10 Weeks

It has been unseasonably cold here for the past week, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to stop drinking smoothies!

I had Kaitlin‘s cake batter smoothie for breakfast and added a few handfuls of spinach for some greens. I topped the smoothie with a bean brownie– gotta balance those veggies with something sweet 🙂

Lunch was nothing new-

Spinach, beans, Greek yogurt, and a spinach pancake. I dropped my yogurt AGAIN today! Thankfully Greek yogurt does not spill as easily as regular 🙂

Pumpkin yogurt-

Not pictured- an apple with peanut butter and ice cream. I’ve been going through ice cream super fast. I think I need to lay off it a little!

I packed a sandwich, blueberries, and clementines to take to work. I normally eat when I get home at 8, but since I didn’t feel like going to the gym before class this morning, I went after work to get some speedwork done!

I wrote a card with different intervals on it so I had an idea of what I wanted to do on the treadmill. Too bad I left it at home! I was meeting friends after work, so I kept it short and did 2.4 miles in 20 minutes. Something is better than nothing 🙂

Today’s run was a special occasion- it was the first run of my half-marathon training plan!

I’m pretty bad at following training plans. I totally winged it for my first half-marathon, but loosely followed Hal Higdon’s beginner’s plan for the last few weeks.

For my full marathon, I did my best to follow Hal Higdon’s beginner plan, but I ended up slacking off the last few weeks.

I decided I really wanted to follow a training plan for my race in 10 weeks. I really, really want to break 2 hours! My current (and only!) PR is 2:08:53, so I have a little work to do.

I’m taking it week by week, because my schedule changes a lot, so the days I run and the distances I complete will be determined by when I can fit them in.

I plan to run 3 days a week, and possibly a 4th run if I’m feeling up to it. This may sound crazy, but I want to focus on quality runs, not running just to run.

My runs will be as such-

  • One speedwork session a week (minimum 30 minutes)
  • One medium length run (between 4-7 miles) done at my goal pace (9:00-9:10 minute miles)
  • One long run (7+ miles) done at a comfortable pace (probably a 10:00 minute mile)

My other days will be filled with cross training- cycling, yoga, strength training, elliptical, and all that jazz. I also plan to take one full rest day a week.

I already have the first week (this week!) planned out, and I plan to stick this bad boy on my bulletin board to keep me on track. I’m leaving the mileage blank on the bottom until the week is over, because I want it to be accurate in case I change it 🙂

My other weeks will be similar, but I want to wait to officially plan them until I know which races I’ll be doing before the half-marathon. I have two 10ks and maybe another half-marathon planned, so we’ll see! I’m not off to a great start yet, so hopefully my run tomorrow will redeem me.

Do you follow training plans, or do you wing it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to 10 Weeks

  1. Ahh good luck with training! 🙂 i have never tried pumpkin yogurt but i probably should because those are two of my fave things EVER.

  2. greekmelie says:

    It’s 68 days until the OC half marathon! No pressure or anything! 😉 I follow Runner’s World plan for my first marathon (yay! – total reflex whenever I mention it) and do whatever strength I feel like on the rest days. I kind of like the structure. Of course things change, but I follow it as closely as I can.

  3. I’m in a very similar position as you, I want to break the 2 hour half time (I did my last half in 2.07) – your plan looks spot on, in fact I might have to copy from you! Your breakfast looks so good!

  4. ~Jessica~ says:

    I’ve never followed a training plan and always wing my runs. I don’t know why, because in general I crave structure and organisation…I suppose running is more of a spiritual outlet for me so I tend to set minimum distances or certain speeds I’d like to achieve, but to me there’s so training plan (generic ones) that can work for everyone and it’s better to at least modify one a bit to suit your body and lifestyle anyway.

    xxx

  5. wow your plan sounds awesome!i cnt wait to hear how it goes for you! since im a newbie with races.. if i do do one.. i would follow a plan! i dont trust myself!

  6. I’ve never trained for a big race but if I did i would probably have trouble sticking to it – I have commitment problems!
    Your plan looks great – Good luck! Seems like you are already on the right track 🙂

  7. Hannah says:

    Ahhhh this is making me hungry! I’ts 11:40pm and I got back from gospel rehearsal an horu or so ago, and I’m staying at my parents’ tonight where there’s almost nothing I can eat for dessert! I just ate four sponfuls of jam for the sugar hit. Want your brownies!

  8. Priyanka says:

    Good luck with the training girl! Cake smoothie is such an amazing idea.

  9. I love training plans! They keep me focused and give me direction. 😀

  10. I follow training plans- but keep them pretty open to change because I’ve been known to rebel against them (which has proven disasterous for a 15k I was training for!). Good luck with the new plan! Hal Higdon is awesome.

  11. I can’t wait to hear how you like that plan. My plan that I used has just felt insane.

  12. Kat says:

    Considering I have never trained for a race..I dont follow plans 😉 But when it comes to a weight program I do!! The last thing you want is to overdo it or hurt yourself!
    P.s forgot to tell you, package is on its way 🙂

  13. Jenny says:

    I follow a weight training plan that my bf made for me. It’s great to have something to go by 😀

  14. You’re brave, I can’t bring myself to drink smoothies when it’s so cold. So I’ve been having them for lunch after I’ve had time to warm up a bit, haha!

  15. Alaina says:

    I follow training plans but then end up winging it near the end. Haha.

    I’m following Hal Higdon’s for my half marathon in May. 🙂

  16. Heather says:

    I need a training plan because I need the discipline! I love Hal Higdon’s plans.

  17. runyogarepeat says:

    Good luck with training, I love your idea of writing each week out. I do that sometimes, and add a little check mark when I complete it (the check mark always makes me happy). I am so bad at following plans, but I made my own for my half this spring. I’m doing 3 runs, plus various cross-training during the week. So far, I’ve followed my plan well, and I love that I can be flexible and switch around days if I want.

  18. smart training plan! Your plan sounds perfect for you – it’s always exciting to start a new plan! I like Higdon as well – I like to use his plans as a guide when developing my own plans

  19. Casey says:

    I kind of wing it. I just make sure I do enough distance to where I’ll be comfortable on race day. I train more for time then for distance, especially if it is a longer distance than I have ever raced before!

  20. AlisonM says:

    I love the fact that you have coloured your training plan in! I follow them obsessively, but I think if I do train for a half at the end of May I will adopt an approach more similar to yours. Which is to say, I’ll have one I’m following, but work on the specifics on a week to week basis.

    And I also drink smoothies all through the winter!

  21. Peggy says:

    You’re definitely more focused than I am! I’ve got a 5k this Saturday and have only run once, since I signed up last month. It’s going to be really bad, I know it lol

  22. I’m a planner by nature and love planning my workouts as I think they really help me improve. At the moment because I’m not training for anything in particular I’m planning on a week by week basis, but that still helps me to keep on track.

  23. Erika says:

    A marathon?! How exciting!
    I’ve never run a race farther than a 5K, but if I did something like a half or full marathon I would definitely follow a training plan. Set schedules/plans keep me interested, focused and accoutable! Good luck! 😀

  24. Love that gorgeous green monster action!

  25. OliePants says:

    I’ve never trained for a half-marathon (how major!) but I did follow the C25K plan and it worked perfectly while I was working on it!

  26. Hahaha I love that you keep making this smoothie! Nice addition of the greens. I will totally be doing that next time. It’s such an easy way to get greens in. Plus, even though some people think its gross-looking, I think the green is so pretty.

  27. Errign says:

    Good luck 🙂 I’ve never run a race/followed a training plan, so no advice gems from me!

  28. I wing it 😉

    Let me know if you need any help training. If your goal is to break two hours, speed work is a must. Are you doing tempo runs? Or repeats? Or what?

  29. That smoothie looks delish… and yes, everything should be balanced with chocolate 😉

  30. Something is definitely better than nothing. 🙂

    I actually follow Hal Higdon’s half marathon training….it’s so great! Totally prepares you for a race.

  31. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Ha, same over here: Damn cold, but smoothie drinking is going on! 😀

    This is quite the training plan! I usually don’t make plans, but I’m currentlly not weorking towards a certain goal with exercise – I’m just happy if I get some regularly.

  32. i LOVE interval speed work training – it’s so hard but as soon as you hop off that treadmill and catch your breath you feel like a million bucks. are you planning on doing most of your training on the tread or outside?

  33. inmytummy says:

    Have you looked at the Runner’s World Smart Coach plan? That’s what I’m doing right now and it’s sort of like what you’ve planned for yourself. I’ve also done the Hal Higdon plan a bunch of times.

  34. Kat says:

    Mostly, I just wing it, but I peek at a training plan to see how/when I should be structuring my long runs.

    That being said lady, definitely think about adding in a 4th run during the week. I just have a sneaking suspicion that you won’t regret it.

  35. Allison says:

    Ahhh how exciting good luck!!!! When I am training for a race I half plan it and half wing it. Its so hard to know 7 weeks down the line what my schedule is going to be like!

  36. I love this! I plan everything! I’m always writing down training schedules and workouts. It helps me so much. I love having things on paper!

  37. BrittFit says:

    WOW your so organized! good for you.. I wish I could manage to run more than a mile 😉

  38. Good luck with the training plans! I’m loving how organized you are! I am a big list maker too!

Leave a Reply

