Bull Moose

Isn’t President’s Day the best holiday ever? There’s no school today, which means I have plenty of time to watch History Channel specials :)

Random fact about me- I am kind of obsessed with anything that has to do with presidents.

(Clearly, my sister is too.)

I totally have favorite presidents, too-


Really… who doesn’t like Abraham Lincoln?! I’ve been reading a lot of books about him, and he was a really interesting character. He was also the tallest president, and I have a thing for tall guys :) He was also the first president with a beard!


Calvin Coolidge- no one really mentions him, but I like him because he seemed really sassy. Someone once bet him that they could get him to say more than two words. His response? “You lose.” LOVE HIM. He kind of looks like my grandfather, too.


Teddy Roosevelt- he liked to go skinny dipping… in the Potomac River… in the winter. He also got shot in the chest and finished his 90 minute speech before getting help from a doctor. Did I mention he referred to himself as a bull moose and later named a political party that?

I don’t really know anything about Gerald Ford except that he was really clumsy, and that makes me like him.

Okay, enough nerdy talk about presidents… now let’s talk nerdy about oats!

I picked up some oat bran yesterday and couldn’t wait to try it for breakfast. I wasn’t blown away, but that’s probably¬† because the portion was so tiny I hardly could taste it. I’m going to try Katie’s voluminous oats method for tomorrow and see if that helps.

I went to Body Pump before breakfast this morning and I can hardly raise my arms now. I used heavier weights this time, and something tells me I will not have use of my arms tomorrow!

Chipotle was having a deal where you could get a free meal for bringing in your race bib, so I picked up a burrito bowl yesterday and saved it for lunch today. I hadn’t been in so long- I missed it!

I got rice, corn salsa, onions and peppers, lettuce, and black beans. I ended up adding Greek yogurt because I didn’t get sour cream on it. I don’t know what they do to that rice to make it so good, but damn it is tasty.


Dinner was a quesadilla and some soup that I made earlier in the day. I totally winged the recipe, and while it’s good, it’s not great. It needs some tweaking before I post it.

It had black beans, zucchini, carrots, red peppers, and sweet potatoes in it, so it was still pretty good!

Dessert was ice cream eaten while watching Apollo 13. Perfect, perfect, perfect night.

Who’s your favorite president? I’m not the only nerd that thinks about these things, right?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Bull Moose

  1. Alaina says:

    Hmm…I think FDR was my favorite. And Grover Cleveland and I have the same birthday. :-)

    They’re making a movie about Lincoln with Daniel Day Lewis playing him. I can’t wait to see it!

  2. Ronald Reagan! He was the shiz! Have you seen any of his old movies…he was quite the looker! ;)

  3. YAY for George Washington! :D He’s my favorite! :D

  4. I probably couldn’t even name more than 5 American presidents – that’s OK since I’m Canadian, but then again, I probably couldn’t even name 5 Canadian Prime Ministers either!

    Sigh, I miss chipotle. I went there 3 or 4 times when I was in the states last fall and it was AMAZING!

  5. Casey says:

    I don’t know if I have a favorite president. I think Jimmy Carter is a funny character. I mean a peanut farmer? That’s just classic.

    I love oat bran. It definitely fluffs up if you add the right things. Hope it goes well for you the next time!

  6. girlinchucks says:

    Have you ever read Sarah Vowell’s “Assassination Vacation”?

    If you haven’t, you should. If you’re into presidents, you will love it! :)

  7. Runeatrepeat says:

    Great job on the race!!!

  8. I wish we had some interesting Prime Minsters as your presidents! I love oatbran but I’m with you on the portion size, I need a huge bowl to feel anywhere near full!

  9. ok its sad that i dont know presidents but then again i havent lived in the states for like 13 years and even then i was a tiny little gal! you got a free chipotle! awesome!

  10. haha, this is an interesting fact about you! Without really thinking too far back into history, I’d have to say I’m a pretty big Bill Clinton fan.

  11. Woohoo to an awesome arm killing workout ;-) I really can’t say I have a fave president. Is that sad????

  12. Ok, I am totally weird, but my sister and I had a thing for Franklin Pierce when we were little. We had this placemat with the president photos on it, and we thought he looked funny.
    Fun question!

  13. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    That’s the good pain after a good workout! ;)

  14. BrittFit says:

    I LOVE APOLLO 13!!!! and idn too much about presidents…but i love this post haha ;)

  15. Errign says:

    I do not have a favorite president, but I do love the movie Apollo 13!

  16. The second blog I read today that had chiptole! Ug. nOw I want some haha

  17. I miss school. No day off at work today :( Boo

  18. Peggy says:

    I had to go to school AND work yesterday. So no day off for me, but if I had to think about it, I think my favorite president was JFK. He’s just got some great and inspirational quotes.

  19. Heather says:

    I wish I could duplicate the Chipotle rice, it’s so darn good!

  20. Beth says:

    I am dying for an apple with peanut butter after that picture. It looks so creamy and delicious!

  21. Erica D says:

    Chipotle has the best “do this and we’ll give you free stuff!” deals. I have fond memories of going downtown my first Halloween in Colorado with 3 other people, wrapped in tin foil, so we could get free burritos :)

    My fave president is Woodrow Wilson; I’ve always thought that we could just sit by a fire and chat about life for hours.

  22. runyogarepeat says:

    That’s such an awesome deal! I’m not a big history fan, and I don’t know much about the presidents. I have watched a lot of World War II movies since dating my boyfriend, though.

  23. Well done on the heavier weights – I hope you’re not suffering too much now (but that means you’re getting stronger, right?)
    Ice-cream and a movie is the best combination ever :-)

  24. Love ice cream! hehe
    Honestly, as teenager-ish as this sounds…I could not care less about presidents. But that is cool that you do! lol

    That peanut flour looks perfect! I am still stuck with my PB2 (DELICIOUS!! )

  25. I have to agree with you on President Lincoln! Good man :)

  26. George Bush! When I was younger, my brother and I bawled our eyes out when Bill Clinton beat him :)

  27. Monica says:

    Love you President review!

    I love FDR, but am fascinated by Nixon – he is a behavioral study dream come true! Um, and I hate Clinton for ruining my name!

  28. I had no idea Ford was clumsy, but I am now a big fan of him, haha! I sense a kindred spirit. ;)

  29. We share some of the strangest similarities! I LOVE learning about the presidents–my husband even got me a massive presidential history book for my birthday this year. I’m only on Chapter 3 (Thomas Jefferson of course!) but I’m loving every page :)

  30. Danielle says:

    I would probably say Lincoln, but I don’t really consider any president a favorite. I love your list, though!

  31. Amanda says:

    I am a total nerd about presidents and FDR is one of my favorites. I also love Rutherford B. Hayes because he has amazing facial hair. I’m crazy. Being married to a history teacher has helped this nerdiness a lot.

  32. Hannah says:

    Oooh, I’m not sure how you feel about musicals, but if you like musicals and presidents you need to track down Sondheim’s Assassins. It’s one of my favourite musicals ever :)

  33. I tried oat bran recently and made 1 1/2 servings. The serving did seem way too small!

  34. Kat says:

    Hello? Addicted to Burrito Bowls. Right here. I’ve never tried oat bran before but was thinking about grabbing some this weekend. Definitely can’t wait to see how the voluminous method goes because I do like for my breakfasts to have a bit of bulk…you know?

  35. Apollo 13 is one of my FAVORITE movies! I’m such a space geek. ;)

  36. Fun post! Even though I did have school today =(. I’m a Garfield fan but only because he’s buried in my hometown =P. Also Teddy Roosevelt for sure was a cool dude, congrats on the heavier weights it’s an exciting thing to move up!

  37. Haha, I don’t know much about American Presidents (being Canadian myself) but I liked your take on them. Consider me educated ;).

  38. I need to try oat bran… I have a bunch chillin’ under my bed (in a container don’t worry ;) ) but i haven’t actually been brave enough to try it yet!

Leave a Reply

