Timberwolf 5k Recap

Thanks for all your good luck wishes and listening to me bitch about my bad day! Now, on to something happier… a good race!

Can I just say how awesome it is to run a race 3 miles from your house? Although I had planned to ride my bike, the weather report predicted rain and we had to be home as soon as possible to go to Disneyland, so we drove. It was so weird to leave my house 45 minutes before the race started! I was panicking that somehow we would miss it, but we got there with plenty of time.

I snacked on a Luna bar in the car-

I didn’t think it was going to be enough, but it was actually the perfect fuel. At my last 5k, I made the mistake of binge eating the night before and eating a heavy bagel right before the race, and I felt like throwing up the whole time, so I learned my lesson. This is the first race I have ever run where I didn’t binge eat before or after!

We had some time to kill, so we walked around the school a little. Did I mention it was held at my old high school? I haven’t been back since I graduated (almost 4 years ago!) so it was really weird to be back. Not to mention that the hills behind the school now have a road in them, which is where the race was held.

Please excuse my puffy face and my whiter than white legs- they have not seen the light of day in a while 🙂 By the way- now that I have run in a running skirt, I will never go back to leggings! This was an awesome purchase.

Soon it was time to line up, and we were off. Not before I tripped over the starting mat, of course. Can you tell that I am laughing about what a dumbass I am? I think everyone else is too.

No sooner had we started than we were climbing up a hill. Remember how I said ‘the hills behind the school?’ Yeah, no joke. Major hills. Since I had never been back there before, I had no idea what I was in for. Maybe I’m being a little dramatic, but there are seriously no hills anywhere else in the city, so I’m not used to them at all! Every person I passed was making comments about how much they were hating the hills, so I didn’t feel so bad 🙂

I was really excited to listen to music during the race, and I had my phone with me to listen to Pandora (60’s folk station, holla) but it mysteriously stopped working two songs in. Ugh! At least the scenery was pretty. I was so distracted by the hills that I didn’t take any pictures, but the course was seriously beautiful.

My first mile was 8:16, which ended up being my overall pace. I’m really proud that I didn’t start out too fast, which was my downfall at my last race. My second mile was 8:34- that’s my ‘ohmygodthesehillsarekillingme’ pace. Before I knew it, I was at mile 2.5 and passing my sophomore year math teacher, who was volunteering. He was shouting ‘It’s all downhill from here!’ so I picked it up as fast as I could. By the way- it was not all downhill from there, but I forgive him 🙂

After one last climb, I could see the finish and sprinted as fast I could towards the end. My pace going down the last hill was 6:03, and I actually had to make myself slow down to avoid tripping and flying!

It’s impossible for me to do anything other than give the thumbs up when I’m running…

Official time- 25:36. I always stop my watch late 🙂

Post race snacks- does anything taste better than a banana after a race?

There was a raffle going on inside the gym, so we went inside in the hopes of winning an iPad. No joke, my sister has crazy luck with winning raffles, so we were actually hoping to win 🙂

It didn’t hurt that they were giving out burritos!! I thought they were Chipotle, so I saved it to eat later- it ended up being scrambled eggs and mashed potatoes. SO DELICIOUS.

I haven’t tried the pretzels yet- I’m more of a chocolate covered pretzel fan 🙂

Before the raffle, they had the awards ceremony. Guess who got first in her age group, sucka?

This girl!

I could belittle my achievement and mention that they were only seven people in my age group, but I’m pretty proud regardless 🙂 Also, this was the first time that I was present for the awards ceremony, so I actually got a medal!

Almost beats winning an iPad…

All in all, it was a really good race. I was only one minute away from a PR (my current 5k PR is 24:32), and I was two seconds away from my last 5k time, which was a pretty flat course. I felt properly fueled- although I wasn’t properly hydrated- and although I’ve been neglecting speedwork lately, my legs and lungs felt a lot better than my last race.

Great success!

Another great part of the race- although the ground was wet, the weather was clear, cool and sunny the whole race! It started to rain just as this picture was taken when we were leaving. Good timing!

We hurried home, showered, and then went to Disneyland! My aunt works for an airline, so she flew in from Phoenix to go with us. Her friend gave her four tickets, so we got to go for free!

It didn’t start raining until about 4, so the park was pretty empty.

I was naturally starving despite eating a huge bowl of yogurt on the way over, so lunch was much appreciated.

I split the enchiladas with my sister and took half of her burrito, and all four of us split the chocolate cake. OH MY GOD IT WAS GOOD. Later on in the day, I also ate a few chocolate chip cookies, the burrito I got after the race, and a huge bowl of dried cranberries / almonds / chocolate chips. It certainly wasn’t a binge, but I woke up still full!

Taken just as it started to rain. And then it started to pour!

We sought refuge in the best attraction.

Perfect way to end a great day 🙂

Have you ever been to Disneyland? What’s your favorite ride? I love Splash Mountain, but missed going on it this time. It’s closed for renovations!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Timberwolf 5k Recap

  1. Heather says:

    Congrats, that’s an awesome race!

    I’ve never been to Disneyland, but I’ve been t Disney World a few times, love me some Disney!

  2. Congratulations girlie!!! What an awesome race! 😀

    I’ve never been to Disneyland, but I want to go someday. 🙂

  3. Awesome race time!!! COngrats on winning first place in your age! You’re so lucky to get to go to Disneyland right after – I have never been to Disneyland but i love Disney World – my favorite is just visiting the Princess castle 🙂

  4. Ahh great job! 🙂 and congratulations! You are amazing, I am in awe 🙂

    ❤
    n

  5. Looks like you had an awesome weekend!
    Ummm … I’ve been to Disneyland Tokyo. My favorite ride was the Haunted Mansion!

  6. inmytummy says:

    First in your age group! Congrats.

  7. Jennifer says:

    Congrats! You are such an inspiration. One day I WILL run a 5K, Kate. =)

  8. Euniece says:

    congrats on the 5k!!! i used to love 5ks but have been getting into the longer distance lately bc theres not so much pressure to go so fast!!!

  9. I gave you the versatile blogger award on my blog! Check it out!!

  10. Nicely done!

    And I had enchiladas tonight, too. Seriously one of my favorite mexican dishes… sigh…

  11. greekmelie says:

    Great job on the race! And a hilly one too! I can never eat directly after a race. My stomach is always so upset, it needs at least an hour to settle.

  12. Carlyn says:

    sounds like you had an awesome time at the race!! congrats on being first in your age group!!!! Seriously don’t belittle that accomplishment because that’s something that you should be amazingly proud of (:

  13. Casey says:

    Congrats Congrats Congrats on winning your age group
    Sounds like you had an awesome day, iPad or no iPad

  14. Alaina says:

    Congratulations on such a great run!! That’s an awesome time. 🙂

    I went to Disneyland when I was 5 (that was over 20 years ago). I don’t remember anything except through pictures. Apparently we went into the Lincoln theatre and it scared the crap out of me.

  15. Congrats on your award and 5k!!!!!!!

    Space Mountain, all the way baby 🙂

  16. Congrats on your medal and on making great time! you little rockstar! go Kate! ❤

  17. Emily says:

    amazing race, great job!!! I graduated four years ago from high school in June too, its soooo weird to think about going back.

    I’ve been to Disneyland/California Adventure once, but I don’t remember it too well. It was like 10 years ago now, but there was one really cool “virtual” ride in California Adventure where you go parasailing through the world that I remember really loving.

  18. dressed2dish says:

    Good Job in the Race!! Your lunch of enchiladas and chocolate cake is make my mouth water at the thought! Looks delicious! Well worth it after your race 🙂

  19. Well done on your race! Looks like you had a really good day 🙂

  20. what an awesome race!! you had a great great time girlie!

  21. Nice racing, girlie! I’ve only been to DisneyWorld, and I gotta say, I’m a little anti-Disney. I just don’t get it. BUT, maybe I’ll get to DisneyLand someday and change my mind 🙂

  22. Gina says:

    Congrats, girl! Great pace! I’m working on increasing my speed right now.

  23. Congratulations on your awesome race achievements!!! 😀

  24. Congratulations on the great race! Mean volunteer for lying to you though 🙂
    I’ve never been to Disneyland – looks like you had fun, even though it was raining!

  25. OliePants says:

    Congrats! That’s awesome and what a pace!

    I have never been to any of the Disney theme-parks – I need to work on fixing that!

  26. runyogarepeat says:

    Congrats on winning your age group! I almost won mine one time, but my friend snuck by in the last few seconds. I went to Disneyland when I was a kid, and Splash Mountain was my favorite. There was also an awesome Indiana Jones ride we went on multiple times.

  27. Jess says:

    Great job!! My favorite ride is rockin roller coaster, i think : )

  28. Congratulations on your run!! You did amazingly well!!! 😀

  29. I went to disney land when I was like 5 so I don’t rememeber rides too much!

    Way to go!

    I had two bananas this morning. Juss sayin. No better way to get over a cold than load up on nutritious fruits! I had some eggs and bacon too! Nom nom. lol

    Your enchiladas look amazing!!

  30. Olivia says:

    Congratulations on your race!! First in your age group is amazing! 🙂 I loved reading your race recap…bananas are great after a race but to me nothing is better than a big, doughy bagel! That chocolate cake looks INCREDIBLE!

  31. Mandiee says:

    Wow, great job, girlie! And double congrats for having this awesome race be your first without a binge before/after. It’s great that you were able to celebrate with such a fun day at Disneyland with your loved ones.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  32. Great race re-cap—sounds like an awesome time!

    I have been to Disneyland…my relatives used to live in Fullerton, so I went to visit a lot of times when I was younger. Lots of great memories there—in the rain once too 🙂

  33. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Yay for a great race! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 And it’s great you got your eating right this time! Honestly, I’d never have noticed that your face might be puffy and your legs white if you hadn’t mentioned it (and I still think you have none of those!!!) … Isn’t it crazy how we upset yourself with focusing on things like that so much?

    Getting back to my old school always makes me feel awkward, because I have rather unhappy memories of my school time. I’m glad that’s over now! 🙂

  34. Congrats on an amazing race! First in your age group – that’s awesome!

  35. Kat says:

    I’ve only been to Disney World?

    I love your race recap – I’ve definitely had the “want to puke and die,” race before. That being said, it kind of helps you on the speed-side because you want so badly for it to be over.

  36. Paije says:

    Wooohooo!! Congrats! So so awesome!!

    I have been to Disneyland once, when I was 14. I loved splash mountain too!

  37. Loved the recap! And congratulations on your medal! That’s awesome!

    I’ve never been to Disneyland. Totally bummed that they closed Opryland in Nashville…it was the best!

  38. Jessica says:

    Wow! Congrats on an awesome race – and congrats for winning your age group!! That is amazing!! You are FAST 🙂

  39. kt says:

    love your blog/luna bars!!!
    awesome post, congrats on such a good time for your race. way to go!
    i have a problem with binging, too, so i know what a great accomplishment it is when you don’t binge! so congrats on that, too!

  40. ~Jessica~ says:

    Brilliant race ~ so sorry it’s taken me ages to catch up on things!

    I have the same problem pre-race: recently I’ve been eating far too much either the night before, at breakfast or both. It really affects performance and it’s brilliant that you’ve found what works for you tummy-wise. Bars are always best for me too (never understood the PB/banana/toast everyone else seems to swear by) but it’s just a case of how many according to the distance, and getting the calorie-density/volume ratio correct. Oh, and protein too: that’s why Lunas are pretty good pre-race fuel in my opinion.

    xxx

  41. Erica D says:

    You look like you’re going to play golf or tennis, not run a 5k! Cute. I went to Disneyland a looong time ago but I think my favorite ride was the Rock & Roller Coaster (the Aerosmith one? Wait, is that in Disneyworld?). I remember being so thankful to have speedpasses for that ride!

  42. Monica says:

    Wow – wonderful job at the race! You are one fast runner!

    And seriously, Chipotle post race, talk about my dream come true!

    My favorite ride at Disneyland is the Haunted Mansion and last time I was there it was also closed for renovations – boooooo!

  43. CONGRATULATIONS! How brilliant that you not only got the award but that it was a great race for you too, if you know what I mean 🙂
    I can barely run a bath so I take my hat off to you; amazing achievement!

  44. AlisonM says:

    That’s a great time for a hilly course Kate! And congrats on not bingeing before or after too. A great day for you all round 🙂

Leave a Reply

