensive! I know some races benefit for charities, but as a poor student, I sometimes ask myself if I should really be spending money on races.

I could easily run 3 miles by myself, but there’s just something about a race that’s so exciting. Even though the last race I ran didn’t hand out T-shirts and I didn’t get a medal even though I placed in my age division, I think races are something I don’t mind paying for.

Because even though they’re draining my bank account, I always get something out of a race.

Whether it’s a T-shirt…

A medal…

A personal distance record…

Getting first in your age group…

Or crossing the finishing line…

 

Yeah, I’d say races are worth it. And that is coming from the cheapest person you’ll ever meet 🙂

Race fees- worth it or not?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to Worth It?

  1. Jessica says:

    I’ll go with worth it 🙂 I agree, they seem expensive. I’m new to racing and was shocked when I started looking through some of the fees! But you’re right – the money goes to charity, and I’ve gotten a few t-shirts out of it. Not to mention the feeling of actually racing and setting personal records. But I can understand limiting the number of races done each year. Good luck at your 5k this weekend!

  2. Um i want chocolate tofu mousse with pb flour… how does one make it?!?

    I reallyyyy want to do a race in the near-ish future, we’ll see how my broke college existence plays into that decision though 😉

  3. kat says:

    Good luck with your race!! I’ve never done a race, but I’m pretty competitive, so I’d say its worth it, especially when you come in first 🙂

  4. I’ve never participated in a race! 😀

  5. greekmelie says:

    Well, considering I am totally broke due to this entire race thing, I would say worth it. Or I am addicted. Or both! 🙂

  6. Casey says:

    Worth it.
    The BolderBoulder is my favorite road race ever and I will continue to do it every year even if they ask me to pay 100$. (Well, maybe thats a tad steep, but still soo worth it.)

  7. divasrun says:

    Race fees are def worth it! CONGRATS on your PR!! WOOHOO!

  8. ~Jessica~ says:

    Races are more than worth it. Unless the fee is absolutely extortionate, I’ll go for all the races I fancy doing because you can’t put a price on an experience. I love them for the opportunity to meet fellow runners, the sense of community, the personal challenge…although I must admit I am often swayed to enter those that offer medals first 😉

    Good luck with the 5K ~ I’m sure you’ll be brilliant!

    xxx

  9. Kristina says:

    WORTH IT!!!! Love those running pics-my fam always misses the crossing the finish line pic!

  10. I totally agree – there’s something about races that is so exciting. i think race fees are totally worth it. Most of the races I run are in Central Park, which is also where I do most of my training runs. But the atmosphere of races is just so awesome I can’t resist 🙂

  11. they are expensive!! i try to limit my races to ones that really count and ones that will really push me.. and then ill do a 5k once a year or so!.. frosting hangover.. ahh no fun!

  12. Races can definitely be pricey and that is often my excuse for not signing up. It’s really just a cop out of course. I think for the most part, the fees are worth it, especially for charity races where the money is going towards a worthy cause. And who doesn’t love a “free” t-shirt 😉

  13. Emily says:

    the free t-shirt would make it worth while for me 🙂 hahaha

  14. I thought that was frosting on your pancakes at first, and I was laughing my ass off.

  15. Alaina says:

    I hear ya on how expensive races are. I love the crowds and the goodies but the prices really are ridiculous sometimes. There’s an R&R half marathon in RI and it’s $85! I would love to do one race a month though. I may have to budget for that. 😉

  16. Runeatrepeat says:

    I hate how expensive races are 😦 What 5K did you sign up for? And what race did you place in?! Very very cool!

  17. Good luck on your 5k! I haven’t done one before but I sooo want too! The cost seems annoying but the payoff seems huge =)

  18. MJ says:

    I had a hard time rationalizing my first race fee. I mean, I can run 6 miles on my own for free, thank you very much. But, then when I picked up my swag bag I was like, oh I see, this is cool. And then the race atmosphere made it feel even more worth it, along with the confidence I got crossing the finish line. I also love that it’s something to look forward to and motivates me to train.

    I definitely still seek out less expensive races and pay attention to the fee increase dates to make sure I get a good deal! And I’m more likely to participate if the money is going to a charity.

  19. I think most races are worth the money…even if it’s just for the t-shirt. 😉

  20. Too much sugar makes my tummy itch! It’s weird, but true!

    Races are expensive sometimes, but a lot goes into planning them. I’ve run “cheap” races before with little course support and that were poorly organized. I always consider what I’m getting from my fee – course support, road closures, tech t, medal, post race food…and fun!

  21. AlisonM says:

    Haha, so many people woke up with a sugar hangover yesterday! Cool news on the race. I think they’re worth it; way more than a pitcher of beer anyway 🙂

  22. paijery says:

    I hate sugar hangovers!! Tofu mousse looks amazing!! YUM!

  23. I totally agree that races are worth the money! Reading your post makes me want to sign up for another race soon.

  24. runyogarepeat says:

    Races are worth it most of the time! I love the adrenaline and race energy, but I usually only do a couple races a year – half marathons or maybe a few smaller races. I have SO many race shirts from high school X-C, but at least those races were free! Have fun at your 5K!

  25. Lisa says:

    The sugar hangover can totally beat me down for a whole day—I don’t know how that happened, since I used to eat sugar all day everyday! I know exactly how you felt!
    Looks like you recovered with a bunch of good food 🙂

    Yay for signing up for the race! Race fees can really be excessive, but man, you will feel so happy you did it right? I look at signing up for a race that I want to do as a way to boost my quality of life (by upping the enjoyment and satisfaction factor)…so it’s totally worth the cost!

  26. Monica says:

    Its odd because I say so worth it, research them and set a goal to register for one race per quarter, but always drop races to the bottom of my financial priorities list. Which is a complete bummer – so what I say and what I do are totally different.

    Which reminds me….I need to register for a race soon. 😉

  27. Errign says:

    I’ve never ran a race, so I don’t know!

    I want some ricotta to put on pancakes, that sounds amazinggggg. Happy Wednesday 🙂

  28. Sugar hangovers totally exist. And they are the worst. Actually, they aren’t – alcohol ones are way worse – but sugar hangovers still suck.

    Race fees are totally worth it as long as you’re excited about the race.

  29. Jenny says:

    If that’s your passion then totally worth it! I’m not a runner but if it was doing something I enjoyed then definitely. I pay gym fees and I don’t mind it one bit 🙂 Btw yummy pancakes!

  30. emily says:

    i think races are worth it because they motivate me, but i agree…the fees are a little ridiculous!

  31. i know i eat too much sugar when i wake up the next day and not only do i feel sluggish and hungover but my teeth also ache and are more sensitive! i get horrible tooth pain after ingesting sugars- its weird! 😛

    xoxo

  32. Kat says:

    1. I love that we spell Katherine the same way!

    2. I would say that as long as you choose races you’re excited to participate in or you know will challenge you, then the fees are worth it.

  33. Totally worth it! Gotta love the feeling of self accomplishment!

  34. I think there are some races that are worth it and some that are not. I have a sliding scale of what I’ll pay for each distance. But yes, for the most part, it’s worth it- because once I pay that cash, I have a commitment and a goal to work towards. And sometimes that’s what I need to keep going…

  35. Gina says:

    Your mousse looks so smooth and delicious!

    And I love, love, love frosting. So I usually don’t mind the hangover every once in a while, but it’s never fun 😦

  36. TOTALLY worth it!! I love racing (even though I pretty much never place). I just love the atmosphere, the fun and the experience.

    I’d pay double.

  37. Worth it!

    Out of Apples?!?! Oh the horror! 😉 I go crazy when I run out of apples too. 🙂

  38. Kayla says:

    I want to sign up for a 5k but my mom doesn’t want to yet, apparently it’s the fee issue. Haha, but I’d say the fee is WORTH IT!

  39. Kimberly says:

    I love this post! I love seeing your pics of your race accomplishments! Very fun and inspirational! Good Luck at your 5k! 🙂 Looking forward to a recap!

  40. cbrady3 says:

    I never really think twice about race fees, although I don’t do a TON. Running is so inexpensive compared to some other sports like golf, so I think it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

