Kate and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day

Have you ever had one of those days where nothing goes right?

Yeah… today is totally one of those days for me.

Let’s turn the negatives into positives, shall we?

– I accidentally drank caffeine for the first time in months- but IĀ  got superhuman vision for about an hour (I am totally not kidding, I almost didn’t need my glasses)

– I forgot to wash my running clothes for my race tomorrow- but I bought a cute new running skirt to wear

– A kid threw up on me at work- but I was covered by a blanket (score!)

– I had to stay late at work- but made it to spinning on time

– I ran out of ice cream- but bought another carton (close call)

– I am behind on homework- but I have a holiday on Monday that I can use to catch up šŸ™‚

– I dropped a huge container of yogurt that exploded- but I managed to salvage most of it

– It’s supposed to rain tomorrow- but I’m going to Disneyland for free!

– I left my clothes at the gym- but I got them back and no one stole the debit card I stupidly left in my jeans pocket

– I scrapped my plans for a very involved dinner- but I ended up with a tasty pizza!

I finally bought chickpea flour but had no idea what to do with it! I ended up mixing half a cup of it with half a cup of water and a little oregano and cooking it like a pancake. I topped it with feta and tomato sauce- socca pizza!

A huge bowl of ice cream never hurt anything, either.

I keep forgetting I have a race tomorrow! It’s supposed to rain, so I’m not holding out for a PR, but I think it will be fun.

What do you do when you’re having a bad day?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Kate and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day

  1. greekmelie says:

    good luck on the race tomorrow! I hope it doesn’t rain. I also have a long run tomorrow and I hate running in the rain…

  2. Good luck on the race tomorrow! When I have a bad day I try to make time for just myself. I read a magazine or take a nice bath or watch an episode of Sex and the City. And, it’s important to remember that tomorrow is another day and a fresh start!

  3. Runeatrepeat says:

    Good luck on the race!!!

  4. Hey well haven’t you won two giveaways in the past like week and a half? life can’t be THAT bad šŸ˜‰

    hang in there! šŸ™‚ Good luck on your race, and i’m so super jealous of you being at disneyland!
    ā¤
    n

  5. squigglefloey says:

    Ahh I can’t believe how much it rained this evening! Good luck tomorrow and have a wonderful time at Disneyland!! šŸ™‚

  6. AlisonM says:

    I love the way you turn these negatives into positives! My favourite has to be

    “A kid threw up on me at work- but I was covered by a blanket (score!)”

    Lol! Good luck with your race today, and enjoy the trip to Disneyland šŸ™‚

  7. ~Jessica~ says:

    Good luck with the race tomorrow ~ I know you’ll be great!

    xxx

  8. Those socca pizzas look lovely! I hate it when you have days like that, sometimes I think a pot of tea and an early night is the best way to get over it!

  9. Lori Lynn says:

    Yay for being positive! Several weeks ago I had one of my students throw up inches from me. If I wouldn’t have stepped back, it would have gone all over me!
    I hope you have a better day tomorrow!

  10. Emily says:

    ughh, bad days are the worst! And they always tend to spiral… but worse comes to worse, a big bowl of ice cream always helps šŸ™‚ My best friend and I usually take a trip to Coldstone on particularly bad days for some delicious, not so healthy, creamy wonderful goodness, haha.

    Good luck with your race! I’m sure you’re going to do amazing šŸ˜€

  11. good luck with the RACE!!!!!- let us know how it goes okay!!? food and tv always cures a bad day šŸ˜€

  12. Susan says:

    Sounds like a tough day – but I’m glad you can find a bit of humor in it! I think your adaptability is a great trait ; )

    When I have a bad day sometimes the best thing that I can do is remind myself that tomorrow is a fresh start and I don’t have to carry this day into the next!

  13. Alaina says:

    Good luck on your race and have fun at Disney!!

    If I’m having a bad day, sometimes I just need to be by myself, read a book and unwind.

  14. At least you were able to turn things around. I hate it when I drop my yogurt. And pizza is a perfect ending. Good luck with your race!!! Pictures of skirt???

  15. Kat says:

    So glad you looked on the bright side of things!! I am totally NOT that person. I would have just moped around all day lol Have fun at disneyland….I havent been in SO long!

  16. Lisa says:

    Sounds like a really great bad day šŸ™‚

    It’s amazing how things can turn around based just on the way you look at them!

    And….phew on the debit card thing…

  17. When your day ends with a bowl of ice cream that looks that good, you’ve got to have a smile on your face šŸ™‚

    I usually cure a bad day with a phone call to one of my girlfriends–always cheers me up šŸ™‚

    Good luck with your race and have fun at Disneyland!

  18. inmytummy says:

    I’m very curious about this super human vision! Glad you were able to turn things around.

  19. That is so good of you to flip it to the positive. That’s not an easy thing to do when one bad thing after another keeps happening. Good luck in your race!

  20. aww, sorry for the bad day, but I’m glad you looked on the positive! That’s usually what I try to do too, or look at the big picture and try not to get upset. Sometimes going to bed and starting the next day fresh and new works too šŸ™‚

  21. Mmmm that chickpea flour pizza looks so good!
    When I’m having a bad day I take a nice long bath and scrub the bad away. A glass of wine doesn’t hurt either!

  22. runyogarepeat says:

    Positivity rocks! I hope your day is better today, and good luck at your race. Plus, pizza & ice cream is the best way to end a bad day.

  23. Erika says:

    Sorry to hear about the bad day. Usually when I have bad days I try to do something nice for myself like paint my nails or listen to music and it helps a little.
    Good luck with the race! You’ll do awesome! šŸ˜€

  24. Heather says:

    Hope your day is better today!

  25. Mandiee says:

    I love that you put something positive with everything that that otherwise would have been a downer. Socca pizzas were definitely a positive! Socca is especially good if you bake it in the oven; the inside becomes super creamy and custard-like while the outside has a crispy crust. Good luck on your race tomorrow!

  26. Peggy says:

    well it sounds like all the “bad” parts of your day ended up being “good” in the end! =) Hope your race went well!

  27. Way to flip those negatives into positives girlie! Good luck on your race!

  28. Monica says:

    Sorry to hear about the bad day!

    Good luck on your race and enjoy running in the rain! I think it is kind of fun to run in the rain, but I am weird like that.

  29. That day isn’t too bad!

    Good luck on your race šŸ™‚

  30. Errign says:

    I eat Lindt Sea Salt chocolate šŸ™‚ Or go out for a glass of wine with a friend!

  31. Jenny says:

    Good luck on your race! So great of you to look at the positives, I have a hard time doing that most of the time šŸ˜¦

  32. Katie H. says:

    I hope your race went well! Ohmygosh, a kid threw up on you? Yikes. Way to be so positive about everything! šŸ˜€

  33. Sorry to hear about your bad day!!! When I’m having a bad day, yeah I totally give into junk food. Sometimes I take a nap (if I can). Basically, I try to escape.

  34. Good luck on your race, hon! I totally got off caffeine to detox from it for about a week, and this mornings dose of caffeine (drank 12 hours ago!!) still has me wired! Whoa! O.o

  35. I remember reading that story!!! šŸ˜€

    I love how even though you listed what things went bad in your day, you countered them with positive notes! šŸ˜€

  36. divasrun says:

    When I have a bad day, I usually call my parents and talk to them. I need their reinforcement. I also eat and drink what’s bad for me in one meal. =P

  37. Hooray for turning negatives into positives! I love the superhuman vision one šŸ™‚
    Glad the race went well today; look forward to hearing about it!

  38. Pingback: Timberwolf 5k Recap | What Kate is Cooking

  39. Oh chica, I’m so sorry you had such a rough day!

Leave a Reply

